ACCA Students.

FinalTidus

Hi all.. Glad to see so many people taking up ACCA. I am left with 2 papers which I need to retake that is P3 and P4 which I unfortunately didn't make it last round less F8 which I finally passed and as a result could not grad. I vow to grad this coming sem.:s27:

Just want to ask regarding CPA and MBA.

Can I apply for CPA after 3 yrs of work experinece? What is the requirement like? And the fees? How to file for CPA membership? Very noob in this.

I might not take up ACCA membership at all as I am turned off with those PER requirements and huge fees for membership.

Another issue is MBA. I am interested to advance to an MBA or Masters. I understand that several unis or school recognise ACCA as a stepping stone to MBA and even gain exemptions. examples would be Manchestor. Any other schools to recommend? Or other areas to explore related to finance?

I know CFA is out as ACCA is not recognised to take CFA.

crappyz

i agree with stressful part. But like SAA, the school u attended is effectively like a "tuition center" so that u can go take UOL exams. it's not UOL lousy, its the school u enrolled is lousy.

ya the school not UOL...

ACCA syllabus is very current, i agree. but it's misleading to say "UOL Financial Reporting < P2 Corporate Reporting...", coz p2 is at much higher level.
u should compare F7 with FR to be fair. From feedbacks from my ACCA classmates who is doing UOL too, it's about the same.
Correct me if i am wrong, UOL's FR also study FRS right? that is SGP variant?

He was asking which one more difficult to get mah... if i compare only UOL FR with F7 then later he find out got 1 more reporting paper even more difficult...

No i dun think UOL is SGP variant... FRS can mean their local gaap also... but SGP FRS also almost the same la...

ya first class honours is definitely hard and is a proud achievement.
Actually ACCA if u pass all in 1 attempt, it will make u stand out from the rest of the ACCA. Not an easy thing to do.
lastly, degree and ACCA cannot compare like that, one is academic cert one is professional cert. apple is not necessary better than orange and vice versa.

I dun know about this but will the cert say you pass all papers in 1 attempt?

Biogentic

ya the school not UOL...

He was asking which one more difficult to get mah... if i compare only UOL FR with F7 then later he find out got 1 more reporting paper even more difficult...

No i dun think UOL is SGP variant... FRS can mean their local gaap also... but SGP FRS also almost the same la...

I dun know about this but will the cert say you pass all papers in 1 attempt?

Spore FRS is almost identical to International FRS since majority of our FRS are modelled after the international standard. Same, i dun think UOL is offering Spore variant, think should be international variant bah... btw, i dun think the cert will state you pass all in a single attempt but from transcript you will know whether one pass all in a single attempt or have attempted twice..

Biogentic

Hi all.. Glad to see so many people taking up ACCA. I am left with 2 papers which I need to retake that is P3 and P4 which I unfortunately didn't make it last round less F8 which I finally passed and as a result could not grad. I vow to grad this coming sem.:s27:

Just want to ask regarding CPA and MBA.

Can I apply for CPA after 3 yrs of work experinece? What is the requirement like? And the fees? How to file for CPA membership? Very noob in this.

I might not take up ACCA membership at all as I am turned off with those PER requirements and huge fees for membership.

Another issue is MBA. I am interested to advance to an MBA or Masters. I understand that several unis or school recognise ACCA as a stepping stone to MBA and even gain exemptions. examples would be Manchestor. Any other schools to recommend? Or other areas to explore related to finance?

I know CFA is out as ACCA is not recognised to take CFA.
you can take CFA after your ACCA, i am quite confirm regarding this... if i am not wrong, the degree in applied accounting from oxford brookes can be used to apply for CFA.

There are several schools that accept professional qualifications into their MBA.

Manchester MBA for financial manager
SMU Master in Applied Finance
Imperial College of London MBA
Warwick MBA, etc...

most of the universities that accept ACCA holders are from the U.K which i think is more than sufficient to choose from... i am contemplating to go for the Imperial College of London MBA if i really have the cash but i doubt easy entry.....

actually the most important criteria to get entry to the MBA program is not so much on academic or professional qualification, it is more on your work experience. if you have excellent work experience, some renowned university dun even require you to have any qualification.

PPPPPPP

Spore FRS is almost identical to International FRS since majority of our FRS are modelled after the international standard. Same, i dun think UOL is offering Spore variant, think should be international variant bah... btw, i dun think the cert will state you pass all in a single attempt but from transcript you will know whether one pass all in a single attempt or have attempted twice..

not too sure if it's included in the cert whether you passed all modules in one sitting but can confirm that it's not stated in the transcript. Transcript merely states the modules attempted, the grade attained for each module and the date the module is completed.

PPPPPPP

i havent got mine yet too. did u applied it online through the portal?

nope i sent in hard copy cos the system couldn't seem to recognise my mailing address. sent 2 emails to acca to remind them liao but still no reply..dunno whether the hardcopy reached them anot

PPPPPPP

same here.. yet to receive it... i think if for application of jobs, the exam results + the letter attached to it sent by ACCA will suffice...

do you have any idea whether it's necessary to submit transcript of just cert can liao..my grades very lousy la..lol

Zandon

not too sure if it's included in the cert whether you passed all modules in one sitting but can confirm that it's not stated in the transcript. Transcript merely states the modules attempted, the grade attained for each module and the date the module is completed.

ya it wont state the number of attempts. however in old syllabus, using the dates can roughly determine what you fail. this is because of the order of paper you need to attempt. now there is no such requirement, so problem solved.

Biogentic

Every exam result, they will send u a copy of the transcript indicating the year and month you took the paper. if u have june, dec 08 transcript and next year u dun have a june 09 transcript, it is quite obvious you have either attempt or not attempt paper there. the question is if u have attempt a paper in june 09 and failed 1, but the rest pass... how are u going to cover up? the pass module and the fail module are together...

probably the only way to lie that u pass all in a single attempt is, during the month sitting, u only sat for one paper. so if u happen to fail, u can argue that u didnt take any paper during that month sitting.

crappyz

Every exam result, they will send u a copy of the transcript indicating the year and month you took the paper. if u have june, dec 08 transcript and next year u dun have a june 09 transcript, it is quite obvious you have either attempt or not attempt paper there. the question is if u have attempt a paper in june 09 and failed 1, but the rest pass... how are u going to cover up? the pass module and the fail module are together...

probably the only way to lie that u pass all in a single attempt is, during the month sitting, u only sat for one paper. so if u happen to fail, u can argue that u didnt take any paper during that month sitting.
hhmmm... but i really didnt take level 2 straight after 1.1 1.2 1.3...
now got half year gap... haiz...

blurz123

hmm ok. crappyz u mention that u took both? so i presume u graduated from UOL and have a degree in accounting and finance? then are u doing acca now or? if u are which level are u at now? F4 and above?

crappyz

hmm ok. crappyz u mention that u took both? so i presume u graduated from UOL and have a degree in accounting and finance? then are u doing acca now or? if u are which level are u at now? F4 and above?
ya grad from UOL liao... but is bsc business...

now doing last 2 papers... P5 and P7

PPPPPPP

acca sends you a consolidated transcript upon graduation, on request. so you can present that consolidated transcript to your prospective employer instead of the one sent with the exam results. the consolidated transcript omits modules that you've attempted but failed. only reflects your passing grade and the date you passed. the only drawback is that your prospective employer may notice that papers were not attempted in sequence but then again, there is no requirement to attempt papers in sequential order. :)

supzfier

I did both...

i did bsc business but took elements of accounting, mgt accounting, financial reporting...

i think the only difference from accounting and finance is no audit and no managerial economics

ACCA is very stressful... every half a year got exam... by the time you receive your results, you have like 3 months to your next exam liao... the all the way is like exam exam exam...

UOL is very relax... the whole year like holiday... until May then i start to panic...

For exam...
UOL you know abit is enough... dun need to know too much... i got 4 subjects below 50 still pass...

ACCA... hmmm... always got alot of people get 48... 49... then repeat... maybe another 2, 3 times???

School wise...
UOL i attended a very lousy school... basically my third year got no lecturer... then the one that got lecturer i cannot hear what he say... even though i sit in the third row... no notes either... had to read study guide which was... cheem...

ACCA... because of the lousy school i attended in UOL... i was so impressed when i went to SAA for 1.1, 1.2, 1.3... good notes, good study guide, good exam kit...

hi i have to disagree with some points, i have graduated from both UOL and acca this sem,

as i have benefited from this forum over the past 3 years, i would write abit back for the users' benefit, and i hope this can continue on. for any examinations, it depends on what the individual wants, pass or high score?, lets say with the ultimate prize of achievement, in acca is as follows

worldwide finalist medal > local finalist medal > worldwide subject prize > singapore subject prize > all first time attempt passes > general pass

uol is as follows:

1st class > 2.ndup > 2ndlow > 3rd > pass + subject top > letter of distinction > merit

in either category the first few ones are hard not easy to get and it really depends on what one wants. i prefer see them on what the differences of focus are to look on how they compare on that basis, because they are technically different and people want them in the first place for different reasons.

my basis of the 2 education focus on two different areas.

UOL degree makes you more qualitative and generalist in the sense they make you think. Think of Intro to Econs, or any quantitative subjects, you cant run away from an essay component. They make you work your brains and logic a flow of sentence.

ACCA is clearly a more technical paper, if you know nuts or trying to write away to get it over, its clearly no way. you either know it or you dont. But its not just techinically, as you go into the accounting areas deeper of the FRS, you clearly understand that they make you think, i dont mean the question, they go deeper into understanding how people wants to think. I was a little disappointed with ACCA making the first 3 papers into a mcq paper, i dont think its a good idea for ppl progressing having a culture shock doing the real work in full workings.

I would not compare ACCA LVL 3 / Professional level in this discussion because it is at a higher level than any of the uni acc degree (including local uni, no doubt, if you wonder, because i have asked local uni lecturers / ntu alumni who has become lecturer) P1 P3 may not be, but P4 P5 P6 P7 P2 must surely be at a higher level than uni degree levels.

may i compare the subjects individually if i could,

i cant compare any of the MCQ papers, i have no idea how its like now,

business law - i have seen the uol papers, the idea is similar, but uol is open book and acca is close book

tax - no uol tax subject, and uol gets exemption for tax, its very strange i think, but tax is a really hard subject. i cannot remember remembering so many small details of any subject in my entire life.

F9 / 2.4 - compared to CF + FM (beta portion). Investment appraisals. The focus is very different, CF is very essay and very subjective of the topic that the examiner has focused. The answers to the questions are very specific for uol for the essays, but u wont get a really bad mark if you try. F9 is more FM, has a much wider scope. but then again i can also compare FM with a small portion bit of P4

FR 2.5 i have seen the papers, acca has a wider scope of FRS, uol has a few fRS covered in P2 but are not extensive. uol has an essay component, the question does not vary greatly per year. acca has a wider scope and the consolidation and FRS questions are designed very creatively.

2.6 / audit - acca is much harder. the case study they presented can be so challenging you may not find in the textbook, its good to pass, high score is a bonus. again the audit in uol is more essay based, there are case studies in uol as well. just that acca has one / 2 more questions on case study.

sleepy write another time

blurz123

hmm ok supzfier u said u graduated from both uol and acca rite? did u take uol at unisim or? in ur opinion which is more difficult to pass?

blurz123

eh crappyz u did bsc business uol at unisim or? what made u took acca after u got ur degree? in ur opinion, is bsc business easier than acca? oh and after u graduated from the bsc business course did u get any exemptions from any acca modules?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.