ACCA Students.

kop2311987

Hi all,

I completed my CAT, so is ACCA my only way of advancing? or are there any other degrees that i can take??

Any advise?

sunhappy

anyone attended joe fang's class for P2, care to share your experience about his way of teaching.... what about Ben Lee for P2?

sunhappy

hi all, i'm doing ACCA part-time ...can anyone recommend good lecturers for P1, P3 and P7 from Kaplan or SAA?

For P1, Mr.Chee HK & Mr. Philip Woo, both are equally good, thumbs up! One conducts classes at the main campus and city campus, respectively. take your pick by location,lecturer or lecturer, location.

Kenzo88

If anyone attending Kaplan's F2 and F3 revision classes? If yes, i would like to buy the questions and notes from you. Do pm me.

summersky1986

Just signed up for F1 - F3 with Kaplan.

Can anyone comment on Elaine Tan's F2? How about Mary? I chose Elaine.

For the benefit of ACCA newcomers like myself, you might want to attend the preview on 16 Nov @ 6.30, there you'll be entitled another $100 bucks discount (on top of the 20%).

Usavich09

Ben Lee good for consol? I leave that for other forumers to answer, cos i took consol under Roy Goh. He use the same approach for his F7.

But Kaplan's Fees are getting real expensive and moreover I don't think we got a chance to do and practice questions in class for Yvonne Goh. Kaplan's lecturer's style normally don't have time for you to practice questions in the class. Unless this is exception..so much no input for those who attend her P6 Tax class...

Wa.. like that damn bad sia.. realli dilemma sia.. duuno who to choose.. i think really got to ask people who take the high level one liao.. i think they are the only ones who can advice at this moment.. :(

wait_ii

Hi all,

ICPAS PE or ACCA Level 3, which one is harder to obtain? Another qns is what are the modules consists in the ACCA Level 3 and ICPAS PE?

Thanks in advance.:)

lhqiu12

Paularden, thank you for your advice. Will take note. But F6 not much choices from SAA.:(

b0uNcY

kaplan has early bird discounts too.

i think regardless of kaplan or saa.

more important is your willingness to commit into working hard for it.

this is uni level already, no more miracles paper like o level and poly.

i'm currently a student at kaplan too, taking f2,4,6,7 for this dec exam and i think the lecturers are
very good in helping me understand what i need to know.

we are currently lacking in Sg students topping the Singapore variant! hahaha :D

Kenzo88

I received an email about the PER subscription is 69£ and the due date for annual subscription is due. I'm confused as this 69£ is for what? As Students, do we need to file or pay for the PER??

Konnichiwa

one more feedback on goh sher wee,

he has a habit of providing class notes like an chinese kung-fu master.

he takes extreme pride in his notes, which is beneficial for the students.

but sometimes, he designs errors or misinformation in his notes, because he knows that his notes would be circulated, just like any other lecturers' notes, as students of different subjects network among themselves.

so, what he does is that he provides the correct framework of understanding for the students present in the class during the lesson.

disadvantage : what if you are absent from class? from my experience, he did not want and was extremely unwilling to furnish this student with the class notes which the student missed. Not forgetting the purposely designed misinformation he designed in his notes, it would be of no help to the student unless he attends the class or get notes corrections from the fellow classmates.

basically, I think Goh Sher Wee has not caught up with times, and is still encapsuled in his very old-school chinese way of thinking whereby he is not willing to be open for the notes he produce.

on the other hand, there is another lecturer who emails us the class notes which the lecturer conducts, and this saves me from the backend work of copying the notes and listening. It helped me concentrate on listening to the lectures to understand the concept framework and to catch up with the written copy by printing it later.

goh has earned my $ once, and i will never go back to get him to teach me advanced tax even if it's paid for, since i know his teaching habits.

the other lecturer who has embraced a more up-to-date, democratic way of teaching, has taught me for 2 subjects. and i would continue to pay for the other few subjects the lecturer conducts.

it's like why small provision shops hawking vegetables closed down, because they have a minimum quantity they fix on the customers to buy, while supermarkets who open 24 hours continue to expand because they don't care about the quantity that you purchase...

going to Goh Sher Wee's class is like going to the former.

You must be taking P papers now.... ur message is so long de.. Haha..
Yes yes.. I dun mind his bragging actually. But I just dun like his emo part..
If student dun understand.. then they ask... u are the teacher and u dun answer...
then how will the student understand..

But be fair also.. he is a good tax lecturer..

yukita

wow takes 2 hours reading this from before 12 midnight until now ....

i dont take ACCA, just that my GF going to take it ... reading on this thread to find some information.
we did attend the preview talk at kaplan, and she going to register it tomorrow....

Kenzo88

May i know, Hows does ACCA scoring like? They go by Pass, Credit etc.... Or grade A,B,C,D?

Kyoji83

You must be taking P papers now.... ur message is so long de.. Haha..
Yes yes.. I dun mind his bragging actually. But I just dun like his emo part..
If student dun understand.. then they ask... u are the teacher and u dun answer...
then how will the student understand.

But be fair also.. he is a good tax lecturer..

Just like SP lecturers....

Konnichiwa

Anyone self study and took level 1 papers but did not enrol for class in SAA? Should be alright to do this way right? I read through their terms, they did not state that it is a must to enrol for any class before stepping in for exam.

Yes, you can self study. You just need to take the exams.
Many people study with the school as the teacher can explain the subject better and focus on the key areas, build a better foundation for latter subjects.

nuky8181

Hi there,

Taking F9 this time round. Now very lost. Could some one advise me on how to judge whether relevant fix cost is constant or vary with no. of production?

Example
Q provide 1st year fix cost as cost/unit. Product unit for the 1st year also provided. But seq year production changes.
Also, state that "fix cost represent incremental cash fixed production overhead".

I judge that fix cost vary with unit as it state that it is incremental. Correct?
==> But the basic of fixed cost is that it is not related to production. So should I ignore the word incremental?
Unless the question stated that fix cost is increasing by some factor, then I increase it correct?

regards

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.