ACCA Students.

Advnetwk

maisatomai wrote:Actually sometimes you need to be contended imho. There are hundreds of thousand people with 1k pay and they are still surviving well. If you leave Singapore, are u bring ur family over?

your humble opinion is to shut your mouth up... FYI, hundreds of thousand people with 1k pay are struggling not only to make ends meet but also struggling with many living expenses...

You are too superficial...:s7:

Advnetwk

@Konnichiwa

I think Singaporean be foolish a bit lah. Just keep quiet and get any job. Got a job good enough already. Why must ask for so much? Just listen lor... NS teach us how to listen to command mah.

U mean we just follow the foreigners so called foreign talents to accept any job. Correct..?

Accounting low value work mah. Let other people learn lor.. why must we be so concern...

U believe accounting is already filled with so many people such as singaporeans and foreigners so called foreign talents... Hence, so competitive it results in lower wage... That's why we should try to avoid accounting as far as possible... Am i right..?

U are Singaporean if u cannot enter NTU, NUS or SMU accountancy, just accept what ever course the sch assign you lor... why go take ACCA...

U mean We just follow the mainstream for singaporeans and we won't go wrong... Am i right?

Its our fault to try to act smart mah...

U mean we choose to act special and create our own unique path that result in undesirable result... Am i right..?

You go to accounting firm and see lor... those foreigners value adding mah, their degree from reputated university mah... most are prizewinners mah... most of them can understand english well mah... Dun believe go see for yourself lor... their qualification really damn ... good lor... Somemore they got "2 years" ahead of us mah, how to compete... 2 years lei... some 2 and half years lei...

U mean Foreigners so called foreign talents are always ahead of us. Am i right..?

Not 2 days lei... not 2 months lei... 2 years lei... how to compete their excellent accounting knowledge... Singaporean who are not from NTU, NUS or SMU should forget about accounting altogether...[/QUOTE]

U mean NTU, NUS and SMU are still given the preference treatment over any other singaporeans or non-singaporeans non-NTU/NUS/SMU grads... Am i right..?

All these comments are just my inference. U may correct me if i am wrong.

ebullent

Probably was a poly grad who subsequently took on ACCA. But PWC no longer hires poly grads as assistant associates. I am ACCA too, (in pwc now), but i graduated from SMU. So far, have not seen any pure ACCA grads in PwC who weren't poly grads.

so do you see any poly grads with acca? (hoping for a yes)

Konnichiwa

@Konnichiwa

I think Singaporean be foolish a bit lah. Just keep quiet and get any job. Got a job good enough already. Why must ask for so much? Just listen lor... NS teach us how to listen to command mah.

U mean we just follow the foreigners so called foreign talents to accept any job. Correct..?

Accounting low value work mah. Let other people learn lor.. why must we be so concern...

U believe accounting is already filled with so many people such as singaporeans and foreigners so called foreign talents... Hence, so competitive it results in lower wage... That's why we should try to avoid accounting as far as possible... Am i right..?
I leave it for you to judge whether accounting is low value work, some question to ask is that, if accounting needs lot of land like farming? Is it a knowledge based industry?

U are Singaporean if u cannot enter NTU, NUS or SMU accountancy, just accept what ever course the sch assign you lor... why go take ACCA...

U mean We just follow the mainstream for singaporeans and we won't go wrong... Am i right?
I leave it for you to judge.

Its our fault to try to act smart mah...

U mean we choose to act special and create our own unique path that result in undesirable result... Am i right..?

You go to accounting firm and see lor... those foreigners value adding mah, their degree from reputated university mah... most are prizewinners mah... most of them can understand english well mah... Dun believe go see for yourself lor... their qualification really damn ... good lor... Somemore they got "2 years" ahead of us mah, how to compete... 2 years lei... some 2 and half years lei...

U mean Foreigners so called foreign talents are always ahead of us. Am i right..?

Not 2 days lei... not 2 months lei... 2 years lei... how to compete their excellent accounting knowledge... Singaporean who are not from NTU, NUS or SMU should forget about accounting altogether...

U mean NTU, NUS and SMU are still given the preference treatment over any other singaporeans or non-singaporeans non-NTU/NUS/SMU grads... Am i right..?

All these comments are just my inference. U may correct me if i am wrong.[/QUOTE]

All i can say is that try to understand what i am trying to say by not reading it literally.

belgarathc

I see that Kaplan is offering ACCA courses online. Anybody has any feedbacks? I think that it would be very convenient for those working people.

nuky8181

Probably was a poly grad who subsequently took on ACCA. But PWC no longer hires poly grads as assistant associates. I am ACCA too, (in pwc now), but i graduated from SMU. So far, have not seen any pure ACCA grads in PwC who weren't poly grads.

Nope. Not an poly grad. Like me, previously engineer. He went in as a IT auditor then transfer to be a FS auditor. I just talk to him recently and his comment is they do hire ACCA grad but with full cert. So as for ppl looking to get in with a few more paper to go, I shall not comment.

Also, even the lecture said that it is possible to get in. Those price winner definitely can get in. To link back to my above comment, chances are, if you are price winner, you will properly get into big 4 even without full cert. At least that is how I feel.

There are so many ACCA grad. I think we should not base on a few comment of "no" and come to the conclusion that it is not possible.

Just send your resume and wait for reply. Even if you do not get in, that is not important. Just work else where and gain experience and then try for big 4 again. It is just a matter of a longer or shorter path.

Personally I will try for big 4. If cant get in, try other lor. :s13:

Petrelli_83

Nope. Not an poly grad. Like me, previously engineer. He went in as a IT auditor then transfer to be a FS auditor. I just talk to him recently and his comment is they do hire ACCA grad but with full cert. So as for ppl looking to get in with a few more paper to go, I shall not comment.

Also, even the lecture said that it is possible to get in. Those price winner definitely can get in. To link back to my above comment, chances are, if you are price winner, you will properly get into big 4 even without full cert. At least that is how I feel.

There are so many ACCA grad. I think we should not base on a few comment of "no" and come to the conclusion that it is not possible.

Just send your resume and wait for reply. Even if you do not get in, that is not important. Just work else where and gain experience and then try for big 4 again. It is just a matter of a longer or shorter path.

Personally I will try for big 4. If cant get in, try other lor. :s13:

Definitely possible. KPMG and EY have been known to accept ACCA grads. But i was referring to PwC and Deloitte so our thoughts weren't exactly parallel when we were discussing about the topic. The latter two usually requires a recognised on-campus degree, regardless of the discipline. Another point to note is that getting into Audit is easier versus tax and advisory.

hardcorepassion

Definitely possible. KPMG and EY have been known to accept ACCA grads. But i was referring to PwC and Deloitte so our thoughts weren't exactly parallel when we were discussing about the topic. The latter two usually requires a recognised on-campus degree, regardless of the discipline. Another point to note is that getting into Audit is easier versus tax and advisory.

But how about a candidate with full ACCA and previous working experience about a year in another big four firm?

I suppose PwC will accept him?

Petrelli_83

But how about a candidate with full ACCA and previous working experience about a year in another big four firm?

I suppose PwC will accept him?

Good chance they will, but still have not seen any in tax. Not sure about audit. The closest i've seen is a foreign on-campus australian degree supplemented with ACCA. There is another with a DL degree, worked in a mid tier firm in audit for 2 years, and was accepted into PWC's indirect tax team as a fresh associate.

beerbellly

can share your experience on your economics and finance degree? is it very tough?

More academic and less technical. Learning the logics and fundamentals of how "firms" work , rational and logic. Learn why uncertain future cashflow has to be discounted using certain cost of capital of firm to PV. In acca we will just discount assuming we already know the fundamentals.

Biogentic

More academic and less technical. Learning the logics and fundamentals of how "firms" work , rational and logic. Learn why uncertain future cashflow has to be discounted using certain cost of capital of firm to PV. In acca we will just discount assuming we already know the fundamentals.

i am interested to know if the economics subject you took are very mathematical inclined? I only studied E-maths during my o-level and have since then return all to teacher.

Petrelli_83

i am interested to know if the economics subject you took are very mathematical inclined? I only studied E-maths during my o-level and have since then return all to teacher.

Economics is all about mathamatics. If you don't have a solid grasp of A maths, or more specifically, calculus. It is impossible to appreciate it at a very deep level, and you WILL struggle really badly. All the graphs you studied are mere graphical representations of the math behind the theories.

A very simple example:

Y = 2X + 5

Y = Marginal Cost, X = quantity of goods sold (1, 10)

Can you visualise the above equation into a mathamatical graph (without graphing it out)? Can you tell that the fixed cost of sale is 5 and the variable cost is 2?

In finance, you can get by a lot of modules with a rudimentary knowledge of math since a lot of the cashflow models can be "memorised". E.g. the discounted cash flow analysis. But honestly, it won't teach you much more than what you already know in ACCA's P4 and F9.

Not recommended at all.

nuky8181

Haha.... my friend is in PWC. nvm. :s13:

nuky8181

I said "usually" no. But perhaps, the answer you wanted to hear is "yes". So, I guess usually no almost means a yes.

Yaya. I know I know. No worry. :D.

You know if what are the better firm that are accepting ACCA to do tax? Still thinking over if I should do tax or go audit firm and do audit. I was advise to go audit firm first then later on decide if to stay on as audit or move on to tax.

Also, if we start off as audit in the audit firm, say the big 4, after a while, what are the changes of having a transfer to tax department? Can advise?

beerbellly

Economics is all about mathamatics. If you don't have a solid grasp of A maths, or more specifically, calculus. It is impossible to appreciate it at a very deep level, and you WILL struggle really badly. All the graphs you studied are mere graphical representations of the math behind the theories.

A very simple example:

Y = 2X + 5

Y = Marginal Cost, X = quantity of goods sold (1, 10)

Can you visualise the above equation into a mathamatical graph (without graphing it out)? Can you tell that the fixed cost of sale is 5 and the variable cost is 2?

In finance, you can get by a lot of modules with a rudimentary knowledge of math since a lot of the cashflow models can be "memorised". E.g. the discounted cash flow analysis. But honestly, it won't teach you much more than what you already know in ACCA's P4 and F9.

Not recommended at all.

Petrelli: Agree.

Biogentic: Like petrelli mentioned, yep mathematics is important in Econs, at least to the level of differentiation. As we may need to compute marginal changes,mutipliers, Ceteris peribus(assume all other factors remain constant) etc... Yep econs is quite mathematics. No need to feel demoralize..accountants at work dun really need to know too much of such dy/dx thingy.

If u wonder what module is essential in econs, would recommend Micro(How firms work), Macro(Banking and economy works), Econometrics ( maths and Stats to economy), and Financial Intermediation(ie: how banks works, how they may fail and rise of complex fin. struments [ie: Accounting treatment FRS39]). These applies well in my P2,P3,P4 and P5, the econs rational and mathematics did help alot in terms of visualizing and undertstanding.

But seriously..its just more knowledge outside of BS and P&L. For those doing ACCA just focus in it. For those interested in learning more, study some econs is good for reasoning.

dark_aLLeY

Anyway have 2010 F4 (sgp) notes, text and exam kits to sell? Pls PM your offer.

Anyway, is there any way to strength knowledge on Dr. and Cr. thingy. I get confused over times. :(

Petrelli_83

Anyway have 2010 F4 (sgp) notes, text and exam kits to sell? Pls PM your offer.

Anyway, is there any way to strength knowledge on Dr. and Cr. thingy. I get confused over times. :(

Analyse using the balance sheet approach. Everything must balance. That would be the easiest way to analyse a double entry.

Frontier

heard that kaplan fired a ACCA lecturer this intake, and yvonne was put back in, any1 want to share what happened? =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.