ACCA Students.

raoul7370

heard he is quite good. dunno his teaching style though. but if you have your reservations you can either go for in my opinion Nicholas Woo from Kaplan.

This is Paul Owen Merison! I teach F8 on Wednesday afternoons and evenings, so if you want to sample feel free to come on over for an hour and see for yourself!!

And there is no problem in joining F8 having missed the first 2 weeks - easy to catch up, as I start slowly :)

sukkieman

acca complete liao got what prospect ah? sorry i quite ignorant one. everytime hear friends take acca be accountant but i never hear what or where they work one. program long and expensive or not?

can be accountant(work in company) or auditor(work in audit firm, such as big 4). programme is 2-5 years usually, depending on ur own speed, average around 3 years. cost is around 12-15k

dark_aLLeY

This is Paul Owen Merison! I teach F8 on Wednesday afternoons and evenings, so if you want to sample feel free to come on over for an hour and see for yourself!!

And there is no problem in joining F8 having missed the first 2 weeks - easy to catch up, as I start slowly :)

Hi, Mr. Paul, can you kindly explain the differences btw studying in LSBF and Kaplan ? does LSBF offers the oxford degree prep course as well?

TIA.

qwertified

Hi guys, i'm considering a career switch to accountancy, starting with studying ACCA. Is it true that i can take exams for up to only 4 papers per 6 months? That means need at least 2.5 to 3 yrs to get the cert..

Also what is the salary range for a degree holder with some working experience, altho non-related, and currently studying ACCA?

Biogentic

Hi guys, i'm considering a career switch to accountancy, starting with studying ACCA. Is it true that i can take exams for up to only 4 papers per 6 months? That means need at least 2.5 to 3 yrs to get the cert..

Also what is the salary range for a degree holder with some working experience, altho non-related, and currently studying ACCA?

u will need to start off as an accounts assistant. i think u can try to ask for 2k first and when u graduate, you can switch company for higher remuneration.
if u have degree/acca.. can start off from accounts executive/asst accountant...
well that is only the title... in reality, if u are new to accounting, what u do is probably the same as an accounts asst just that the title is more fancy and salary is higher.
i have an acca, now doing commercial accounting too, fresh with no experience...
if u are taking part-time with little or no exemption, i can say it is quite difficult to obtain within 2-3years. 3.5years would be more appropriate, that is the fastest from what i observe with acca student. most stuck in the professional paper for some time.

Biogentic

acca complete liao got what prospect ah? sorry i quite ignorant one. everytime hear friends take acca be accountant but i never hear what or where they work one. program long and expensive or not?

i find that program is quite long. 1 subject about 60contact hours, take 6mths to complete. content is alot.. i am glad i do it full-time, cant imagine taking such a hard paper while working full-time. nw aiming for a degree.
most people take acca to work in commercial accounting or audit but there are some kiasu one, who take it up to strengten their knowledge on accounting... they can be from anywhere.

qwertified

Thanks for replies, want to ask about the syllabus, is it recommended to attend class for F1-F3, or is self study more than enough? Do i need revision kits and stuff or just textbooks will suffice? I got accountancy fren who graduated from NTU so maybe can borrow a few related text..

Doraemon10

Hi AX-rabbit, yes ACCA takes "a while" (few months) to process registration and re-registration. However, I suggest that you write to them to make enquiry:

This is the person I wrote to at accaglobal.com when I was waiting in vain for my re-registration to be done. He is very helpful and responded very fast:
George Payne
ACCA Connect Advisor

Doraemon10

Mr Merison. may I know what other papers you are teaching besides F8?

papaya00

Ok I bought over some question from this thread I created. I am newbie to accounting and would like to try. Hope you guys tolerate and help me. Thank.

I understand there is a lot of program in accounting world. FIA, CAT, ACCA and diploma in accounting and business ( DAB) by poly and private.

1) For newbie like me, to try out and see whether accounting is suitable for me what route should I take? This route must be cheap and fast. And roughly how long will the route ( duration of the course)?
FIA -> ACCA?
CAT -> ACCA
FIA -> DAB -> ACCA?

2) So as we compare the route, I understand some ACCA paper is quite hard without tuition whereas some can self study. Which school provide the most cheap tuition? Which school provide most cheap and efficient tuition?

3) So CAT can match poly accounting diploma in term of salary? Diploma in accounting and business ( poly/ private) vs ACCA can the salary be match? Which one employee will choose more?

4) Let's say I take ACCA and 10/14 papers I pass and I hold a CAT cert. I am still not a ACCA member yet? Will employer hire such employee? So I will match like undergraduate or diploma level? I know ACCA is a professional cert, let's not compare about the cert. Compare about the salary where will it match roughly?

5) Does ACCA/ FIA/ CAT all this have ten year series? I can easily get at popular? I know for second hand books I can get online or from CPA?

Can someone enlighten the 5 question? Thank for the help!

TonyDelPiero

Hi, anybody knows where to buy F4& F6 SGP version textbooks? I prefer BPP edition, but it is not easy to get:)=:p
THANKS!!

p.s. if you have and want to sell them, pls contact me at 96472762 (sms only) thank you thank you:)

You are looking at SGP variant. So, BPP does not publish Singapore taxation and law study texts. That is why! BPP usually publish UK or International variant. You should have done your research carefully before you made this post in my opinion.

nuky8181

Hi everyone.

I am thinking of trying to get job with firm such as ChioLim. I heard it is necessary to sign a one year contract. Anyone have the detail on the penalty of breaking the contract?

Can PM me?

emokia

Hi everyone.

I am thinking of trying to get job with firm such as ChioLim. I heard it is necessary to sign a one year contract. Anyone have the detail on the penalty of breaking the contract?

Can PM me?

iirc, chio lim bond is 2 years

zonglin18

Ya mid tier normally is 2 years (of NS =S).

Break bond (I think) pay penalty
= your salary * remaining bond period in months / 2

At least that was for another mid tier, not sure about chio lim.

nuky8181

Ya mid tier normally is 2 years (of NS =S).

Break bond (I think) pay penalty
= your salary * remaining bond period in months / 2

At least that was for another mid tier, not sure about chio lim.

I see. So, base on your thinking, it should be half a mth pay for each remaining mth. Wao. That is a lot if the employee is to break the bond. Hm....

Got a few more questions here.

What is the number of mth of probation in the mid tier audit firm?

Anyone can describe a general system of the pay increment and promotion in the mid tier audit firm?

Also, say I finish my ACCA, with how many year of experience in mid tier audit firm, would help to get into the Big 4?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.