Adulthood questions

boxer33

Before you have a girlfriend, do you apply for a 2-room house (1 bedroom and 1 living room) and settle in with her?

Before u have a girlfriend, how to settle in with her???

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Before you have a girlfriend, do you apply for a 2-room house (1 bedroom and 1 living room) and settle in with her?

Before u have a girlfriend, how to settle in with her???
why not? if both are agreeable to it? :o

there's one edmwr here who did just that
bought a 4R resale in Bedok, if not wrong

can't rem if they're still at bf/gf level or alrd engaged

tsk .. aiyahh
forgotten his user name here alrd :s22:

Bui Kia

Hi guys, just a question. Before you have a girlfriend, do you apply for a 2-room house (1 bedroom and 1 living room) and settle in with her? Later, if you want to get married and have kids, would you apply for a 3-room unit (2 bedrooms and 1 living room)? Or would you apply for a 3-room unit right away if your girlfriend agrees to marry you?

i always told myself ... i must have a condo , car or achieve monthly income of 30K/mth
ORELSE I won't look for gf 🥴
But up till todate ... i am still SINGLE AND VERY AVAILABLE 🥴

Aunt Dino

Hi guys, just a question. Before you have a girlfriend, do you apply for a 2-room house (1 bedroom and 1 living room) and settle in with her? Later, if you want to get married and have kids, would you apply for a 3-room unit (2 bedrooms and 1 living room)? Or would you apply for a 3-room unit right away if your girlfriend agrees to marry you?
If you confirm want kids, then get at least a 3 room flat. If only 2 room, you want your kid to share the bedroom with you and your wife till how old sia? Lol. Or you want your kid to sleep in the living room?

If can afford 3 room flat, straightaway buy 3 room bah. Buy 2 room then sell away to buy another house like quite troublesome leh. It's not like you can just sell and buy a house anytime you want. Need to see pricing, timing, location, availability, etc.

Not yet. For singles, it's not possible to buy a 3-room BTO. Unlike in Malaysia or other countries where it's easier to apply for a bigger house. Also, I forgot to add: are girls okay with a 2-room unit as long as you have a house?
I feel that during bf/gf stage, whether he has a house or not doesn't matter. Having your own house is a bonus, can go to your place and chill. However, a bigger flat would be better if you are going to have kids.

m0x0m

If you confirm want kids, then get at least a 3 room flat. If only 2 room, you want your kid to share the bedroom with you and your wife till how old sia? Lol. Or you want your kid to sleep in the living room?

If can afford 3 room flat, straightaway buy 3 room bah. Buy 2 room then sell away to buy another house like quite troublesome leh. It's not like you can just sell and buy a house anytime you want. Need to see pricing, timing, location, availability, etc.

Not sure about other girls, but personally I feel that during bf/gf stage, whether he has a house or not doesn't matter. However, I would want to live in a bigger flat if we are going to have kids.
not a right mind to purchase ur 2 room.... Dream on guy

hachi

You still need to wait for MOP

hachi

i always told myself ... i must have a condo , car or achieve monthly income of 30K/mth
ORELSE I won't look for gf 🥴
But up till todate ... i am still SINGLE AND VERY AVAILABLE 🥴
No issue... Alot here got 200y lifespan... 99 lease affects them..

I always say marry when your spouse is syt and you are poor.

我是内鬼

1) get 1 hdb unit on your own
2) your gf get another unit on her own
3) stay in one of the unit and rent out the other.
4) stay as bf/gf status forever and not get pawn by wc

buffybuffy

Can apply 2 room means 35 liao? 35 already don’t bother marry liao. Just enjoy life can Liao. Nowadays married or single also died alone at home. Heng Heng neighbor smell you then you are lucky. Otherwise is can really rot until left bones

cosmothecat

Most guys in my social circle is buy a condo unit first, then buy a conti car

next, a lot of beautiful girls auto approach them to be GF

Laguna123

Get at least a 3rm resales 1st if can, when got gf then can decides if want kids can move to bigger unit, else 3rm flat is good for a small family also.

Dividends

If you have plans for marriage in the future, might as well just get a larger resale. Best if can afford condo.

KH_88@

I have my own 2-room HDB, my partner and her dotter have their own 4-room HDB. When I WFH, I will spend the night at their place. During my Work In Office dayz, I will stay at my own place.

When both our unit MOP, we will decide whether to apply for a Prime or Plus area together.
If u don't have the plan to get married, just rent out ur 2 room when MOP. if not just sell ur unit n join name to the 4 rm also can. up to u liao.

Elfblade

If u don't have the plan to get married, just rent out ur 2 room when MOP. if not just sell ur unit n join name to the 4 rm also can. up to u liao.
Cannot rent 2-room out, unless HDB change their rules aldy?

actigenE

Nowadays wanna jio stead need a minimum 4 bedder le. No more a 4rm HDB liao with inflation.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.