Advice for new machine

mike911

shadow84

The midi sizes are quite different compared to mini iirc, especially the front intake. Alternatively is there any kind of basic filters that I can diy on my own?

Not that i can think of, unless u dun mind getting multiple 140mm filters....

mike911

Not that i can think of, unless u dun mind getting multiple 140mm filters....

Front intakes are 120mm, but I noticed a problem, there's not much space to "mount" the filter in between the front panel and the clip on front filter.

I think I'll better make a trip down to look for the casing (that is not tightly wrapped in plastic...) and have a better look.

shadow84

Front intakes are 120mm, but I noticed a problem, there's not much space to "mount" the filter in between the front panel and the clip on front filter.

I think I'll better make a trip down to look for the casing (that is not tightly wrapped in plastic...) and have a better look.

Seems like it... But i think once u press in, wun be much of a problem... Will update you when my filter comes in... I can help u try.

mike911

Will take a walk at SLS to finalise.
Reading from the threads a couple of item seems to be oos.

MSI B85m-G43 + i5 4570 ~ $380
Kingston hyperx 2x4GB ~ $104
MSI R9 280x 3GB ~ $479
SuperFlower Golden Green HX-600 ~ $109 (mnc)
Fractal Design Define R4 / Arc Mini R2 ~ $169/$129

royfrosty

Will take a walk at SLS to finalise.
Reading from the threads a couple of item seems to be oos.

MSI B85m-G43 + i5 4570 ~ $380
Kingston hyperx 2x4GB ~ $104
MSI R9 280x 3GB ~ $479
SuperFlower Golden Green HX-600 ~ $109 (mnc)
Fractal Design Define R4 / Arc Mini R2 ~ $169/$129

The superflower HX600 still got stocks.

Same goes to the R4.

MSI B85M G43 see where you wanna get.

Kingston HyperX also must find.

mike911

The superflower HX600 still got stocks.
Same goes to the R4.
MSI B85M G43 see where you wanna get.
Kingston HyperX also must find.

Okays thanks, no rush anyways. (Imma still havent decided on the case)

PSU - okays.
Fan - Still have to figure out one to get
Mobo - Probably tdp/mnc
Ram - Er if not KVR should be fine?

Anyways its only a partial system, can beo and test, but not use much, without a monitor.
Plus have to wait for a week+ for other components to come in.

mike911

(Guess I'm fated to meet the bad weather.)

Anyways,
CPU, RAM, PSU, GFX - All ok, except R9 280x seems like on a good sale.

TDP quoted quite expensive for the HyperX. But they matched PCT's price.
Seems like all the shops has bumped back the 280x @ 479
Overall they quoted approx $100 off more from pct.

Still need to fine 1 more case fan for 2 intake 1 exhaust config.

btw most of the shops quoted that Arc Mini R2 is not selling well due to the price match as Arc Midi R2. Hence they have no sample unit either.
What caught me by surprise is that they still had Define Mini around.

shadow84

(Guess I'm fated to meet the bad weather.)

Anyways,
CPU, RAM, PSU, GFX - All ok, except R9 280x seems like on a good sale.

TDP quoted quite expensive for the HyperX. But they matched PCT's price.
Seems like all the shops has bumped back the 280x @ 479
Overall they quoted approx $100 off more from pct.

Still need to fine 1 more case fan for 2 intake 1 exhaust config.

btw most of the shops quoted that Arc Mini R2 is not selling well due to the price match as Arc Midi R2. Hence they have no sample unit either.
What caught me by surprise is that they still had Define Mini around.

Midi is bigger than mini mah, for just $10. They should reduce pricing for Mini r2...

mike911

Trying to call up shops to ask for stock level for the below 2 items.
For anyone whom went sls recently, can kindly share if you did spotted them?

MSI B85m-G43
MSI R9 280x (This is worrying as I read about shortage in other countries too)

royfrosty

Trying to call up shops to ask for stock level for the below 2 items.
For anyone whom went sls recently, can kindly share if you did spotted them?

MSI B85m-G43
MSI R9 280x (This is worrying as I read about shortage in other countries too)

Been to tradepac, pc themes, cybermind afternoon.

As usual all msi and giga no stock for the r9 280x. Only asus.

Msi b85m g43 limited.

mike911

Been to tradepac, pc themes, cybermind afternoon.
As usual all msi and giga no stock for the r9 280x. Only asus.
Msi b85m g43 limited.

Cant seem to call through them, didnt try tradepac.

I've some components (ssd, psu) delayed.
With your experience, would you recommend me to get the remainder first or wait till I have them ready?

shadow84

Cant seem to call through them, didnt try tradepac.

I've some components (ssd, psu) delayed.
With your experience, would you recommend me to get the remainder first or wait till I have them ready?

Just get your stuff 1st... in case OOS again and need to wait even longer, even when your ssd/ram have arrive.

Calling them no point bah. Just head down to faster get, while at the same time call them to reserve if possible.

mike911

Just get your stuff 1st... in case OOS again and need to wait even longer, even when your ssd/ram have arrive.

Calling them no point bah. Just head down to faster get, while at the same time call them to reserve if possible.

Cause I only have a basic PSU, and dont think good to use to test.
My ssd seems stucked in US. Est. at least 22nd then get exported out.
But since GPU is not available. Only mobo, cpu, ram to get first.

shadow84

Cause I only have a basic PSU, and dont think good to use to test.
My ssd seems stucked in US. Est. at least 22nd then get exported out.
But since GPU is not available. Only mobo, cpu, ram to get first.

What basic psu u talking about?

Well, it is up to you. Who knows how long more can the stocks for b85m g43 tahan till it is OOS, and how long more till next batch arrive.

For me, i will just buy now, and wait till later then open up to fix up. There is a chance for next batch, they may increase price due to low supply high demand. Just saying only.

mike911

What basic psu u talking about?

Well, it is up to you. Who knows how long more can the stocks for b85m g43 tahan till it is OOS, and how long more till next batch arrive.

For me, i will just buy now, and wait till later then open up to fix up. There is a chance for next batch, they may increase price due to low supply high demand. Just saying only.

I have a basic CM psu as spare, which I may use to test. But I'm just being too "wary". Its not like it doesn't work. Because I'm getting my psu from a friend of mine.

Quite true that prices may bump due to low supply high demand. Capitalism.

Think if got problem, guess I'll just go distro.

shadow84

I have a basic CM psu as spare, which I may use to test. But I'm just being too "wary". Its not like it doesn't work. Because I'm getting my psu from a friend of mine.

Quite true that prices may bump due to low supply high demand. Capitalism.

Think if got problem, guess I'll just go distro.

Distro may not sell to you directly... high chance will direct you to shops in SLS...

mike911

Distro may not sell to you directly... high chance will direct you to shops in SLS...

Pai Seh, I was refering that if got "problem", the worse go to distro for exchange. Cause past a few days/weeks already.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.