$800 rm should be enough.
You want to see street art or heritage building?
Within Georgetown, take grab very cheap and easy.
can skip Kek lok si unless you really into temple buildings or want to pray. its a distance away from town.
Both actually.. And also the food.. After that it'd be 4 days of cruise food.. I'll just grab around since I have m1 data passport
You too greed lol, so limited time you have to limit yourself lah. That's why I recommend you, Kek Lok Si temple, Chew Clan Jetty, street arts and foods. If still have time then go gurney shopping.
Kek Lok Si temple area got famous laksa if you like, you need to goggle for that.
got half a day disembark phuket too but we just been there last yearpaiseh la bro.. 4 nights cruise that's why got chance disembark will try to do much..got half a day disembark phuket too but we just been there last year
paiseh la bro.. 4 nights cruise that's why got chance disembark will try to do much..got half a day disembark phuket too but we just been there last year
No..........Does it cost anything to disembark? I have the idea that there is a fee charged by the cruise liner.
Does it cost anything to disembark? I have the idea that there is a fee charged by the cruise liner.

There is none specifically payable to the cruise company but I'm sure all the port dues etc etc were already factored into ticket prices la![]()
Yea, all include in the ticket.
Haven't try cruise yet, wife got sea sickness, don't know can take it or not. If cannot take it, then jialat.
Most parts are not bumpy actually, I sailed a few times with Royal Caribbean. Go for a balcony room, with the view and fresh air.. your wife should be fine..
Sometimes when we're too lazy to plan an itinerary, cruise and island getaways are godsend.. I still remember when we came back from japan in Feb, I felt more tired than rested.. woke up so early daily and return to hotel so late.. machiam working hours or worse..
Other alternatives for no brainer/no fuss/just total relax trips.. you should check out batu batu and telunas island.. they're private islands with nice beaches.. ideal to just chill and make babies lol.. 4 nights cost around 2.5 - 4k for two
does anyone have recommendation for hair salon in Penang preferably around Komtar area? Just for cut + wash (ladies) and possibly hair treatment if price is reasonable.
Cant feel the movement of the ship.Yea, all include in the ticket.
Haven't try cruise yet, wife got sea sickness, don't know can take it or not. If cannot take it, then jialat.
Both actually.. And also the food.. After that it'd be 4 days of cruise food.. I'll just grab around since I have m1 data passport
In lieu of kek lok si, what do you suggest?
I wouldn't mind praying or visiting such a majestic sounding temple too lol
I would suggest go for some famous street foods, do the street arts and heritage buildings (khoo kongsi, sun yat sun base, peranakan house, blue mansion, etc) at the same time, chew jetty. slow and easy. then before u board can buy those tau sah piah, nutmeg products, etc.
the problem with kek lok si, is its 30mins from george town, so 1 hr travel time (provided no jam) and you would need at least 1-2 hours to really explore the place (typically, you would start at lv1, then slowly make ur way up, take a short lift right to the top for the giant guan yin statue and the view of the surroundings.
then make ur way to basement level where there is a footpath down to the base of the hill, the footpath is lined with tourist shops but you can get some interesting stuff if u look hard enough. then finally at the foot of the hill, you can go for the famous laksa and other food.
if you really wan to pray and see temple, go for the giant sleeping buddha in georgetown, its very close to gurney drive as well. (Reclining Buddha Temple (Wat Chayamangkalaram))
Hi guys,
My cruise will stop at penang, I estimate about 7 - 9 hours before we have to embark again. What's a good half day itinerary? We got no interests in the toys, ghost museum, butterfly park is out too..
Is it likely to squeeze escape water/adventure park, penang hill and makan in georgetown area?
With that time, I would say go to Georgetown and take it easy - go on a makanthon, street arts and jetty. Grab is cheap and convenient so you can hop around in cabs and hunt for good food. Since you are not interested in museums then street arts and jetty would be the better picks to chill and not pressed for time.
Like the others have said, please rule out Kek Lok Si and Penang Hill as these will take a lot of time. I took a lot of photos at Kek Lok Si and is rather big so it took more than half a day already. Penang Hill can really skip as I personally don't think it is worth the time - the scenery up there is so-so only to me so if pressed for time can choose not to go.
Alternatively, you can choose the land tours from your cruise. Will be ex and maybe will bring you to less exciting places, but at least you will not worry not making it back for embarkment.
Wow, thanks bro that is really useful.
I'm actually quite keen to see the temple but I understand an hour of traveling can be a challenge. Let me talk to my wife and see how much we really want to rush for the day trip.
Yes, discuss and see how much you want to do.
Ps: Kek Lok Si is very big and with the height, very good view.