Advice on Penang

sambuca

Am in penang now for 4days. This place is cool. Almost everywhere has wifi access n speed is so much better than our stupid n useless wirelesssg

Am having breakfast at Dome 1st Ave posting this

Staying at Traders. Managed to find the trochew chendol n char kway teow next to Chowrasta Mkt

will be staying at traders too. nice to know that wifi is easily avail

andrewsoh

planning to drive up to penang. anyone can share his/her experience? thanks :)

andrewsoh

ok i am back. with gps navigation was pretty easy.

Total toll is about 200rm. Petrol around 250 for round trip.

Sg -> Penang ard 6+ to 7 hrs avg speed 140km
Penang to Malacca ard 4hrs avg speed ard 110 to 120km
Malacca to SG ard 2hrs avg speed ard 110 to 120km.

whoisD

How did you like Penang ?

Saphira4597

Never been to Penang before.
Is George Town big ?

Not really that big, if you go by foot around the heritage areas I think its possible to cover most places in a few days.

Then again I'm not really sure since I've never really walked around the area before... :o

Tristessee

anyone took coach to penang? Which coach company did you book with? I'm having a hard time finding a coach that comes back to Singapore... called five stars and they say the only sell sg-penang, come back must buy at the bus station itself.

I booked for Konsortium online for tickets to come back from Penang to SG.

whoisD

Most importantly is there are lots of food and shopping once out of the hotel.

Try Gurney area then there's hawker and stuff around w gurney plaza.. Batu ferringhi area if you want the night market kind whole stretch for cheap steals. But if you want shopping like bkk style, prangin mall it is.

Roidkay

Booking to Penang, Malaysia

I booked my coach ticket @ easibook.com

The website is a mega mall for trips between Sinagpore & Malaysia, there are tons of info. The downside is that you need to register to be their member(free), before you can book a ticket.

I got the 30/08/2012, 2100hrs, from Singapore, Golden Mile Complex to Penang, Sungai Nibong. The coach is a Sri Maju Group SVIP25/26. The price is S$42(inclusive of admin fee). I got the deal @ S$41.16 due to their Raya Promotion.

Anyone have any bad experience during the coach journey, like pple smoking/making noise etc...? I read online that there are average 2 stops, Yong Peng & KL some say Ipoh den non-stop to Penang liao... this info correct?

The toilets @ rest stops & George Town is sit want or squat wan?

Anyone heard of "Penang Speedy Taxi"?

Are all the Rapid Penang bus loop service? Like I can take them from Jetty terminal, go one big round den back to the jetty terminal without getting off the bus. This way can explore the island and familiarise where the bus stops are.

Sorry so many qsn... cuz my first time going so far alone.

whoisD

I booked my coach ticket @ easibook.com

The website is a mega mall for trips between Sinagpore & Malaysia, there are tons of info. The downside is that you need to register to be their member(free), before you can book a ticket.

I got the 30/08/2012, 2100hrs, from Singapore, Golden Mile Complex to Penang, Sungai Nibong. The coach is a Sri Maju Group SVIP25/26. The price is S$42(inclusive of admin fee). I got the deal @ S$41.16 due to their Raya Promotion.

Anyone have any bad experience during the coach journey, like pple smoking/making noise etc...? I read online that there are average 2 stops, Yong Peng & KL some say Ipoh den non-stop to Penang liao... this info correct?

The toilets @ rest stops & George Town is sit want or squat wan?

Anyone heard of "Penang Speedy Taxi"?

Are all the Rapid Penang bus loop service? Like I can take them from Jetty terminal, go one big round den back to the jetty terminal without getting off the bus. This way can explore the island and familiarise where the bus stops are.

Sorry so many qsn... cuz my first time going so far alone.

You can kinda book the taxi but check the price beforehand. Yes you can take rapid around Penang which takes around like 2 hours I would say.
Coach got smoking one ??? Usually after Ipoh they might stop at sungai perak or taiping but it depends, then drop off at juru toll then straight to Penang.
You should go Campbell st, king st and queen st area as alot of boutique cafe and street art that you might not seen in Singapore

Roidkay

@ whoisD: Thanks a lot. Yah, I heard that sometime the bus driver will smoke in the bus while driving...I oso suprise... tot aircon bus no smoking wan... thus decided to bring mask and perfume along for the trip, juz in case.

I oso want go there buy tau sar phia(dunno how to spell), bar kua & moon cake. Any recommendations?

I oso wan go there try the char quay tiao @ Kedai Kopi Bee Hwa in Leboh Dickens, read online, seems not bad.

Roidkay

Train, Penang to Singapore

Anyone taken the train from butterworth to sg? I searched online, they only have the 0800 depart pen - sg. Only one train arr? Journey time ard 10hrs 25mins.

Cheepoozz

2 way petrol +toll is close to Sg 200. If 2 pax goin. I rather take coach which is much cheaper right?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.