AE Aego-M User Official Thread!

lawry83

wats the operating hours of this lhs shop???

any idea where can i buy zero dac?? thinking of buying 1 from shop instead from ebay...

styleaudio hd1v is a good pair up with aego m. powered by usb directly. :) much better quality in terms of parts (QC) than zero imo. got 1 hd1v as spare since i'm using compass.

zero7090

i do have this problem too...listening halfway suddenly i side becomes softer..clean the plugs?
i tried but still no change. May be it's time to buy some new cable. Is any good, reasonable cable i can get from SLS or SLT ?

noobiee

sounds like alot ageo M 1 side will become softer..

have you tried switching the sats to different side to isolate the problem?

domkorf

anyone have the contact numbers oof the shops selling these speakers? or what any clue of the stocks and updated prices?

Thank you

icheb

personal review:

aego-m is very good. build quality is solid - the sats (yes they should sound the same) are heavy and have very nice metallic alloy finishing.

SQ - impresive volume from such small speakers, can definitely fill small-to mid size room without distortion at all.
- my bass set to '2' i seldom hear obtrusive thumping, it's all quite discrete which is good (mostly listen to classical). i'm running off CD/MP3 320/FLAC source on an asus xonar essence. placement is very important. on these things i can really hear the difference between CD/DVD audio and MP3 - even MP3 at vbr or 320k. small almost unnoticeable hiss, almost can't hear, when idle. clarity, soundstage etc very good, l/r separation is excellent. i've demoed the creative T3 and these are far better - T3 too bassy, muffled.

perhaps a bit laid back, not forward enough if you like music in your face. but that's how i like my speakers, i want to hear the source, not the speakers. placement is quite important.

i also use these for gaming - stereo separation is very good, but not as good as 5.1 or headphones. explosions etc sound great, breaking glass etc. all very authentic. for the price hard to get anything better - the mid-end Ipod speakers from HK/JBL/Altec Lansing/Bose all not as clear, and may cost more (much more for Bose).

I totally agree with you.

Yes the bass is very strong and at the same time not overpowering. You can hear the discreet base channel without becoming too muddled. In other words, the bass is tight.

As for music quality, the quality really shows when you can tell the difference in music quality, i.e., cd quality vs music quality. Also the type of music you listen might has a significant impact on sound reproduction. Let's be honest, its not a 10 000 bucks speakers, so there might always be certain types of music where Aego would not excel in.

In my opinion:

Vocally strong music, jazz, light pop, guitar heavy, acoustic renditions are superb for these speakers.

Heavy metal, not so. Though the bass might be good for it, the satellite speakers might have a hard time reproducing a stereo atmosphere. But that being said, it is still very good nonetheless.

Again, it depends on the type of DAC or soundcard you using and the music quality in which you are playing.

But whatever music types you play, if the quality of the music is good, you will certainly get a very clean, robust, and dynamic sound.

What im most impressed about Aego M is the satellite speakers. For such a small speakers, the first time i held it in my hands, i was shocked to realise how heavy it was! You definitely must feel the weight to know the quality of the satellite you are getting for the price offered.

The next aspect of it that im impressed is how excellent the speakers are able to project the sound accurately even from a distance. You wont hear it being muffled or lacking in power. I used this in my room for my computer, and I had a small sofa at the back of my room. I sat there and the sound is as good as sitting right in front my desktop.

b00n12

Hi all, i need some advise on 3.1 setup. anyone using 3.1 setup? what kinda cable is need? and how do i set it up on my sound card?

Thanks in advance :p

dexter_boi

Finally!!! Decided on aego m, after 2 months of research on 2.1 speakers. Was using creative 5.1 speakers for 8 years for my laptop. Its still serving me well, but reason to change, becos i juz got a macbook, and my existing sound card(for 5.1) cant support mac os. No choice, have to change to 2.1 setup then. So creative out of my room, left with edifier E3350 for my TV cum PS3. Did alot of findings on the net and forum.

Was looking at these speakers,

1) Creative T3($279) - Shortlisted
2) Aego M($299) - Shortlisted
3) Razor mako($479) - Too ex and dont get to audit
4) Audioengie A5($540) - Too ex and its only 2.0
5) Audioengie A2($340) - its only 2.0
6) Bose Companion® 3($479) - Overpriced thou wife wana psyco me to buy
7) Harman Kardon SoundSticks II($304) - Wife comment very ugly alien speakers -_-''

So Shortlisted to 2 speakers.

The reason i waited till now, cos CE got no stock for aego m, only sms me last week that the stock is in, as for T3, creative didnt take part in the sitex at expo, and will be at C3. So wait till C3 for them the drop price below $279 then buy if aego m still not in yet.

On sat, i head down to CE to audit the aego m before i head down to C3 for T3. Reach CE ard 4pm, sls was not really crowded for a sat. Go in and a lady in short hair served me, i straight ask for an audition for aego m and she goes to her denon player and play some techno music. Wow!!! It sound so great! Clarity is clear, bass is punchy(just nice). I was really amazed by the 2 small satellites to produce such quality! Then i commented to the lady, cos u r using CD and on a denon player, sure sound great! I wana test on a mp3 player, she agreed and change to a mp3 player. Sound very clear and nice, but not as good as from the denon player(Of cos lah!). Lastly, i requested to test on my ipod touch, will play the usual music i listen to(acoustic rock and pop), sound better from her mp3 player i can say, but i find that the bass no solid, then the lady reply that its a open space and the system she used was new arrival stock, speakers and woofer still not burn in. Sounds logic, so i accepted the reason. After testing, i go up walk walk for 30 mins, then mai tu liao! Go back straight to CE to pay for the speakers! Dont even bother to go down to C3 to see wat is the best price for T3.

Audit the speakers till last night. Got home ard 11pm. So cant play too loud. Hook up to my macbook, tried mp3 for acoustic rock, instrumental sound track, CD for classical, movie for avi, rmbv. Think no need to comment one by one, juz look at my face --> :D

Will burn in first, then might go for DAC and upgrade cables, followed by adding to 3.1!

Thanks for viewing guys.

erwinrommel

Remember to burn in them nicely. The satellite speakers will sound very sharp and bright and shrill.

But after some time, the shrillness will tone down and it will be gentle to your ears. :D

dexter_boi

Remember to burn in them nicely. The satellite speakers will sound very sharp and bright and shrill.

But after some time, the shrillness will tone down and it will be gentle to your ears. :D

Thanks for the advise. But is it better to change the cables now and burn in earlier since i have the intention to change?

I had read all the page in this thread. But im still a noob on all this. For my setup, im using my aego m mainly for my macbook, and sometimes for my TV cum PS3. Would it better to get a DAC? How is DAC connected to my TV and macbook?

zero7090

for aego M is there a need for warm up or something ? yesterday i still enjoy my speaker yet today sudden the 2 sat lose their clarify and also the mid bass sound very fuzzy

eklips

new user falling in!!!

jus got the aego m frm a fellow forumer. i think it need some warm up for about 10mins? when i first plug in and play music, all my music sound fuzzy den it slowly become betta. wat's the reason behind?

eklips

anyone using it as 3.1 by getting another the centre speaker? will like to know which speaker u use and where to get the extra original speaker.

can recommend some cables and the price? i think mine sound fuzzy at the start and it take sometime to warm up for the sound to be good

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.