AE Aego-M User Official Thread!

icheb

I can totally see why you kena poison!

I... took it @ City Electronics @ SLS for $299. I tried quite hard to bargain but cannot leh. If you're getting it, hope you have better luck. KEC @ Adelphi sells this for more expensive so.. CE would be better I guess.

Its unfortunate that you cannot get a good bargain from the original price point. But nonetheless, congrats on your purchase! A wise decision indeed! As for whether you can leave it on all the time, you can, but occasionally, I would turn it off as well. Yes the back of the subwoofer can get a little hot when you are using it.

Oh one more thing, it would be good if you could play around with your speaker placements. The spatial location of your speakers relative to your position while you are using the computer for example can contribute quite a lot in sound reproduction in a particular space. So don't be afraid to experiment a little bit to find that sweet spot even if it is further away from your desktop. The speakers are good at projecting sound without compromising quality over a wider area. So it might sound a little bit better if you put it further away from your usual work position.

asphyxiation

Its unfortunate that you cannot get a good bargain from the original price point. But nonetheless, congrats on your purchase! A wise decision indeed! As for whether you can leave it on all the time, you can, but occasionally, I would turn it off as well. Yes the back of the subwoofer can get a little hot when you are using it.

Oh one more thing, it would be good if you could play around with your speaker placements. The spatial location of your speakers relative to your position while you are using the computer for example can contribute quite a lot in sound reproduction in a particular space. So don't be afraid to experiment a little bit to find that sweet spot even if it is further away from your desktop. The speakers are good at projecting sound without compromising quality over a wider area. So it might sound a little bit better if you put it further away from your usual work position.

Oooh, thanks! I'll try it out when I have the chance. :)

hystify-

Styleaudio DAC selling at Chamoxa @ SLS for $199..

Anyway just got my own set of AegoM last saturday at SLS. I've little experience with other speakers so i can't really compare it with other sets. But personally i feel its a bang for the buck. Compared to my old SonicGear cheap crappy $50 speakers, this is a whole lot of difference.

I paired mine up with a Line6 TonePort UX1: http://line6.com/podstudioux1/

The AegoM's bass is strong yet not deafening, for me i just left it at lvl 2. And from my experience until now, the AegoM's potential is when you increase the volume to around 60-70% of max. Usually at night i don't turn on the volume too loud, so the difference between the AegoM and my old speakers weren't that huge. But when you blast up the volume, you'll realize that it still maintains its clarity while other budget speakers start to produce shrill sounds or distortion etc.

The only issue i have is that it doesn't have a treble setting on the set itself. Although it's not that huge of an issue, but when i was using my old speakers, i used to increase the base treble. Somehow i prefer my music to be 'sharper' in a sense. But if assuming the treble settings for the AegoM are set at the minimal, i feel that it's already good enough. Maybe i should get used to listening to my music 'normally' instead of increasing the treble. Lol.

icheb

For those who have aego M speakers, i'm very curious at your own personal 'audio tests' that you would showcase to other people (friends families etc) to demonstrate the clarity and quality of the audio for Aego M.

I have a few audio snippets that I would really like to demonstrate as if I were to 'show off' my speakers.

Watch this in HD - Sam Tsui Michael Jackson Tribute Acapella

Moosebutter - John Williams Medly Acappella

These 2 music videos have very good spatial differentiation, especially moosebutter.

I also uploaded this acoustic version of "Hare Hare Yukai" sung by Kyon. For those familiar with Suzumiya Haruhi, you would know what I'm talking. I like to showcase this song because of the clear voice and the fact that you can listen and distinguish every single instrument played in this song.

http://mdjasrie.vox.com/library/audio/6a00d09e53fa1fbe2b00e3989fd7d50002.html

I'm sure there are like tons of songs out there, audiophile grade,96khz/24bit quality songs but those mentioned are just some 'fun' examples id like to demonstrate.

ERT

Those with Aego M, search & install SRS Audio Sandbox.
When paired with WMP SRS, your MP3s can sound much fuller.

When I visited CE last year, I bought the Aego subwoofer with a pair of Wharfedale Crystal 8 bookshelf speakers.

I prefer the neutral sound of Wharfedale Crystal 8 over that of the Aego stock satellites which are brighter due to its metal enclosure. Wharfedale's CR-8 enclosure is made of wood.

mr_voodoo

hi guys, been following this thread and looking to upgrade to the Aego M. Pardon my ignorance.

I am currently using a Divoom Xforce 5 with a Creative Soundcard and I would say that I am quite satisfied with the sound quality as it's much better then what I typically hear outside.

Just wish to know from the experts here, if the improvement would be substantial if my current speakers are already relatively capable enough.

Hope that someone has tried the xforce 5 before, if not here are the specs and image to give a better idea.

Edit: Purchased my Aego Ms and am loving them. They definitely sound better then my old Xforce 5.

AND TRUST the advice of changing to better cables, utilized my old speaker's cables and was disappointed at first as the quality was not exactly good.

Switched to the new cables in the set and it was much much better, can't image how much better it would sound with a belden or canare cable(to hoot next week).

Am also using an old Kenwood Center speaker from my old HTS and its mind blowing.

SNAG

Just came back from a demo at City, and wasn't too impressed by the sound. Tested with both the Denon CD player and my iPod Classic (which is a crappy source though), and while the soundstage was there, imaging seemed to be poor. The music just didn't seem to sound tight. This was consistent with both demo sets I tried.

Any comments on this guys?

Perhaps I did something wrong...

JasK

Just hooted my aego M at CE.
Upgraded from Xfree 2.1
Currently hooked onto my M-Audio Revolution 7.1 SC.
Will let it play and allow it to burn in.
May consider getting a DAC and will probably change cables.

Will listen more before giving comments or opinion.

I have 2 interconnector from my old separates setup. How can i make use of it for the Aego M and my SC?

JasK

Just came back from a demo at City, and wasn't too impressed by the sound. Tested with both the Denon CD player and my iPod Classic (which is a crappy source though), and while the soundstage was there, imaging seemed to be poor. The music just didn't seem to sound tight. This was consistent with both demo sets I tried.

Any comments on this guys?

Perhaps I did something wrong...

so far i feel it is pretty good on stereo imaging, it's midrange may be weaker than some bigger speakers/moniters but for the size, can't do much for midrange. lousy quality/encoded mp3s sounds bad on it too :p

JasK

There are better satellites speakers than those two in Aego M.
I upgraded to Wharfedale Crystal 8, driven by Aego M subwoofer at a good price, though I think can be lower. Plus good customer service from Melvin of City Electronics.

Coupled with SRS Audio Sandbox, MP3 finally sound listenable. Without SRS AS, most mp3s sound crap.

With the centre speaker salvaged from the Creative Inspire Digital 5700 5.1 speaker set, I can now enable centre speaker when watching movies or TV from Windows Media Center.
Sound effects are so strong that the neighbour below complain of the solid bass rocking his ceiling!
So to all Aego M subwoofer users, do not pair your Aego M with SRS Audio Sandbox, the bass & clarity can be quite lethal! LOL!

does srs audio sandbox work with wmp only? have you tried having itunes together with it? for me, when i tested the trail, there was lag in loading the software. i had itunes on too and it sort of cause the system to be unstable with long periods of lag/inactivity/hang...

JasK

"directional" interconnect cables

i have one set of all black sleeved interconnect cables, one piece have yellow round stickers near the rca, the other have green stickers, one of the sides has one sticker, the other side have two.

can i connect my cable either way or is there a directionality involved which i must observe? i do not know how it was built and havent tested the rf signal or noise yet as it's been sitting in a bag since i sold my separates (setup then wasn't done by me) nor do i know what brand it is to google.

if i can connect either way, it make sense to use whichever cable orientation results in lower levels of audible noise.

if directional is not a gimmick or it involves certain grounding or special sleeving, please gimme your views and opinion?

dasanyuan

just a thought. i feel that srs sandbox doesnt really matter. to really test the quality of the aego, just play normal songs will do w/o any "tuning". like i dun set to powerful on my realtek audio or the srs. just default will do. any more experience aego users out there with anything to share?

mr_voodoo

just a thought. i feel that srs sandbox doesnt really matter. to really test the quality of the aego, just play normal songs will do w/o any "tuning". like i dun set to powerful on my realtek audio or the srs. just default will do. any more experience aego users out there with anything to share?

agree with you.

further tuning should only be done to satisfy minor details like more/less treble or bass.

the srs sandbox makes it sound very artificial for me, not my cup of tea :s13:

dasanyuan

ya, all this crap software to "enchance" ur sound the cheap n easy way. no point. its like u wanna call chick, u no money call atas one, u go backlane take sala one... lol aego m stands strong on its on with default settings. DAC, change cable all this is like modding a car, new rims, bigger exhaust to improve performance. not by using software like sticking stickers on ur car to increase horsepower :s13:

ultimate700

hey..wanna ask if its normal to hear a hissing sound my the speaker..i just brought mine yesterday frm CE with xonar 7.1 dx and the hissing get even louder when i'm using the smart vol option..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.