Ainol Novo 7 Aurora

droxor

hi there,

i heard that aurora doesnt support skype.. is it true?

can anyone tell me how you install skype in it?

Thanks

Audiology93

USD168 with UPS shipping (took them over the weekend to reach my office @ 9am sharp today!)

I opt for leather case + screen protector so abit more ex (not worth at all.. leather case quality sucks and screen protector they sent me elf model.. 4 sides corner can't fit..

Better chose the standard package.. USD157 only.. haha

I see. Quite cheap compared to MM/PW. I'm waiting for the Mars/Burning.

snipes14

Sounds like u own or at least tried Aurora b4.. u disappointed?
to each owns preference la :)

know what u are paying and expect what it should turn out mindset is always needed when u go for china products to avoid disappointment :)

Samsung tab 7" is around 3 times more ex then Aurora.. so even if Aurora is 3 times more lag then Tab.. u also got a fair deal right? :s13: but if its only slight lag then u gain 2/3 of this deal liao! Must be happy! :s13:

I do own one...

I beg to differ, Tab 7.0 2 is only USD249. For that you get a dual-core Cortex A9, and relatively mature software. And yes I'm quoting the USD price because I don't buy electronics from our local carrot head choppers anymore. :s13:

The issue with China tablets is the long term support. With the above mentioned Tab 7.0 2 I will probably get Cyanogenmod 9 in a few months. With the Aurora, the only person working on Cyanogenmod for it is one dude on XDA who has a MASSIVE chip on his shoulder and spends more time complaining that he has no time than actually working on it.

Well, since he's doing it for free I guess I shouldn't complain. Oh wait, I just did :p

Depends what you use it for.
I used it for ebook, watch movies, internet.
Its acceptable.

I would say for ebooks and movies it's great. Internet, not so much.

mizarahi

Btw, if you guys are using this tablet to surf the net, I recommend you a chinese web browser called UC 浏览器. Search google sg and send it to desktop. Go setting and choose no pictures/photos. It is much faster than the default browser and the auto fit screen is also better.

Only setback is you must be able to read Chinese.

benjaminyeo

just wondering, those with the Allwinner A10 chip tablet, can you guys try if Hulu Plus can be installed and watched?

foxbat

Hand itchy go and order 1 set of the new batch Aurora with LG LCD panal last Friday from Alibaba Express by UPS and received it this morning :eek: but they sent me wrong elf's screen protector which the corners not fit my aurora :s22:

Now testing it.. damn chio the display and very responsive not lag at all :s12:

So how can we really check is it the latest batch?

As far as I know, the only way to find out is via the build number within:
settings/about tablet.

As an example, the current batch of Aurora with the LG Screen shows the following

Build number
20120418.175057.V03

Mine luckily also same as this so nv tio con :p
Hope this helps :)

Wah congrats. I also very itchy. :D

sendytay

Just to let everyone know that the latest rom by Feiyu 0429 is good. I tried it and the tablet finally can write strokes in Chinese very smoothly. All responses are finally smooth and good. Best for those who bought the initial batch

foxbat

USD168 with UPS shipping (took them over the weekend to reach my office @ 9am sharp today!)

I opt for leather case + screen protector so abit more ex (not worth at all.. leather case quality sucks and screen protector they sent me elf model.. 4 sides corner can't fit..

Better chose the standard package.. USD157 only.. haha

Bro

How's battery life and wifi strength?

Tks

soonwee

Just to let everyone know that the latest rom by Feiyu 0429 is good. I tried it and the tablet finally can write strokes in Chinese very smoothly. All responses are finally smooth and good. Best for those who bought the initial batch

Can u PM me and guide me how to flash to feiyu 0429? workable on latest LG model ?

snipes14

Hi, need some advise on getting the Aurora LG IPS or the Ramos W17pro. IPS more important or dual core?

Aurora LG IPS
http://detail.tmall.com/venus/spu_d...id=50047403&from=xl_1_suggest&disp=g&active=0

Ramos W17pro
http://detail.tmall.com/venus/spu_d...id=50047403&from=xl_1_suggest&disp=g&active=0

If me I would say get the Ramos. The performance of the Aurora is to me, unacceptable. And if you look at this hands on video the Ramos screen looks quite good as well.

Ramos W17 Pro Hands On - YouTube

mizarahi

I compared elf vs aurora that is IPS vs non-IPS, i prefer the ips. But from the ramos video, the ramos is so fast compared to my aurora.

cslim35

Ramos w17 car tyre run over still can work? The tmall link got 1 photo show they doing this test. It doesn't have hdmi, cannot connect to tv.

snipes14

I compared elf vs aurora that is IPS vs non-IPS, i prefer the ips. But from the ramos video, the ramos is so fast compared to my aurora.

The Elf screen is not a good representative of non-IPS screens; It looks unusually dull. And like I said, at least from the video I linked the Ramos screen looks very good as well. Definitely better than the Elf screen.

Audiology93

Isn't the W17 IPS too?

- 7 inch IPS screen, 1024*600 display resolution
- 1.5GHz dual core Amlogic AML8726-MX ARM Cortex-A9 processor
- Mali-400 GPU
- 1GB RAM, 16GB storage

Taken from video description.

snipes14

Isn't the W17 IPS too?

- 7 inch IPS screen, 1024*600 display resolution
- 1.5GHz dual core Amlogic AML8726-MX ARM Cortex-A9 processor
- Mali-400 GPU
- 1GB RAM, 16GB storage

Taken from video description.

Given that the video is uploaded by someone selling the product, I would take it with a pinch of salt. I have seen some sites stating that it's IPS and others that it's not. Given the nature of China products it would be better to assume that it's not.

Anyway, if I do get it when I go to Shenzhen I will report back as to whether it is or not. :s13:

soonwee

totally agreed! I just flash mine to feiyu0429 last night! its awesome :s12:

mizarahi

Congrats on the update.

But very troublesome after update gonna install all the apps again. I update from feiyu 0329, then 0405, then 0429cmw, then 0429 livesuit. Next thinking whether wanna update to 2gb internal storage of just leave it at 1gb.

Btw, I wanna check with you guys what apps you used to backup everything and can restore back after FW upgrade. Suggestion, please. Thanks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.