Air con gas top up is it necessary?

Acetone

I had a recent servicing, (chemical overhaul) the technician told me my gas levels are Low and ask me to top up…. But the aircon was still cold… so I asked him what’s the reason need to top up.

His reply: it’s been 3-4 years since u service, so should top up… then I asked, but I rarely use and it’s still cold, so do I need?

his reply: “don’t want to top up , also is fine”

so in my head I’m wondering…. Are they just pushing to earn money or really necessary. Lucky I didn’t take up the offer to top up… it’s still working fine.

soarer

I had a recent servicing, (chemical overhaul) the technician told me my gas levels are Low and ask me to top up…. But the aircon was still cold… so I asked him what’s the reason need to top up.

His reply: it’s been 3-4 years since u service, so should top up… then I asked, but I rarely use and it’s still cold, so do I need?

so in my head I’m wondering…. Are they just pushing to earn money or really necessary. Lucky I didn’t take up the offer to top up… it’s still working fine.
If abit low then top up abit lor. Not much also. Let them earn abit. Must give and take sometimes. If you stingy this and that...they might not prioritise you as a customer next time.

Lchlch

i hv a friend, told me dont need actually, so long air con cold can already.

Acetone

If abit low then top up abit lor. Not much also. Let them earn abit. Must give and take sometimes. If you stingy this and that...they might not prioritise you as a customer next time.
its not about being stingy, it’s about whether I really need the service… or issit something that technicians push just to earn extra.

menthol28

If it's cold dun need top up gas, if not enough gas it will be not cold when turn on

soarer

its not about being stingy, it’s about whether I really need the service… or issit something that technicians push just to earn extra.
Need or no need...listen to experts. Give and take. You build relationships long before you need help.

Acetone

If it's cold dun need top up gas, if not enough gas it will be not cold when turn on
Yes, from a logical perspective, but my point is, do these technicians simply push you to “top up” just to earn that extra buck.

despite knowing that it is sufficient to still work for years.

soarer

If you think you know more than him..maybe he will let you know one day also.

soarer

Yes, from a logical perspective, but my point is, do these technicians simply push you to “top up” just to earn that extra buck.

Not all la. I dont know what technician you have but mine doesnt.

LoUsyGamER

Two school of thoughts that I read online and asked a few ws.

1st - need maintenance to clean the air con, top up gas, change compressor oil etc. Fresh air, everything feels clean.

2nd - car ac is a close system. By right, no need to top up gas. If top up gas, somewhere is leaking. You top up gas see how long the gas will last. If less than a month, big leak. If can last a year, small leak.

I won't touch ac unless leak (not cold) or I need to mod my water-air intercooler to sub-freezing.

Acetone

Need or no need...listen to experts. Give and take. You build relationships long before you need help.
what kind of relationship u need to build with an aircon technician? It’s basically paying for a service. There are literally hundreds of companies providing the same services, some unscrupulous…. And some honest.

menthol28

Of course lah gas top up is lucrative, regardless of what businesses all trying to milk clients to make $$$.
Those that sign up AC servicing package, u see the servicing dun have topping up of gas as SOP. AC is cold , no leak dun need top up

soarer

what kind of relationship u need to build with an aircon technician? It’s basically paying for a service. There are literally hundreds of companies providing services, some unscrupulous…. And some honest.
You dont build relationship with anyone then you have to go to the street to find random strangers for what you need and you will forever be at the mercy. For me i have good relationship with people i need their service for. Be it durian seller or car workshop or plumber. Aircon mechanic is a no brainer. If you have your own people he will advise you accordingly as a good customer and not a stranger. It is different. Enjoy your random service guy. You seem to know more than your mechanic. One day maybe when you really need him for urgent situation hope he doesnt give u back.

soarer

Expert say need to top up and you doubt him. Lol. If cold then no need top up? So car can move means nothing wrong? Laugh die me. Some people's mentality.

menthol28

Top up can earn how much? Build relationships and you wont need to get conned.
I think their 1 tank of gas cost is less than $90, every top up they charge $40-100+. I guess 1 tank can top up at least 10 houses

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.