Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

mark lim

for everyone benefit, i have upgraded from 9 btu to 12 btu for mbr. I think the cooling is indeed faster but it comes at a cost for power consumpton 12 btu to 9 btu is about 0.7 kW more. Maybe it will save some electricty since set temp 26 cel is acheived faster than a regular 9 btu. But confort level and experience is def better. it used to take around 15 mins to cool the mbr and now takes about 10 mins based on my estimation.
0.7kw is the difference in cooling power. 9k is 0.62kw and 13k 0.81kw at rated, so difference is 0.19kw. maybe you see this difference at most for 1hr. Thereafter the inverter will ramp down and i would think both will consume the same. 0.19kwh x 30cents x30days = $1.71 more a month. even 1hr is an exaggeration for a small bedroom i would think 30mins. so 85cents more a month

obichacha

0.7kw is the difference in cooling power. 9k is 0.62kw and 13k 0.81kw at rated, so difference is 0.19kw. maybe you see this difference at most for 1hr. Thereafter the inverter will ramp down and i would think both will consume the same. 0.19kwh x 30cents x30days = $1.71 more a month. even 1hr is an exaggeration for a small bedroom i would think 30mins. so 85cents more a month

12k btu is alright , there is not much issue , except the room humidity dry.
don’t set too low and fan speed as well.
Otherwise you may put a cup of water beside your sleeping bed side table.

petetherock

for everyone benefit, i have upgraded from 9 btu to 12 btu for mbr. I think the cooling is indeed faster but it comes at a cost for power consumpton 12 btu to 9 btu is about 0.7 kW more. Maybe it will save some electricty since set temp 26 cel is acheived faster than a regular 9 btu. But confort level and experience is def better. it used to take around 15 mins to cool the mbr and now takes about 10 mins based on my estimation.
Wise choice
18k BTU for my MBR, which is a bit bigger, but within 5mins it's cool enough and ready for bed / nap.
No regrets

Jun Jun

Panasonic has no current limiter.

which is why your 4XU33YBZ can go 3kW per hour if not careful, can use $7.80 per night or $233 per month.

which is why I always go the extra mile to ensure people know what they are going for, so expectations are met
Oh? I kena scammed by the sales guy lol. They up sell me this compressor. How to ensure my 33ybz can save energy?

Jun Jun

Panasonic has no current limiter.

which is why your 4XU33YBZ can go 3kW per hour if not careful, can use $7.80 per night or $233 per month.

which is why I always go the extra mile to ensure people know what they are going for, so expectations are met
Also now I have 2 options, one to change the system to daikin second to keep this panasonic but scared the bill continue to high high:( i love the indoor blower though. If only daikin can make a blower like panasonic that has self dry function and ioniser.

Jun Jun

Also the panasonic guys came down with some prongs to tune the compressor. Not sure if internal tuning can be done for the current limiter.

obichacha

Oh? I kena scammed by the sales guy lol. They up sell me this compressor. How to ensure my 33ybz can save energy?
Best cooling at max 3kw , 3 rooms set on 20c with 2 fans speed daily.
the bill can tell how is 5 ticks energy saving

anyway , max current input for boosting up within 10-20mins before the temperature preset only. Once the temp are reached will reduce to standard rates

networked

your 9k Btu remote control have powerful mode?
Single button should cooling down faster , after few minutes and back to normal setting
upgraded from panasonic so no idea.
Wise choice
18k BTU for my MBR, which is a bit bigger, but within 5mins it's cool enough and ready for bed / nap.
No regrets
the difference is quite noticable if have heat generating electronics like tv, pc or more paxs in the room. My mbe is west facing sun as well.

obichacha

upgraded from panasonic so no idea.

the difference is quite noticable if have heat generating electronics like tv, pc or more paxs in the room. My mbe is west facing sun as well.
Don’t have curtain ? Use 100% sunblock should help the heat reduction

007Mi6

Also now I have 2 options, one to change the system to daikin second to keep this panasonic but scared the bill continue to high high:( i love the indoor blower though. If only daikin can make a blower like panasonic that has self dry function and ioniser.

I still dunno what is your main concern.

if it is spoiled, then change a new one at installer’s cost.

change to Starmex, Daikin or whatever brand you trust.

Jun Jun

I still dunno what is your main concern.

if it is spoiled, then change a new one at installer’s cost.

change to Starmex, Daikin or whatever brand you trust.
Main concern is the electric bills. Want something with better energy efficiency 🤣

obichacha

Main concern is the electric bills. Want something with better energy efficiency 🤣
Master bedroom able to set on 26C with fan bar 1, should considering energy saving.
my starmex from R410a to new R32 still use the same setting.
if you tell me, 26c with fan bar 1 cannot cover your room , at night still get sweaty then replace from 9k to 12k or 18k follow our moderator comments.

007Mi6

It will still ultimately be on the user and environment irregardless of which system.

If the windows, doors kept opening and not sealed, if user kept using 20°c causing condenser to keep running at high capacity, if the placement of the FCU is wrong etc, all these will cause your bills to run whether you unlock or kept the current limiter or use Panasonic. If it is not right sized, user may keep on blasting at 16-18°c as they feel it is not cold enough.

I personally feel that most system 3 setup will be similar energy usage. The difference will be system 3 vs 4 with 3 FCU.

Since you have system 3 as the more energy efficient, next is the FCU setup and which brand.

You still need to use fans, door sealer etc to keep whole room cool and circulate the air. Top or second top fan coil blower speed is required for heat exchange. Fastest cooling will be 2 bedrooms first then last bedroom turn on after 20-30mins.

What else you need to discuss? Remember your rooms you need roughly 8.5k, 7.3k and 7.0k BTU.

petetherock

Remember, saving money isn't just about the most efficient aircon
Use a higher temp, sealing up the room, number of hours usage, fan usage, amount of heat, room facing all matter almost as much
Trying to scrimp on the compressor is just being penny wise pound foolish

Jun Jun

It will still ultimately be on the user and environment irregardless of which system.

If the windows, doors kept opening and not sealed, if user kept using 20°c causing condenser to keep running at high capacity, if the placement of the FCU is wrong etc, all these will cause your bills to run whether you unlock or kept the current limiter or use Panasonic. If it is not right sized, user may keep on blasting at 16-18°c as they feel it is not cold enough.

I personally feel that most system 3 setup will be similar energy usage. The difference will be system 3 vs 4 with 3 FCU.

Since you have system 3 as the more energy efficient, next is the FCU setup and which brand.

You still need to use fans, door sealer etc to keep whole room cool and circulate the air. Top or second top fan coil blower speed is required for heat exchange. Fastest cooling will be 2 bedrooms first then last bedroom turn on after 20-30mins.

What else you need to discuss? Remember your rooms you need roughly 8.5k, 7.3k and 7.0k BTU.
Based on my master plan, 12k+9k+9k
Daikin 75 system 3 compressor. Temperature set to 26 fan speed 1 or 2, I can achieve the cooling and also saves energy right? My current setup is panasonic 26 degree quiet mode. But with system 4 compressor. Some months energy is 331kwh.

Jun Jun

331kw/h x 0.3 not even $100 , why need change? Quiet mode , definitely is lower cooling.
The funny sound lor. That i shared that time, dont know what is it. Also warranty going to over liao. Lastly the plastic cracking sound at night is still there. If not i actually quite reluctant to change one. Coz the 9k blower already very strong the fan speed.

Jun Jun

Also just wondering what is daikin and mitsubishi electrical consumption of system 3? Based on 25 deg

obichacha

The funny sound lor. That i shared that time, dont know what is it. Also warranty going to over liao. Lastly the plastic cracking sound at night is still there. If not i actually quite reluctant to change one. Coz the 9k blower already very strong the fan speed.

can replace a the whole fan coil unit, cost around 300-400 rather than change whole system.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.