Air conditioning - Any recommendations please?? - Part 2

ZacharyA

When replacing an existing aircon system and new puping? Is it common practice for the installer to change the water pipes as well?

Mine didn't change water pipe, they just did flushing. But they changed the copper pipes and insulation trunking which is a must.

The_King

Just wondering why the quotes that we sent to me does not say anything about it. Specs only state copper pipe, wiring and insulation....
Best is to ask them, I would prefer them to change everything

I don't want them to blame the pipe if there issues also the pipe insulation maybe old liao, say xx yr old if nv change mean I be using the xxyr old insulation

adezio777

Best is to ask them, I would prefer them to change everything

I don't want them to blame the pipe if there issues also the pipe insulation maybe old liao, say xx yr old if nv change mean I be using the xxyr old insulation

Mr King,

Last yr June i get Coolserve to install ME System 4 for my house. Lucky till now no problem.
Swee Swee leh.
Today my friend needs to install a System 2. I help him get Coolserve again which is coming next next week to install.

ME MXY-2H20VF
MSXY-FP10VG
MSXY-FP13VG
1/2 ARMAFLEX Class 0
Copper Pipe G21 LHCT
Keystone 4C40/3C70
16mm drainage pipe
All in inclusive GST around $2900.
For HDB MBR and 1 CRM.
You that time install they charge you how much?

This time they send Mr Ben instead of Mr Yong.
We will see the workmanship of Mr Ben team. I heard is equally good.
Hahaha, we will see their vacuum pump took how long?

The_King

Mr King,

Last yr June i get Coolserve to install ME System 4 for my house. Lucky till now no problem.
Swee Swee leh.
Today my friend needs to install a System 2. I help him get Coolserve again which is coming next next week to install.

ME MXY-2H20VF
MSXY-FP10VG
MSXY-FP13VG
1/2 ARMAFLEX Class 0
Copper Pipe G21 LHCT
Keystone 4C40/3C70
16mm drainage pipe
All in inclusive GST around $2900.
For HDB MBR and 1 CRM.
You that time install they charge you how much?

This time they send Mr Ben instead of Mr Yong.
We will see the workmanship of Mr Ben team. I heard is equally good.
Hahaha, we will see their vacuum pump took how long?
Hi, mine is system 1, 12kbtu

I think 1.4k or 1.3k can't remember.

Mine 1.7yr liao, workmanship no issues, no leak, trunking no condensation. I touch I open all dry. but i read here that workmanship issues can 3yr to surface. so If another 2yr still good (as in workmanship) I may get them to install 2nd condenser

my own exp:
1inch armaflex shield
25mm drain pipe (i was thinking of asking them to connect both left and right drainage tray (FCU) to the drain pipe)
15k or 18k btu

Asakura

those using panasonic
do u have a particular servicing company that u think services your units well?

reason for asking. past few companies i tried always commented like "why u buy daikin/panasonic. mitsu is easier" and makes me feel like they are not really familiar with other brands and just trial n error when servicing.

adezio777

Hi, mine is system 1, 12kbtu

I think 1.4k or 1.3k can't remember.

Mine 1.7yr liao, workmanship no issues, no leak, trunking no condensation. I touch I open all dry. but i read here that workmanship issues can 3yr to surface. so If another 2yr still good (as in workmanship) I may get them to install 2nd condenser

my own exp:
1inch armaflex shield
25mm drain pipe (i was thinking of asking them to connect both left and right drainage tray (FCU) to the drain pipe)
15k or 18k btu

Oh ya, i forget and thought yours is System 2.
Initially for copper wire, i ask according to your prefer 4c70 and 3c110. They want smth like $200 more.
Then i think Singapore most HDB use 4C40 and 3C70, till now no fire no short circuit and my friend only install a System 2.
So, i never insisted.

Juan Mata

Want to get some opinion recently got a resale flat. LG Aircon from previous owners used for 5years+. Today engaged someone to check the aircon as it is blowing air but not cold. They found out got gas leak and the outdoor expansion valve broken. They straight away suggest to change the whole system 4 and mentioned not worth to repair at all. Anyone can advice and provide second opinion?

The_King

Oh ya, i forget and thought yours is System 2.
Initially for copper wire, i ask according to your prefer 4c70 and 3c110. They want smth like $200 more.
Then i think Singapore most HDB use 4C40 and 3C70, till now no fire no short circuit and my friend only install a System 2.
So, i never insisted.
if die die need to upgrade or change , i get the 4C70 is way more useful then 3c100. there 1 spare wire in case there issues (touch wood). no point getting 110. i believe more in Redundancy

based on ai:

Summary (with Copper Conductors, 230V):​

• 4C70 Wire: Ampacity = 168-190A; Wattage = 43.7 kW
  • 3C110 Wire: Ampacity = 240-260A; Wattage = 59.8 kW
So, a 5-ton AC would draw around 87.2 amps at 230V.

Wire Sizing for System 5 Air Conditioner:​

1. 4C70 Wire (70 mm², 4 cores):​

• Ampacity: As previously mentioned, the 4C70 wire can carry 168-190 amps (for copper conductors).
  • Current Draw: Since the air conditioner draws around 87.2 amps, the 4C70 wire is more than sufficient for this load.

2. 3C110 Wire (110 mm², 3 cores):​

• Ampacity: The 3C110 wire can carry 240-260 amps (for copper conductors).
  • Current Draw: The air conditioner requires 87.2 amps, so the 3C110 wire is also more than sufficient for this load.

Alphas

if die die need to upgrade or change , i get the 4C70 is way more useful then 3c100. there 1 spare wire in case there issues (touch wood). no point getting 110. i believe more in Redundancy

based on ai:

Summary (with Copper Conductors, 230V):​

• 4C70 Wire: Ampacity = 168-190A; Wattage = 43.7 kW
  • 3C110 Wire: Ampacity = 240-260A; Wattage = 59.8 kW
So, a 5-ton AC would draw around 87.2 amps at 230V.

Wire Sizing for System 5 Air Conditioner:​

1. 4C70 Wire (70 mm², 4 cores):​

• Ampacity: As previously mentioned, the 4C70 wire can carry 168-190 amps (for copper conductors).
  • Current Draw: Since the air conditioner draws around 87.2 amps, the 4C70 wire is more than sufficient for this load.

2. 3C110 Wire (110 mm², 3 cores):​

• Ampacity: The 3C110 wire can carry 240-260 amps (for copper conductors).
  • Current Draw: The air conditioner requires 87.2 amps, so the 3C110 wire is also more than sufficient for this load.
System 2 aircon do not require that high current. Even system 5 aircon don’t need to have such high current, it’s just overkill.

Juan Mata

for indoor insulation do people use armaflex cx shield or kflex titan? or class 0/1 sufficient

ZacharyA

for indoor insulation do people use armaflex cx shield or kflex titan? or class 0/1 sufficient

I used k flex titan, just top up for it, worth it for the long run. If budget conscious then give it a pass.

so to answer your question, people like me do use the shield version, but it’s not a common component that most are willing to splurge on. Most are misguided that the upgrades for piping, wiring are more important because those are cheaper and easier to bundle it as “free upgrades”

there are no free upgrades, it’s all baked into the entire system that is sold to you.

for what it’s worth, I topped up additional $80 per FCU for upgrade to K Flex Titan. So it’s extra $400 for me since I have 5 units

ray12323

An update to my issue. Changed heat exchanger and didn’t encounter any leaking anymore for 5 days. Looks good to me already. And Mitsubishi did vacuuming and re-topup of the aircon gas again after changing the heat exchanger. Now my room aircon feel like real brand new again
New update, the same aircon unit start experiencing leaking water from heat exchanger again... still monitoring further before I report it to Mitsubishi again..

The_King

485206061_949128883970098_3455154152917166608_n.jpg

484844757_9627068074023270_3985605235593777370_n.jpg

adezio777

If you look at a physical Armaflex insulator, how you know its 1/4, 1/2 or 3/4? For me, I use ruler to check the thickness.
How about the copper coil, how you know its SWG 21 or 22? I only saw this written on the LHCT Package 06.35x0.81-15m.
Oh wait, Coolserve guy just reply and told me 0.81 mean SWG 21.

My account cannot upload photo.

The_King

If you look at a physical Armaflex insulator, how you know its 1/4, 1/2 or 3/4?
How about the copper coil, how you know its SWG 21 or 22? I only saw this written on the LHCT Package 06.35x0.81-15m.
Oh wait, Coolserve guy just reply and told me 0.81 mean SWG 21.

My account cannot upload photo.
For insualtion Thickness you can look at the insulation code on the insulation itself or measure the thickness yourself
https://local.armacell.com/fileadmin/cms/uk/products/en/AFArmaFlexClassORangeUKROI.pdf

SWG stands for Standard Wire Gauge (SWG) and is a system for measuring the thickness or diameter of wire and sheet metal

adezio777

Few days ago, Coolserve send Mr Ben to install my friend System 2 ME. He has around 20 yr experience.
They send 2 people this time and as like previously all Malaysian chinese. They do not have South asia worker.
Watch them dismantle everything inside old trucking and then carefully install new gas pipe, wire and drainage.
Vacuum pump took 26 min.
They said now they usually do vacuum for 30 min in most case as R32 gas too sensitive. If not done well, the aircon temp might not be consistent.
These 2 guys able to coordinate very well. Can see they work together for long time leow. Both are an asset to the company.
They came at 1130am and left by 250pm.
Coolserve now has 3 Team that do installation, led by Yong, Ben and Ming.

Mr Ben say if he himself do the screwing and bending, in past 10 yr, not more than 5 cases of gas leak. As a team he also got give me the number, but i forget now. We discussed too many things. Anyway, it's an impressive record too when i heard it.

Water leak he say can be due to many factors including user issues so cannot count.

My friend System 2 ME model as below:

ME MXY-2H20VF
MSXY-FP10VG
MSXY-FP13VG
1/2 ARMAFLEX Class 0 (Now 3/4 getting more popular but if system 4 might not squeeze into trucking)
Copper Pipe G21 LHCT
CX Shield for outdoor
Keystone 4C40/3C70
16mm drainage pipe
All in inclusive GST around $3000/-.

Regarding the gas copper pipe, actually Coolserve use DSP brand. They say certify by Singapore company. They also said LHCT popular because ME copper pipe is from LHCT.
For Armaflex insulator, if its 1/2 then a 13 will be printed on it. The 13 represents 13mm =1/2in.
For LHCT copper pipe package, written on it is 06.35x0.81-15m, the 0.81 mean SWG 21.

IAmChiobu12M

Can I check is it normal that aircon set to 16 deg max fan speed and leaving it auto swing yet it will stop within 1h or so? Starmex. Aircon is 6 mth old only

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.