Air purifier? - Part 2

sehsuan

Am looking for 1 purifier + humidifier in my bed room since my wife just pregnant.

Been looking to the recommendations but still need some advice from you.

1. XiaoMi 2- Is it too loud for bed room? Minus is without humidifier function.

2. Sharp- Which model is better? Can't really get the price from internet except Taobao, which model is different from SG.

3. Samsung model? Can't get details from internet also, discontinued model?

i didn't catch which country you're in - if you're in singapore and you don't usually turn on air conditioning (basically it thermally cools air, plus reduces humidity to bring comfort), you're usually looking at 60+% humidity... which can be sticky enough.... so can leave out humidifier function. it may be one more bacteria trap that you may end up overlooking.... read up on legionnaires' disease 😝

is there speed selection for xm2?

Night, Low, Medium, High, Jet for XM1. XM2 should be similar.

i'm doing another mass order for friends for the XM1/XM2... among the lower markups for XM2 is 766 RMB inclusive domestic shipping within china.

johnmoocs

i didn't catch which country you're in - if you're in singapore and you don't usually turn on air conditioning (basically it thermally cools air, plus reduces humidity to bring comfort), you're usually looking at 60+% humidity... which can be sticky enough.... so can leave out humidifier function. it may be one more bacteria trap that you may end up overlooking.... read up on legionnaires' disease 😝

Night, Low, Medium, High, Jet for XM1. XM2 should be similar.

i'm doing another mass order for friends for the XM1/XM2... among the lower markups for XM2 is 766 RMB inclusive domestic shipping within china.

Thanks for your reply!
Actually am at SG but wife don't feel comfortable to leave air conditioner open all night.
So we will switch to fan after 2 hours air conditioning. (timer)

Mean time we don't open our windows as the condenser units are outside. Hot air blew in when the air conditioning is on (other room).

So no choice have to find something like this. :p

sehsuan

Thanks for your reply!
Actually am at SG but wife don't feel comfortable to leave air conditioner open all night.

Mean time we don't open our windows as the condenser units are outside. Hot air blew in when the air conditioning is on (other room).

perhaps you need a DEhumidifer?

when i get to use the airconditioner, rarely do i turn it on for hours straight. usually 2 hours max, in the dehumidifying mode, target temperature 26 degrees celsius, and remove the excess humidty of the room. turning on a room fan will help to even out the humidity of the room... and keep the somewhat cooled down air to comfy levels until time to wake up.

WussRedXLi

Too late bro...
I think it's on the way.

Maybe we can have a model for comparison. :)

Thanks for your reply!

I see. Well, you happy can already. Ultimately, the additional costs is not really a lot in the grand scheme of things for a pregnancy. I know, I went through 2 cycles. :s13: Enjoy your 8k Baby Bonus too! :D

But next time, do remember to read up more and don't be too kan cheong to put down the money no matter how good the financial standing that you have. Really bo hua one sometimes. :D

From what I read, if I may make a guess, your situation is such that your actual room (or partitioned space in a big room - landed property?) does not have an air con FCU/Fan Coil Unit. So you rely on cool air flowing to your sleeping space from another partition/room having a big aircon FCU.

In such a case of big area : relative small aircon FCU, the humidity does get lower than usual. Folks here can try to switch on 2 x Aircon FCU for 2 rooms and leave the door open, close the door of the 3rd room, then try to cool the living room. You'd find the RH % to be pretty low.

It is somewhat similar to the Dehumidfying function.

But John, try to keep the fan speed at the highest speed, as that also means that the space to be filtered is very big.

johnmoocs

perhaps you need a DEhumidifer?

when i get to use the airconditioner, rarely do i turn it on for hours straight. usually 2 hours max, in the dehumidifying mode, target temperature 26 degrees celsius, and remove the excess humidty of the room. turning on a room fan will help to even out the humidity of the room... and keep the somewhat cooled down air to comfy levels until time to wake up.

Wow... think this is a new thing to me...
Let me google it ya... :D

johnmoocs

I see. Well, you happy can already. Ultimately, the additional costs is not really a lot in the grand scheme of things for a pregnancy. I know, I went through 2 cycles. :s13: Enjoy your 8k Baby Bonus too! :D

But next time, do remember to read up more and don't be too kan cheong to put down the money no matter how good the financial standing that you have. Really bo hua one sometimes. :D

From what I read, if I may make a guess, your situation is such that your actual room (or partitioned space in a big room - landed property?) does not have an air con FCU/Fan Coil Unit. So you rely on cool air flowing to your sleeping space from another partition/room having a big aircon FCU.

In such a case of big area : relative small aircon FCU, the humidity does get lower than usual. Folks here can try to switch on 2 x Aircon FCU for 2 rooms and leave the door open, close the door of the 3rd room, then try to cool the living room. You'd find the RH % to be pretty low.

It is somewhat similar to the Dehumidfying function.

But John, try to keep the fan speed at the highest speed, as that also means that the space to be filtered is very big.

My situation is like this.
2+1 HDB set up. The air cond condenser units are outside our window, don't know why the design is like this, force us to close windows all days...:(

We have air cond and ceiling fan in our room.

When we switch on air cond, wife would feel too cool, and dry feeling which makes her cough sometimes.

Then we would sacrifice our privacy--- to leave the bedroom door open...:eek:

Asakura

humidifier dehumidifier. i think a lot of people dont really know which one they really should be getting.

aCidz

4500 RMB with 3 years warranty. Exclude delivery.
So not sure it's worth the price or not but at least it put my kiasu aside...:s22:
Warranty not applicable in SG lah. Cost of sending it back to China and here = can buy a new one here probably.

I think you can talk to the forwarder to reject receiving the goods and return to seller, that is if you're buying from sites like Taobao etc.

Mach3.2

definitely don't need humidifier, especially when you use your AP during hazy seasons, you'll have to close all your doors and windows so it's gonna be even more humid with the humidifier on. :s13:

amazone

The demand for APs in China is extremely high now.

Mfresh M8088A @ 1299 RMB, still selling like hot cakes.

XM2 don't say. Even RMB800 on TB also selling like hot cakes.

I think can wait till about March. Similar to last year or rather this year 2015.

hopefully can get after christmas i guess...ordering 2 sets of XM 2.:s22:

sehsuan

definitely don't need humidifier, especially when you use your AP during hazy seasons, you'll have to close all your doors and windows so it's gonna be even more humid with the humidifier on. :s13:

just quite a bit short of a free sauna, of course! :s12:

sehsuan

this is gonna be fun in the future... the G5 sensor is on sale! pin compatible with the G1.... but future incarnations of G5 will have formaldehyde and carbon dioxide detection built in! model is PMS-5003, future PMS5103 (particulate + formaldehyde) and PMS-5203 (particulate + carbon dioxide) will be coming!

http://world.taobao.com/item/524399447621.htm

roz_sid

Ok, have low med high in the app.

屏幕快照-2015-11-24-下午11.20.14.png
hi bros for some reason i cant get the medium, high setting. only sleep, auto (guess it low) n jet for xm2. install the app but dun have the second screen option :( anyways thx for helping me out :)

roz_sid

ok aft some figuring out. thers auto, moon (sleep) button, lastly thers a (FREE mode button) meaning you can set the power manually from watever u wan, frm 1-4m'2 - turbo 42-45m2. :)

WussRedXLi

Someone asked if I have the VOC CADR for the Mfresh M8088A....thought of sharing it here (I think I posted before anyway). It's not for VOC but more of formaldehyde specifically, but if you are talking about nail polish VOC acetone or say an item containing alcohol (eg Benzyl Alcohol like in some baby wipes, or the perfume o "Parfum" found in it and some products including some cheaper baby infant stuff).....then yes this "formaldehyde" CADR performance value is very applicable as well. Formaldehyde IS a type of VOC.

However, with that said, most "seasoned" homes do not have a TVOC problem as measured with a TVOC meter. Esp with a gap at the door or window that you'd probably leave so that there is a slight airflow going, so that CO2 levels do not build up.
(CO2 levels already measured many times in a typical SG HDB environment so take it as it is, no need for further debate already)

Sorry, maybe I used too many "baby" words liao coz johnmoocs is a new father. Usually is very kan cheong one. :s13: (but relax, in reality it's not that bad, but just be mindful can liao)

It is the same CADR as the IQAir 250. It's 2.3X better than the Samsung AX40, 1.7X better than the Blueair and quite a fair bit more than the AC filter in Sharp models. The reason why this is so is simply coz of physics, it has a huge-ass filter system at approx. 3.4X the volume of the AX40 and weighing 1.6kg.

fflyn2G.jpg

http://www.cca.org.cn/jmxf/detail/9690.html/
BwXuYE5.jpg

WussRedXLi

ok aft some figuring out. thers auto, moon (sleep) button, lastly thers a (FREE mode button) meaning you can set the power manually from watever u wan, frm 1-4m'2 - turbo 42-45m2. :)

Yes, that third button with the icon of a person + heart is your favourite "save" mode.

WussRedXLi

this is gonna be fun in the future... the G5 sensor is on sale! pin compatible with the G1.... but future incarnations of G5 will have formaldehyde and carbon dioxide detection built in! model is PMS-5003, future PMS5103 (particulate + formaldehyde) and PMS-5203 (particulate + carbon dioxide) will be coming!

http://world.taobao.com/item/524399447621.htm

Wow....wonder what will be the price.

WussRedXLi

hopefully can get after christmas i guess...ordering 2 sets of XM 2.:s22:

Not too bad for XM2. If can pay +100 RMB over retail price then sure can get with a few days wait.

Last year for XM1, if I rem correctly is need to pay like +200 RMB. Even then is need to wait for weeks. Extreme demand then, even during CNY period. In the end I gave up and loaded up on the LGs and what nots coz from April onwards I know that we have a high possibility of kena-ing few months prolonged and somewhat dense haze. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.