Air purifier? - Part 2

WussRedXLi

Also note that some folks (2015 consolidated haze and el nino thread) already get symptoms when RAW is in the 50s, esp over a prolonged period. So you gotta consider that.

So a lot of factors to consider. That's for haze.

MBR/BR usage for sensitive folks due to allergens is more straightforward. You just aim for 5x ACH operation for 7-10hrs sleeping time, whether you can tahan that or not. That's easier.

Asakura

first time kena order rejection by 4px

bought 2filters but cos it was sent out in 2 different boxes, they dont accept. haha any advice?

plasticpistola

In 2015, I was playing with stuff like the AX40, LG PS-R459, LG LA-Q379, LG PS-S209, 美的KJ30FE-NV2, AP-777 either singly or in multiples depending on whether folks would be spending more time in the rooms or living room/whose house. I had relegated these to be movable....the Sharp KC-840 stayed in the MBR.
Also due to air-conditioning requirements.

In our case, larger rooms would only mean living room (unless you have a landed property very large 40 sqm MBR), which in practical conditions would be connected to kitchen/yard with lourver windows, living room corridor's toilet door gaps, living room door gaps etc. The factors leading to leaks would be there. In my own measurements, it is a must to keep any of these 300-400m3/hr range APs to be in HIGH fan speed, and that's to keep it in the 20-50 ug/m3 range. If i use multiples, i could get it into the 10s.

There are people who said that it's ok, it's gonna be loud coz that means it working. But for me, all factors considered and since you are asking me, you are not going to like it for usage of the AP over so many years. It is not only one year kinda use.

Put it this way, at my mother's house (2 kids during day time).....the Novita NAP-501 with about 200 m3/hr in the 20 sqm living room is totally insfficient. It can go over 100 ug/m3 RAW sometimes, due to some special operating conditions, like kids leaving the kitchen door half open etc.
But most of the time, they spend time in the bedroom with another LG-PSR459 that i have.

Also note that some folks (2015 consolidated haze and el nino thread) already get symptoms when RAW is in the 50s, esp over a prolonged period. So you gotta consider that.

So a lot of factors to consider. That's for haze.

MBR/BR usage for sensitive folks due to allergens is more straightforward. You just aim for 5x ACH operation for 7-10hrs sleeping time, whether you can tahan that or not. That's easier.

ordering the pm2.5 reader - will do a test and see how the ax40 fares in my parents' mbr :o

want to get another AP, but deciding between ax40 and xm2 - will roll dice buahaha~

WussRedXLi

first time kena order rejection by 4px

bought 2filters but cos it was sent out in 2 different boxes, they dont accept. haha any advice?

Write off if it's low in value. They will accept the second box, you can alww the CSO and tell her the 2nd tracking number and they will send out. But initial 1st kg of 43 applies.

I kena before.

Asakura

yea they are telling me to get seller to send as 2 different tracking number using 1 taobao order.

WussRedXLi

If the order is high in value, yeah you can put up a new order....ask seller to change to RMB 2 (I think RMB 1 cannot be accepted by TB order, min 2). Then you pay up, and he put in that "missing" tracking number. It'd be immediately recognised by the TB system. And you can consolidate liao.

Yeah, i did that too.....just remember now.

You'd lose RMB 2 + 2.5% and 3%, but that's about it.

Asakura

i think they rejected the whole order. say dont accept 子母包

cnotsniw

I bought XM2 and shipped by 65DG via sea ship, it's $184 each nett after shopback. Only draw back is longer waiting time, expect 2-3 weeks.

Shopback has some offers at the moment, think can reduce even more.

seems like a April Fool promo. Every item i keyed in gave a nil return.

pDgATGP.png

LoneReaction

Already got the Xiaomi 2 but still in the market for a AP + Humidifier combo, anyone using the Sharp KC-D60E? Room only 16m^2 so the KC-D40E should be enough. But a larger model means less noise and more air moved.

Room has 40% humidity with Aircon on. Hope to increase it to 50-60%.

sharpAP_zpsfd0jiole.png

Mach3.2

Already got the Xiaomi 2 but still in the market for a AP + Humidifier combo, anyone using the Sharp KC-D60E? Room only 16m^2 so the KC-D40E should be enough. But a larger model means less noise and more air moved.

Room has 40% humidity with Aircon on. Hope to increase it to 50-60%.

sharpAP_zpsfd0jiole.png
Have you tried leaving a cup of water in the room?

Not sure how well it would work though.

LoneReaction

Have you tried leaving a cup of water in the room?

Not sure how well it would work though.

A cup of water isn't enough, probably need 2 cups per hour to evaporate into the air.
My mum has those 2L ultrasonic humidifier. It does get the humidity up to 55% after 1 hour, but if use tap water the PM2.5 reading will go up. Need to use distilled water. I'm extremely anal about this because my newborn baby will be sleeping in the same room.

Don't want to do "human experiment" on long term exposure to inhaled tap water particles. @_@

Mach3.2

A cup of water isn't enough, probably need 2 cups per hour to evaporate into the air.
My mum has those 2L ultrasonic humidifier. It does get the humidity up to 55% after 1 hour, but if use tap water the PM2.5 reading will go up. Need to use distilled water. I'm extremely anal about this because my newborn baby will be sleeping in the same room.

Don't want to do "human experiment" on long term exposure to inhaled tap water particles. @_@
I see, my mother almost always put a cup of water in her room if she turns on the aircon. :s13:

ya, don't want to inhale sediments from tap water, esp when you have a baby.

also, wrx bro got mention before, can set your aircon at about 25-26 centigrade, shouldn't dry your room too much, maybe you can try it out as well.

tanyj82

Not sure how your humidity gets so low. My air-con room stay around 60+ after 8 hours of running at 24C(From 70. Measure from drybox outside sensor.). What is the temperature you set to ?

Anyone XM AP1/2, where is the timer setting. I cant find it in the apps
Based on the page AP1/2 also have the timer setting
http://www.mi.com/air2/specs/
http://www.mi.com/sg/air/app/

WussRedXLi

Not sure how your humidity gets so low. My air-con room stay around 60+ after 8 hours of running at 24C(From 70. Measure from drybox outside sensor.). What is the temperature you set to ?

Anyone XM AP1/2, where is the timer setting. I cant find it in the apps
Based on the page AP1/2 also have the timer setting
http://www.mi.com/air2/specs/
http://www.mi.com/sg/air/app/

Ok, i have read write-ups from AC installers and also experienced it like this.

The factors are (1) the sizing of the aircon btu/hr wrt room size
(2) the heat loss of the room's surfaces like walls, floors, ceiling.

We know that AC compressor on = water coming out of the drainage. For those whose drainage pipes are visible, this is easy to understand.
FCU's heat exchanger fins cold and gets very well below dew point of the air = condensation.

So for point one, if you undersize the aircon wrt room size, the aircon FCU would work much longer and not provide much cooling. It is almost the same reason how the DRY mode of your aircon works by getting the airflow very low sometimes/or almost inexistent.

I know that the older resale flats may have walls that are much more conductive of heat than the new BTOs prefab slabs. Those what have the big "bricks" (not referring to the small orange-reddish type). So this causes the aircon FCU to work harder to maintain the same temperature. Also causes the RH to drop lower than usual.

Second point - if you undersize the aircon FCU, ie 9000 btu/hr for living room size, you are going to get lower RH. I experienced this during haze seasons.
Extreme case, 1 x 9000 btu/hr bedroom AC switched on. AX40 i leave at the door and intakes cold air from the room and circulates it into the living room via the corridor etc. Temperatures drop approx 2 deg vs external, RH drops to 30+ % RH. MBR has 9000 btu/hr unit, drops 4 deg C but RH is 60%.

NAtural vaporisation of the AP is cool, but needs you'd need frequent washing /brushing of the water receptacle and humidifying wick. Sharp APs are pretty easy to take out. As long as you do this regularly, the mold won't take a foothold. Obviously if one leaves it and cleans only every 3-6 months, it's going to get a bit ugly later and you might not be able to clean it.

Just physical brushing + water would suffice. But if you are anal and have forgotten to do this after a few months, you can also use a wee bit of Mr muscle stain and mold removal.

Magiclean also can

mcl_bath_remover_00_img_l.jpg

WussRedXLi

The opposite is also true. If you have an oversized AC, like 13000 btu/hr unit in a small 12 sqm new BTO bedroom, the RH might be too high (occupants in the room release water vapor)

http://www.energyvanguard.com/blog-...Tell-If-You-Have-an-Oversized-Air-Conditioner

However, i am thinking that this undersizing/oversizing is partially mitigated if your aircon unit is an Inverter one. So say 9000 btu/hr inverter, if you set the temp to say 27 deg C first, it might operate at half-load 4500 btu/hr. The fins do not get that cold with the same airflow.

Alternatively, you can leave the fan speed to be HIGH mode. I think helps a little.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.