Air purifier? - Part 2

asky2505

Their Gen2 sold out. That's fast. Left only 1 piece of Gen1. :s13:

Edit: Now seems like Qty left 15 for Gen2. So fast restock? :s22:

That was a limited timesale of $199 for 10sets only.
Now even cheaper if you use coupon:
$212-$10 (mastercard coupon)-$20 VIP coupon.

WussRedXLi

I wonder how the device detect the air pollution level

The devices on the AX40, XM1 and XM2, M8088A and many other air purifiers just use a IR LED sensor that detectors the "opacity" of the air. Not exactly the same principle of particle counters. There are many other specifics, but just take it that the implementations on APs are very very rough, just passable for "home use by layman"

WussRedXLi

Thanks guys. This is the correct shop to ALWW? I am using website instead of apps. It looks like they are already offline.

https://shop66220978.world.taobao.com/?spm=a312a.7728556.2015080705.5.tFVkZL

No, aliwangwang to 4px CSO. The page where you checkout to 4PX got 4PX's blue person icon to click.

Basically you tell the story, give them your TB login nick and SF tracking number. They will ask you to 捎等 and ask warehouse pax to check. Might take a little while, mine was pretty fast...5 mins came back to me “是的,找到了亲”。 They then give you a web link on TB to click and raise order.
It's probably some RMB 1 object that you'd have to buy 175 pcs for RMB 175 (for eg), then you 提交 as per std TB order. Then you pay. And after paying you will get a std TB order.....

You prob will get a tracking number once 出库, but you can also check with 4PX again. etc.

No worries one, i kena twice before. :s13:

Let us know here once it's done. It's an inconvenience alright, but basically for big/expensive orders, i'd alww seller NOT to send out in 2 tracking.
Either that or just buy seperately lah....... basically if 2 orders in TB order page but 1 tracking number tagged to the 2 orders (ie 2 orders but 1 same tracking number), the TB system would still recognise it and when 4PX accepts and updates TB system, both order would show 入库. Yours is 1 order but 1 tracking in TB system but reality is 2, so that's why screw up.

Filters can use normal couriers anyway. lol.

Asakura

i was given a link the other time by the cso when the seller send me a replacement. they call it "异常件”
so they went to look for the item den ask me fill up

got to fill up a lot of things but process very simply. once submit they will add ur item to existing package and ship together.

dunno if they will do the same for you or the method WRX metioned c

antsig30

No, aliwangwang to 4px CSO. The page where you checkout to 4PX got 4PX's blue person icon to click.

Basically you tell the story, give them your TB login nick and SF tracking number. They will ask you to 捎等 and ask warehouse pax to check. Might take a little while, mine was pretty fast...5 mins came back to me “是的,找到了亲”。 They then give you a web link on TB to click and raise order.
It's probably some RMB 1 object that you'd have to buy 175 pcs for RMB 175 (for eg), then you 提交 as per std TB order. Then you pay. And after paying you will get a std TB order.....

You prob will get a tracking number once 出库, but you can also check with 4PX again. etc.

No worries one, i kena twice before. :s13:

Let us know here once it's done. It's an inconvenience alright, but basically for big/expensive orders, i'd alww seller NOT to send out in 2 tracking.
Either that or just buy seperately lah....... basically if 2 orders in TB order page but 1 tracking number tagged to the 2 orders (ie 2 orders but 1 same tracking number), the TB system would still recognise it and when 4PX accepts and updates TB system, both order would show 入库. Yours is 1 order but 1 tracking in TB system but reality is 2, so that's why screw up.

Filters can use normal couriers anyway. lol.

Thanks. First time buying from taobao. Lessons to be learnt, haha. I will ALWW 4px tomorrow and updated :)

WussRedXLi

True Hepa must be able to filter 99.97% of 0.3 micron

Yeah. Either that or you see the words H13. Or HEPA grade 13 if you will (technically no such thing, but just saying for "clarity").

There is H14, U15, U16 and maxes out at U17. U denotes ULPA and has a MPPS of 0.12 microns (maximum particle penetration size). It does not mean that the performance envelope stops at 0.3 microns, or 0.12 microns, and below that = no use won't filter. HEPA does not work that way as just a "physical sieve", though you'd see a lot of folks out there having this misconception coz it runs somewhat against common sense.

In fact, some of the HEPAs or ULPAs might even filter better below 0.3 microns or 0.12 microns, versus @ 0.3 or 0.12 microns. Those are usually the cleanroom filters which use a different type of media than our consumer ones.

WussRedXLi

Now, without going too deep or OT, Dyson actually tested a Sharp D40 filter (IIRC) which is basically the usual Made in China H13 HEPA that you'd find in shops here (BEST Denki).
Test was with an aerosol chemical that peaks at 0.1 microns, iirc.

Basically the Sharp filter performed at 87% eff, ie it filters 87% @ 0.1 microns.

That was shown by Dyson in a youtube video, to promote Dyson products.

So yeah, it'd work ok with UFPs/Ultra Fine Particles, if that's your cup of tea. And take a Sharp D60 at 398 m3/hr, it'd still be at a 300+ m3/hr CADR airflow.

The Dyson fan is tested to be very efficient at 0.1 microns, comfortably above 99.9%. But the CADR according to another contributor here is only 100+ m3/hr.

Just some thoughts about the consumer APs here.

WussRedXLi

If anyone manages to find that Dyson air purifier video showing the 0.1 microns test, pls share again. I'd like to download it and archive in my channel. Difficult to find ba....

WussRedXLi

ok lah....found it!

But i think for this video they edited out the part where one could identify the Sharp D40 or D series AP. I am pretty sure it was a Sharp....anyway for those who are pro with APs or have Sharp APs, you can recognise that it's a Sharp filter ba. :s13:

01xwNPn.jpg

Mi98lJd.jpg

TnR4LU9.jpg

5KRtfpC.jpg

ZkQsGJM.jpg

r8PmUpz.jpg

WussRedXLi

A Sharp A80 has 480 m3/hr airflow in high (in USA and its similar A80 models, they do advertise and state the AHAM CADR numbers). So you do the math yourself ba.

Additional info :
(1) Indonesian biomass haze has a huge peak at 0.4-0.5 microns for PM2.5 as measured here in Singapore. Coz different locations have different peaks, as there are different phases as haze travels from the hotspot to 500m, 5km, 50km, 5000km. (has another peak for PM10 here in SG for bigger sizes)
(2) There is UFP in SG that's not related to haze, but not at a high level. We don't have a huge vehicular exhaust issue here in Singapore

Pertaining to point 2, with a regular consumer grade HEPA, it is highly possible that as long as you stick to the often mentioned min 5 times ACH, it is very likely that UFP would be at a very low level as well even if you live right beside a major road or expressway.
Stick a AX40 into a MBR, absolutely no issue at all. (Taobao sellers claims 99% @ 0.1 microns as tested by China agencies, it's a bit too high but i'll give them the benefit of the doubt even though it could be "Fixed", since the Sharp filter performed pretty ok anyway)

In a way, airflow to volume relationship (technically is Air Change per Hour or ACH) is usually key in most cases. ie if one AP is not enough, stick in 2. 3 is even better. :eek: There is no limit, really.
Either that or stick a big one into a smallish room. If anal, use an additional fan to stir the air, seriously the a clean aircon FCU is more than enough lah. :D

WussRedXLi

Another thing i wanna mention is electrostatically assisted filters, be it 3M Filtrete furnace filters or aircon filters, or some Air Purifier brand's filter that's using electrostatics hybrid HEPA.

http://www.achooallergy.com/learning/limits-of-the-cadr-clean-air-delivery-rate/

Longevity - Longevity is also something that is glossed over with the CADR. Units tested that employ an electrostatic charge often dramatically drop in efficiency after a relatively short period of time. As the filter fills, the ability to attract and trap new particles diminishes, yet CADR testing measures (10-20 minutes) are not long enough to provide this sort of information. So while initial testing of a less expensive electrostatic filter may yield results that exceed even HEPA filtration rates, in a matter of weeks to months (at the very latest), filtration efficiency diminishes and airflow rates can dramatically drop.

PeasantBeing

WussRedXLi

Actually, I have been saying since 2014 2 years ago in Air Purifier Part 1 that the AX40 can filter PM0.1 already....also from the Taobao seller sites stating a Shanghai agency's test result just that i cannot vouch if it's 100% verified/legit or a scam documentation. :D (though there are still people in other AP threads saying that China agencies cannot be trusted at all). Or they just pulled it from a marketing literature from Samsung. But that 99% @ 0.1 microns "feature" is already there, not that it makes much of a difference to us in real life. Check the above, the Sharp H13 True HEPA filters do PM0.1 decently as well.

Actually i wasn't the first one who said that in 2014 i think, someone else posted that.

Anyways, just copy n paste from your samsung.com link for the AX40K3020
3. 초미세먼지 항균필터 : 미세먼지 및 초미세먼지는 물론, 0.1 ㎛의 미세한 입자도 99 % 이상 제거

PS. Of course, some folks would still tell you that Blueair's hybrid electrostatic HEPAs is the best. :)

TB2SvSkmXXXXXbKXXXXXXXXXXXX_!!1050969638.jpg

WussRedXLi

Actually on this topic, on Taobao and on qoo10.sg some 2016 models (AX80/AX90) have an additional active electrostatic source in front of the filter, which they claim to be effective down to PM0.02 (Efficiency % claimed is 99%).

Won't be easy testing PM0.02, the typical test agencies/labs don't have machines that can do this. It's a really big claim.

Also claim to prolong filter life (that's if you can tahan the smell in the first place)

review_77dfe.jpg

review_3a6e8.jpg

AVkQVtl.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.