Air purifier? - Part 2

WussRedXLi

i wonder if during a super kilat haze season, will we actually be able to eyeball jets of dark air going into an AP.. and clean air stream OUT of the APs? :s13:

Yes, during 2013 and 2015, with diffused light source (window) that is shining towards you or a flashlight pointing up or towards you, you can see either a clean stream of air blowing out of the AP. Or smoke blowing into the room at the windows, if wind is coming in from there.

sehsuan

by the way, last call for anyone who want to tongpang XM2... i'm prepping my sea shipment probably end of this week - estimated turnover to SG about 3 weeks from now. should be doable about 190 SGD each.

don't say "no banana" ok

patcheon

Sprayed some insecticide inside my room (at the far end from the door) as I found a mosquito manage to sneak inside. Went downstairs after spraying but 2-3 mins later, I hear the Tefal AP, which is located at the common area outside the rooms, went into full blast. So far away also go full blast. :s22: Turned it off immediately. =:p

WussRedXLi

Sprayed some insecticide inside my room (at the far end from the door) as I found a mosquito manage to sneak inside. Went downstairs after spraying but 2-3 mins later, I hear the Tefal AP, which is located at the common area outside the rooms, went into full blast. So far away also go full blast. :s22: Turned it off immediately. =:p

Smells and VOCs ba.

LoneReaction

fixed humidity at 60%? sounds impossible leh, switch on A/C already can drop to <50% easily....

for photography, general suggestion is <55% RH if i remember correctly to prevent mould (which means booklice too, since they feed on mould...)

Opps, I mean that Sharp AP with humidifier function is set to humidify the room to 60%. I read it from the sharp brochure. Wonder if it is too high?

SharpHumidifier_zpsvamseehd.png

WussRedXLi

Heat Index for Pasir Panjang / West Coast as of 0143h.

30.3 deg C. 87% RH

Heat Index 40.8 deg C.

Marina Barrage area. Heat Index 36.9 deg C. 30.2 deg C 75% RH

Tai Seng also similar, 36.6 deg C HI

Mikl1984

Humidity level and Sharp

Opps, I mean that Sharp AP with humidifier function is set to humidify the room to 60%. I read it from the sharp brochure. Wonder if it is too high?
First of all you are not right about 60% in Sharp
Formula is more complicated depending on temperature
http://drive.google.com/file/d/0B616YeHeTlCyMlJWNXBLTUY3OVk/view?usp=sharing

Second and more important - according WHO and US|Europe directive normal level of humidity is range 30-50%

NWT1978

Heat Index for Pasir Panjang / West Coast as of 0143h.

30.3 deg C. 87% RH

Heat Index 40.8 deg C.

Marina Barrage area. Heat Index 36.9 deg C. 30.2 deg C 75% RH

Tai Seng also similar, 36.6 deg C HI

that high :eek::s22::(

sehsuan

SharpHumidifier_zpsvamseehd.png

It is possible that the Sharp unit is indeed more slanted for the domestic Japanese market, as places where it's temperate climate, it is far easier to hit low RH.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relative_humidity

you know the shiok feeling when in a cold country, you can get from a hot cuppa, when you blow into a mug or bowl of hotness and the warmth you get onto your face? that's high RH for you - only water vapour can carry that shiokness of heat to our faces by virtue that water itself has a high SHC... hot but low humidity stuff won't feel as shiok. :)

singapore's humidity can swing up and down - and 60% is very lucky for us to be comfortable because we have a high humidity thanks to our constant summer :)

Akai Ryu

use it without the humidifying function if of any concern. I use mine with humidifying function for 1st hr for it to scrub the air (ion shower mode) then it auto goes into normal sensor mode without the humidifier. Anyway even with the humidifier on, you wont feel much diff in an AC room.

cnotsniw

Thank you for sharing. Actually hor... If add on to the sg plug and transport, will be $206.90 ... Time sales cannot use any coupon. Not as attractive as the "flat" pricing recently by the other seller.

From same previous seller, if can wait for stock to arrive ... if using $10 item coupon and $10 cart coupon, actually still come out to be cheaper than this one if not wrong. I think is $193.79?

Other sellers I no see. Those interested, can go compare the rest also.

Just sharing. :)

Hi, didnt add in the plug price as I'm sure many of bros/sis here are resourceful enough without having to pay such a price for it :s13:

kandinsky

Anyone use this type of paper with folds?

https://world.taobao.com/item/38752133593.htm?spm=a312a.7700714.0.0.pXuScL#detail

The AX40 is using 4 cm thick, so I'm wonder do they have anything ready.

Not sure if it can work straight by just folding.
It's better than those ready made ones which use glue to get the folds and that releases formaldhyde.

The pleats need to be quite rigid, without the glue, the air will blow the paper until it's 'flattened', then surface area is reduced, CADR will also be reduced. You can test by pleating a piece of A4 paper, and put it in front of the AP output or any fan, it will just get 'blown out' and become flat.

-----------------------------------

Happened to find a patent doc for this style of pleated filter, it states that the purpose for the glue is to help hold it rigid, as well as be inexpensive: http://www.google.com/patents/US3246457

It would be good if can find a VOC-free replacement for the glue used in APs.

Filtering materials which provide reasonable efficiencies in the removal of the relatively finer foreign particles have relatively high resistance to the flow of air there through. As a result it is generally desirable to provide an area of filtering media for the air to flow through which is greater than the-area of the air inlet duct to the air conditioning or supply system. To accomplish this, it is common practice to corrugate or pleat the filtering media thereby increasing the area of filtering media through which the air may flow. Most types of filtering media which are effective against finer dirt particles are not sufficiently rigid to be self-supporting in this corrugated or pleated configuration, with the result that some apparatus must be supplied to support the filtering media.

While various expedients have been used to provide this support, including Wire baskets, rigid frameworks which carry supporting wires and the like, the least expensive and most widely used have been various cardboard members used as a frame work to support the filtering media in a self-contained cartridge. Such cartridges, however, have certain objectionable features. For example, the cardboard support is such that the adjacent pleats of media are flexed by the air stream so as to cling one to the other thereby reducing the effective area of filtering material available for air to pass through. To partially avoid this, it is necessary that the space between the pleats and/or `the angle between the pleats must be relatively large thereby restricting the area of filtering material.

In order for a filtering cartridge to be sufficiently inexpensive to be disposable after replacement, the materials used must be inexpensive, the quantity of materials minimized, and the manufacture of the cartridge must be relatively rapid and inexpensive. In accordance with the present invention, there is provided a self-contained disposable filter cartridge which is relatively efficient against finer dirt particles. This cartridge incorporates inexpensive materials which may be inexpensively assembled. Further, the filtering media is sufficiently supported in its pleated condition to obtain a maximum effective area of filtering media for a given size of filter cartridge consistent with a low resistance to air flow through the filter cartridge.

keigo22

momoeagle

lotusnotes

can I ask where to get filter for AX40H5000GMD other than qoo10.sg? kindly PM me pls. i want original because I am lousy at DIYing filters. thank you so much..

WussRedXLi

can I ask where to get filter for AX40H5000GMD other than qoo10.sg? kindly PM me pls. i want original because I am lousy at DIYing filters. thank you so much..

Unfortunately it's only qoo10.sg.

Well Taobao also carries the original Samsung filters, but it's not cheap at about rmb230, so that's like sgd55 shipped if you are tagging on a TB order.
And TB is not really the place that i'd look at to buy original filters anyway.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.