Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

My AQI reading for 1am (from Asia Air Quality App) now is 166 (Central), 180 (South).
Air Pollution in Singapore: Real-time Air Quality Index Visual Map

But 1-hr PM2.5 (from NEA) reading as at 1am only range from 18 to 33.

They are using NEA's 24-hr ug/m3 figure.

Now 7AM, West AQI is 104 as reported on aqicn. NEA 24-hr is 35 ug/m3, actually it's a bit off but it makes sense.

South and East same value, Central/North same.

First section, rightmost
Pollutant Concentrations

Explained here
Singapore PSI and PM2.5 AQI: Why is there a difference between the two readings?

WussRedXLi

Anyone can advise/review on the lg ps-s209wc air purifier? Retails at $299.

Tested in the store and its really quiet.

Also looking at novita nap101i. Can this novita model clear 2.5pm particles?

Novita 101 is H11, 95% efficiency at 0.3 microns MPPS. Yes it can most certainly handle haze effectively. Not a problem using in living room too even for Monday's haze density, just need longer time maybe an hour or two to drop from the high end of Unhealthy zone (PSI 178 for eg which we just calculated) down to moderate levels. :)

Next time can just upgrade to H12 or H13 filters by DIY cutting from stuff bought on taobao etc. It's a hassle, but it's also a viable option for a filter upgrade. Not that it'd make any noticeable difference in real life usage though, of coz. Very very minute diff...

chuanz

They are using NEA's 24-hr ug/m3 figure.

Now 7AM, West AQI is 104 as reported on aqicn. NEA 24-hr is 35 ug/m3, actually it's a bit off but it makes sense.

South and East same value, Central/North same.

First section, rightmost
Pollutant Concentrations

Explained here
Singapore PSI and PM2.5 AQI: Why is there a difference between the two readings?

Not sure if they change their algo recently. North is 80, 159, 161, 102 for midnight to 3am... not expecting this kind of sudden spikes in 24hr averaged readings...

WussRedXLi

Not sure if they change their algo recently. North is 80, 159, 161, 102 for midnight to 3am... not expecting this kind of sudden spikes in 24hr averaged readings...

Sometimes their data feed goes bad.

I guess a bit koyak nowadays also.

But the Malaysian readings are legit. Can compare with Malaysia's DOE readings here (PM10)

Department Of Environment, Air pollutant index

WussRedXLi

BTW Westsideguy, why don't you consider the Sharp A28 @ sgd145? I know qoo10 @ SGD99 OOS liao, but still it's probably a better option than the $199 Novita 101.

It's a Sharp afterall, and the aesthetics are much better.

The filter needs to be changed in 12 months, that's if you use 12 hrs daily with 1 haze season.

This year's haze really funny. It's really prolonged, and it's mostly UP rather than down. But the UP episodes are not really even moderately serious, but it's definitely not anywhere near healthy air. So for those in the mildly sensitive zone like me also kang kor, wear mask also cannot wear for long. Don't wear also run the risk of sometimes getting headaches/runny nose. Air purifier does not cover all times/scenarios though it helps.

Can't eat PAracetamol and Adezio/Fedac/chloropheniramine antihistamines for many times and for prolonged period also.
Now having running nose liao, South/West getting up.... funny thing is that Monday I ok....or perhaps super delayed effect or induced some type of hypersensitivity.
Feels like I just smacked my face into a wall. :(

is plasmacluster really good ?

can any bro testify on its effectiveness

IF you get Sharp, can try putting a sock at the air outlet, try to smell it after 12hrs. :o:s13:

The video with the dog, sock and Plasmacluster seems legit

mikeeeey

I am using A28 in my office cubicle. Using A80 at home in my room. So far so good.

Sharp FTW!

WussRedXLi

I am using A28 in my office cubicle. Using A80 at home in my room. So far so good.

Sharp FTW!

Jin satki. Though I am sure some colleagues sure say we all kee siao. :s13:

But the office filters used in the AHU/HVAC (MERV rated, hopefully high enough) does help a wee wee bit. Too bad I do not have my PM2.5 monitor during last year's PSI 401. I don't think it helps to bring things down to moderate levels with PSI 401. But with current 50-60 ug/m3 concentrations outside, I measured the air quality it's actually very good, excellent in fact.

Of coz, I am also sure some coys cut corners and use lower rated type of MERV filters.

HEPA 12 is like MERV 16.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minimum_efficiency_reporting_value

NWT1978

BTW Westsideguy, why don't you consider the Sharp A28 @ sgd145? I know qoo10 @ SGD99 OOS liao, but still it's probably a better option than the $199 Novita 101.

It's a Sharp afterall, and the aesthetics are much better.

The filter needs to be changed in 12 months, that's if you use 12 hrs daily with 1 haze season.

This year's haze really funny. It's really prolonged, and it's mostly UP rather than down. But the UP episodes are not really even moderately serious, but it's definitely not anywhere near healthy air. So for those in the mildly sensitive zone like me also kang kor, wear mask also cannot wear for long. Don't wear also run the risk of sometimes getting headaches/runny nose. Air purifier does not cover all times/scenarios though it helps.

Can't eat PAracetamol and Adezio/Fedac/chloropheniramine antihistamines for many times and for prolonged period also.
Now having running nose liao, South/West getting up.... funny thing is that Monday I ok....or perhaps super delayed effect or induced some type of hypersensitivity.
Feels like I just smacked my face into a wall. :(

IF you get Sharp, can try putting a sock at the air outlet, try to smell it after 12hrs. :o:s13:

The video with the dog, sock and Plasmacluster seems legit

Loratadine 24hrs work better than chloropheniramine but expensive...:(

plasticpistola

Sometimes their data feed goes bad.

I guess a bit koyak nowadays also.

But the Malaysian readings are legit. Can compare with Malaysia's DOE readings here (PM10)

Department Of Environment, Air pollutant index

Thanks to bro WRX for all your constant and helpful tips and inputs. Now one of the 1st thing i do in the morn in to beo this thread :s13:

My parents' room running Honeywell that round round model. Me n sisters' room using AX28. So far so good but of cos don't have a pm monitor to measure but I trust WRX's recommendations :D

WussRedXLi

Loratadine 24hrs work better than chloropheniramine but expensive...:(

Adezio is Citrizine 12hrs....7.80 for 10pcs. Clarityn is loratadine 250mg...but 9.80 10pcs. All later gen than chloropheniramine And non drowsy.

I ise Fedac also...knock out better than chloropheniramine.

Clarinaise is loratadine 250 + 10mg pseudoephedrine doedphrine to unblock nasal passage. 10pcs 12 dollars plus i think.

Got generic Clarinaise but with 125mg loratadine and 5mg pseudoehedrine. Cheaper and you take 2pcs for 24hrs

Chloropheniramine 5 lollah 50 piece. Lol!!!

WussRedXLi

Chuanz...your 1hr PSI zhun for lower breakpoint.

9am central 29 ug/m3 is psi 70. On NEA i saw a 24hr ugm3 and PSI value also same.

Another data point is 43ug/m3 = psi 86. Your graph and NEA figures match.

Asure7

btw for those using Samsung AX40, I find that the odour sensor is not very sensitive compared to sharp. So if you know for sure that air quality not good, you may want to switch the fan mode to High for a while before switching back to Auto.

My Sharp turn yellow and cleaning, the AX40 still blue for a long time.

tmkedmw

I thought AQICN is using 1 hour reading since 2 days back?

Thanks for the enlightenment.

Just look at 11am south 1hr PM2.5 nea reading of 44ug/m3. Aqicn website showing pm2.5 reading of aqi 122.
It matches. Confirm aqicn now showing 1hr pm2.5 iso 24hr pm2.5

Sigh, foreign website see the need for change to provide better visibility to realtime data than nea. :(

chuanz

I've swapped the PSI chart to be on top since I guess that'd make sense for more ppl than concentration...

endlssorrow

Anyone using 3M? $319.20 now got discount
Fapf03-4LR. Coverage 34msquare.

By e way is it true hepa?

derazor

I just wonder how come Sharp doesn't sell their filter consumables in the shops like Courts etc.

Or should I buy from elsewhere?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.