chuanz

Anyone using 3M? $319.20 now got discount
Fapf03-4LR. Coverage 34msquare.

By e way is it true hepa?

3M Filtrete series are electrostatic filters. These are not HEPA filters and have different working principles.

endlssorrow

Chuanz, so that machine dun buy better right? Still stick to hepa label for precautions better.

WussRedXLi

Chuanz, so that machine dun buy better right? Still stick to hepa label for precautions better.

I bought the filter materia for play play. The 3M FAP series use the 3M MPR2100 filter media. Every 6 weeks change once.

But media is cheap.

chuanz

Don't get me wrong, electrostatic filters do work. 2013 haze season bro bullfrog did tested with the Filtrete air con filter (much thinner than the ones used by 3M air purifiers) and it is proven working. But tia gong filter needs to be replaced at more regular interval. I have not personally used their Filtrete air purifiers.

WussRedXLi

Yes....6 weeks. I used it 2x in my Sharp kc840. DIY cut into size.

I bought the 3M Elite Allergen MPR2100 filter from Amazon, which is the same.

tanahgu

My experience is that if you can only leave either the window(s) or door open. ie windows opened/door closed OR windows closed/door open.

That'd would work alright with concentrations ug/m3 below 200 ug/m3 AND ACH (Air Change per Hour) of air purifier is above 5.

I have done that > 15 days/nites for Aug 31 - Oct 6.

thanks, i have bought an a28

would it be more economical to buy the novita 501 in terms of running costs? I remember reading that the 501 filter lasts for 6000hrs

endlssorrow

I got novita 501. Guess I stick back with that better than buying that 3M liao.

Thankd for ur fast reply

WussRedXLi

Hi wussredxli, i don't have that good of an impression with sharp cos the salesguys say those with respiratory history(asthma etc) shouldn't use ionizers?? And that its not effective in clearing haze? But of cos i didn't go study the filtration system in sharp after hearing about the possible health impacts,so not even sure if it has the standard hepa and carbon filter.

As for novita, is 95% efficiency in cleaning 0.3micons mpps the same as clearing 2.5pm particles? The LG model says 99% in cleaning 2.5pm particles so i am trying to compare them on the same standards.

Also, can u comment on the LG model? For me the difference so far is-quieter,hepa filter is washable, higher cleansing efficiency n lower power consumption at 18watts. But not sure if the filter still needs to be replaced n i wonder if its possible to diy like u mentioned.

Is the diy-ing of filter replacement applicable to all brands and models ?

(1) You can switch off the ions/plasmacluster.

(2) PM2.5 is 2.5 microns. HEPA has worst performance efficiency at 0.3 microns (H13 would be >= 99.95%. It definitely works at 0.1 microns at very very high efficiencies as well.

(3) The LG model very weak for SGD299 leh. I have seen it before.

(4) DIY filter replacement is just an arts-n-craft thingy. There is a small level of difficulty and involves some slight common sense. Some find it a piece of cake and can finish within 10 mins. Some fail even after 10hrs.

wyvern1611

I've a question on the sharp a28e. I bought one from courts recently. The top side where the air is blowing out, is it normal to have air come out on one side only? (The side near to the control button has no air out).

mosmos

I've a question on the sharp a28e. I bought one from courts recently. The top side where the air is blowing out, is it normal to have air come out on one side only? (The side near to the control button has no air out).

:s22: the air more concentrated at the middle, should be all right since only 1 fan 1 air outlet~

WussRedXLi

Thanks for the explanation. Actually I have a lobang for the LG model which makes it cheaper than novita 101. So in this case do u think its worth the buy?

If it's cheaper than the Novita 101 @ SGD199, then of course go for the LG.

WussRedXLi

It's normal, sort of. The older models, KC-840, 850 etc....also got uneven output.

WussRedXLi

West side had it worst.
1hr PSI 129, 137, 136, 128 for 4 hrs from 4pm to 8pm...West side.

Others were slightly better.

AQI values
157740610.9UhQ0QL9.8oct169.jpg

157740663.uF6cQoi6.8octtrend.jpg

mosmos

west side sky bery clear reh, got 144 meh~ :s22:

3bQmFHh.jpg

WussRedXLi

west side sky bery clear reh, got 144 meh~ :s22:

AQI 144 is 2100-2200 reading, reported at 2200h.

Any 1-hr reading that is reported, represents the average reading for the past 1 hour.

1-hr AQI 144 = 1-hr PSI 98 @ 2200h for West, the reading for 2100-2200h West.

Hope it makes sense.

WussRedXLi

In fact, your picture shows the current reading for West of less than PSI 77, due to the steep trend down.

As mentioned many times before, 1-hr readings are essential for 2014 haze. Coz you could just have swam 20 laps in PSI 130+ air just now for 2hrs after dinner time coz the NEA usual figures show Moderate everything can do.

Worst, say you took your pregnant wife out for walks. I don't wanna sound like a broken record again, the gynae does not recommend that + neither do many medical literature (my wife was pregnant last year June 2013 so you can say that I have done more research than many here), but apparently some folks don't have issues with that and I still see pregnant ladies bua long long walking about in the open during 1-hr PSI 178/AQI 190 on Monday evening, well I guess they have a choice. (it was just a wee bit below Very Unhealthy levels)

PS. Another way of looking at it. In Malaysia, they shut down hundreds of schools in March when it hit >= 200 in Kluang. And subsequently in Perak during July.

wyvern1611

Thank you mosmos and WRX for the reply. I thought of it is abnormal, I would have to carry back for exchange.

Edit: WRX, I read at somewhere 50+ pages where you mentioned about activated carbon, the one you recommended from AMZ, where do you put it? I mean, on top of the A/c unit? One corner or lay flat across all the length? If I'm using a28e, where is the best place to put it at?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.