Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Edit: WRX, I read at somewhere 50+ pages where you mentioned about activated carbon, the one you recommended from AMZ, where do you put it? I mean, on top of the A/c unit? One corner or lay flat across all the length? If I'm using a28e, where is the best place to put it at?

It would not be easy to put a bag of AC for the A28. You may however get those AC mesh filter.

But if you don't buy regularly from Amazon so that you can't take advantage of the usd125 free shipping, then also kang kor lah.

Picture taken just now at GBTB (Straits Times pic, Mark Cheong)
Emak-haze-2081014e.jpg

oekintaro

Been reading up for the past week and now shortlisted 2 models but can't decide which one to go for - Sharp A80 or Samsung AX40. Can some kind soul here give me some pointers? A few of my considerations will be ease of getting the filter replacement, effectiveness against the haze, level of noise, air flow. I stay in a 5 room flat and I intend to put this in my living room most of the time, and maybe shift it between the rooms occasionally if need be.

NWT1978

Been reading up for the past week and now shortlisted 2 models but can't decide which one to go for - Sharp A80 or Samsung AX40. Can some kind soul here give me some pointers? A few of my considerations will be ease of getting the filter replacement, effectiveness against the haze, level of noise, air flow. I stay in a 5 room flat and I intend to put this in my living room most of the time, and maybe shift it between the rooms occasionally if need be.

I do own a Sharp ones but not your model=:p... staff say easy to get replacement for filter...can buy and store space filter if u dont open them from package...

find my current model light to carry and move around :D when not in use... I put back in original package and seal them...=:p

what the PSI now?

mikeeeey

I just wonder how come Sharp doesn't sell their filter consumables in the shops like Courts etc.

Or should I buy from elsewhere?
ya loh. i also wondered. so hard (or even impossible) to find the replacement filters in store. need to go to sharp customer service or something to get them

Buckbrick

I'm just wondering. Really how effective is a purifier in a typical hdb bedroom? I used to run a Sharp one and found it's near useless. It does clean but i felt it's ineffective due to the room size. My girl has sinus and thought of getting one. So how to choose one?

WussRedXLi

Sharp A80 = SGD499. 80W 480m3/hr 53dBA but this model stock filter is H10 (85% @ 0.3 microns MPPS) so effective it's 408m3 clean air. It's very slightly lower in real life but we keep it simple. (some folks like to use the tech term Smoke CADR)

Samsung AX40 = $290 shipped. 34W 323 m3/hr. 46dBA

2 units AX40 = $580 shipped. 68W 646m3/hr. 43 + 3 = 49dBA

1 unit of AX40 is sufficient for a 5 Improved 110 sqm's living room.

2 units is always better than 1 in terms of flexibility. You'll never know where else you need it suddenly.

Or put it this way. 499- 290 = $209. Use it to buy 3 spare filters from Taobao with spare change for a nice dinner for your family.

WussRedXLi

LAst nite's West peak PSI was 139 7PM (equivalent AQI 163). Monday's peak PSI was 178 South 6PM (equivalent AQI 190)

tumblr_inline_mxivigRsBs1s4lgm1.png

oekintaro

Sharp A80 = SGD499. 80W 480m3/hr 53dBA but this model stock filter is H10 (85% @ 0.3 microns MPPS) so effective it's 408m3 clean air. It's very slightly lower in real life but we keep it simple. (some folks like to use the tech term Smoke CADR)

Samsung AX40 = $290 shipped. 34W 323 m3/hr. 46dBA

2 units AX40 = $580 shipped. 68W 646m3/hr. 43 + 3 = 49dBA

Thanks bro for the comparison provided, it really helps. Another question in my mind is - correct me if I'm wrong, the AX40 takes in air only from the back, while A80 takes in air from the front bottom/left/right. Will this make AX40 slightly less effective since we will usually place it against a wall?

WussRedXLi

The above is tested in a living room of 15 sqm in China iwt a Philips AC4072

AC4072_00-IMS-global

From the above, AQI is ard the same as current Singapore's haze levels. (you'd see the AQI And outside concentration fluctuating as wel)

PM 0.5 (0.5 microns)
ON 7936. 1hr later 1301. Concentration drop = 600%

Say concentration is 90 ug/m3 or AQI 169 PSI 139
90 ug/m3 div 6 = 15ug/m3

15 ug/m3 = AQI 57, or about PSI 40.

Start PSI 139. 1hr later, PSI 40. PSI 40 is very low in our current haze situation's context. You'd enjoy pretty good air after just 20 mins.

WussRedXLi

Thanks bro for the comparison provided, it really helps. Another question in my mind is - correct me if I'm wrong, the AX40 takes in air only from the back, while A80 takes in air from the front bottom/left/right. Will this make AX40 slightly less effective since we will usually place it against a wall?

No....you can go back 15 pages before this page and read from there. (won't take you 15 mins :s13:)

Some Sharps also take in from the back. Actually quite a number of Sharp models.

WussRedXLi

PM2.5 = 506
1hr later, PM2.5 = 46

Concentration drop with the Philips AC4072 = 1100%
This 2.5 microns particle size drop is twice that of 0.5 microns drop.

I am not using 2.5 microns as an example as you can see there are more particles at 0.5 microns size.

PS. The displayed number is x 1,000,000 or something like that. They truncated.

WussRedXLi

I'm just wondering. Really how effective is a purifier in a typical hdb bedroom? I used to run a Sharp one and found it's near useless. It does clean but i felt it's ineffective due to the room size. My girl has sinus and thought of getting one. So how to choose one?

Visual/Smell/"feeling" is usually useless and way off for the typical person trying to smell or peek out the window. That is why we have Chuanz's page (my sig), AQICN, ug/m3, PM2.5 monitors etc.

Indeed, I came home from the MRT at 8+ PM after dinner with my family and in-laws and I thought it was very clear. Typical skyscrapes ard Tg Pagar, Orchid and Carlton City hotel, no smoke not much visible light beams from car headlights etc. HEy, the haze has cleared. :zotto:

Upon reaching my unit, sheesh, I could just barely see Sentosa's lights at RWS.

Take Monday for another example. You can see HDB blocks etc, at street level you can just see a very thin veil, nothing to worry man this Wussredxli guy is super duper wussy kua zhang. :D However from my persepctive, what I see is much worse.

(of coz this is not from my house's view, but the visibility distance is ard the same)
157714019.9qRvcSVN.jpg

157714020.2C9jg86c.jpg

WussRedXLi

One more pic for 21 Sep F1 Sunday race day. EXIF Data shows 1806hrs, that's probably nearly the peak of measured 250 ug/m3 on a PM2.5 monitor. (for reference, Monday's peak was 131 ug/m3 NEA data)

250 ug/m3 is probably a bit high, but it's definitely in the AQI 250 range, or peak PSI of 200+.
You say I kua zhang or not? :D
But you'd still get folks saying that the situation is good. :D
(and I can assure you that in the other thread, people still do not believe my picture is true for 2014 haze)

157464295.6xxoWXwo.h2.jpg

oekintaro

No....you can go back 15 pages before this page and read from there. (won't take you 15 mins :s13:)

Some Sharps also take in from the back. Actually quite a number of Sharp models.

Thanks bro! And also to many others here who share info, knowledge and own experiences to help each other battle against this hazardous haze! :)

WussRedXLi

Thanks bro! And also to many others here who share info, knowledge and own experiences to help each other battle against this hazardous haze! :)

It's not hazardous lah. If talking about 3-hourly or 24-hourly exposure for the general population, it's just Unhealthy for a total of approx. 10 days.

For infants, toddlers, elderly > 60 yrs old, pregnant ladies lung/heart/asthma/bronchitis/just recovered from pneumonia folks, people whose white blood count is > 30 previously within 1 week, better take note. The number of Unhealhtly Days for them since Aug 21 is probably > 20 days.

If coy don't cover much of your medical benefit (or any at all), for them the amount of medical expenses is no joke.
I've got a somewhat weak colleague, this time round already 3 X GP already + countless headaches and skin irritation.

The thing is this - once start it's not easy to stop. You'll never know where's the threshold and it varies over time.

Personally for me, it's light headachesness (Monday, where I was outside for 4hrs in the morning to early afternoon) and headaches generally for the milder days. If no air purifier, my condition most probably would have deteriorated coz "it started outside"

blues7

at least get to turn on air purifier

if not, buy already but like no need to use

oekintaro

It's not hazardous lah. If talking about 3-hourly or 24-hourly exposure for the general population, it's just Unhealthy for a total of approx. 10 days.

For infants, toddlers, elderly > 60 yrs old, pregnant ladies lung/heart/asthma/bronchitis/just recovered from pneumonia folks, people whose white blood count is > 30 previously within 1 week, better take note. The number of Unhealhtly Days for them since Aug 21 is probably > 20 days.

................."

Yah man. Our loved ones are our main concern. My wife is pregnant. My daughter is 3yrs old. My parents are over 60. And I get headaches when there's haze. I'm already blaming myself for not buying one sooner. What took me so long!? haaa.....

WussRedXLi

I'll try to tabulate the number of Unhealthy days for the Sensitive Group folks later.

WussRedXLi

Yah man. Our loved ones are our main concern. My wife is pregnant. My daughter is 3yrs old. My parents are over 60. And I get headaches when there's haze. I'm already blaming myself for not buying one sooner. What took me so long!? haaa.....

Tell me about it....

My wife was 6 months pregnant 2nd/3rd trimester during PSI 401 last year June. :s22:

4-yr old kiddo also. But I think he's ok.

Main concern was wife then. Can just google on the effects.
So now you know. Unfortunately, a lot of people on the streets do not know, from what I see on the streets (I was out there @ Toa PAyoh on Monday and also at night during peak PSI coz I had to get dinner but I had N95 on). :(

Um, I think you just go down to Best Denki grab the S$145 Sharp A28 lunchtime later can liao.

Do not use N95 for your wife though, it'll make her feel worse. Just stay in air-con places, the AHUs/Air Handling Units usually got pretty decent filters at least for Singapore's building codes. (what we call the filter's MERV rating, HEPA 12 is about MERV-16.

This has been verified with my PM2.5 monitor. Everything is legit, no worries. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.