Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Really feel the need to post this again even though I think this is the 10th time I am posting this in the 2 threads.

Kids, esp toddlers below the age of 2 are really different from adults. Other than the usual "they are more active outdoors, tend to run around coz they are more active at that age", by respiration % their bodies are also up 50% more compared to adults in a relative sense. Infants lagi more, ie those small 0-6 months old in carriers/strollers.

That 3hrs 96-99 ug/m3 that Westerns experienced yesterday becomes 150 ug/m3 relatively speaking for the young ones. That is in the Very Unhealthy range.

131 ug/m3 on 6 Oct Hari Raya holiday 6pm South becomes 200 ug/m3. ie that big band performance at MBS on 6 oct evening time.

MY_20141007_HAZE07_P_718123.jpg

WussRedXLi

Any replacement HEPA filiter can buy online for Sharp FU-A28E?
30.5CM x 28.5CM x 2.5CM

:)

Search for my post, it shd be in one of the previous 10 pages. I also bought one. Summary is that you can get the Fellowes HF-230 (Amazon FSSG eligible) and also can get from Taobao. Need to DIY a bit.

Or you can just get from Sharp Singapore if you are into stock filter.

tradey

Really feel the need to post this again even though I think this is the 10th time I am posting this in the 2 threads.

Kids, esp toddlers below the age of 2 are really different from adults. Other than the usual "they are more active outdoors, tend to run around coz they are more active at that age", by respiration % their bodies are also up 50% more compared to adults in a relative sense. Infants lagi more, ie those small 0-6 months old in carriers/strollers.

That 3hrs 96-99 ug/m3 that Westerns experienced yesterday becomes 150 ug/m3 relatively speaking for the young ones. That is in the Very Unhealthy range.

131 ug/m3 on 6 Oct Hari Raya holiday 6pm South becomes 200 ug/m3. ie that big band performance at MBS on 6 oct evening

Hi thanks for your advice. My kid seen the pd already. Was told the haze will delay his recovery so... Yeah gonna get a purifier... The thing is so many diff types really dunno which one to get. Can't decide between the Samsung and the sharp... My wife is like sharp more expensive so should be better. Then the more I read up on the differences the more blur i become... U like very pro when it comes to purifiers. Which model are u using? Think I just follow u.

plasticpistola

131 ug/m3 on 6 Oct Hari Raya holiday 6pm South becomes 200 ug/m3. ie that big band performance at MBS on 6 oct evening time.

MY_20141007_HAZE07_P_718123.jpg

Ups for WRX bro's helpful advice :s12: :s12:

WussRedXLi

Hi thanks for your advice. My kid seen the pd already. Was told the haze will delay his recovery so... Yeah gonna get a purifier... The thing is so many diff types really dunno which one to get. Can't decide between the Samsung and the sharp... My wife is like sharp more expensive so should be better. Then the more I read up on the differences the more blur i become... U like very pro when it comes to purifiers. Which model are u using? Think I just follow u.

Haha, we are not pros, maybe just a bit crazy in googling such things and air quality.

Seriously, I was not crazy about such things until last year's haze struck and my wife was pregnant with the second child and I searched about the ill effects. Long story cut short, it's really bad for the fetus and some effects or risks come late, as late as age 6-7. Though most studies are done for longer studies and not like 24-hrs or few days.

But you must remember bro, we were already comfortably above WHO and US EPA standards, the last count I did on 16 oct was 40 "bad" days since Sep 1. Today is Oct 21, I guess 45 days liao.

For Sharp it's the Sharp KC-840E. There are many examples of the Sharps being workhorses who have worked for many years.

Actually if the missus is also interested, a part of the selection process would include the colour and design also. :D

img3472_21911.jpg

157846912.x4VdJYn3.16oct.jpg

tradey

Hehe been camping this thread hoping for some pointers from u so I can chiong to Gab to buy when they open door. So between the samsung ax40 and sharp kc-840 which one to buy?

Thanks for your help and advice hor.

chuanz

Hehe been camping this thread hoping for some pointers from u so I can chiong to Gab to buy when they open door. So between the samsung ax40 and sharp kc-840 which one to buy?

If you were camping you should already know the answer :s11::s11::s11: it's been answered so many times... :s22:

tradey

If you were camping you should already know the answer :s11::s11::s11: it's been answered so many times... :s22:

Erhm not really leh. I get the impression that the samsung is the best in terms of value for money. But then seems that there's lots of sharp supporter also. I am more inclined to get the samsung but need to wait for it to be shipped over. So i was like hoping to get a reply like " just go buy sharp xxx model because xxx reason" :s22:

WussRedXLi

KC-840 is out of production already. Current models range from Sharp A28 to KC-930 to A40/A50, D40/D50, A80.

Samsung AX40 is the one to buy if you can wait (it's already end Oct). $300 typically shipped. Went to as low as $265.

But i suppose some may like Sharp better, the premium is not a lot anyway. Some may find that $200 savings a lot, some may want that purifier NOW and find overseas online buying a hassle and risk.

tradey

KC-840 is out of production already. Current models range from Sharp A28 to KC-930 to A40/A50, D40/D50, A80.

Samsung AX40 is the one to buy if you can wait (it's already end Oct). $300 typically shipped. Went to as low as $265.

But i suppose some may like Sharp better, the premium is not a lot anyway. Some may find that $200 savings a lot, some may want that purifier NOW and find overseas online buying a hassle and risk.

So which Sharp model should i be looking at that will be on par/similar to the Samsung AX40 ?

WussRedXLi

10AM
South = 60 ug/m3. AQI 154 PSI 106.

My nose actually detected the levels by sneezing a few times when i stepped out of the house lol! (south region here).

WussRedXLi

So which Sharp model should i be looking at that will be on par/similar to the Samsung AX40 ?

It's actually specced between the Sharp A40 and A50. Or between Sharp D40 and D50.

But the sound level is quieter than the A40. :)

Power consumption, all are great and among the best.

Personally i'd not care about the humidifying. A80 is the model that has no humidifying function, but it's big and somewhat noisy. Besides, it's overkill for bedrooms.

Remember - to be effective, the living room and other rooms needs to be purified as well for Sensitive Groups. Else it would not work as well.
Such is the nature of 2014 haze.

chuanz

IMHO, 2014 haze is much more dangerous than 2013 haze.

2013 haze is "shock and awe" haze... everybody big hoo-haa and take precaution. It is high intensity but relatively short duration.

2014 haze is "killing me softly" haze... seldom got smell, moderate intensity and drawn out over many weeks, making everybody desensitized about the danger, taking it as the new "normal" already and life goes on as usual.

WussRedXLi

IMHO, 2014 haze is much more dangerous than 2013 haze.

2013 haze is "shock and awe" haze... everybody big hoo-haa and take precaution. It is high intensity but relatively short duration.

2014 haze is "killing me softly" haze... seldom got smell, moderate intensity and drawn out over many weeks, making everybody desensitized about the danger, taking it as the new "normal" already and life goes on as usual.

Not to mention the super spikes also. It's up down up down, so people get so-called "respite". Even the 3-hr PSI gets smoothed out. For a typical person who does not have a visual frame of reference out to say 10km, you will never know that there is haze even. (visibility and smell are not a good indicators, but they do still help)

Hey Chuanz, just wondering if you could do a simple summation of all the ug/m3 values for N,S,E,W,C regions for 24hrs?
I think shd be easy to do from oct 1st. All 24-hrs add up nia.

WHO is 25ug/m3 so that;s 25 x 24hrs = 600 ug.

NEA does publish the concentration and PSI info (24-hr moving avg) but there is no history for concentration.

chuanz

Not to mention the super spikes also. It's up down up down, so people get so-called "respite". Even the 3-hr PSI gets smoothed out.

Hey Chuanz, just wondering if you could do a simple summation of all the ug/m3 values for N,S,E,W,C regions for 24hrs?
I think shd be easy to do from oct 1st. All 24-hrs add up nia.

WHO is 25ug/m3 so that;s 25 x 24hrs = 600 ug.

NEA does publish the concentration and PSI info (24-hr moving avg) but there is no history for concentration.

Daily summation is meaningful? else I can do avg on a daily basis (but not a rolling 24-hr avg, at the moment).

tmkedmw

Daily summation is meaningful? else I can do avg on a daily basis (but not a rolling 24-hr avg, at the moment).

You can summate but pls display the daily average as it easier to compare with WHO, EPA standards. It would also be great if the number of days above the WHO threshold of 25ug/m3 can be calculated automatically and displayed, eg cumulative x out of y days are above threshold.

There is also a much tighter annual, eg 10ug/m3 from WHO, 8ug/m3 from WA.

If your websai is fully automated, pls continue to curl the data beyond the haze period so that some idea of what the annual number would be useful.

NWT1978

Haha, we are not pros, maybe just a bit crazy in googling such things and air quality.

Seriously, I was not crazy about such things until last year's haze struck and my wife was pregnant with the second child and I searched about the ill effects. Long story cut short, it's really bad for the fetus and some effects or risks come late, as late as age 6-7. Though most studies are done for longer studies and not like 24-hrs or few days.

But you must remember bro, we were already comfortably above WHO and US EPA standards, the last count I did on 16 oct was 40 "bad" days since Sep 1. Today is Oct 21, I guess 45 days liao.

For Sharp it's the Sharp KC-840E. There are many examples of the Sharps being workhorses who have worked for many years.

Actually if the missus is also interested, a part of the selection process would include the colour and design also. :D

img3472_21911.jpg

157846912.x4VdJYn3.16oct.jpg

wow u actually track them... I track only on which day and time I switched on Sharp =:p

chuanz

You can summate but pls display the daily average as it easier to compare with WHO, EPA standards. It would also be great if the number of days above the WHO threshold of 25ug/m3 can be calculated automatically and displayed, eg cumulative x out of y days are above threshold.

There is also a much tighter annual, eg 10ug/m3 from WHO, 8ug/m3 from WA.

If your websai is fully automated, pls continue to curl the data beyond the haze period so that some idea of what the annual number would be useful.

Think need more proper infrastructure (at least a database!) to do that... currently the whole websai is all flat files. Pages are curl hourly by my NAS and pushed automatically to the site via upload API (current day's data is always pulled live from NEA). That's why can only do statistics on a daily basis and not rolling basis. Hehe...

Let me dig around when free... nowadays so many cloud services maybe I can find one that is suitable (and free).

WussRedXLi

Daily basis is good enough. Total and 24 hr avg is good.
I can do per month manually...for the moment. Seriously after the haze months the interest also will die down.

Yearly basis is sure fail....no need to see. I read before Vivian said in March out of many years we passed only once for WHO standard. I think they aiming for what year 2020 to reduce pollution...got KPI or something.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.