Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Circular size + depth all can be customised. Approx 96-97% efficiency @ 0.3 microns as measured.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=37955935582

159709221.wGrFj14l.SG1.jpg

jace88

Was tossing up between a few models but ended up buying the Philips Air Purifier AC4025 since best denki had it on promo for $209. The sharp ones looked good value but didn't have a sleep or timer mode. Panasonic got good reviews online for same price point but salesperson convinced me it was an old model and hard to get filters for without going through agents. That and the reviews online talked about low power consumption and some Eco mode which strangely enough was not ticked in the features chart stuck on the Panasonic model and had about same power consumption wattage numbers as the Philips despite the online reviews saying it was closer to 5 (it was a Panasonic document so I consider it reliable).

WussRedXLi

mikeeeey

This year, the El nino reports are much more cautious compared to last year (coz last year they fugged up). Expect something big hits first then they report.

DIY clean your A/C FCU once every 2 months with aircon cleaning foam. I just cleaned mine again last weekend. Nice. :s12:

How you diy clean and with what products?

Need to use wet vacuum to finish the cleaning?

WussRedXLi

How you diy clean and with what products?

Need to use wet vacuum to finish the cleaning?

My cleaning regime is nearly as good as the so-called "chemical cleaning". We have 2 x FCUs switched on daily (thermostat isn't set v cold though) and our bills rarely cross the $150 mark even for the hot months with 33-35 deg C. :s12: 2 adults, 2 children. MIL comes over to stay on Fri-Sat so that'd be 5 pax.

The past month, my bill was $118, previously $115. Haven't factored in U-Save. :s12:

But have to mention that my BTO is the new ones, hence the walls do not get warm even with the morning sun shining on it. Same goes for the floor and ceiling. The full-height windows have somewhat thick curtains drawn during sleeping, so the loss via that is reduced too. And our thermo is only 25-26 when we are not asleep, 26-27 when we are asleep, sometimes 28 deg C even when it is cold. But then again, during weekends Friday night all the way to Sunday night, 1 unit is nearly 24/7. :D

So at least for me, aircon = $$$ is not true.

I use my Panasonic Oral Irrigator to spray the metal fins. Pls do not use those pressurised plastic containers that you use to water plants etc. There is a explosion risk if you over-pressurise.

And Jackie Aircon foam cleaner. NTUC Finest/Home Fix. I bought many cans during offer, S$8.80. Regular is 12.80. 1 can gives 4 cleanlings for 9000btu/hr size FCUs.

The centrifugal fan blades, I use a small paint brush, cloth and also aircon foam cleaner.

mikeeeey

Bro. U jin pro la. Everything also diy.

So just spray and leave it to drop off by itself? No need to wipe or vacuum the foam away?

WussRedXLi

Bro. U jin pro la. Everything also diy.

So just spray and leave it to drop off by itself? No need to wipe or vacuum the foam away?

For me, i rinse with the Panasonic oral irrigator. Get it on Amazon with your usd125 free ship order. This machine shoots out 90 PSI water jet. HDB water pressure is 40 PSI thereabouts. Your car tyre pressure typically 32-35 PSI

You can try with those pump type pressurized container sprayer (spray plants etc). But do be extremely careful and not over pump before ahooting the water. There is an explosion risk....and it can fracture tour fingers when that happens. But if you just pump a bit and shoot and then pump then shoot...no issue.

The final rinse will wash away the dislodged dirt.

I think most folks would tend to chemical wash once a year (too infrequent liao).

So total savings for me is 60 x 12mths = 720. Plus 180 chemical wash for 3 FCUs package deal = 900 per year.
4500 dollars 5 years. More than enough to get you a good array of Air Purifiers.

PS. Granted, i also changed my PLC, E27, PLL lights to LED past few mths. But % wise not as big as the AC lah.

Akai Ryu

For me, i rinse with the Panasonic oral irrigator. Get it on Amazon with your usd125 free ship order. This machine shoots out 90 PSI water jet. HDB water pressure is 40 PSI thereabouts. Your car tyre pressure typically 32-35 PSI

You can try with those pump type pressurized container sprayer (spray plants etc). But do be extremely careful and not over pump before ahooting the water. There is an explosion risk....and it can fracture tour fingers when that happens. But if you just pump a bit and shoot and then pump then shoot...no issue.

The final rinse will wash away the dislodged dirt.

I think most folks would tend to chemical wash once a year (too infrequent liao).

So total savings for me is 60 x 12mths = 720. Plus 180 chemical wash for 3 FCUs package deal = 900 per year.
4500 dollars 5 years. More than enough to get you a good array of Air Purifiers.

PS. Granted, i also changed my PLC, E27, PLL lights to LED past few mths. But % wise not as big as the AC lah.

Now u got me wanting to try using the pump sprayer. I use it to clean window and AC unit on rainy days. Havent try using my pana irrigator to clean....not hassle to keep refill water? How u prevent the water from splattering or dripping all over?

I just vacc or use pressurised air spray at times, before using Jackie.

Jackie smell the nicest thus far...

Finally spotted it again and this time at bargain price...hooted 10 :D

Tei13vq.jpeg

WussRedXLi

Very good read showing the difference between 1997 and 2006 El Nino,
along with SST (Sea Surface Temperatures, we are interested in the Nino 3.4 region) and IOD (Indian Ocean Dipole) graphs + Indonesian rainfall anomaly maps for the 2 years.

http://www2.ims.nus.edu.sg/Programs/09fluidss/files/Report_Swadhin Behera.pdf

Current IOD and forecast (no Negative IOD to diminish the effects of El Nino for Indonesia)
http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/enso/#tabs=Indian-Ocean

But SSTs are forecasted to be somewhat high for Nino 3.4. (current models prediction at this time of the year are somewhat low in confidence though)
http://www.wunderground.com/blog/Tropicsweatherpr/comment.html?entrynum=75

nino34Mon.gif

nino34.png

Note :
During El Nino year the Walker circulation in Pacific becomes weaker, which suppresses the atmospheric convection over the Maritime Continent. The convection is further suppressed by a positive IOD event. The eastern part of Indonesia suffers from droughts related to positive IOD whereas the western part of Indonesia (Kalimantan region) suffers from El Nino condition.

Another forecast model
poama.nino34.small.png

Model outlooks spanning February to May (the traditional ENSO transition period) have lower confidence than forecasts made at other times of year.

WussRedXLi

Now u got me wanting to try using the pump sprayer. I use it to clean window and AC unit on rainy days. Havent try using my pana irrigator to clean....not hassle to keep refill water? How u prevent the water from splattering or dripping all over?

I just vacc or use pressurised air spray at times, before using Jackie.

Jackie smell the nicest thus far...

The Panasonic oral irrigator has a 165ml tank. I rinse first with 4 tanks before spraying the Jackie foam, and 4 tanks after that. My AC units are very near to the toilets. :)

Use a tower to cover a bit ba.... And put a thick tower on the floor to absorb the drips.

WussRedXLi

Just in....
Note : The El Nino thresholds for BOM Australia differs from NOAA. Its 0.8 deg C and 0.5 deg C respectively. NOAA and JMA already declared El Nino.

http://www.bom.gov.au/climate/enso/

14 April 2015

Tropical Pacific Ocean primed for El Niño in 2015

Issued on 14 April 2015 | Product Code IDCKGEWW00

The chances of El Niño occurring in 2015 have increased. Ocean temperatures in the tropical Pacific continue to be warmer than average, trade winds remain weaker than average, and all models surveyed suggest further ocean warming will occur. As a result, the ENSO Tracker has been raised to El Niño ALERT, indicating at least a 70% chance of El Niño occurring this year.

Tropical Pacific Ocean sea surface temperatures are now just shy of El Niño levels. Large areas of warmer-than-average water below the surface are likely to keep these waters warm for some time. This increases the odds of atmospheric factors coming into play, and hence further warming of the tropical Pacific Ocean.

All international climate models monitored by the Bureau indicate that El Niño thresholds will be reached or exceeded by June. However, the accuracy of model outlooks during the El Niño–Southern Oscillation (ENSO) transition period is lower than for outlooks made at other times of the year.

El Niño is often associated with below-average winter and spring rainfall over eastern Australia and above-average daytime temperatures over the southern half of Australia. However, April to June is likely to be wetter than average across much of Australia due to very warm conditions in the Indian Ocean. See the latest climate outlook.

WussRedXLi

Can disseminate to those at risk (need/thinking to use masks) for this year's preparation.

WHO ARE AT HIGHER RISK OF PROBLEMS DURING THE HAZE?
People at risk defined as the:-
 Elderly (65yrs and older)
Young
Frail
Individuals with
a)lung disease
b)heart disease
c)Allergies
d)chronic diseases
(diabetes, hypertension, etc)

WHEN DO WE NEED TO WEAR MASK AND WHAT ARE THE ADVISORIES ON THE USE OF MASK?
When the 24-h PSI level exceeds 150 in the 'Unhealthy' range, people with existing heart or respiratory ailments or those who are more susceptible to smoke haze are advised to wear a respiratory mask when they go outdoors. People with respiratory ailments are however, advised to consult their doctors on the use of respirator masks.

http://crm.ascentis.com.sg/MatrixRe...kway/dc07046f-3842-40ab-a319-33d8ce9c192f.pdf

They should also start to pay attention and make any necessary preparations when 3-hr PSI hits > 75

WussRedXLi

Bought myself one of this to play play (B1 option)

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.122.Dfl5WH&id=39051381168&_u=f1n03ptcc443

Using Shinyei PPD42NS sensor. About half the price of a cheapest laser particle counter on TB. I like that it can stream the data out of the USB port. Perfect geek toy :s13:

Actually the cheapest laser particle counter one is this one, the same sensor module that i have now. It's pretty sensitive, accuracy is good enough for home use.

RMB268
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z0d.6639537.1997196601.378.vtpiR3&id=37878417392

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm...392&pvid=036032ef-20f0-4abc-9b65-ff72bb2be530

TB2Zi35bFXXXXagXpXXXXXXXXXX_!!21424447.jpg

The data logging could be a good thnig for ya.

I suspect the low end resolution may not be that good to distinct between the several grades of HEPA, eg taobao vs originals.

Most impt thing, if others are interested as well, is to get something that does not have built in li-ion cells as it would not pass 4PX forwarding/Shenzhen Customs. They are frigging strict nowadays, stricter than Singapore Customs & Excise.

T2eSEpXJtXXXXXXXXX_!!21884368.jpg

Samsung AX40 w TB HEPA + the cheap laser particle counter

158807119.Xqbu312c.IMG_20150114_205619.jpg

chuanz

See if you wanna do this....actually, if seller has not shipped out, you can try to refund (system auto refund in 48hrs if seller bo chup). Small hit on forex, the TB 3% svc fee would be refunded as well.

The laser particle counter module in question. Plantower G1

http://s.taobao.com/search?q=Planto...r&ssid=s5-e&search_type=item&sourceId=tb.item

The item I posted already with me for a couple of days :s13: had been working on reading the data from a non-Windows machine (they only provide Windows software) and managed to get some results already. Didn't have much time at home to work on it.

Yea I am thinking the next item is just get the laser particle counter module. Looking at either Plantower G1/G3 or the Nova SDS011/SDS018. Some sellers provide the USB adapter as well so the readings can straight away be read into a computer and no need for the LCD display.

What I learnt is that it really isn't that hard to get the data off these things. Just some scripting and you can pretty much have automated data collection. And the modules come pre-calibrated so you don't even have to worry about that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.