Air purifier?

Ionisation function can turn off leh.

You are very interesting my friend. Maybe those 300+ PMs in my inbox and 2013 AP thread and this 2014-2015 thread regarding posts asking for good deals are all bogus....

You like the design, that's great....your choice.

I'm just doing what others are asking me, where to get good deal stuff and cut down on the running costs.

No offence intended bro, do some of that in this thread first. It's not my thread and the forum is free for all. Others would truly appreciate your help in recommending Blueair.

If there are replies to your blueair stuff, feel free to answer.

I'm out....sleeping liao.
Cheers! :)

How many PM u get... Who cares.. LOL..

Trust me, it's better to get a well built, a whole package designed specifically for air purifier.. Rather always thinking of buying cheaper models and mod here mod there..

Penny wise pound foolish bro.
You do it yourself it's fine.

WussRedXLi

One last post regarding some stories....I still remember one mother of 3 kids (young 20s) asking me where to get the cheapest air purifier during 2014 haze. Coz the Sharp A28 she got, the kid hamtum it and the plastic top part dislodged and dropped into he AP, killed the centrifugal fan blade.

She got a used Hitachi A3000 in the end. 35 dollars only.

Many, and trust me...many folks asked me to help them customise the Taobao HEPAs. Unfortunately I don't wanna mess things up, ownself gotta do ba...

Laser particle counters, I helped 2 to buy.

WussRedXLi

Trust me, it's better to get a well built, a whole package designed specifically for air purifier.. Rather always thinking of buying cheaper models and mod here mod there..

No problem, feel free to contribute to this thread then.

You put in such effort first, push for a nice design coz you find that great in the Blueair line-up, that's great, would provide for another good view.
I am sure a few would find that useful.

But pls do not put down others/me, when I have been putting in all the work and effort, and others are asking for more info coz of the interest. That is just plain rude and spoiling the thread. That's very inconsiderate based on your last 2-3 posts.

Mentioned this previously and also a few posts earlier #4517.
For the last time : Models like the Sharp (which I have been also recommending like the A80 etc) and Samsungs, all also have original filters that you can purchase. You do not need to mod. I have also provided ways of getting them be it on qoo10 or in retail stores like BEST Denki etc.
Don't accuse me of something that I did not say or did not share in way earlier posts, just because you did not read or understand in detail.

See ya ard then.

chuanz

Trust me

If you do a straw poll and ask who trust you in this thread, I won't be surprised if the answer is a big fat zero. Please do your Blueair a favour, and stop, coz the way you're doing it is all wrong...

For me, I trust data. I'm brand-blind.

Lucky177

Regardless of which brand, is just individual preference and choice.

I believe every brand has its own pros and cons. One may like a particular brand or model, but others may not.

Let's continue sharing with facts and opinions, at the same time, respect each other's choice.

Do not spoil this wonderful thread. Have a lovely week ahead. :)

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

hdb2rm

I bought a blueair 203 purifier few weeks ago.
The filter looks like 2 hepa filter sandwiching a carbon filter.
Could it be they use hepa filter as a prefilter?

plasticpistola

Lol you're pretty obnoxious, aren't you?

Go ahead and spam your home with Blueair, no one's stopping you.

Some like to customize and don't mind the hassle, so don't just freely equate that with being penny wise pound foolish.

Fact is, the other APs recommended in previous posts have been doing their job and doing it well. You want a whole package air purifier blah blah blah that's absolutely fine, but there's no need to talk down on others who don't share your appetite for Blueair.

hdb2rm

Btw the blueair filter 6 month change period I think is based on use for 24/7...forgot is from brochure or manual...
Maybe use less than 12hr per day can change after 1 yr....

chuanz

Btw the blueair filter 6 month change period I think is based on use for 24/7...forgot is from brochure or manual...

But you risk invalidating the warranty...

I'm not talking down Blueair but this is something to consider when purchasing one.
Anyway, if it does not spoil within 6 mths, it's also less likely to spoil in the next 6, but don't quote me on this.

http://www.blueair.com/Global/en/support/downloads/

Blueair warrants that your Blueair air purifier will be free from defects in material or workmanship for one (1) year from the date of purchase provided that you have replaced the filters with original Blueair replacement filters according to the manufacturer recommended filter replacement schedule listed in the Blueair User Manual.

This is from the 500/600 series manual
For optimal performance, Blueair recommends that you replace filters every six (6) months.

pie

My purifier, novita 620 which I purchased in March this year suddenly stopped working. I realised it was an inbuilt function that prevents the purifier from starting up once the filters need to be replaced. Problem is.. The filters are supposed to last 24 months and it's not like there were many days of bad haze from then until now. Is it an issue with the machine?

Sent from Samsung GT-I9506 using GAGT

Lucky177

My purifier, novita 620 which I purchased in March this year suddenly stopped working. I realised it was an inbuilt function that prevents the purifier from starting up once the filters need to be replaced. Problem is.. The filters are supposed to last 24 months and it's not like there were many days of bad haze from then until now. Is it an issue with the machine?

Sent from Samsung GT-I9506 using GAGT
U can always call them and check. Perhaps sensor got problem ?

Previously my dehumifier temperature sensor spoilt, auto shutdown, so I called them up. Their courier came to collect, after servicing courier back. Less than a week.

Need to pay for courier service, but I'm fine with that. If ownself bring down, no charge. Purifier servicing procedure not sure if same as their dehumifier, but I guess should be.

Servicing foc (within warranty). Courier service 2 way total 2x$12 = $24 (if I remember correctly) ;)

Sent from Android Mobile using GAGT

Akai Ryu

considered BA b4 i jumped into Sharp......the 6 month change of filter turned me off..not that i trust Sharp to use my Hepa for 10 year without change......the BA purifier looks like CPU unit to me :o

WussRedXLi

But you risk invalidating the warranty...

I'm not talking down Blueair but this is something to consider when purchasing one.
Anyway, if it does not spoil within 6 mths, it's also less likely to spoil in the next 6, but don't quote me on this.

http://www.blueair.com/Global/en/support/downloads/

This is from the 500/600 series manual

Hey there hdb2rm,

I think the real reason why it's 6 months, is that it is a hybrid tech of a mix of mechanical filtration (something like HEPA) and also electrostatic filtration (think 3M Filtrete, esp the MERV 10-13 ones used in home HVAC systems overseas). I have bought the MERV13 3M Filtrete Elite Allergen and used it in my Sharp KC-840 before, that's the top-range in 3M Filtrete line. After just 6 weeks the performance dropped already as the filter clogged up. But that's a pure electrostatic filter.

Here's a photo of the 3M Filtrete (6-7 wks use). Note : this is not HEPA
151969191.YaRtc3fR.d.jpg

Source :
http://www.air-purifier-power.com/blueair650ereview.html
But so far every attempt to match true-HEPA particle capturing performance with a non-HEPA setup has failed. Except one.

Blueair.

Blueair's hybrid filter design uses electrostatics and charged polyethylene media to achieve HEPA-like performance - capturing 99.97% of particles at 0.1 micron.

But whether Blueair 650E can match premium true-HEPA performance over the entire 6-month life of the hybrid electrostatic filters remains, in my opinion, yet to be demonstrated.
END QUOTE

Note : I have also explained to Hardcore_gamergirl that Samsung's original HEPA filter (S$78) also handles PM0.1 @ 99% from both the South Korean literature and also Chinese testing agencies, but *shrugs*....no love in that.
In any case, it's been discussed countless times in this thread by me and others before, HEPA technology works at 0.1 microns at a very high efficiency as well. It's just that 0.3 microns is "MPPS", or Maximum Penetrating Particle Size.

I can't help it if others do not believe this. *shrugs*

Now, this is for those HEPA media used in cleanrooms (borosilicate glass fibre which is very restrictive, not the PET + PP or PP media). But the idea is there. For the Taobao filters, it would be a fair bit at even lower efficiencies, but it'd still work.

filtereffective_06.jpg

WussRedXLi

Chuanz, warranty is one thing. Performance drop in real world use is another. 3M Filtrete is confirm performance drop coz the fibres have less clean surface areas to electrostatically attract the PM, it's well documented (i'm just a reader, not i make it up one).

I suspected this in 2006/07 when i was searching for an AP before going for the Sharp KC-840E, but that time i green horn and never thought much about it.
HEPA is the only technology that does not drop in efficiency (eg 99.5%, whatever) when "clogging up during usage".

But fair enough, i do not have a Blueair unit and measure at the output with a laser particle counter, like what i do with the HEPAs, original or TB ones.

Lucky177

Hey there hdb2rm,

I think the real reason why it's 6 months, is that it is a hybrid tech of a mix of mechanical filtration (something like HEPA) and also electrostatic filtration (think 3M Filtrete, esp the MERV 10-13 ones used in home HVAC systems overseas). I have bought the MERV13 3M Filtrete Elite Allergen and used it in my Sharp KC-840 before, that's the top-range in 3M Filtrete line. After just 6 weeks the performance dropped already as the filter clogged up. But that's a pure electrostatic filter.

Here's a photo of the 3M Filtrete (6-7 wks use). Note : this is not HEPA
151969191.YaRtc3fR.d.jpg

Source :
http://www.air-purifier-power.com/blueair650ereview.html
But so far every attempt to match true-HEPA particle capturing performance with a non-HEPA setup has failed. Except one.

Blueair.

Blueair's hybrid filter design uses electrostatics and charged polyethylene media to achieve HEPA-like performance - capturing 99.97% of particles at 0.1 micron.

But whether Blueair 650E can match premium true-HEPA performance over the entire 6-month life of the hybrid electrostatic filters remains, in my opinion, yet to be demonstrated.
END QUOTE

Note : I have also explained to Hardcore_gamergirl that Samsung's original HEPA filter (S$78) also handles PM0.1 @ 99% from both the South Korean literature and also Chinese testing agencies, but *shrugs*....no love in that.
In any case, it's been discussed countless times in this thread by me and others before, HEPA technology works at 0.1 microns at a very high efficiency as well. It's just that 0.3 microns is "MPPS", or Maximum Penetrating Particle Size.

I can't help it if others do not believe this. *shrugs*

Thank you for the writeup. I always thought / have the impression that Blueair is using True Hepa filters. Gosh.... thanks alot!

WussRedXLi

Thank you for the writeup. I always thought / have the impression that Blueair is using True Hepa filters. Gosh.... thanks alot!

It's actually a bit "hazy" in that aspect. It's not HEPA, but it's not electrostatic. If it's hybrid, then is it 50/50%? Or 80/20%? heh...

Oh, i think i have never shared this before. After the 1994 or 1997 (PSI 226) episodes, my parents bought for me a desktop type of electrostatic plate kinda AP. You know, like the stylish Stadler Form air purifiers you see in Metro or Robinsons Orchard.
Always need to clean it out, else performance drop.

After that, i vowed never to touch electrostatics already. Only pure HEPA for me.

rustic.jpg

WussRedXLi

which filter is good for sharp air purifier ?

Just get the original Sharp replacement ones at BEST Denki. Or customise Taobao with a thicker one. My KC-840 cavity can take max of 45mm depth (original = 31mm). Adds to the performance with a thicker filter. SHARP has ready made ones in Taobao, just need to search the descriptions and get the correct size.

Or you can post your SHARP model here, i more or less know the whole chinese-equivalent range.

WussRedXLi

Back to regular programming....

NINO 3.4 peaked at 1.764 deg C yesterday, current rise is due to the Westerly Wind Burst perhaps?

1.5 is already the threshold for strong el nino, but it needs to hold this as an average over 3 months. So in a certain extent, there is this necessary "lag" in terms of official announcement. But the weather effects like droughts/extreme rainfall would have taken place way earlier.

nino12.png

nino3.png

nino34.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.