WussRedXLi

planning to get a air purifier.
need to consider what ?
dont understand the terms xxx mg3/hr
and noise factor as well?
also my window facing a main street (2 lane road), about 10 stories high about ground.
the dust particles are also :s22: and i got sensitive/dry eyes :(

Just have to consider design, power consumption, noise factor, airflow output. You do notice that I did not put filter performance.

Note to others as well : Don't worry about wanting to get the best of the best filtration that money can buy. My wife/I can get 2k+ IQAirs, but we didn't + that's not the way to spend money. Unless one has a pre-term infant who just underwent ops and is discharged from the ICU, one would not need that.
That kind of filtration, perhaps unexpectedly, comes from Cleanroom FFUs (Fan Filter Units) with a U17 ULPA filter. ICU/HDUs use that kind of cleanroom filter as well, 600mm x 600mm square size. And perhaps unexpectedly to some folks, you get that from China eg Taobao too. :s13:

Cleanroom type of HEPA filter @ Mount E HDU. I don't think they use ULPA.
156364817.SOxRvOXe.20140630_130030.jpg

I'll just list out which ones are popular in this thread.

1. Samsung AX40. 323 m3/hr 190CFM 27W as measured, 34W on specification.
45dBA (among the quietest out there). Replacement filter $88 shipped.
Search : http://list.qoo10.sg/s/SAMSUNG-AX40?keyword=samsung+ax40&keyword_auto_change=

1a. Samsung AX60 or AX70, get from qoo10. It's like 2pcs of AX40 stacked. 773 m3/hr. Unlikely you'd need such a powerful machine for HDB.

3. Sharp A50 or A80. Sharp A40 is on the small side.
Vivo BEST has the A50 on offer at 439 but not sure if it's still available now. 309 m3/hr airflow and 49dBA. Power 41W
Nevertheless, the A80 has good value too, 480 m3/hr airflow and 51dBA.
That's high speed, you switch that on for initial 30 minutes. In medium it is 300 m3/hr and 41dBA so it's even more silent than the Samsung AX40.
Replacement filters are all available at BEST, I think $109.

A80 can get from lioncity from geylang, or Goh Ah Bee from Kovan (google). Slightly more than $100 cheaper than shopping mall retail.

Special mention : LG LA-Q379SB on qoo. (it's the Korean model of the local retail LG PS-R459). 318 m3/hr airflow. 186CFM
40W. 47dBA. Replacement filter is not available in retail, have to customise the HEPA filter on Taobao. But it's easy if you are a Taobuy buyer, lots of sellers on TB who are able to do that, just need 24 hours of lead time.

But if one is not internet shopping savvy, then can't be helped. Have to get from SG retail.

WussRedXLi

also my window facing a main street (2 lane road), about 10 stories high about ground.
the dust particles are also :s22: and i got sensitive/dry eyes :(

My wife used to stay 1 year beside the PIE at Sims Drive. I know.

Diesel particulates are 3X more likely to cause lifetime cancer than wood smoke. And wood smoke is 12X more likely than cigarette smoke to cause lifetime cancer. Considering same amount of smoke concentration (ug/m3) US Environmental Protection Agency estimates, not I say one.

The good thing is that our diesel smoke situation is well controlled nowadays due to EURO adoption. But not the same can be said in many other countries, like Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, China etc.

WussRedXLi

HAZE

1-hr PM2.5 concentration readings and historical data

http://fuzzyview.neocities.org/fuzzy25.htm

Special thanks to bro Chuanz for doing up the above webby, damn pro!

Above 1-hr PM2.5 data taken from NEA
http://www.nea.gov.sg/anti-pollutio...ol/psi/pollutant-concentrations/type/PM25-1Hr

In the above link, there are regions for North, South, East, West and Central. There is also an average figure, which gives you the average of the hourly data points. At the end of the day, you'd have a 24-hr average PM2.5 figure.

24-hr PM2.5 concentration of 55.5 ug/m3 = 24-hr PSI 100 (Same thing as you'd see on NEA for the 24-hr figure)

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) states that a 24hr figure of > 35 ug/m3 PM2.5 = Unhealthy for people in the Sensitive group. That corresponds to a 24-hr PSI 78 and above.
(eg, people with allergies, asthma, COPD, elderly, pregnant, infants and kids below age 6 whose respiratory system is still developing etc). Some groups are more susceptible than others, eg those with lung, heart and stroke risks and issues.
Note : Very short duration spikes in PM2.5 of just 15 mins may trigger symptoms for some groups who are very sensitive/susceptible.

WHO recommends not to have a 24-hr exposure to PM2.5 of more than 25 ug/m3. That corresponds to a 24-hr PSI value of PSI 65 and above.

Source : Page 9 in this pdf
http://whqlibdoc.who.int/hq/2006/who_sde_phe_oeh_06.02_eng.pdf

Below are AQI values (not our PSI). As what you'd see on aqicn.org

Another country that implements this :
157890997.053W6eay.DER3.jpg

157890996.XfZgxNv0.DER2.jpg

157890656.nqIFIGkB.DER.jpg

Victoria, Australia
http://www.epa.vic.gov.au/air/bulletins/aqbhour.asp?fl=-1&s=1&dt=1
JgNIlQw.jpg

Quebec/Montreal (Canada) specifies a 35 ug/m3 cut-off limit averaged over 3 hours only.
Sauce : http://www.iqa.mddefp.gouv.qc.ca/contenu/calcul.htm

xzbSdcT.jpg

USA (other than children, can include those who are pregnant, elderly > age 65, having lung/heart/stroke issues, asthma/rhinitis/COPD, those who have just came out of a finished a major operation)
aqi_photo_2.JPG

Singapore standards and recommendations. Less stringent than US EPA/Canada/Australia/New Zealand, WHO etc.

Note last column regarding people with lung diseases, heart diseases or stroke risk.

1375432312338.jpg

th4isha

1. Samsung AX40. 323 m3/hr 190CFM 27W as measured, 34W on specification.
45dBA (among the quietest out there). Replacement filter $88 shipped.
Search : http://list.qoo10.sg/s/SAMSUNG-AX40?keyword=samsung+ax40&keyword_auto_change=

thanks for the list you provided. I have been looking into this as well recently. I'm mostly deciding between this and the Winix U300 offers that are on qoo10 as well.
I cannot find many reviews for the Samsung AX 40 aside from this thread while the Winix have reviews in US, for instance.

Has anyone done measurements with a Dylos DC1100 for this device? Or does it carry a government rating of any kind?

For Winix, this site felt very useful to me: http://www.air-purifier-power.com/winixreviews.html

WussRedXLi

thanks for the list you provided. I have been looking into this as well recently. I'm mostly deciding between this and the Winix U300 offers that are on qoo10 as well.
I cannot find many reviews for the Samsung AX 40 aside from this thread while the Winix have reviews in US, for instance.

Has anyone done measurements with a Dylos DC1100 for this device? Or does it carry a government rating of any kind?

For Winix, this site felt very useful to me: http://www.air-purifier-power.com/winixreviews.html

Hi, i can tell you that my personal measurement of the original Samsung AX40 filter in the air purifier yielded really good results. I used cigarette smoke which has a mean PM diameter of approx 0.09-0.27 microns if i remember correctly.

Ok, here.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17925666

On my Taobao sourced laser particle counter, which is extremely sensitive wrt such high concentration sources as in cigarette smoke from a burning cigarette puffed into the room (abt 200k+ particles per litre) , i could not detect any 0.3 micron particles on the counter, the output is literally ranges from zero to 90. Note, cigarette smoke already set the PM size and its a high concentration. For good measure, i tried smoking tissue paper also.

Note that this test is a total system test as i measured at the outlet. This stresses the HEPA sealing.

They (taobao) claims that its tested to be 99% efficient at 0.1 microns at a Shanghai test agency.

Note, i did this with a 8 months old Samsung HEPA filter. Not using it coz it started to smell.

Pls check the 2015 Haze and El Nino thread. I posted yesterday that the haze here ranges from 0.2 to 1 microns distribution, with a peak of 0.6 microns.

In any case and to keep it short, in real life for our home use, example even with susceptible preterm babies who just came out of neo-natal ICU, even the Taobao HEPA filters with 45mm depth work fine.
Just have to be mindful of the Air Changes per Hour wrt room size. Keep it above 5 ACH at the fan speed that you are operating in for the whole duration. We have all tested it out in real life for you folks.

WussRedXLi

Winix is a good brand also. I posted before in the earlier posts in this thread. But i could not locate any replacement original filter source.

Edit - looks like you can get the replacement filter on qoo10 now.

But the P150, the smaller version of another similar series, is 52 dBA (high speed) which is too loud for sleeping. And the U300 is 50W, versus 34W of the Samsung AX40....both are similar airflow.

I have seen the Winix 9300 on sale at Metro 50th anniversary before at 269. But too loud at 60dBA.

th4isha

These replies are awesome!

Definitely suggest other folks check your statement here too http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96037292-post197.html

I wasn't aware you had the Samsung device personally. Definitely sounds like a great device to me now!

Folks may also want to consider this CASE test from last year where the smaller brother of the Samsung in question did well:
https://www.case.org.sg/admin/news/pdf/224_pdf.pdf

Can you advise on the particle counter that you have as well? I am only aware of Dylos DC1100 and I cannot source that for Singapore right now (in other words, amazon.com doesn't ship here anymore :/)

chuanz

Definitely suggest other folks check your statement here too http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/96037292-post197.html

I wasn't aware you had the Samsung device personally. Definitely sounds like a great device to me now!

Folks may also want to consider this CASE test from last year where the smaller brother of the Samsung in question did well:

Can you advise on the particle counter that you have as well? I am only aware of Dylos DC1100 and I cannot source that for Singapore right now (in other words, amazon.com doesn't ship here anymore :/)

Here ya go!
It's a true laser particle counter, albeit a low end one. It usually over-reads wrt to NEA figures, but that's ok. It is very sensitive (at least for consumer use), can be used to test the output of HEPA air purifiers. There is another page which shows a readout of down to 0.3 microns number particles per litre, but not so useful for the usual Joe perhaps.

My model no more already, they discontinued it.

You can try this one....I have this too. Basially just connect the mini USB to your powerbank etc. Note, Li-ion batteries are not shippable by air. So such units without built-in batts are great.

http://world.taobao.com/item/437212...pm=a312a.7700846.9.114.4VmtHa&_u=l1u0hcibf8e6

Since 2205h, there has been a spike, visibility dropped and the smell came right up. It was ok before that. However, even the NEA 1-hr reading did not show it, even the 11pm reading. Not sure why. It's probably due to the 1 zone (eg West zone, East zone etc) utilising an array of readings and averaging it out.

But such spot readings with your personal meter is useful only for you. Coz usually it takes time for the wind to carry it over. Eg, windspeed is now like 1.3 kph to 10.7kph. Singapore is not big, but neither is it small when talking about wind and haze.

If one is an acute asthma or COPD sufferer, forget about the 3-hr PSI as it's an average of all 5 regions N, S, E, W and Central which gets you the 1hr PSI + moving average of the 2 past hours PSI and present hour PSI. It is not useful at all in a more moderate haze situation.
A good though somewhat extreme example would be Feb 2015 Tg Langsat landfill fire in Pasir Gudang industrial area, the 3-hr PSI did not move much but many in CNA and ST facebook complained about giddiness and asthma kicking up. But the 1-hr PM2.5 concentration for EAST did spike to 155 ug/m3 then (and some other hours were like 122, 105, 98 etc).

Actually some folks' asthma already acted up past 2 days :
https://www.facebook.com/ChannelNewsAsiaSingapore/posts/10153085740732934

WussRedXLi

XiaoMi air purifier is good, not because of the brand and price. You know China Beijing always get the serious problem of Haze, if their air purifier not strong enough, their reputation is gone.:s13:

The specs details and review of XiaoMi Air Purifier may check here http://1030am.com/electronics.html

Short ans : The Xiaomi is extremely noisy....it's all over youtube and Taobao user reviews section. The official measurement is supposed to be done 1m away in anechoic settings, but the way the tiongs do theirs is weird. Anyway, I have seen the cousin Paomi 豹米空气净化器 being measured at 54dBA at 3 metres but in a room (ie acoustically reflective). Too noisy.

It's a 406 m3/hr machine. The good thing is that the original H11 grade filters are available on Taobao for cheap, 149 RMB if I rem correctly.

It's very difficult to gauge from the video, but I can 99.9% guarantee it's way louder than the Samsung AX60/AX70 which moves air in the 700+ m3/hr region.

WussRedXLi

My version displays down to 0.3 microns. And I have tested with cigarette smoke (small particle size range as mentioned, bulk of it 0.09-0.27 microns) that it's sensitive at that size in terms of detection, nevermind accuracy since most of us just want a relative % figure.
Don't take it that it's anywhere 100% accurate, but it's extremely sensitive. Definitely way way way more than enough sensitivity to test HEPA filters at the AP's outlet "for home use".

It's just RMB 298, unfortunately it's discontinued. :(
You cannot get a better value one with such performance, which is enough for home use. It's powered by USB cable, so no messing with battery cells after 2 years when the cheapo internal china li-ion become goners....you know the usual story lah. The Dylos is powered by internal li-ion.

But you can get this one. Only displays 0.5 microns and 2.5 microns particle count as well as PM2.5 ug/m3 concentration. Good enough. Same Plantower G1 laser particle module. I have this RMB 268 one as well, works great.

http://world.taobao.com/item/437212...&spm=a312a.7700846.0.0.1mwRYI&_u=o1u0hcibf366

My the other one.
158803394.yKUJHkCW.20150114_095554.jpg

158803400.w2k47ZuB.20150114_095608.jpg

WussRedXLi

Spam more vids that I posted last year, for the new folks to the thread.

Ok, found the post that I posted before. Samsung AX40 vs IQAir in cigarette smoke filtration performance. (particle size range of cigarette smoke is known)

Another good 11 mins video with regards to Air Purifiers testing in China in their standard 30 cu metre test chamber.

Note, they are using a crazy high 1000 ug/m3 (1mg/m3) initial concentration with cigarette smoke. Compare with the end result, which is very low.

Samsung AX40 and IQAir Healthpro tested inside!

Samsung AX40
Result : Slightly above 1000ug/m3 (!!!!) got filtered to 1 ug/m3 within 35 mins
Power consumption : 27.5 watts as measured (official spec is 34W)

IQAir Healthpro (not sure which model but I don't think got any below SGD2,200)
Result : Slightly above 1000ug/m3 (!!!!) got filtered to 1 ug/m3 within 28 mins
Power consumption : 139.1 watts as measured :D :D

Difference in electrical cost is SGD117 per year based on. 12hrs daily usage

The last air purifier, the Yadu, is a Chinese unit with a lower airflow spec.
Usually they do not use good stuff like energy efficient DC motors etc.

Video in the details section of the below tmall link.
http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?sp...=43954500555&ns=1&_u=51u0hciba683&abbucket=10

Edit - Alamak, they changed the video link already. And it's not youtube, so I can't download the video. But I have done a screen grab last time.

159955322.o0iDsLrG.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

IQAir Healthpro 250, Blueair 303, Sharp A50, Philips, Midea KJ30FE-NV, Xiaomi.

Also mentioned that the fan blades and centrifugal fan are small sized, hence need high rpm = noise. Coz the design is to provide a small footprint. (seriously not that small if you calculate)

They mentioned that the outlet measurement of the Blueair 303 was measured to be PM2.5 8 ug/m3. This is a one-pass measurement. Compared to the Philips (True HEPA), the Philips measured a very low 0.x ug/m3 at the outlet.

This confirms the earlier suspicion of mine + some people here that Blueair is NOT using HEPA technology (at least not H11/H12 or H13).
However, the CADR is still relatively high due to the high airflow.
It most probably is heavily biased towards an electrostatic based filter like those 3M Filtrete Furnace filter, which I have used once before the 3M Filtrete Elite Allergen MPR2200....it does give a very much higher airflow in my Sharp KC-840 due to lower hPa drop.

This is also probably why Blueair wants you to change every 6 months. Electrostatic based stuff is like that, the efficiency goes down as it's coated with particles, less electrostatic attraction. 3M says that themselves.

WussRedXLi

Fview video mentioned that the Xiaomi is measured to be 72dB. That's small vacuum cleaner league.

WussRedXLi

IQAir Healthpro 250, Blueair 303, Sharp A50, Philips, Midea KJ30FE-NV, Xiaomi.

Also mentioned that the fan blades and centrifugal fan are small sized, hence need high rpm = noise. Coz the design is to provide a small footprint. (seriously not that small if you calculate)

They mentioned that the outlet measurement of the Blueair 303 was measured to be PM2.5 8 ug/m3. This is a one-pass measurement. He mentioned that the Philips as a comparison (True HEPA), the Philips measured was 0.x ug/m3 at the outlet.

This confirms the earlier suspicion of mine + some people here that Blueair is NOT using HEPA technology (at least not H11/H12 or H13).
However, the CADR is still relatively high due to the high airflow.
It most probably is heavily biased towards an electrostatic based filter like those 3M Filtrete Furnace filter, which I have used once before the 3M Filtrete Elite Allergen MPR2200....it does give a very much higher airflow in my Sharp KC-840 due to lower hPa drop.

This is also probably why Blueair wants you to change every 6 months. Electrostatic based stuff is like that, the efficiency goes down as it's coated with particles, less electrostatic attraction. 3M says that themselves.

I'm surprised that the Sharp A50 is quite good as measured in the laboratory. Official spec is 306m3/hr airflow (not CADR). But measured CADR is 348.x m3/hr. :D
Filter size is just 399 x 245 x 37mm

And Sharp users would know that there is no HEPA sealing at the side for the filter. Surprise!

The Sharp A80 is official spec 480 m3/hr. Filter size is 390 x 285 x 37mm if I am not wrong.
Too bad, no second hand available on gumtree/carousell.

88HogMt.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.