Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Hi WussRedXLi,
Planning to order from TaoBao the Hepa filter so pls recommend should I buy the one with cardboard edge or without cardboard edge for AX40? Size to use is 30cmx30cm?

Thanks in advance.

Just get the one with cardboard edge. There is only 1 size, 30cm x 30cm x 2.5cm depth. The AX40 filter size = 310 x 280.

This is the Sharp A28 that I have DIYed with. It's very much similar to the Samsung AX40. Just cut along the pleats. Top part roll up the plastic packaging and stuff it in. Can liao.

158574297.LUL5IjWx.A28filter.jpg

This laser particle counter is more than sensitive enough, the other owners here would agree with me.

PS. That HEPA filter that I used is the Fellowes HF-230 HEPA from Amazon. That time i bought was USD23. The TB HEPA would maybe get around 98% efficiency.

158807117.y9aSacuB.IMG_20150114_203440.jpg

WussRedXLi

The AX40 with Taobao HEPA is more of like this. Sometimes goes up to 1000 to 1500, depending on air quality. It's all in %.

More than clean enough, won't make much of a dent in the CADR.

158807119.Xqbu312c.IMG_20150114_205619.jpg

WussRedXLi

Found it, ambient air quality. 15000 particles/L

158807115.b2lsuTZv.IMG_20150114_203200.jpg

I have another one, the Honeywell H13 true HEPA filters that I managed to shoehorn into the KC-840. I think there is a wee bit of leakage. But no impact in real life.

158807112.z0RIEmbC.IMG_20150114_202950.jpg

WussRedXLi

One more thing, I have only tested these 2 sellers from TB. One is the one doing the customisation. The other is the one selling these 30cm x 30cm x 2.5 filters (with or without cardboard). I cannot guarantee the efficiency of other sellers, coz I have aliwangwang IM some others to ask about the quality. 2 are quite honest, one mentioned about H10 and the other mentioned F9 media.

WussRedXLi

Do you know what to type in the remarks? 30x30cm 有边(how to type the last word)? :o

The RMB 29.90 is with cardboard edge. RMB 26 is without.

The good thing about getting this version is that there is no customisation needed, ie no need to talk to the seller. For those who knows how to buy from TB at noob level, but do not know how to install ALWW/talk to sellers.

PS. Ok, if you want to ALWW to confirm with seller coz if you are buying a good number of piece, it's 边框

WussRedXLi

Here's a vid about cleanroom HEPA DOP test. Different league, but of coz even the most susceptible people do not need this kind of level.

This HEPA filter failed the test.

Niaoson

The RMB 29.90 is with cardboard edge. RMB 26 is without.

The good thing about getting this version is that there is no customisation needed, ie no need to talk to the seller. For those who knows how to buy from TB at noob level, but do not know how to install ALWW/talk to sellers.

PS. Ok, if you want to ALWW to confirm with seller coz if you are buying a good number of piece, it's 边框

Oh actually I asked because it seems like there are 4 options (if you refer to the diagrams in the item description) but the seller didn't 'program' the page to display the different options.

cx8Vxnf.png

So I thought must put in the 备注 that we want the 30x30cm one with cardboard edges haha :o

WussRedXLi

Well, from what I can see, the RMB 29.90 is with the pleat folds. The product pictures show that. Just confirm with the seller via aliwangwang IM if one wants to make sure.

For the others, additional queries as in how to buy from TB, can ask in the official Taobao thread Part 6. :D

http://world.taobao.com/item/412171...&spm=a312a.7700824.w4004-8871129750.35.4ePHOj

Ok, one more lobang for the bros here...... can get 3M Filtrete. Last time used to get from Amazon with freeship, 38cm x 60cm for usd4.97.
And there used to be an even bigger 152x76cm for just usd14, but OOS for very long liao.

Try to stick it so that it's behind the aircon net filter. So this 3M Filter does not get the coarse particles. Just it for your other rooms or as additional augmentation to your air purifiers for excellent quality air on days that are > 100 ug/m3.

http://world.taobao.com/search/sear...CAXRZeAt9Ds5J&callback=__jsonp_cb&abtest=null

Get these 2, I have tested the green one.

6pcs of 22cm x 34cm each
TB1Mm4AHXXXXXaSXVXXXXXXXXXX_!!0-item_pic.jpg_600x600.jpg

http://world.taobao.com/item/24710520316.htm?spm=a312a.7700820.0.0.uAHrFm

T2l8TuXdJXXXXXXXXX_!!92274803.jpg

http://world.taobao.com/item/17519581796.htm?spm=a312a.7700714.0.0.ebIvbw#detail

Performance looks good, only is coz it's a very small room with a big 9000 btu/hr FCU. This is for the green one (you can see the 3M prints on it)

160145124.iPj2GQWo.9000.jpg

Versus the Amazon 3M Filtrete, which is the same type you'd find in local DIY stores like Homefix. Basically same performance
159833437.pAIzADrV.3.jpg

The purple one could be a tad better, not sure. Have not bought it.

PS. This can only be used in an aircon FCU that is clean and have good airflow. Else you are going to risk freezing the coil, leading to $$$ repair.

NV54vLQ.jpg

Asakura

so easy......all the info available but just come in say "so what shld i buy" and people will re-consolidate all the info for you.

still get directed to which seller which coupon. power!

WussRedXLi

so easy......all the info available but just come in say "so what shld i buy" and people will re-consolidate all the info for you.

still get directed to which seller which coupon. power!

I'm ok man. Else nothing much to talk in this thread liao. Lol :D

As long as more people are aware of the risk of particulate levels, even at seemingly low levels, i am cool.

Get the word out.....

WussRedXLi

Wah....nowadays got this Taobao Global Direct shipping svc. It looks like a "lite" version of the original Consolidate and Ship, which is very manual and probably needs more "Chinese knowledge". You can still consolidate with Taobao Global Direct, just that you need to consolidate all different items, and pay 1 shot. They will auto consolidate and ship out immediately.

http://world.taobao.com/market/all/...ing.php?spm=a21bp.7706957.2015012212.1.qR5Zoc

I WOLS on this coz I am very much the old school type of buyer who uses 4PX exclusively.....coz the Speedpost uncle who serves my area has been ard delivering my parcels from Amazon as well, if I kena IPARCEL, and my IHERB stuff, who also uses Speedpost for local leg.

WussRedXLi

Silently...... got many people mentioning this year no haze one, simi El Nino is how siao fear mongering. Still got rain and haze levels clear so fast.

uKTfeI5.jpg

WussRedXLi

Just collected my LG PS-R459, carousell $120.

100% Brand new in box secured with original cable tie.

Too good a deal to pass. My fourth LG AP. 2 x ps-r459 1 x LA379 1 x ps-s209. The 379 i got for 60 dollars mint condition but its used 1 year and HEPA cant be used.

chercm

Just collected my LG PS-R459, carousell $120.

100% Brand new in box secured with original cable tie.

Too good a deal to pass. My fourth LG AP. 2 x ps-r459 1 x LA379 1 x ps-s209. The 379 i got for 60 dollars mint condition but its used 1 year and HEPA cant be used.

How is this compared to ax40?

WussRedXLi

How is this compared to ax40?

It's a slightly bigger unit than the AX40.

40W. With original filter, both flows the same airflow. But if one is utilising Taobao HEPA filter with 45mm depth, this LG flows a little more than the AX40, according to my measurements.

Reason is probably because this guy has a bigger 360 x 340mm filter area versus Samsung AX40's 310 x 280mm.

More in depth explanation : Taobao 45mm HEPA vs original LG filter, the Taobao HEPA gets 2kph higher airflow (+10%). Taobao 45mm HEPA vs original Samsung AX40 filter, the Taobao HEPA gets 1.5kph lower airflow (about -10% airflow).

Samsung AX40 spec 323m3/hr. LG PS-R459 or LA-Q389 spec 318m3/hr.

The LG is audibly to be slightly noisier than AX40 in high speed. On paper it's 47dB vs 45dB.

But the LG has a medium fan speed setting doing about 200m3/hr, it's noticeably more silent than the AX40 in high fan setting. The AX40 has High fan setting and then Auto/Sleep fan speed, which is not useful as the airflow is too low.

The AX40 does not have a medium speed, marring an otherwise perfect product.

Power consumption, i measured 27W and 38W for the Samsung and LG respectively. Spec is 34W for Samsung and 40W for LG.

There is no replacement option for the original LG HEPA filter, can't get on qoo10 etc. With the AX40, there is.

chercm

It's a slightly bigger unit than the AX40.

40W. With original filter, both flows the same airflow. But if one is utilising Taobao HEPA filter with 45mm depth, this LG flows a little more than the AX40, according to my measurements.

Reason is probably because this guy has a bigger 360 x 340mm filter area versus Samsung AX40's 310 x 280mm.

More in depth explanation : Taobao 45mm HEPA vs original LG filter, the Taobao HEPA gets 1kph higher airflow. Taobao 45mm HEPA vs original Samsung AX40 filter, the Taobao HEPA gets 1.5kph lower airflow.

Samsung AX40 spec 323m3/hr. LG PS-R459 or LA-Q389 spec 318m3/hr.

The LG is audibly to be slightly noisier than AX40 in high speed. On paper it's 47dB vs 45dB.

But the LG has a medium fan speed setting doing about 200m3/hr, it's noticeably more silent than the AX40 in high fan setting. The AX40 has High fan setting and then Auto/Sleep fan speed, which is not useful as the airflow is too low.

The AX40 does not have a medium speed, marring an otherwise perfect product.

Power consumption, i measured 27W and 38W for the Samsung and LG respectively. Spec is 34W for Samsung and 40W for LG.

There is no replacement option for the original LG HEPA filter, can't get on qoo10 etc. With the AX40, there is.

which one is better for the living room ?

WussRedXLi

which one is better for the living room ?

Both are good enough. Living room not so ngeow about noise. Then again, 200m3/hr for the LG in medium is good enough cleaning power for the usual HDB bedrooms we have here.

So it's a pretty tough call. Though the Samsung ax40 has original filter availability so can bend the favour towards it slightly.

WussRedXLi

The cheaper one? :s13: Anyway, I run 2x AX40 in my living room. Can't hear it compared to the background noise.

Thats why $120 BNIB for 300+ m3/hr 40W silent machine just hoot already, no need think too much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.