Air purifier?

dqwong

Mfresh M8088A Nidec BLDC / Brushless DC motor. No worries about frequency or overpowering/underpowering the motor....overheat etc. It's DC.

5578537f4cd0b.jpg_e600.jpg

You want to do MO for this? :p

idontknowdoyou

hihi. thanks for the info! i did research regarding the particle size that air purifier in the market are able to filter and realised 0.009micron @ 99.99% are the smallest that i could find in Singapore.
and i gt sinus so yah, after using, i could really feel the difference. so im nt realli sure u r referring to which areas whereby the IQAir are actually better.

nevertheless, thanks for ur info once again! =)

No problem. FYI:

Amway Pros:
  • Easier to place (rectangular, air in from front/sides, out from top vs. big square, air in from bottom, out from all four sides).
  • Easier to use (one-touch buttons for most functions vs. go through control panel).
  • Less noisy at max speed (like air-con vs. air-con compressor).
  • Auto mode (sensor vs. manual speed control).
  • Better service (call friend vs. call bochup distributor).

IQAir Pros:
  • Better filtration (0.003 vs. 0.009).
  • More powerful (check the CADRs).
  • More pleasing airflow (draft from four sides vs. jet from top).
  • Better timer (on speed, off speed, daily vs. off after xx hrs).
  • More 'prestigious' (made in Switzerland vs. made in USA/Mexico). BUT this does not mean anything because the IQAir was installed badly with lousy aftersales service, whereas the Amway has been OK.

chuanz

best air purifier i singapore so far!
1) able to filter as small as 0.009micro which exceeds the HEPA filter criteria (0.3micro)
2) able to clean an HDB room size with Turbo mode on in 30mins, which cost only $0.09 (assuming operating at 8hrs)
3) comes with a guarantee of 3years

family with elderly, babies or pets will be able to feel the difference in the quality of air the most.

well, i must admit it's cost is high which is fixed but the variable cost(cost of using and price of filter) will be the most concerned in my point of view

feel free to PM me for more information, i will be most willing to share more about it =D

If there's good stuff, please post the make/model out here to be shared.

Don't do some shady "PM me" stuff unless what you're actually trying to do is to sell something (which means you're getting commissions or some kind of rewards for the sales).

Pardon me but what you've posted is pure marketing BS. There's no such thing as "exceed HEPA criteria" by highlighting the smaller micron. HEPA can eat your 0.009microns for breakfast. Obviously you DO NOT KNOW how HEPA is graded.

I hate salesman that tries to masquerade as the good guy.

WussRedXLi

from the review its pretty loud comparable to xiaomi ap

59.8dB as measured @ 1m with 520 m3/hr vs 61dB (yours) as measured @ 1m with 406 m3/hr. Not sure why the Xiaomi would be quieter? :s11:
Or maybe I am missing something...

Though it's definitely can't be considered as a quiet side. :s13:
Hence for the past few posts, I did not endorse any recommendations.

Power consumption wise, it's 326m3/hr drawing 20+ watts measured only, same league as AX40. Though the 2 highest airflow speeds need more power. One can plan his ACH needs that way.

kimsim

59.8dB as measured @ 1m with 520 m3/hr vs 61dB (yours) as measured @ 1m with 406 m3/hr. How come the Xiaomi is quieter? :s11:
Or maybe I am missing something?

Though it's definitely not in the quiet side. :s13:

Power consumption wise, it's 326m3/hr drawing 20+ watts measured only, same league as AX40. Though higher airflow needs more power.

Did u planning put 2 AX40 and turn on at same time, that is quite efficiently I guess so :D
2 x AX40 = AX60/70 performance LOL

WussRedXLi

We'll assume the room "acoustic reflectivity" is the same as yours. It's a CEM meter. I have used its stuff before, pretty ok.

557843285e99d.jpg_e600.jpg

326 m3/hr
5578435f2cc9e.jpg_e600.jpg

520 m3/hr. Not jet mode
557843300a718.jpg_e600.jpg

55784d7d7fe90.jpg_e600.jpg

WussRedXLi

Did u planning put 2 AX40 and turn on at same time, that is quite efficiently I guess so :D
2 x AX40 = AX60/70 performance LOL

AX40 is not easy to beat.

The M8088A would be good in the living room, from my own measurements. I put a LG PS-R459 and the levels are not ok if I were to close the yard door. It reached NEA normalised levels of about 40 ug/m3 once. All other holes are closed, like windows, toilet windows etc.

Have been horsing around with the laser particle counter meters. :D

mindgamey

59.8dB as measured @ 1m with 520 m3/hr vs 61dB (yours) as measured @ 1m with 406 m3/hr. Not sure why the Xiaomi would be quieter? :s11:
Or maybe I am missing something...

Though it's definitely can't be considered as a quiet side. :s13:
Hence for the past few posts, I did not endorse any recommendations.

Power consumption wise, it's 326m3/hr drawing 20+ watts measured only, same league as AX40. Though the 2 highest airflow speeds need more power. One can plan his ACH needs that way.

within margin of error. more powerful but I think it's slightly bigger 260mm vs 340mm.

what I like abt this sort of layout design is that at jet mode it can really circulate the air around the room very well.

compared to my sharp a50 back in top out, at times of very bad haze just changing the direction of air intake can make the sensor change color and that is at max speed.

mindgamey

The M8088A would be good in the living room, from my own measurements. I put a LG PS-R459 and the levels are not ok if I were to close the yard door. It reached NEA normalised levels of about 40 ug/m3 once. All other holes are closed, like windows, toilet windows etc.

both are too loud at high speed for bedroom.

low to medium speed is viable, I am sleeping next to my xiaomi ap every night at medium speed.

dqwong

Anyway you don't have to run the M8088A at the noisy jet/high speed mode all the time. Given its bigger filtering surface area, it should be able to run at low speed and clean the air as fast as other AP running at normal speed.

mindgamey

anyway who has a watt meter I could borrow, I am around west side.

want to measure xiaomi ap power consumption and share here.

kimsim

Huh do u own it now?
Can share which store TB are you purchase?
Plan for future again :D

Actually round hepa design would be much better than flat type, cause rounded can suction up from 360degree airflow

mindgamey

Anyway you don't have to run the M8088A at the noisy jet/high speed mode all the time. Given its bigger filtering surface area, it should be able to run at low speed and clean the air as fast as other AP running at normal speed.

no jet mode is precisely the selling point of these ap.

I basically use jet mode to clean the room quickly after returning home, using normal speed will take 15-20 mins at jet mode 5-10 is sufficient.

great if you are air room to room or just return from work.

my xiaomi ap reports 18ug/m3 when I left home for work and 59 ug/m3 when I returned home at the living room. jet mode for 15 min brought it down to 30+.

my sharp a50 is only 310+ at high vs 406.

Asakura

this thread is for sharing

so no need to keep things to urself and use pm

use post it here

best air purifier i seen in singapore so far!
1) able to filter as small as 0.009micro which exceeds the HEPA filter criteria (0.3micro)
2) able to clean an HDB room size with Turbo mode on in 30mins, which cost only $0.09 (assuming operating at 8hrs)
3) comes with a guarantee of 3years

family with elderly, babies or pets will be able to feel the difference in the quality of air the most.

well, i must admit it's cost is high which is fixed but the variable cost(cost of using and price of filter) will be the most concerned in my point of view

feel free to PM me for more information, i will be most willing to share more about it =D

WussRedXLi

within margin of error. more powerful but I think it's slightly bigger 260mm vs 340mm.

what I like abt this sort of layout design is that at jet mode it can really circulate the air around the room very well.

compared to my sharp a50 back in top out, at times of very bad haze just changing the direction of air intake can make the sensor change color and that is at max speed.

You brought up a good point, and you are absolutely correct.
I pretty much noticed that with a good circulation aided with a fan, the ug/m3 drop seems to be faster than without. I mean, heck....I admit that I was trying to filter a living room leading to the kitchen (yard door closed) and 2 small corridors to the main door and rooms with just a "small" 318 m3/hr LG PS-R459. :s13:

Yeah it's a bit fatter at 34cm vs the Xiaomi. For what it's worth, LG is 40cm x 21. AX40 is 35 x 21. Footprint....

But seriously, to the others, we are already past the mid-point of 2015 season and also the coming haze waves won't be as bad probably, from what I see.

I bought the machine is mainly for 2 specific points. It's for my living room use and also my mum's living room leading to the kitchen and 2 toilets, which has a Novita NAP501. From my measurements, it fails miserably, but still within NEA's 60 ug/m3.
Coz my parents like to leave a small gap for their windows. ugh.
My mum has high stroke risk due to thyroid condition, though improving. (needs at least 1 year to really improve).
Anyway, father and mother also pretty old liao. And caregiver to my kids.
So just standby.

I tried before, having 2 APs in the living room....or even having 2 APs in the room (kee siao mode), other than the floor space required, meddling with the power cords and extension plugs or adapter is well..... a bit ugh, though not a very big deal.
So having a high airflow machine be it this one or XM or AX60 has its pros and draws in some rare instances. Though I guess not many are purisits in this sense. :D

dqwong

Here are some points I think is the most important when selecting an air purifier:

How big is the Clean Air Delivery Rate? you should factor the size of your room. Bigger CADR numbers will mean faster cleaning of air in matter of mins for small rooms vs hours

The bigger the filter the longer it is going to last.

How noisy is the AP when operating at Low or medium speed. Especially if you are going to use it in bedroom.

Cost of replacement filters and are they easy to procure? Not all manufacturer filter can be easily purchased and some of them are pretty poor value.

Is the fan motor durable? More often more expensive models will feature better quality DC motors. This is especially if you plan on running your AP constantly. Usually durable motor means AP is heavier.

AP with Humidifier function maybe useful, but you must keep the unit clean or bacterial or mold will invade.. Also if water get into HEPA filter can cause bacterial growth.

AP with ozone/ionizer function should be only used if nobody is in the room. They are effective at killing germs, but can cause cancer/health effects over Long term if breathed in.

Avoid AP without HEPA. Most of them use simple ionizer or some kind electro-static charge to attract dust/particles. They have Low effectiveness vs pm2.5 or require constant maintaining to work well.

Not all HEPA AP are the same, you need to see the grade of the HEPA filter used. This is especially if you are allergic and require better filtering. Also HEPA filter % does not equal to overall AP effectiveness. Some AP are leaky(e.g. Sharp F28) but can be fixed with vinyl/duct taping

Also very important is a highly sensitive dust/odor sensor on the AP. You cannot tell how dirty your room air is(especially when sleeping), but your AP must be able to adjust speed if it detects slightly bad air.

Depending on the design of your AP, the Placement of your AP is also important, try to place it in Central area of the room and not to block the intake vents. Some AP works best on the floor while others may work on desk/higher surface, always read the f**king manual first.

WussRedXLi

Yep...ard there lah. I'm aiming for the 326 m3/hr mode, 54 dB @ 1m, in-room non-anechoic measurement. ~29W is cool for years extended operation. (provided that this MIC china pdt does not blow lol!!) Nidec motor is cool, but the PCBs and "OS", hopefully....

I'm taking a gamble. mindgamey XM's figures and the china sites dB SPL figures are not made in anechoic figures. You play hifi, so you know how much reflectivity the room can impart.

I suspect the AX40, Sharp, LG etc...are all made in an anechoic chamber. I mean, they just send it out to a lab for testing, get a signed certified report, publish it out as official specs.

So yeah...maybe, just maybe, the Xiaomi and M8088A are not as loud as they seem on the meter, though I really do not think they are anywhere close to the AX40 or even the LG 459/379s. :s13: My darn SPL meter is faulty (long time no play hifi) so I can't get a good measurement for the AX40, 459, 840, 501 blah.....to compare with the specs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.