Air purifier?

InnovaIQ

I posted before....ok I measure for you now.

It's 12 inch by 9.75 inch. Depth of whole filter is 1.75". The HEPA portion is 1" depth.

So can buy the Fellowes HF-230 also. Have to cut both length and width....ie more ma fan than the Samsung AX40 (have to trim length).

bro...............u mean..................moi nid 2 cut height and breath????????????????depth no nid touch up???????????????????????

neon82

Nus fan $150 dola ah effective bo

13 X better than other air filter brand?? Zhun bo

stam

The Samsung AX40 filter has a 2 inch depth. The HEPA is 1.5", AC part is 0.5".

You can use this. usd7.01. Same as the HEPA, gotta trim a bit. This big one the CF-300 is eligible for FSSG. The CF-230 is also eligible, it is smaller, but it is more expensive.

Amazon.com: Fellowes CF-300 Carbon Filter for the Fellowes AP-300PH Air Purifier (9372101): Office Products

Or you can see if any other Charcoal filters from Honeywell etc fits. The Samsung is a 12" by 11" by 2" filter.

Or get the stock filter @ S$76, from qoo10.

These AC filters last you about 8 weeks max...for the kind of performance standard that I want.

For me I get those aquarium activated charcoal and put them into laundry bags. I give them a good rinse (rinses the charcoal dust) and a thin layer would do. I put these at the air-conditioner's intake. It does not have to be at the air purifier. A usd15 container for 1.1kg's worth can last you 2 years easily. Get from AMZ, FSSG eligible.

Bro, this carbon filter can use to replace the existing AX40 carbon filter is it? Thanks!

WussRedXLi

Bro, this carbon filter can use to replace the existing AX40 carbon filter is it? Thanks!

Yep.....

BTW, forgot to mention that the laundry bags to contain the AC pellets can be gotten from Japan Home ($1.90 only). Or any other ABC shops, perhaps.

WussRedXLi

Ok i mentioned GAC earlier by MArineland. That is bituminous coal GAC. The GAC used in air purification is coconut shell based. You can google what's the difference.
It's just that in my experience, i am happy with the Marineland ones from AMZ, cheap also.

That time i actually got for 12+usd only, 1.1kg. No brainer....got 3 containers.

If you shake the Samsung and Novita filters, same thing....pellets. But very little pellets. They are probably coconut shell based though.

You draw you own conclusions.

PS. Does Activated carbon/charcoal work? Of course! It's my miracle drug for flatulence and food poisoning "want to vomit but cannot vomit out" type of situations. Time zero minutes, suffering. 5 mins after jiak Norit or Ultracarbon, got slight feeling that it's improving. 20 mins, improved good enough to go gun 2.4. :D

ezowulf

I use this.
usd15.99
Amazon.com : Marineland PA0373 Black Diamond Activated Carbon 40-Ounce, 1134-Gram : Aquarium Filter Accessories : Pet Supplies

The pallet size is just right (not too big, not too fine).

I have the 100 oz version of this one coz I got it then at usd23 only (the 100oz version is 30.26 now when I checked). It seems to be better value but it's not. It is heavier, but each pellet is heavier + bigger. So seems like the exposed surface area of each pellet is lesser.
The 450oz version is only usd12.51, but it's not better value than the above Marineland one at 15.99 for 40oz.
Amazon.com : Acurel LLC Extreme Activated Carbon Pellets, 45-Ounce : Aquarium Filter Accessories : Pet Supplies

why do you say the 45 ounce activated carbon at usd12.51 is not of better value to the 40 ounce activated carbon at us15.99? cos of pellet size?

WussRedXLi

bro.........rike tat.........no fill up reh........no nid charcoal .......n other har?????????????

It's optional . If got budget, just buy.

If got bigger budget, can even play with activated alumina. This one needs a washing machine laundry bag to house the media and put it on top of your air-con FCU (with top facing air intake). If you are afraid of the media slipping through the pores, you can get that Duck brand PU air-con filter.

IQAir V5 cell uses Granular activate carbon + activated alumina impregnanted with potassium permagenate.

IQAir | First in Air Quality

FSSG on AMZ for Activated Alumina water filter
Crystal Quest CQE-RC-04006 Fluoride Water Filter - Faucet Mount Water Filters - Amazon.com

Recommended Air Purifiers for Formaldehyde Removal

I am not so rich to play with Activated Alumina, so I can't give comments. :)
And obviously, i won't be buying IQAir. :)

diagram-of-how-iq-air-healthpro-air-purifiers-work.jpg

IQAir-health-pro-plus-air-filter-IQ-Air-V5-cell.jpg

WussRedXLi

why do you say the 45 ounce activated carbon at usd12.51 is not of better value to the 40 ounce activated carbon at us15.99? cos of pellet size?

Pellet size - the Acurel is very much longer. Prefer it to be shorter (more exposed surface area)

Weight - 45 ounces and 40 ounces are weights. I got the 100oz version of the Acurel. The container is just slightly bigger than the 40z Marineland, i'd guess about 40-50%. That means the pellet is like compressed, heavier.

Acurel 45oz
Product Dimensions: 4 x 4 x 7.8 inches ;

Marineland 40oz
Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 5 x 10 inches ;

And you can see the below pictures of the pellet sizes. The marineland is actually like very coarse sand, not pellets.

Ac_11297715._acurel-llc-extreme-activated-carbon-pellets.jpg

marineland-black-diamond-media-premium-activated-carbon.jpg

stam

Pellet size - the Acurel is very much longer. Prefer it to be shorter (more exposed surface area)

Weight - 45 ounces and 40 ounces are weights. I got the 100oz version of the Acurel. The container is just slightly bigger than the 40z Marineland, i'd guess about 40-50%. That means the pellet is like compressed, heavier.

Acurel 45oz
Product Dimensions: 4 x 4 x 7.8 inches ;

Marineland 40oz
Product Dimensions: 5.5 x 5 x 10 inches ;

And you can see the below pictures of the pellet sizes. The marineland is actually like very coarse sand, not pellets.

Ac_11297715._acurel-llc-extreme-activated-carbon-pellets.jpg

marineland-black-diamond-media-premium-activated-carbon.jpg

bro, sorry still dont understand, this is suppose to be pack in a laundry bag(from japan home) and hang in the room?

this will act to remove odour?

or is this used to refill inside the carbon filter of AX40?:s11:

WussRedXLi

bro, sorry still dont understand, this is suppose to be pack in a laundry bag(from japan home) and hang in the room?

this will act to remove odour?

or is this used to refill inside the carbon filter of AX40?:s11:

Cannot DIY refill, too leh cheh.

The best is to place it on top of the air-con fan coil unit. Assuming that the fan coil unit's air intake is at the top. Any location that has good airflow is good.

My PAnasonic aircon FCU is like that. Every room i have a bag of activated charcoal but the layer has to be thin for max exposed surface area.

Remember to rinse it properly, if you are afraid of fine charcoal dust. But no worries, it works in real life and you won't have a layer of charcoal dust in the room...i tested many times before.

Like this.
fixed_speed_fcu_dai.jpg

stam

Cannot DIY refill, too leh cheh.

The best is to place it on top of the air-con fan coil unit. Assuming that the fan coil unit's air intake is at the top. Any location that has good airflow is good.

My PAnasonic aircon FCU is like that. Every room i have a bag of activated charcoal but the layer has to be thin for max exposed surface area.

Remember to rinse it properly, if you are afraid of fine charcoal dust. But no worries, it works in real life and you won't have a layer of charcoal dust in the room...i tested many times before.

Like this.
fixed_speed_fcu_dai.jpg

so need to cover the area above with a bag of these carbon pellets? Thanks/

Akai Ryu

Combine 3m with a50 and 3m on ac too during haze....sacrifce a bit of air flow

WussRedXLi

Hi WussRedXLi

Can u advise on this kind of replacement filters?

Amazon.com - 3M FAPF02 Filtrete Ultra Cleaning Filter - Replacement Furnace Filters

I am using a sharp KC 930. The original sharp filter is only Hepa 10.

Seems like this filter is better than Hepa?

I am familiar with the KC-930, my wife's relatives in Batam using them. :)
Somewhat noisy though.

The 3M FAP series filters are probably similar or a small step-up from the 3M Elite Allergen furnace filters which are rated at MPR 2200, basically MERV-13. They are all electrostatic media based. Same mode of operation as your 3M N95 face mask, they got electrostatic filter element inside.

http://www.amazon.com/Filtrete-Premium-Healthy-16-Inch-25-Inch/dp/B005F5D6GU

The KC-930 is using H10/HEPA 10. 85% at 0.3 microns MPPS. Note that the 3M electrostatic filter mentioned large particles.

I have the 3M Elite Allergen filter. But until i get a laser particle counter like Dylos DC series that measures 2.5 microns and 0.5 microns, i have no way of answering you. The other tiong brands start from usd 650, and the Met One costs several Ks, IIRC 3k plus. :D

But I read that HEPA13 is like MERV 17 or 18 something like that. The 3M filters still work great, but i don't think they can surpass H10 for the really small particles.

However this particular 3M filter has a much lower pressure drop compared to HEPA-13. When i installed it in my Sharp KC-840E, the airflow output increased about 60% in airspeed. I measured with my anemometer. So while efficiency dropped, that was aided by more airflow/volume.

CADR is efficiency X airflow. ie CARD is ard the same with 99.9% x 100 CFM and 85% x 120 CFM.

The 3M Elite Allergen filter with MPR2200 rating. About 7 weeks of operation in the KC-840E, note the right part that i have scotched taped the filter so that i can tape it to the Sharp air purifier's inside wall to reduce bypass. IIRC some days have thin haze, it was after June 2013 haze.

original.jpg

WussRedXLi

so need to cover the area above with a bag of these carbon pellets? Thanks/

Up to you lah....

Seriously, i find it optional for the general population. Even if one's room is smelly due to stinko bedsheets or something, the activated charcoal won't help much. You are supposed to remove the source of contamination first.

WussRedXLi

Combine 3m with a50 and 3m on ac too during haze....sacrifce a bit of air flow

Just get Samsung AX40, now dropped to S$285 incld EMS shipping. :crazy:

Overkill for even Pasir Ris MBR. Can mian qiang use in living room too.

Powerful - 350m^3/hr. True HEPA. Quiet. Cheap. V energy efficient, 34W for 350^3/hr airflow so great for extended 12hrs/day operation. Even the improved spec Honeywell HA170 uses 85W for 250m^3/hr.
Where to get man?

No need to complicate things. :crazy:

martin1973

I am familiar with the KC-930, my wife's relatives in Batam using them. :)
Somewhat noisy though.

The 3M FAP series filters are probably similar or a small step-up from the 3M Elite Allergen furnace filters which are rated at MPR 2200, basically MERV-13. They are all electrostatic media based. Same mode of operation as your 3M N95 face mask, they got electrostatic filter element inside.

Filtrete Premium Healthy Living Filter, 16-Inch by 25-Inch by 1-Inch, 2-Pack - Replacement Furnace Filters - Amazon.com

The KC-930 is using H10/HEPA 10. 85% at 0.3 microns MPPS. Note that the 3M electrostatic filter mentioned large particles.

I have the 3M Elite Allergen filter. But until i get a laser particle counter like Dylos DC series that measures 2.5 microns and 0.5 microns, i have no way of answering you. The other tiong brands start from usd 650, and the Met One costs several Ks, IIRC 3k plus. :D

But I read that HEPA13 is like MERV 17 or 18 something like that. The 3M filters still work great, but i don't think they can surpass H10 for the really small particles.

However this particular 3M filter has a much lower pressure drop compared to HEPA-13. When i installed it in my Sharp KC-840E, the airflow output increased about 60% in airspeed. I measured with my anemometer. So while efficiency dropped, that was aided by more airflow/volume.

CADR is efficiency X airflow. ie CARD is ard the same with 99.9% x 100 CFM and 85% x 120 CFM.

The 3M Elite Allergen filter with MPR2200 rating. About 7 weeks of operation in the KC-840E, note the right part that i have scotched taped the filter so that i can tape it to the Sharp air purifier's inside wall to reduce bypass. IIRC some days have thin haze, it was after June 2013 haze.

original.jpg

Thanks for your detailed reply. Missed out the large particle part for the filter i chose cos it's almost the same size as the original sharp filter. Just half a inch narrower.

Guess I will get the fellowes filter u recommended n DIY cut to size.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.