stam

InnovaIQ

nw//////////////////////////giant...................sell.................sharp.............simi model........................A28E...............selin.............139 nia!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WussRedXLi

need to add $69 or $89 for the 2 models leh.

those selling on qoo10 dont include the hepa filter? need to add on?:s11:

Extra filter.

You can read the comments and see the unboxed pdt pictures. Dont think the seller is so free to take out the filter.

ezowulf

Is there anyone going to buy one to try it out? I wonder if it really is as effective as regular air purifiers as they claimed.

NUS develops new air filtration system
By John Leong
POSTED: 24 May 2014 22:22

SINGAPORE: With the haze possibly on the horizon again, a new locally-developed market alternative to air filtration systems will soon hit the shelves.

The indoor air filtration system was developed by a team at the National University of Singapore (NUS), and is touted as being twice as effective as regular air purifiers.

At first glance, it looks like just a regular fan, but it's actually an air filtration system.

It targets PM2.5 -- particles that are smaller than the width of a human hair.

Short-term effects of inhaling such particles include eye and lung irritation.

Longer term, it could lead to serious illnesses such as lung and bladder cancer.

"I was at home trying to innovate and protect my children from high haze exposure indoors," said Dr Jeff Obbard, Dept of Civil & Environmental Engineering, NUS. "And I realised quite quickly that there were no air purifiers left in stores so I started playing around at home with the fans I had and basically came up with a basic system there and then and thought perhaps I can develop this further at the university."

The system will be suitable for areas such as classrooms, homes and dormitories.

It traps pollutants, before re-circulating clean air.

It can do this 13 times an hour, 13 times more often than regular air purifiers.

The NUS team took about 10 months to develop the system, and that includes testing it in the harshest of environments.

"We decided to go over to Pekanbaru in Riau province, where a lot of the haze in Singapore comes from, and worked in real haze conditions," said Dr Obbard. "And quite sadly what we found was in a school classroom, children were working at levels of pollution up to nine times over the world's health standard.

"And that really spurred me on to develop this system and do something for them."

And so, from the middle of next month, consumers will be able to purchase it -- in three variations -- online, and there are plans to roll them it at convenience stores soon after.

It will be marketed and sold by AiRazor Technologies, an NUS spin-off company.

The product will also be launched in Taiwan, China and Indonesia, markets that have what AiRazor called 'immediate needs'.

Prices start from 150 dollars.

Consumers also have the option of retrofitting existing fans for 50 dollars; disposable, replacement filters will cost 30 dollars each.

During a haze crisis, developers estimate that filters will have to be changed about once a week.

Andrew Yap, Managing Director, AiRazor Technologies says that his company is prepared to meet demand for the filters.

"We are bringing in the first two thousand units with the hope that it will fly off the shelves and we will be ready with the next thousands of units within the coming weeks," he said. "So we are hoping that we can deliver about a hundred thousand a month."

Next up for the company: developing masks that make air safe to breathe in yet fit more comfortably than existing market options.

- CNA/rw

nus-air-filters.jpg

NUS develops new air filtration system - Channel NewsAsia

WussRedXLi

thanks, but without air circulation, wouldnt the room be very stuffy without air-con? will the air purifier help with the stuffiness?

That's why it's preferable to have air-con to keep the temperature and humidity down.

During haze periods, it's usually the period when it's the warmest. And you'd probably use it at night when you are sleeping.

I remember it was so damn warm last year June 2013 haze, in addition to the haze. And very little wind. I guess the low wind speeds helped to "contain" the haze and ramp the PSI up by not dispersing the particles faster.

These thingys like air-con and air purifiers is really to help out heaps in creating a good living environment, improve your living standards. Ultimately It's really up to the individual to spend.

Seriously, I no longer see an air purifier as merely a "good to have" item.

My wife is indon, she got relatives in Batam and in Pulau Tebbingtingi which is about 50km south east of Dumai (haze hotbed). I went to their houses and actually every bedroom has a Sharp air purifier.

I don't buy the argument that "you should be exposed to dense haze so that you can build your resistance up" kind of theory that you'd often hear in the market here by Aunties/Uncles. :D My FIL/MIL has been exposed to this for many tens of years and suffered many many times more than Singaporeans and yet they get headaches last year when they and some others "fled" to Singapore. (which obviously did not help much, well ok it helped a little if you talk about the duration of haze)

WussRedXLi

Is there anyone going to buy one to try it out? I wonder if it really is as effective as regular air purifiers as they claimed.

By John Leong

SINGAPORE: With the haze possibly on the horizon again, a new locally-developed market alternative to air filtration systems will soon hit the shelves.

The indoor air filtration system was developed by a team at the National University of Singapore (NUS), and is touted as being twice as effective as regular air purifiers.

At first glance, it looks like just a regular fan, but it's actually an air filtration system.

It targets PM2.5 -- particles that are smaller than the width of a human hair.

Short-term effects of inhaling such particles include eye and lung irritation.

Longer term, it could lead to serious illnesses such as lung and bladder cancer.

"I was at home trying to innovate and protect my children from high haze exposure indoors," said Dr Jeff Obbard, Dept of Civil & Environmental Engineering, NUS. "And I realised quite quickly that there were no air purifiers left in stores so I started playing around at home with the fans I had and basically came up with a basic system there and then and thought perhaps I can develop this further at the university."

The system will be suitable for areas such as classrooms, homes and dormitories.

It traps pollutants, before re-circulating clean air.

It can do this 13 times an hour, 13 times more often than regular air purifiers.

The NUS team took about 10 months to develop the system, and that includes testing it in the harshest of environments.

"We decided to go over to Pekanbaru in Riau province, where a lot of the haze in Singapore comes from, and worked in real haze conditions," said Dr Obbard. "And quite sadly what we found was in a school classroom, children were working at levels of pollution up to nine times over the world's health standard.

"And that really spurred me on to develop this system and do something for them."

And so, from the middle of next month, consumers will be able to purchase it -- in three variations -- online, and there are plans to roll them it at convenience stores soon after.

It will be marketed and sold by AiRazor Technologies, an NUS spin-off company.

The product will also be launched in Taiwan, China and Indonesia, markets that have what AiRazor called 'immediate needs'.

Prices start from 150 dollars.

Consumers also have the option of retrofitting existing fans for 50 dollars; disposable, replacement filters will cost 30 dollars each.

During a haze crisis, developers estimate that filters will have to be changed about once a week.

Andrew Yap, Managing Director, AiRazor Technologies says that his company is prepared to meet demand for the filters.

"We are bringing in the first two thousand units with the hope that it will fly off the shelves and we will be ready with the next thousands of units within the coming weeks," he said. "So we are hoping that we can deliver about a hundred thousand a month."

Next up for the company: developing masks that make air safe to breathe in yet fit more comfortably than existing market options.

- CNA/rw

nus-air-filters.jpg

NUS develops new air filtration system - Channel NewsAsia

They are WOLS to the max leh....
(1) Actually.....last year many already shared the idea around in the 2013 thread.
(2) Youtube is like got hundreds of vids showing you how to do.
(3) I have tried it myself last year. During emergency situations like last year 20th June 2013, anything goes and so that's why people ordered and DIY. This is not meant to be long-term coz (a) The CADR per watt is extremely low coz regular bladed fans are not suited for this as they have v low mercury pressure mmHG (2) CADR per dB is extremely low.

Not trying to be sarcastic, but like this they dare to market this out to the general market and put on the 154th? It's not even anything new. WTF? :D

You can choose from 3M Filtrete red model which is probably about MPR1000 rating, the purple model which can only get from Taiwan.... I proposed doing up a DIY plenum + using 2 x 20 by 30" 3M Elite Allergen MPR2000 (about MERV-13) filter.

Anyway nowadays you can get off SEA taobao, lots of models, designs and lots of colours. The fans type one, got. Regular air purifiers, got. Cheong type, also got. You want cheap but great bang for the buck, Samseng AX40 off qoo also got. You wanna splurge, Blueair/IQAir also got.
Now with SEA Taobao and so many forwarders (I like 4PX) operating out of Shenzhen/Zhejiang, why DIY?

WussRedXLi

By John Leong

citizen-kane-clapping.jpg

InnovaIQ

They are WOLS to the max leh....
(1) Actually.....last year many already shared the idea around in the 2013 thread.
(2) Youtube is like got hundreds of vids showing you how to do.
(3) I have tried it myself last year. During emergency situations like last year 20th June 2013, anything goes and so that's why people ordered and DIY. This is not meant to be long-term coz (a) The CADR per watt is extremely low coz regular bladed fans are not suited for this as they have v low mercury pressure mmHG (2) CADR per dB is extremely low.

Not trying to be sarcastic, but like this they dare to market this out to the general market and put on the 154th? It's not even anything new. WTF? :D

You can choose from 3M Filtrete red model which is probably about MPR1000 rating, the purple model which can only get from Taiwan.... I proposed doing up a DIY plenum + using 2 x 20 by 30" 3M Elite Allergen MPR2000 (about MERV-13) filter.

Anyway nowadays you can get off SEA taobao, lots of models, designs and lots of colours. The fans type one, got. Regular air purifiers, got. Cheong type, also got. You want cheap but great bang for the buck, Samseng AX40 off qoo also got. You wanna splurge, Blueair/IQAir also got.
Now with SEA Taobao and so many forwarders (I like 4PX) operating out of Shenzhen/Zhejiang, why DIY?

bro....................moi n u.............joint venture................do 1..................sell half price ................hw???????????????

WussRedXLi

bro....................moi n u.............joint venture................do 1..................sell half price ................hw???????????????

Taobao selling china version so many years ago liao, I don't want. :s12:

WussRedXLi

i wonder what type of filter they are using~ hepa or self made~? :s22:

NUS develops new air filtration system - 24May2014 - YouTube

It's actually "developed" by a Doc. :eek:

It's definitely not HEPA. No way a fan + HEPA can work. The pressure drop for HEPA, even H10 is too much. You'd need those cage fans with high mmHg for HEPA to work.

Even the 3M Filtrete MPR2200 electrostatic filter drops a lot, I tested before.

It probably is something like closer to the 3M MPR1000 rating filters. Around the 3M Filtrete aircon filters type.

I mean, you guys know the drill lah!! Played so many times liao.

In the vid @ about 1 min mark, it's tested in a small box. If it's touted to be 2X as effective as regular air purifiers, but regular air purifiers clean such small vol of air extremely fast, much faster than in the vid. I mean, I don't want to bore you guys with vids of various brands' air purifiers demo liao, you folks probably watch till don't want to watch. :s13:

Even the tiongs test it much more technically/scientifically. :D (check out the 3 min mark)

WussRedXLi

Yeah...correct, seen the 4025 @ S$229 at Taka Best Denki. So at the carnival it's slightly cheaper at S$199.

WussRedXLi

BTW the Mediacorp video mentioned that they are intending to make masks that fit better/more comfortably than existing commercial options in the market.

Another WOLS.....

Other than the 3M 9210/9211 (which fit extremely nicely already)....if you want to get something for your kids, you can try Totobobo. It is designed to fit "EVERYONE". Not sure where else is it being sold, but I know my downstairs Medic drugstore (Tg Pagar Plaza) got sell. Last time I enquired in April they were OOS though.

Singapore

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.