Air purifier?

lala81

haha a practical aspect if u not using these tower things all the time permanantly. Is that the box type of air purifier are much easier to store in storeroom compared to the boxes for these sia.

I have a soundtower as well. The box i think takes up most of the length of my bomb shelter lol.

MummyOO

My 50250 arrived yesterday from amazon. Haven't bought my transformer. Before this I'm using blueair 201 which I bought few years ago which is no longer selling. I love my blueair, is really silent even on the max. Forgot how much I bought it for but really worth the money. Planning to put the honeywell in the living room and blueair in my room.

NWT1978

Maybe no need to buy liao!!

Yudhoyono to lead haze fight in Riau

Wahyudi Soeriaatmadja
The Straits Times

Monday, Mar 17, 2014

Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono is heading to Riau today to personally lead efforts to contain raging forest and plantation fires that have shrouded the province in haze that has reached hazardous levels.

The President made the decision to do so last Friday at a teleconference call where he also decided to deploy more troops to help fight the fires and step up water-bombing operations.

His decision came as the airport in provincial capital Pekanbaru remained closed for a second day running last Friday and visibility dipped below 50m in many parts of the province.

Hundreds of students took to the streets in Pekanbaru to call on the President to take charge of the problem.

Officials said last Friday that air quality reached its lowest recorded levels since the haze problem this year began last month.

Dr Yudhoyono called the situation on Sumatra island a "man-made disaster" and urged all village heads to educate farmers to stop the practice of burning to clear land.

"The fire was not caused by the climate. It is deliberate burning. This will recur every year if people still burn," he said.

The President also did not mince his words as he scolded Coordinating Welfare Minister Agung Laksono and Provincial Governor Annas Maamun for skipping the teleconference call that also involved Vice-President Boediono, Riau's deputy governor, the Attorney-General and several ministers.

Up to 1,260 army and air force troops will join the 2,500-strong personnel already fighting the fire from the ground, while water bombing will intensify.

These beefed-up operations will last for the next three weeks.

The stepping up of efforts has come not a moment too soon.

The number of respiratory illness cases has surged close to 50,000, and several residents, especially women and children, have started leaving the province, many heading for nearby North Sumatra.

The Arifin Achmad state hospital in Pekanbaru has appealed to the municipal administration to evacuate pregnant women, babies and toddlers from the capital until conditions return to normal.

This is the first time the hospital has made such an appeal.

"This is too dangerous. The short-term impact on babies, toddlers and pregnant women could be severe coughing and bronchitis, while the long-term impact, in 10 years' time, could be lung cancer for those prone to cancer," said Dr Ajisman Syafaat, a lung specialist at the hospital.

"Last year, it wasn't as bad; the haze lasted for a straight week at the worst point then.

"This time round, it has lasted for a month already and is still ongoing," the doctor told The Straits Times.

Mr Zainal Arifin, head of Riau's health department, has appealed to cities and regencies affected by haze to declare holidays for civil servants and private employees in their respective jurisdictions, after Pekanbaru extended school closures due to the lingering haze.

"The air in Riau is at a level that is not breathable by humans," said Mr Zainal.

well it depend on the new President and his / her team will continue the process of stopping farmers from burning and whether current methods / new methods will be effective / follow by them or not...

Sharp Singapore next shipment expected next month.

Also, they dont cover the warranty for air purifiers bought online. Only recognised their authorised dealers then got warranty.

shokbakgoc

This is actually my 3rd 17000. My 1st one it died after i used a 100W transformer and after it tripped my house circuit breaker. It died. I guess i'm quite honest, didn't try to return it to Amazon as a faulty product though retrospectively i'm tempted lol.
Then i ordered another one but it arrived after the haze lol.

good man, applaud your honesty. what goes round comes round, good karma for you :D

WussRedXLi

well it depend on the new President and his / her team will continue the process of stopping farmers from burning and whether current methods / new methods will be effective / follow by them or not...

Sharp Singapore next shipment expected next month.

Also, they dont cover the warranty for air purifiers bought online. Only recognised their authorised dealers then got warranty.

Also don't know will follow for how long. heh....

WussRedXLi

I'm not looking at novita currently.

But for sharp,

If room not big, can divide into humidifier or non humidifier type from sharp
21m2 = FUY30E or FUZ31E (i dunno the difference between the 2), Humidifier type would be KC930E
$200+ range.

26m2 = KCA40E or D40E (All humidifier). The A50E can probably use for a small living room.
$400-500+ range

I would say for now, i think the honeywell 17000 price advantage has significantly reduced compared to the last haze period since no more free shipping for amazon for the 110v version. So i think i would prefer to buy local Sharp vs maybe the Samsung which i see on Qoo10 which looks quite good as well.

Surprised that the 17000 was free ship last year. Coz it's darn heavy and big.

If don't want to go for the PSB tested transformers @ SLT, i'd recommend the Power Bright 750W (even if the 500W seem to work). Have to be v v safe in this....

WussRedXLi

250USD for the 50250 incl shipping. Where can you get a decent sharp for less than 400?

250usd is S$325 with CC charges. A40 can be had for about 390 with GST what...if you shop at the regular neighbourhood stores. But shop during non-haze periods of coz.
Just that it's CADR is more like in the 160s. Always see Best Denki @ 429, not sure about the price now....but i remember sometimes got lelong at 399 @ BEST.

The A50 is in the low 200s for CADR and maybe S$490?

You'd have to add at least S$50 for a trans gotten from AMZ or slightly more than that for a SLT one with PSB sticker for AMZ's 110V devices.
Add a few tens of dollars more if you tag it to the purifier's order. (FSSG is for another order that's >=usd125 with FSSG eligible items)
Correction, that combo with either the 500W or 750W Powerbright would need to pay 22 usd of GST already.

Filters for the Sharp shd be slightly more ex than the Honeywell HEPA filters from AMZ, but of coz easier to get.

And of coz not forgetting about the warranty, though i suspect some may not care for that.

WussRedXLi

Pekanbaru still got hazy conditions, though very much improved. This means that the fires are probably still not out yet despite 3-4 consecutive days of thunderstorms + government cloud seeding and dramatic increase of firemen due to the Indonesian PResident's visit and demands drastic action to be taken.

Malaysian fires like half a day kena thunderstorm already out.

So now you know what am I talking about when I previously said it might not be that easily put out. During our API of about 150 in Singapore due to the Malaysian haze, the visibility was similar.

Today 9PM
9:00 PM 25.0 °C - 24.0 °C 94% 1012 hPa 3.0 km Calm Calm - N/A Haze
Weather History for Pakanbaru, Indonesia | Weather Underground

Jambi (some 350km away from the hotspots) 7PM today
7:00 PM 26 °C 24 °C 85% 1012 hPa 5 km NE 7.4 km/h / - - Haze

Sibloga, near Lake Toba....also some 300-400km away from the Riau hotspots.
7:00 PM 28 °C 26 °C 84% 1010 hPa 4.0 km Calm Calm - - Haze

Any remaining fires that have smouldering peat beneathe it has every chance to flare up fast again. There are thousands of such fires there.

Why peat fires are difficult to extinguish
http://www.environxsolutions.com/peat-firex/about-peat-firex

NWT1978

Pekanbaru still got hazy conditions, though very much improved. This means that the fires are probably still not out yet despite 3-4 consecutive days of thunderstorms + government cloud seeding and dramatic increase of firemen due to the Indonesian PResident's visit and demands drastic action to be taken.

Malaysian fires like half a day kena thunderstorm already out.

So now you know what am I talking about when I previously said it might not be that easily put out. During our API of about 150 in Singapore due to the Malaysian haze, the visibility was similar.

Today 9PM
9:00 PM 25.0 °C - 24.0 °C 94% 1012 hPa 3.0 km Calm Calm - N/A Haze
Weather History for Pakanbaru, Indonesia | Weather Underground

Jambi (some 350km away from the hotspots) 7PM today
7:00 PM 26 °C 24 °C 85% 1012 hPa 5 km NE 7.4 km/h / - - Haze

Sibloga, near Lake Toba....also some 300-400km away from the Riau hotspots.
7:00 PM 28 °C 26 °C 84% 1010 hPa 4.0 km Calm Calm - - Haze

Any remaining fires that have smouldering peat beneathe it has every chance to flare up fast again. There are thousands of such fires there.

Why peat fires are difficult to extinguish
Peat Fire Suppression: the only product proven to extinguish a peat fire. | EnvironX Solutions

indeed... diffcult to put out the smouldering peat ones...

didnt know my air purifier got Hepa filter... lol till I read the manual lol

Amazon.com - IQAir® Cleanroom H13 Air Purifier - Hepa Filter Air Purifiers

-> 1K :eek:

anyone want one?

hosoohui

For those who is using the Honeywell 17000, care to share/post a pic of your transformers?

Wanted to get one but the huge transformer is turning me off.

Any other alternative?

You can try to buy the Simran transformer which is smaller then the box size transformer that I am using now.

Available in Amazon but I don't really see it on sale in Singapore

wongkc

Got my Honeywell Genius 5 yesterday... it is really quiet even on Max setting... Although it is not TrueHepa... it can still trap 99.9% of the 0.3micron particles... I wonder if i can slip in Hepa filter to make it more effective? The slot it has for the prefilter is probably too thin for a Hepa filter though...

And i oso did not hear any popping sound or see any arcing on mine as complained in some reviews...

WussRedXLi

Got my Honeywell Genius 5 yesterday... it is really quiet even on Max setting... Although it is not TrueHepa... it can still trap 99.9% of the 0.3micron particles... I wonder if i can slip in Hepa filter to make it more effective? The slot it has for the prefilter is probably too thin for a Hepa filter though...

And i oso did not hear any popping sound or see any arcing on mine as complained in some reviews...

AirGenius is 99.9% @ 0.3 microns as stated.

There reaally is not much difference between 99.9% and > 99.95% for "True HEPA"

wideCDMA

hi guys, where can i buy HEPA filter locally in singapore and cheap ? after researching i feel like DYI my own air purifier .

WussRedXLi

hi guys, where can i buy HEPA filter locally in singapore and cheap ? after researching i feel like DYI my own air purifier .

In short, don't waste your effort with trying a box fan bought locally. It would be big, it would be loud, and it would still underperform. You'd need a very very big box fan and still do up a plenum so that you can channel the airflow across 2 big filters @ 20 by 30 inch each. You will not "make it" with a small section of the filter + 19.90 Morries box fan gotten from Giant.

In fact, the youtube video posted earlier was a MERV-13 filter and not exactly a HEPA filter. HEPA imparts a very big pressure drop due to high resistance. I bought the 3M Filtrete MPR2200 which is a MERV-13, the flagship in 3M's lineup, i put into my Sharp KC-840 and the airflow is so much higher than compared to the Sharp H13 or E10 filter (I have both).

The type of bladed fan is very different from the squirrel cage "louver" fans used in the purifiers. Those blades are designed to pump out less overall airflow than conventional blade fans but give you a much higher suction power (mmHg). It's like your vacuum cleaner, that's an extreme eg. Very little airflow wrt to say 2.2kW, but the suction mmHg is very very high. A 50W blade fan is very high airflow but very low mmHg.

We were trying that last year coz v desperate, night PSI 200, 300 then 401 @ 1100hrs Thurs. There seem to be no end to it, my dept folks in which some are field staff all dropping one by one literally (MC).
Anything was better than nothing.

wideCDMA

In short, don't waste your effort with trying a box fan bought locally. It would be big, it would be loud, and it would still underperform. You'd need a very very big box fan and still do up a plenum so that you can channel the airflow across 2 big filters @ 20 by 30 inch each. You will not "make it" with a small section of the filter + 19.90 Morries box fan gotten from Giant.

In fact, the youtube video posted earlier was a MERV-13 filter and not exactly a HEPA filter. HEPA imparts a very big pressure drop due to high resistance. I bought the 3M Filtrete MPR2200 which is a MERV-13, the flagship in 3M's lineup, i put into my Sharp KC-840 and the airflow is so much higher than compared to the Sharp H13 or E10 filter (I have both).

The type of bladed fan is very different from the squirrel cage "louver" fans used in the purifiers. Those blades are designed to pump out less overall airflow than conventional blade fans but give you a much higher suction power (mmHg). It's like your vacuum cleaner, that's an extreme eg. Very little airflow wrt to say 2.2kW, but the suction mmHg is very very high. A 50W blade fan is very high airflow but very low mmHg.

We were trying that last year coz v desperate, night PSI 200, 300 then 401 @ 1100hrs Thurs. There seem to be no end to it, my dept folks in which some are field staff all dropping one by one literally (MC).
Anything was better than nothing.

Thanks Bro. So the only option is to get from amazon. But can we buy the filter locally or still need to buy online?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.