Air purifier?

lonelyvampire

i finally get to reply you after a 1-week ban.

i got the honeywell 50250-s and the Power Bright VC500W Voltage Transformer 500 Watt Step Up/Down converter 110/120 Volt - 220/240 Volt.

if you do not want to get the transformer from amazon get from sim lim tower.
Super brand from Japan, about $65 from one of the shops on the top floor of SLT.

ur transformer looks kind of big from the picture, sim lim tower the best place to go to look for transformer?? actually what is the main reason other than the 110v to 220v?watts? how about hertz?

Callow Guy

Don't recommend that. You might as well get the 3M Filtrete. It does bring down the PSI 3 times. Eg if the PSI outside is 300, it goes to 100.

Not too bad, still can tahan. Just have to hoot a few packets so that you can use on both the fans (multiple fans) and air-con for max effect. The more you use, the more the PM1 and PM2.5 gets filtered.

This was done during last year's haze in June. GPGT and in tested under real life situation.

Air+Quality+in+my+Dining+Room+++www.hardwarezone.com.sg.png

I remember this graph done by bro bullfrog as I am the one who pass him the 3M filtrete for testing. That time 3M filtrete only selling at US$5... Now it is sellling at US$7 plus... Sigh... With this filtrete.. I have not been servicing my aircon for 2 years already... Saves me alot.

WussRedXLi

I remember this graph done by bro bullfrog as I am the one who pass him the 3M filtrete for testing. That time 3M filtrete only selling at US$5... Now it is sellling at US$7 plus... Sigh... With this filtrete.. I have not been servicing my aircon for 2 years already... Saves me alot.

Yes...it is from bullfrog as he's the only guy who has a Laser Particle Counter on hand then and in the ultra long Air Purifier post (2013 version). He's also got a 3M Filtrete 0.5 microns membrane filter (undersink filter) from AMZ, I remember that also. :D

AMZ was 4.97 then, I bought a total of 13 or 15. :s13: After Nov 2013 it never dropped to the same low price. DIY shops selling at S$17.90 same total area filter size

3M Filtrete Air Conditioner Filter, 15-Inch by 24-Inch (9808-12) | Amazon price tracker / tracking, Amazon price history charts, Amazon price watches, Amazon price drop alerts | camelcamelcamel.com

WussRedXLi

their philips AC4026 is only roughly 1k RMB< around $200 SGD, much cheaper than SG right? filter

HEPA + charcoal sheet, $66 RMB, less than $20 SGD
·ÉÀûÆÖ¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷AC4025/4026HEPA¹ýÂËÍøÊÊÅäAC4104/4103-ÌÔ±¦Íø

Taobao is a great site and god-send to some of us. So is Amazon. However together with aliexpress, Taobao sellers sometimes has a small % hit and miss. It's not their fault, but that's the "issue" with tiong + MIC products.
I have purchased quite a lot from aliexpress since 3 years ago due to my flashlight and knives hobbies. So caveat emptor / let the buyers beware caution applies here.

The HEPA replacement filters you linked above is probably Tiong OEM (unbranded) and not Philips. Admittedly, even if it's H10 (HEPA-10) ie 85% efficient, they shd be ok. The pleating is very close to one another - so that's good.

Taobao sellers linked test results for the Samsung AX40, in which the Samsung original HEPA filters (True HEPA, or H13) can filter 0.1 microns, that's PM0.1, at over 99% efficiency sampled at the output. This is in addition to testing at PM2.5 (2.5 microns). USA's EPA calls PM0.1 ultrafine particles and is predominantly haze particles from burning forests.

I posted before in #516 regarding China's haze/smog.

http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/84454851-post516.html

Size of haze particles
http://www.google.com.sg/url?sa=t&r...E-_J_Fm9sToVFahqw&sig2=OrZJCBeKPz9rEVDs2vupEg

Size of haze particles is also predominantly below 0.2 microns. Edit - 0.5 microns to 1 microns occupy the biggest % difference

Size Haze Clean
10-20 nm 1665 1622
20-50 nm 6591 3580
50-100 nm 4702 1389
100-200 nm 2678 631
200-500 nm 1030 317
0.5-1 μm 114 6
1-10 μm 14 2
10 nm-10 μm 16797 7547

WussRedXLi

Don't know leh....see your budget lah. I also quite gian to check out the one you posted @ 399 RMB. For that i'd probably rip out the OEM filter and replace with my Fellowes True HEPA that I got from Amazon. (got a few :D)

The M Fresh one seems ok too. More ex at 798 RMB.
Edit - actually if it's 798RMB which is SGD160....plus 4PX shipping probably will be 200-210 SGD. You might as well get the Samsung AX40 from qoo then at SGD289 shipped via EMS and it'd take about 1 week.

If you have elderly, baby, pregnant wife or sister, old parents/grandma , teens/adults with rhinitis/sinusitis/asthma use - I think the choice is clear. A Samsung AX40 at least. Don't fool around with the tiong "unbranded" brands.

Seriously they all will work. But whether after 2 years later, 5 years later, 8 years later still working or not.....you be the judge.

The Samsung AX40 that I got from KenQuek, working 24/7 full power full speed over the weekend....2 days. Last weekend also. Weekdays 12-14 hrs.

Do check the power and dB levels as well. But it's surprising that the tiong models (the Novita 611 is actually OEM in Tiong by the SKG one that you can see in taobao) can also be quite low in noise. ** model dependent of coz

The M-fresh model. But the thickness of the HEPA filter itself is pathetic, I think at most 0.5 inches nia. But I think overall is well over 1 inch if you include all those simi catalyst and activated charcoal, just get the Fellowes (Made in Korea) from AMZ as replacement ba..... don't get from taobao liao.

T2h.tIXFlaXXXXXXXX-702671881.jpg

And interesting claim by the 3M HEPA used in the M-Fresh model 6334 (down to 0.09 microns).

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.93.XMciXm&id=36853918354

T2FLgWXSxXXXXXXXXX_!!1911075852.jpg

WussRedXLi

Other than the SKG and Novita 611 similarity, this SKG JH4084 one looks like the Europace.

EPU%20370C%20(W)-500x500.jpg

T2oYpBXJpXXXXXXXXX-1048855227.jpg

T2E1dBXIRXXXXXXXXX-1048855227.jpg

WussRedXLi

i scare those wulu brand one sia, how abt their genuine philips one i posted? $200 plus one

I really cannot vouch for the authenticity, even the Philips one. That's why I said caveat emptor above.

I have ever gotten a usd23 box of 200 3M earplugs from aliexpress before.
However they do not work as well, basically it's just Polyurethane foam. But there are many grades. When I plugged into my ears, I could feel that they do not work as well as the Mouldex ones that I have as well (that I gotten from Google marketplace...something like that). I also have EAR brand earplugs. No way the 3M earplugs are authentic. But the box and packaging and plastic wrapping all swee swee 3M, looks really legit.

Now I use Howard Leight that I've purchased from Amazon.com, 2 types in fact. Also significantly better than the 3M ones that I got from aliexpress.

Hence, do not get N95 masks from aliexpress/China Ebay sellers as well.

These taobao air purifiers, not say cannot get. But be mindful that you may have to change out the filters for the Fellowes one from AMZ, which thankfully is Free ship to SG. :) (so get other stuff, tompang from others in the AMZ free ship thread, etc).

The issue is also testing. The Dylos laser particle counter which is the cheapest device that one can get, costs like what....usd199. :) No amateur here or elsewhere is siao enough to get one and test.

Of coz the claim is that they have tested (and I do not doubt that). But there is always the bait n switch risk over time, plus how the sellers act over time and to make a quick buck with the main distributors, that;s also difficult to say.

PS. One more issue that I can think of is what I read in many of the Amazon reviews....even for Honeywell units. Such low priced units could be the victims of very low QC. They have off-centered or unbalanced fan coils, thus they'd make clacking sounds. Even a very slight clacking fan would drive you nuts at night when sleeping, serious. :)

The Big Bang Theory

so many ppl recommend AX40 ah....but price is abit steep sia, the filter how long need to change one time? if say the air quality is quite bad as on-going constructions are nearby only

WussRedXLi

so many ppl recommend AX40 ah....but price is abit steep sia, the filter how long need to change one time? if say the air quality is quite bad as on-going constructions are nearby only

Pay SGD289 for a SGD489 local retail priced Samsung AX41 (literally identical model) which is @ Sharp A50 performance....expensive meh? :D

Somemore you'd be needing it daily.

Yes, HEPA replacements' price is key consideration. Luckily for the Samsung AX40, the Fellowes HF230 from Amazon is direct fit for the width. Top part need to trim like 1 inch and scotch tape it to fit, that's all. 5 minute jobbie.

Each one can use 12 -18 months max.

usd29.90 ea. Get 4 enjoy free shipping.

The Big Bang Theory

Pay SGD289 for a SGD489 local retail priced Samsung AX41 (literally identical model) which is @ Sharp A50 performance....expensive meh? :D

Somemore you'd be needing it daily.

Yes, HEPA replacements' price is key consideration. Luckily for the Samsung AX40, the Fellowes HF230 from Amazon is direct fit for the width. Top part need to trim like 1 inch and scotch tape it to fit, that's all. 5 minute jobbie.

Each one can use 12 -18 months max.

usd29.90 ea. Get 4 enjoy free shipping.

thx bro,i think i'll whack from gmarket, btw does it provide any warranty?

Akai Ryu

any recommendation for a small purifier which can place on an office desk?

WussRedXLi

They are saying in the video that in South Korea, 85% of the households have air purifiers.

True or false?!?!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.