Air purifier?

RoLanTo

wah lao.. jia lat leh.. i only got fan.. plus air purifier if buy..
the AX40 can buy filter from amazon?

Which seller u guys get from Qoo?

WussRedXLi

wah lao.. jia lat leh.. i only got fan.. plus air purifier if buy..
the AX40 can buy filter from amazon?

Which seller u guys get from Qoo?

Seriously, without air con, i think better don't buy. Yes, AX40 can buy filter from Amazon and cut a bit then fit it and tape up yourself easily.

WussRedXLi

Singapore braces for worst "haze" as Indonesia fails to halt slash-and-burn clearances | TODAYonline

SINGAPORE - Singapore is approaching its yearly "haze" season, when smoke from forest clearing in Indonesia chokes the air, with this year likely to be worse than 2013's record pollution thanks to lack of action in Jakarta and an expected El Nino weather pattern.

The prosperous city-state, which prides itself on its clean air, was shrouded in heavy smog from slash-and-burn clearances on the neighbouring Indonesian island of Sumatra last June which sent its air pollution index to a record high.

One year on, and an election-distracted government in Indonesia has still not ratified the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) 2002 Agreement on Transboundary Haze Pollution, and fires continue to burn in Sumatra.

That is despite outrage in Singapore as well as environmental groups putting pressure on Jakarta. Fires are used to clear land on plantations and can burn for weeks because of peat deposits below the surface.

There is also a growing likelihood of an El Nino weather pattern this year, meaning Singapore, as well as parts of Indonesia and Malaysia, could be set for months of intense haze with a knock-on effect on health and business, especially tourism.

A strong El Nino, marked by a warming of the surface of the Pacific, can cause severe drought in Australia, Southeast Asia and India, while drenching other parts of the world such as the U.S. Midwest and Brazil in rain.

"If we get four to six months of dry period in Southeast Asia starting from June, we could be in for a very difficult period, if companies' and people's behaviour do not change," Singapore Environment Minister Vivian Balakrishnan told a conference.

Frustrated by the lack of progress, Singapore is taking matters into its own hands by proposing a new law that aims to punish individuals and companies outside its borders that are responsible for polluting its air.

That's expected to be tabled in parliament later this year. Legal experts hail the bill as a bold move, but question how it will be implemented.

Finding who is responsible for the haze is hard given the lack of evidence like maps showing who owns the land where fires are burning. Both Indonesia and Malaysia have refused to share clear and updated land use and concession maps so far.

Bringing a prosecution in Singapore courts will be even tougher.

"The basic evidential inquiry needed to resolve the problem – i.e. to find out who is setting fires to whose land – cannot even be conducted," said Alan Tan, professor at the Faculty of Law and Centre for International Law at the National University of Singapore. "Let alone the more complex tasks of actually prosecuting perpetrators or managing land use conflicts for the longer term."

Two of the world's largest palm oil companies - Wilmar International Ltd and Golden Agri-Resources Ltd - have been applauded for committing to no deforestation policies after criticism in the past.

Alongside the palm oil industry, paper and pulp companies have also been blamed for haze.

Indonesia's Riau province declared a state of emergency in February as haze from raging forest fires disrupted flights and marine navigation and tens of thousands fell sick with respiratory problems. The airport in the provincial capital closed for more than three weeks.

"The task force the president sent to the field was able to quench the fire but not solve the fundamental problem," Heru Prasetyo, head of Indonesia's REDD+ (Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Degradation), told Reuters. REUTERS

WussRedXLi

1997 Sep was when we kena the last record haze of 226.

ElNinoMap_e_0521.jpg

WussRedXLi

Pacific in 2014 looks like record-breaking El Niño year of 1997 | Earth | EarthSky

EarthSky // Earth, Science WireRelease Date: May 20, 2014

Pacific in 2014 looks like record-breaking El Niño year of 1997

Conditions in the Pacific Ocean continue to suggest that a super strong El Niño might be forming in 2014.

Every 10 days, the NASA/French Space Agency Jason-2 satellite maps all the world’s oceans, monitoring changes in sea surface height, a measure of heat in the upper layers of the water. Because our planet is more than 70% ocean, this information is crucial to global forecasts of weather and climate. Lately, Jason-2 has seen something brewing in the Pacific. That part of the global ocean looks a lot like it did leading up to the record-breaking El Niño year of 1997.

Bill Patzert, a climatologist at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, said:

A pattern of sea surface heights and temperatures has formed that reminds me of the way the Pacific looked in the spring of 1997. That turned out to be the precursor to a big El Niño.

Mike McPhaden of NOAA’s Pacific Environmental Research Laboratories in Seattle added:

We can’t yet say for sure that an El Niño will develop in 2014, or how big it might be, but the Jason-2 data support the El Niño Watch issued last month by NOAA.

What Jason-2 has been seeing is a series of Kelvin waves — massive ripples in sea level that travel across the Pacific from Australia to South America. Forecasters are paying close attention because these waves could be a herald of El Niño.

The two phenomena, Kelvin waves and El Niño, are linked by wind. Pacific trade winds blow from east to west, pushing sun-warmed surface waters toward Indonesia. As a result, the sea level near Indonesia is normally 45 cm higher than it is near Ecuador. Researchers call that area the warm pool – it is the largest reservoir of warm water on our planet.

Sometimes, however, trade winds falter for a few days or weeks, and some of that excess sea level ripples back toward the Americas. McPhaden said:

That’s a Kelvin wave. It’s not unusual to see a couple every winter.

El Niño happens when trade winds falter not just for days, but for many months. Then Kelvin waves cross the Pacific like a caravan, raising sea level and leaving warmer equatorial waters in their wake. Patzert recalled:

The El Niño of 1997/98 was a textbook example. At that time we were getting data from TOPEX/Poseidon, a predecessor of Jason-2. Sea surface maps showed a whitish bump, indicating a sea level some 10 centimeters higher than usual, moving along the equator from Australia to South America.

McPhaden added:

The same pattern is repeating in 2014. A series of Kelvin waves generated by localized west wind bursts in the western Pacific that began in mid-January 2014 are headed east. Excitement is building as a third weakening of the Pacific trade winds happened in mid-April.

Ocean and atmospheric scientists at NOAA and NASA are carefully monitoring the Pacific trade winds. The tipping point for declaring a significant El Niño will be an even longer lasting, larger collapse in Pacific trade winds, possibly signaling a shift in weather all around our planet. McPhaden said:

It will become much clearer over the next two to three months whether these recent developments are the forerunner of a major El Niño—or any El Niño at all.

Via NASA

Bottom line: Conditions in the Pacific Ocean continue to suggest that a super strong El Niño might be forming in 2014. The next two to three months should confirm whether that is the case.

WussRedXLi

AX40 coverage seems abit big for a bedroom.. is it?

Take it as a 18000btu/hr air con. :s13: Why not? It's not a Honeywell 50250 that's v noisy. 45dBA vs 57dBA is a huge huge difference, with the 50250 pumping a wee bit more air (believe it's around low 400s for m^3/hr)

But seriously, it is ~ 350m^3/hr. I put it in another way that's easier to understand. 45dBA, I buy 2 units. It pumps 700m^3/hr total and consumes 68W. 45dBA + 3dBA for 2 units = 48dBA.
A blueair 650E is 830m^3/hr and consumes 120W and is S$1650. I hate Samsung aircons and fridges (anything that has a compressor in it), but the air purifier is great at this price.

One thing about HEPA is that the airflow would lower as you use it. Maybe cut 30-40% when it hits 18 months in SG? That is with my experience with my Sharp KC-840E.

Airflow flowrate would lower, however efficiency (99.97% @ 0.3 microns) would not drop. That is how HEPA works.

Besides, the AX20 is like S$268. The Winix WACU150 is S$229 shipped (20sqm).

So AX40 @ 289 shipped EMS is quite the deal.

InnovaIQ

Take it as a 18000btu/hr air con. :s13: Why not? It's not a Honeywell 50250 that's v noisy. 45dBA vs 57dBA is a huge difference, with the 50250 pumping a wee bit more air (believe it's around low 400s for m^3/hr)

But seriously, it is ~ 350m^3/hr.

One thing about HEPA is that the airflow would lower as you use it. Maybe cut 30-40% when it hits 18 months in SG? That is with my experience with my Sharp KC-840E.

Airflow flowrate would lower, however efficiency (99.97% @ 0.3 microns) would not drop. That is how HEPA works.

Besides, the AX20 is like S$268. The Winix WACU150 is S$229 shipped (20sqm).

So AX40 @ 289 shipped EMS is quite the deal.

bro................u mean..........................fan gets slower har????????????

WussRedXLi

wa, my room oso no aircon leh, windows open, but with blinds down so little-to no winds, but theres a ceiling fan tho

I guess if the PSI hits > 150 like during this year mid March worst days w haze from kota tinggi/mersing area.....and we get prolonged haze for > 2 weeks (last year was v bad, but 1 week tops).....nobody cares. At most is bathe 6 times a day cold water. :s13:

Oh....one more thing, if the haze is bad and you open the windows and there is circulation, the HEPA would get clogged real fast.

The only saving grace is that the AX40 can DIY HEPA from Amazon for 29.90 each (check out my prev posts). Subject to Amazon Freeship SG conditions.

WussRedXLi

y??????????????wat happen?????????????????

That will happen when the HEPA filter gets clogged up over time. That's why need to change.

Another thing is that the HEPA filter would smell with more and more grams of Particulate Matter in it. I read about this before, and also has been my experience.

Try to cut the HEPA filter after a year or so. You will be amazed at the insides. This "dust" would smell. An activated charcoal filter downstream in the airflow (ie after the HEPA) would not be able to take away the smell once there is too much dust, ie "overloaded".

InnovaIQ

That will happen when the HEPA filter gets clogged up over time. That's why need to change.

Another thing is that the HEPA filter would smell with more and more grams of Particulate Matter in it. I read about this before, and also has been my experience.

Try to cut the HEPA filter after a year or so. You will be amazed at the insides. This "dust" would smell. An activated charcoal filter downstream in the airflow (ie after the HEPA) would not be able to take away the smell once there is too much dust, ie "overloaded".

bro...............use water wash rah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WussRedXLi

bro...............use water wash rah!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By strict definition, H10 to H13 is absolutely not washable. Not by water, not by alcohol, not by any solvent. You can google it.

HEPA is not your regular fibreglass batting filters that works as if it's a physical sieve.

On many HEPA filters from Novita to Samsung, they put "DO NOT WASH" on the filters. And on instruction sheets.

You wash it, you WILL destroy the filter's function.

The Big Bang Theory

I guess if the PSI hits > 150 like during this year mid March worst days w haze from kota tinggi/mersing area.....and we get prolonged haze for > 2 weeks (last year was v bad, but 1 week tops).....nobody cares. At most is bathe 6 times a day cold water. :s13:

Oh....one more thing, if the haze is bad and you open the windows and there is circulation, the HEPA would get clogged real fast.

The only saving grace is that the AX40 can DIY HEPA from Amazon for 29.90 each (check out my prev posts). Subject to Amazon Freeship SG conditions.

so its very bad to hav a air purifier with air circulation (such as fans/windows) co-existed in one room?

Akai Ryu

this worth buying?....for study rm and office

SHARP IG-DX10E-W/B/P AIR PURIFIER

ip059164_zoomed.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.