Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

most hdb should be 2.4m floor to ceiling.
dbss 2.6m ... EC maybe 2.8m.

you'll have to estimate area anyway. . just multiply by 3 if want to be kiasu lor. some over-provisioning is always good :)

easiest way is to look at your floor plan.

I just measured accurately with a metal tape measure, mine is 2.58m. Regular 4-room BTO. My mum's place at Chinatown 3-room flat (damn old), I remember is 2.6m also.

Then I salah a bit liao, I used 2.8m. :D

WussRedXLi

Check out the youku video in the below link that I am sharing. Got demo of laser particle counters and measurement of a Tiong air purifier. Formaldehyde (Jia3 Quan2 甲醛) dropped from 0.25 micrograms per m3 to 0.09 micrograms per m3.

PM2.5

Comparison with a RMB 60k DustTrak laser particle counter.

T2AThpXFNaXXXXXXXX_!!60203361.jpg

T2tspqXTFXXXXXXXXX_!!60203361.jpg

WussRedXLi

Chinese documentary about PM2.5 and how it affects you.

AM inside speaking fluent Chinese! :eek:

Apparently the air pollution is so bad that aunties are *wearing* air purifiers to the wet market. (masks are too restrictive....I wonder why they are not wearing FFP-1 with exhaust valves which are basically 80% efficiency vs 95% for N95)

空气PM2.5大"爆表" å*¥åº·å‡ºè¡Œå¾ˆé‡*è¦*—在线æ’*放—《æ‹*客视界》—资讯—优酷网,视频高清在线观看

WussRedXLi

Even at this price, i think the AX40 is still a better buy for its performance and quality.

Truth be told, I still like the design of Sharp air purifiers best. My wife thinks so too.

She hates my Samsung AX40. It's banned from the MBR. I am using it in the PC room. The NAP501 is in the baby/kids room.

The S$279 price and 350 m3/hr does nothing for her. :vijayadmin:

plasticpistola

The -ve ion ioniser (in Samsung speak that's the Virusdoctor) is denoted by the circular circles icon. You can see this on the AX40.

On the AX041FCVAUW, there is no such icon.
my_AX041HCVAUW-SS_010_Detail4_white

AX40H5000GMD
c9d09812-0c27-4afe-93f9-27caee08b933.jpg

Bro moi samsung AX40 lai liao!

But I can't seem to set it to Auto mode leh - it will move from the Lock mode, skip Auto mode, then go to High Speed mode. Any idea how come like that ah?

Then how does the air cleanliness light work? Right now it's bright bright only on the left side of the panel.

aErOpLaNe911

Ntuc bedok mall got one 3M air filter machine going for $399, supposed to be for area of 34 sqm (wonder why not volume).

Is it any good?

WussRedXLi

Bro moi samsung AX40 lai liao!

But I can't seem to set it to Auto mode leh - it will move from the Lock mode, skip Auto mode, then go to High Speed mode. Any idea how come like that ah?

Then how does the air cleanliness light work? Right now it's bright bright only on the left side of the panel.

You press the second left button (beside the power button) to cycle between the 4 speeds.

tmkedmw

But wouldn't ACH introduce another variable? Obviously your room and my room not same size (unless everything including furnishing exactly the same). Most ppl dunno the room size, must less the room volume!

IMHO, ACH is not another variable. Think of it this way.
What's air purifier for, to purify dirty air right? So how much dirty air is in the room and you want to select an appropriately sized air purifier to do the job. Therefore ACH (air change/hr) is the objective.
I remember seeing something on allergy.com.sg that a desirable ACH is between 4 and 8. See w.w.w.allergy.com.sg/aircareFAQ.html

ACH is the goal. The variables are air purifier cu.m/hr and volume of room which is simply area x height.
Height of hdb room is 2.6m. If u are on top floor, will have higher ceiling. Min. height from floor to ceiling is 2.4m, mandated by HDB.

tmkedmw

AX40 cannot tune auto mode sensitivity?

Auto mode is pre-programmed by Samsung to vary the airflow depending on the readings from its sensors.
eg if air is relatively clean, it will lower the airflow, and vice versa.

So in that sense, you can't tune its sensitivity.
But do remember to periodically clean the sensors as per the maintenance manual.

tmkedmw

Ntuc bedok mall got one 3M air filter machine going for $399, supposed to be for area of 34 sqm (wonder why not volume).

Air purifier are not spec for volume as rooms across the world have different heights. Also, most people grasp the concept of how big the room is (area wise) but don't know the volume of their room till they pull out a calculator ;)

plasticpistola

You press the second left button (beside the power button) to cycle between the 4 speeds.

I tried again this morning and can liao :D

Last night dunno why it kept skipping the auto button.

This set is really damn quiet. Thanks for the recommendation, bro!

Btw, should I set it to auto all the time, since auto will just do its work depending on how clean/dirty the air is?

If yes, then why do we need low and medium speed functions ah?

tmkedmw

Btw, should I set it to auto all the time, since auto will just do its work depending on how clean/dirty the air is?

Some may not find the pre-programmed auto mode to their liking. So there is a choice of operating it manually.
Eg turn on manually and turn it to max until air becomes clean (blue light),
then switch to auto.
Some may like to switch to low if Psi is trending lower.
Basically your choice as to how u want to control.

WussRedXLi

I tried again this morning and can liao :D

Last night dunno why it kept skipping the auto button.

This set is really damn quiet. Thanks for the recommendation, bro!

It's not easy to trigger the set into higher speeds, if you are more geared towards cleaner air, then i'd suggest put it into High speed for half an hour first. Then switch to Auto.

WussRedXLi

NEA's first daily haze report: Tuesday's air quality to be moderate

Published on Jun 16, 2014 6:56 PM

By Grace Chua

SINGAPORE - The air quality till Tuesday at 6pm is expected to be in the moderate range, the National Environment Agency said on Monday evening in the first of its daily haze forecasts for the haze season.

At 6pm on Monday, the 24-hour Pollutant Standards Index ranged from 52 to 54 over various parts of the island.

As the south-west monsoon sets in, the prevailing winds will blow from the south and south-west, which could bring smoke haze from hotspots in Indonesia's Riau province.

The number of hotspots detected in Sumatra on Monday was 114, with localised smoke plumes observed from some hotspots in Riau, the NEA said.
- See more at: NEA's first daily haze report: Tuesday's air quality to be moderate

WussRedXLi

1535h - NASA FIRMS image

Disclaimer: The NASA FIRMS system is part of LANCE (Land Atmosphere Near real-time Capability for EOS) operated by the NASA/GSFC Earth Science Data and Information System (ESDIS). The information presented through the NASA FIRMS are provided "as is" and users bear all responsibility and liability for their use of data, and for any loss of business or profits, or for any indirect, incidental or consequential damages arising out of any use of, or inability to use, the data, even if NASA or ESDIS were previously advised of the possibility of such damages, or for any other claim by you or any other person. ESDIS makes no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, including implied warranties of fitness for a particular purpose or merchantability, or with respect to the accuracy of or the absence or the presence or defects or errors in data, databases of other information.

qmmCnDeBR2vroK2H4y-SzAOkQeojiG0HHPihzVW3eteWXkyDIFhRZan9Vj51nlLI2IAjHr7QgREyoFa9Cy_QnGSr1be1Y0p0yfbfr4nUNvaq5VMhLHIIK2MvO5Virw=s0-d-e1-ft

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.