Air purifier?

thesingingbard

So which 2 air purifiers you bought that is not good? Share leh, so we don't make the same mistake too. Thanks.

aiyo... dun ask me lah =:p I dun wanna bitch or recommend any specific brands here. Actually most brands have both good and not-so-good models/designs.

what i'm avocating is: try to get an independent rating (be it AHAM or some China/ASIAN testing standards, it matters not) on the air purifiers before buying, else it'll just be going by the manufacturer's claims.

however, that's not to say that if a product hasn't been independantly verified it's not good (eg: IQAir), but as normal consumers how would we know? either way, it's your money and your choice if you wanna take that risk.

actually the CADRs of my latest purchases also not sure where they got the figures :sad::sad::sad::sad: i saw the CADR figures, and immediately assumed it's properly tested.

having said that, they are still way better than my previous 2 buys. Din realized the air could be so clean in the bedroom. :) that's why i'm a tat surprised & dissapointed with my previous buys. :o

just to reinforce about the independant rating thingie... currently in europe, all tyres (each individual brand, model, size) have to undergo a standard independant test to be labelled for their performance on wet-braking-distance, rolling-resistance, and noise. I encourage drivers, before they buy their new tyres, to visit that tyre company's european website (UK preferrably unless you read German, France, Dutch etc...). Take a look at the tyre labels; it sure gave me a few surprises! :eek:

WussRedXLi

Oh...just hit me. For those who "wanna keep it simple" and are not that technie minded, there is Winix.
Winix is in the AHAM/Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers certification list.

Posted before but it is quite far back i guess, qoo10 sells the WACU150 and WACU300.
Basically 150m3/h and 300m3/h models.
S$228 shipped here for the Winix WACU150
Qoo10 - WINIX WACU300 WACU150 SSP System 6 steps Filter / Air Purifier Cleaner... : Home Electronics

It is also EPA energy star certified.

Comparatively, the energy consumption + noise level compared directly with the Samsung AX40 is still a wee bit high. (just take the Samsung AX40 to be a 323m3/h machine @ 46dbA, as tested. 34W)

On ang moh website :
https://www.airandwaterdirect.com/wac-u300-air-purifier
Model WAC-U300
CADR (Smoke/Dust/Pollen) 197 / 197 / 214
Maximum Noise Level (dB) 55
Power consumption (Watt) 60

How much is that 60W vs 34W = 26W difference?
It's S$33 per year (12hrs a day, 365 a year), not really significant but still noticeable over 5 years esp with multiple units.
(I am in charge of/operate 4 air purifiers in 3 homes nightly, the Sharp KC-840 workhouse is with me for close to 8 years liao. :D)

But on paper the dB SPL difference is big difference. Don't dare to try with anything above 50dB. I was actually looking at the WACU150 @ S$228 shipped with FedEx before.

chuanz

55dB is rather loud... I have a 50250 rated 57dB max and portable a/c rated 54dB max... Definitely not something u can switch on and watch TV comfortably.

WussRedXLi

aiyo... dun ask me lah =:p I dun wanna bitch or recommend any specific brands here. Actually most brands have both good and not-so-good models/designs.

what i'm avocating is: try to get an independent rating (be it AHAM or some China/ASIAN testing standards, it matters not) on the air purifiers before buying, else it'll just be going by the manufacturer's claims.

however, that's not to say that if a product hasn't been independantly verified it's not good (eg: IQAir), but as normal consumers how would we know? either way, it's your money and your choice if you wanna take that risk.

I'll throw some salt n pepper into the mix. Also got DIY certification! :eek::zotto::s12:

This guy was using the Dylos DC17000 laser particle counter. Now he uses a usd3k Met One. (same brand but another model that you see the Met One used in the Novita mini test chamber at Robinsons/Best Denki).

But issue is, this method is very noisy. It is also quite energy inefficient. I have got 1 of his filters from taobao, and also some of the velcro clips.

DIY Versus Blueair 270E and Philips AC4072 (raw data is supplied in the ending part of the link, so you can check the rate of reduction also)
Particle Counting - Finally! Directly comparable tests: DIY versus Blue Air

tumblr_inline_mxj1ohCOxW1s4lgm1.png

Additional read for DIY testing

Airgle AG900 vs IQAir 250 vs Blueair 650E (Blueair is AHAM with CADR figs)
Air Purifier Reviews: Airgle versus IQAir and Blueair » MyHealth Beijing

The China folks have every reason to be concerned with PM2.5/PM0.1. They hit 950 micrograms per m3 PM2.5 this year 2014 in February. Our 20th June 2014's 401 episode got 223 micrograms per m3 PM2.5 IIRC from Straits Times. :D

It's a usd14.6 billion market over there.

WussRedXLi

55dB is rather loud... I have a 50250 rated 57dB max and portable a/c rated 54dB max... Definitely not something u can switch on and watch TV comfortably.

Geek mode ON!

My Sharp KC840 is 46dB i think. Yeah, that's about the max i'd go.

Come to think of it, it's ard there with the 50250. The 50250 shifts quite a bit more air than 300m3/h. 50250 (250) is 250 cu ft/min = 424m3/h.
50150 = 150 cu ft/min.

Actually the Samsung AX40 is still somewhat loud for light sleepers. Light sleepers gotta wear ear plugs if they want max fan speed. :)

Either that or they get a big Hitachi A7000 and switch in in medium speed after blasting in MAX for 30 mins. :) (42dB at 270m3/h flowrate in medium speed)

http://www.hitachiconsumer.com/sg/download.aspx?file=/data/resources/docs/Air Purifier Catalogue.pdf

WussRedXLi

WussRedXLi

Hi, I'm currently comparing with novita 501 & rowenta pu2120
anyone know which is better?

Very difficult to say leh.

Wow, the Rowenta is 85W.

I was just searching about CASE's testing of air purifiers (no comments from me, I just search nia).

Interesting result from the Novita NAP101. It performed the best, even though it's just a H11 95% HEPA filter.

http://www.case.org.sg/admin/news/annex/23_annex.pdf
Case's report card on seven air purifiers | My Paper |

Another story.
Their so called "RSP - Respirable Suspended Particles" is PM10. Easy peasey for air purifiers with any HEPA.
CASE's test results on 10 air purifiers, Others news, Health News, AsiaOne YourHealth

And of coz, this video I gotta re-post again. The Hitachi A7000 is of coz tokong, that's its flagship. :)

reneete

Hi there,

Just to know are u guys still sourcing for a good PM 2.5 air purifier?
My friend is dealing/specializes in air purifiers and enhancement system so I thought you guys might be keen to know. :)

WussRedXLi

Malaysia starting to kena hit again after last weekend's episode.

26 July 2014 - Unhealthy air quality in Port Klang - News - Haze - My Sinchew

Unhealthy air quality in Port Klang

News
Haze
2014-07-26 15:46

156737158.wI16BuZR.haze26july1400.jpg

KUALA LUMPUR, July 26 (Bernama) -- The air quality in Port Klang was at an unhealthy level at noon today, raising to two the number of places with such air quality.

Sibu in Sarawak had registered an unhealthy level of air quality earlier in the day, according to the Department of Environment (DOE).

The DOE portal recorded an Air Pollutant Index (API) of 102 for Port Klang. It had an API reading of 108 for Sibu at noon, up from 103 at 7 am.

39 other places in the country had air quality at the moderate level, according to the portal.

WussRedXLi

Sunday morning's showers (Sumatran Squall) originated from the Malacca Straits near the city of Dumai. Travelled towards East over the Straits of Malacca and hit SG/parts of Johor.
No, not much rain over Riau province at all. :(

20140727021001radar_malaysia.gif

20140727052001radar_malaysia.gif

20140727083001radar_malaysia.gif

chuanz

At least some respite from the hot weather locally.. 28°C nights are not fun at all...

WussRedXLi

Haze: Air quality unhealthy in Port Klang, Seri Manjung and Sibu as at 9am

27 July 2014 @ 10:39 AM

KUALA LUMPUR: The quality of air was at an unhealthy level in Port Klang (Selangor), Seri Manjung (Perak) and Sibu (Sarawak) as at 9 am today, with the Air Pollutant Index (API) exceeding 100.

The portal of the Department of Environment (DoE) reported that the API for Port Klang was 117; Seri Manjung, 102; and Sibu, 149.

The API for Shah Alam was 93, at the moderate level but close to the unhealthy level, according to the portal.

The API for other areas in the country were either moderate or good.

An API reading of between zero and 50 indicates good air quality; between 51 and 100, moderate; between 101 and 200, unhealthy; between 201 and 300, very unhealthy and over 301, hazardous.

Members of the public can refer to the DOE portal at Jabatan Alam Sekitar | Kementerian Sumber Asli & Alam Sekitar to find out the API reading for their areas. - BERNAMA

WussRedXLi

Hotspots 396 yesterday 3pm

32907262014030702_rr.png

Source :
http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/health/422264/indonesia-haze-hits-narathiwat

Indonesia haze hits Narathiwat (AQI = 156)

Smoke from forest fires in Indonesia's Sumatra island is creating hazy visibility in Thailand's southernmost province of Narathiwat on Thursday

Provincial authorities measured fine-particulate matters at 65 microgrammes per cubic metre of air (AQI = 156) and that was still within a safe level for health.

However, the smoke has started to affect visibility for air and maritime navigation in Narathiwat. Haze covered a vast area of the Narathat beach and a ridge near Narathiwat airport

Niyom Rodchang, a pilot for Thai AirAsia, said that before landing at the airport, a local air traffic controller had told him that the visibility had been 10 km long but upon the landing the actual visibility...

He also said that the haze had a limited impact on air navigation and the impact in Narathiwat was worse than haze at Hat Yai airport in Songkhla province Thursday morning.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.