LG buy 2 free 1~ :s22:

beRgJ2e.jpg

mosmos kang tow jin jueh~:s13::s13:

chuanz

Need telephoto lens leh, which I don't really have.

Anyway, so I am right again, "unfortunately". :(
That cloud = MUTHALOAD.

Lets watch F1 later. :)

Smelly haze = Sumatran haze. Should be breaching 150 by midnight... Btw aqicn readings are very weird. PSI high now while PM2.5 still low...

WussRedXLi

Smelly haze = Sumatran haze. Should be breaching 150 by midnight... Btw aqicn readings are very weird. PSI high now while PM2.5 still low...

The serious haze started at about 4.45pm at Tg Pagar. Wind was about 6-7kph SSW to SW.

I think you are at the northern side (or NE, NW) coz you always mentioned JB? It might take about 2hrs later to reach your place, perhaps 6+ then you get it.

South side got better after 7pm.

As mentioned aqicn pm2.5 is taking 24-hr pm2.5 figres from NEA. This episode confirms it. The lag is tremendous with this sudden spike of PSI.

Singapore PSI and PM2.5 AQI: Why is there a difference between the two readings?

You check the 24-hr PM2.5 reading here, the first one at the top of the page.

3hr pm2.5 PSI is at the bottom of the page.

Pollutant Concentrations

WussRedXLi

Maybe, wind is SSW to SW just now.

BTW, I think you didn't see this super PCW thread. :D
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...razy-hot-weather-4815746-18.html#post88683216

Someone measured approx. 250ug/m3 of PM2.5 on his PM2.5 monitor. That works out to be AQI 300.

Peak figures though. Other times were 160-170ug/m3....that's about AQI 200.

Use this to convert
AQI Calculator: Concentration to AQI

chuanz

Yea you're pretty right... things turned ugly from 6-ish here... I only checked subscribed threads so usually miss out on epic and/or PCW threads... :D anyway all my a/p running based on what I see and smell, not the readings... hehe...

Tech_Freak

Hi all, does anyone owns the Whirlpool AP628W? Tested best by Case and price seems to be quite low for that size on rakuten (after 20% off).

What about AirVax (from Korea) for the bedroom? Some video seems to show it being used in hospital.

WussRedXLi

Hi all, does anyone owns the Whirlpool AP628W? Tested best by Case and price seems to be quite low for that size on rakuten (after 20% off).

What about AirVax (from Korea) for the bedroom? Some video seems to show it being used in hospital.

It's a decent unit. Can't find replacement filters though.

Ditch the AirVax.

Reminder - haze season is nearly over....there is no moderate or strong El nino effect this year so NE monsoon will not be pushed back (El Nino years esp strong ones, NE monsoon will be delayed and dry season much longer)

So take your time to prepare for next year.

Laneige

The serious haze started at about 4.45pm at Tg Pagar. Wind was about 6-7kph SSW to SW.

I think you are at the northern side (or NE, NW) coz you always mentioned JB? It might take about 2hrs later to reach your place, perhaps 6+ then you get it.

South side got better after 7pm.

As mentioned aqicn pm2.5 is taking 24-hr pm2.5 figres from NEA. This episode confirms it. The lag is tremendous with this sudden spike of PSI.

Singapore PSI and PM2.5 AQI: Why is there a difference between the two readings?

You check the 24-hr PM2.5 reading here, the first one at the top of the page.

3hr pm2.5 PSI is at the bottom of the page.

Pollutant Concentrations

Last yr or so they use pm2.5 too right.?

WussRedXLi

Last yr or so they use pm2.5 too right.?

NEA started using PM2.5 *only* for its 3-hr PSI figures this 2014 March.

There had been reports of doing 1hr PSI (PM2.5) also but did not implement that.

If they did, the very bad conditions just now would have been clearly reflected.

My mum was lucky to have hurried back as she smelled the haze, took the MRT back from Vivo ASAP. Even such short 30-60 mins exposure out in the open, her eyes teared and became red a few hours later despite having air purifier relief at home.

Tech_Freak

Ok, so for bedroom a28 is good (any other recommendations?)

For the living room: Whirlpool AP628W vs. Samsung AX40H5000
- consumption: 65w vs. 34w
- coverage: 37 m2 vs. 41 m2
- airflow: 201 m3/h vs. 323 m3/h
- noise: 58/49/40 db vs. 45 db
- both true HEPA
- whirlpool: photocatalyst, uv lamp, ionizer (these useful?)
- ~ S$240 vs. ~$285

any other recommendations for the living room?

Getting one for bedroom and one for living room as baby is arriving soon!

Thanks!

WussRedXLi

Living room - not really useful lah. Can skip if you want.
Coz likely you'd need air conditioning if you want to "protect" the living room as well.

But then again, if the haze is prolonged, it's very kang kor to keep the infant/kids couped up in the bedroom.

So I wouldn't fault you if you want to get 2. :)

Get 2 x A28? More flexibility.
Don't worry, the A28 still can clean the living room "ok". Just takes longer nia. So it's the initial startup that suffers. In real life, not too big an issue or difference.
Why? Coz during haze periods like on Sunday, Wed-Thur, and today, you'd likely to gun the purifier 24/7 till it clears. :D

But the Shgarp A28 is somewhat noisy, compared to the Samsung AX40.

sinkie4life

- both true HEPA
- ~ S$240 vs. ~$285

Thanks!

Solely on specifications, Samsung seems better. Lower power consumption but with higher airflow. Airflow determines how quickly the air purifier can clean the air in your room so I would place that feature on a higher priority. Price wise not much difference so I will go with the Samsung.

PhantomGTR

how does this compare to Honywell 50250?

- both true HEPA
- ~ S$240 vs. ~$285

Thanks!

WussRedXLi

how does this compare to Honywell 50250?

50250 is very loud leh, and energy inefficient esp with transformer.
It consumes some 5X more energy overall compared to say a Samsung AX40. ie if it takes 7 dollars a month for the AX40 then it'd take 35 dollars a month for the 50250.

But the 50250 was cheap last time on Amazon with free ship (don't ask how the folks got that). I think sometimes as low as usd123 I believe.

I'd not recommend the 50250 nowadays. Last time, maybe so.

Samsung AX40 went as low as S$265 shipped on qoo10, now I think the cheapest is $290 or so. (most are ard $300 mark)

WussRedXLi

Samsung AX20 now only SGD239 via FedEx. Good deal.

Ok, so it's about 1/2 less airflow than the AX40. But well, you'd probably get less noise also based on my experience with the AX40, so it's good for very light sleepers. Models like Sharp A40/A50, A28 won't be good for light sleepers in max fan speed.

It's definitely good enough for your bedrooms, even master bedrooms. If PSI 500 then perhaps not enough kick for the master bedroom, other than that it'd definitely do. :)

Qoo10 - Samsung Air Purifier Fresh Cleaner Pre Filter HEPA Filter Deodorizing ... : Household Goods

WussRedXLi

anyone know where to get good masks to standby? Thanks.

Just get a few pieces from NTUC Unity. You won't really need it this year. I think they sell 4pcs per pack at S$6.50 at Unity. V-flex 9105. Same as your haze preparedness pack.

Amazon is cheapest for authentic 3M N95s, just a month ago they were selling a box of 20 x 3M 9210 for usd4.86. But to get freeshipping at usd125 might be a bit of a problem for some. Last year, many of us got it for usd7 to usd10 per box.

Local for 9210 is S$78 per box of 20. 8210 NTUC selling S$44 I think. :crazy:

9210 is individually packed and sealed. 8210 is not individually packed.

I was using the 9210 yesterday at 5pm with about AQI of 300 (250 micrograms per m3 spot measurement of PM2.5) as I had to run an errand for about an hour then. The seal is extremely good. Magnitudes better than the 8210 or 1860.

Pls ensure a proper fit. I saw an auntie wearing the 9105 V-Flex with huge lobangs at the side. :eek:

E382B9E382AFE383AAE383BCE383B3E382B7E383A7E38383E38388202013-02-122018.19.35.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.