chuanz

ipaq4444

AX40 can switch off.

You can search from here. It's better that you do the research.
¿ÕÆø¹ýÂËÍø _ÌÔ±¦ËÑË÷

AX40's filter size is 11 inches x 12 inches x 2 inch depth.
1 inch = 2.54cm. So that's 280mm x 305mm....get something that is bigger than this. What you then do is to trim one or two sides. Use scotchtape to tape up the sides so as to reduce BYPASS (V important).
Depth you can get 1.2 inch to 1.5 inch, no issue.

Or you can save the trouble and just get the replacement filter from qoo. Authentic Samsung H13 replacement filter. It's SGD80 thereabouts if you buy together with the AX40.

The only good thing about buying from taobao is if you are aiming to use the purifier very very often, and also you have other purchases from taobao so you just add on to your orders. So maybe you can get 4 replacement filters in 1 shot to save.

The lifespan of the HEPA is about 12 months, though you can push to 18 months.

If you are just using occasionally, no point, just get the original and be done with it.

For taobao forwarding queries, post in the official taobao thread here :
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/e...taobao-buying-guide-part-4-a-4743493-372.html

PS. One thing is that the haze should be over by the time your hoot comes.

Does it mean that if I switch off the Plasma, there will not be any ozone?
cos buying for baby in the room....

WussRedXLi

The challenge is to have them wear it rather than buying it... hehe... my 10mth old will pull off anything u try to put on her face.

10 mth is too small lah. They'd need to be of the age that displays obedience to you.

But really, for them they'd need air purifier(s). Don't think couping them in a small room is fun and conducive for their development.

Lets recap, the haze has been around since Sept 1. 21 days now, 5 days of which are visibly unhealthy, 16 of which are very very slightly hazy but I suppose can go without air purification unless they are really allergic type.

None of these days really require a mask for outdoors (say going to school or play group), save yesterday 2hrs.

But really, masks for kids a bit waste money. Not much use, just keep them indoors ba. Perhaps for a rare few they have use, say driving in the car coz need to visit grandmother. But for the majority, maybe not.

WussRedXLi

If I wear the N95 mask now, will people take my picture and post it on STOMP?

I did wear it yesterday, not many stares. But yes got some looks.
To heck with the looks, coz I needed to do something at my mum's place and I had to walk over else they will suffer the haze while in the living room (bedroom purifier liao), and to buy dinner for my own family.

It's common in Japan, South Korea, Thailand, Taiwan, China, HK etc though. Due to the huge 2003 SARS scare in some countries like HK/Taiwan/China.

EDMW different, people here bought full face respirators with N100 filters from Amazon last year. Jin satki.

But if you do intend to wear it for long periods (eg salesman or taxi driver spending a lot of time on the road), do search for FFP-1 masks with exhaust valve on taobao. Brand is UVEX. UVEX does not get cheonged much in China, 3M gets cheonged often.
Else you might get a headache with the N95.
FFP-1 is 80%, much less resistance, exhaust valve helps with the expiration.

WussRedXLi

Does it mean that if I switch off the Plasma, there will not be any ozone?
cos buying for baby in the room....

Confirm no ozone then. Plasma/ion/whatever name, if implemented properly, shd not emit ozone that is over the limit.

Gloom me

Any kind soul can direct me where I can buy the AC Convertor? To use US equipment here locally.

SLT? Which shop? Thanks.

Tech_Freak

how many hours do you guys usually turn on the purifiers? From what time to what time?

I read somewhere that units with ionizers, the ionizer is recommended to be turned off when you are at home and turned on when you are away, is that true?

WussRedXLi

Any kind soul can direct me where I can buy the AC Convertor? To use US equipment here locally.

SLT? Which shop? Thanks.

Get the ones with safety mark can liao. Also, use something that is rated 4X and above. eg, your purifier is 80W, get a minimum 320W one.

WussRedXLi

how many hours do you guys usually turn on the purifiers? From what time to what time?

I read somewhere that units with ionizers, the ionizer is recommended to be turned off when you are at home and turned on when you are away, is that true?

Differs from person to person. It's like air conditioning. Just use, esp if it does not consume much power.

Ionizers not much use actually, very small effect. The main thing that is doing all the hardwork is the HEPA, for our current interest. After that is the activated charcoal that adsorbs smell and VOCs.

Gloom me

Get the ones with safety mark can liao. Also, use something that is rated 4X and above. eg, your purifier is 80W, get a minimum 320W one.

Hey thanks. Can you help by linking an example of the convertor? Just a simple link to a pic or something. So I know what to look for when looking for one. Thanks.

WussRedXLi

Bro...all here man.

https://www.google.com.sg/search?q=...a=X&ei=qDMgVOm9CcS8ugSL1oDQCQ&ved=0CAYQ_AUoAQ

Burning with renewed vigour.

Forget about simi helicopter bomb or seeding lah. basket.
Just let nature resume its magic hand.

Wait, that'd be in early October. :crazy:

Next few days.... if SE wind, we are pretty safe. SSE over at southern Sumatra and S here, jialuck. If SSW or SW here in Singapore, possible re-enactment of Sunday evening's scenario.

psi-outlook-22sep14(v1800lt)-(3).png

plasticpistola

50250 is very loud leh, and energy inefficient esp with transformer.
It consumes some 5X more energy overall compared to say a Samsung AX40. ie if it takes 7 dollars a month for the AX40 then it'd take 35 dollars a month for the 50250.

But the 50250 was cheap last time on Amazon with free ship (don't ask how the folks got that). I think sometimes as low as usd123 I believe.

I'd not recommend the 50250 nowadays. Last time, maybe so.

Samsung AX40 went as low as S$265 shipped on qoo10, now I think the cheapest is $290 or so. (most are ard $300 mark)

Ya the 50250 is really loud on the highest setting but walao didn't know the energy consumption so high w transformer leh :eek: :eek:

Is there anyway to get an electrician to change it to 220v so no need to use transformer ah?

WussRedXLi

Ya the 50250 is really loud on the highest setting but walao didn't know the energy consumption so high w transformer leh :eek: :eek:

Is there anyway to get an electrician to change it to 220v so no need to use transformer ah?

You probably won't use High for more than a short while I guess....so it's better. Still, low is 50W and medium 120W. (High is 170W, 187W with transformer?). And you can add approx. 10% to those figures due to the transformer loss. So it's wasting 5W and 12W worst case?
Ard there lah.

Of coz, the Samsung AX40 moves ~ 25% less air than the 50250, but it consumes 34W nia. AX40 is 323m3/h or 190CFM. 50250 is 250CFM or 420m3/h. 187W vs 34W.
AX40 uses a 300Vdc brushless motor.

Moreover, in high and medium speed, the 50250 is bound to add a wee bit of heat load to the room, further needing more energy for the aircon to pump it out of the room. That's additional 150W of heat energy (if we use 187W-34W). A 9000BTU/h aircon uses some 800W of AC off the back of my hand, cooling capacity is about 2700W or joules per sec.

So 150/2700 * 800W = 44 watts off the AC to cool the heat generated by the 50250 (vs AX40)?
Medium speed, I reckon about 30+ watts.

stam

Just get a few pieces from NTUC Unity. You won't really need it this year. I think they sell 4pcs per pack at S$6.50 at Unity. V-flex 9105. Same as your haze preparedness pack.

Amazon is cheapest for authentic 3M N95s, just a month ago they were selling a box of 20 x 3M 9210 for usd4.86. But to get freeshipping at usd125 might be a bit of a problem for some. Last year, many of us got it for usd7 to usd10 per box.

Local for 9210 is S$78 per box of 20. 8210 NTUC selling S$44 I think. :crazy:

9210 is individually packed and sealed. 8210 is not individually packed.

I was using the 9210 yesterday at 5pm with about AQI of 300 (250 micrograms per m3 spot measurement of PM2.5) as I had to run an errand for about an hour then. The seal is extremely good. Magnitudes better than the 8210 or 1860.

Pls ensure a proper fit. I saw an auntie wearing the 9105 V-Flex with huge lobangs at the side. :eek:

E382B9E382AFE383AAE383BCE383B3E382B7E383A7E38383E38388202013-02-122018.19.35.png

Bro,
most selling > 15USD. They up price? or i did not find the correct seller?

WussRedXLi

Bro,
most selling > 15USD. They up price? or i did not find the correct seller?

Amazon's price goes up and down. You gotta catch them at the correct time, which I admit is impossible for those who don't buy occasionally from Amazon. :) But for those buying occasionally and have this added to their cart ever since June 2013's haze, should have stocked up decently.

BTW, you buy only from amazon.com directly, in order to get the free ship.

Price history. Dipped quite a few times below usd10.
3M 9210 N95 Particulate Respirator, 3 Panel, Flat Fold, H1N1 Masks | Amazon price tracker / tracking, Amazon price history charts, Amazon price watches, Amazon price drop alerts | camelcamelcamel.com

WussRedXLi

Currently is 16.16, a bit bo hua lah. Just get the 4-pack V-flex at $6.50 from NTUC Unity first. See if you have other items to get from Amazon, don't buy for the sake of buying though. :D

For me (and others), I buy quite a fair bit of stuff from Amazon like Fisher price, baby items, toys etc. So no issue.

Their stock is brand new + fresh and expiry is 5 years. I checked my batch number on 3M's site last year, I bought in July 2013 thereabouts and expiry is 2018 as reported on 3M site (See the 3M SG facebook page).

WussRedXLi

anyone who put in the living room but no air-con?

Can check the past 8 pages...I mentioned in detail that it'd work pretty decently, just not optimally. But it'd work esp for longer periods of prolonged haze. Ensure that most of the doors/windows are closed.

It'd be hot, but better than triggering your rhinitis and headache and worst of all...asthma attack. (if you are in the sensitive group). If hot, just go bathe cold water ba.

You just can't take Panadol constantly due to headaches for the past total of 6 cumultive days (> AQI 100 PM2.5) with 2hrs last Sun as very serious haze.
I was affected more by headaches than running/blocked nose.

Edit - actually the haze started since Sept 1st, just very slight then. If you are sensitive, then that matters.

AQI PM2.5 24-hr figures, AQI tends to be slightly higher than PSI. (take it as kph and mph)

157247274.4KLtxC4J.haze4sep1900.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.