Air purifier?

uRiZEn

Expensive leh.... get the LG model that is mentioned above. Literally the same for much less.

PS. Really end of Haze season liao.
Any purchases now would really be for "next year". :D

But if for daily use at night, I guess just buy then.

Can recommend any purifier? Want to use it to deodorise pet smell as well. Just now went to Courts to see see look look, almost want to hoot the Sharp KCA40EB.:(
But the girl can't tell me much just kept pushing me to get the Kudos KPA1 say got 6 filters but dunno eat how much electricity etc.

WussRedXLi

Can recommend any purifier? Want to use it to deodorise pet smell as well. Just now went to Courts to see see look look, almost want to hoot the Sharp KCA40EB.:(
But the girl can't tell me much just kept pushing me to get the Kudos KPA1 say got 6 filters but dunno eat how much electricity etc.

Deodorising pet smell is not easy. You'd need heck loads of activated charcoal, but it seems like baking soda works faster. I'd not bank on getting an air purifier to significantly freshen up pet smell.

Just get the LG LA-Q379SB with 1 filter on qoo10. Additional filter is just S$38. After that, get some HEPA filter from taobao and DIY cut and squeeze into the appliance, if qoo10 stop selling or it is expensive. It's pretty cheap on TB.

chuanz

My side viz just deteriorated to Monday levels over the last 30 mins... hope is the cooling down causing misty and not real haze...

chuanz

PSI not avail from midnight to 10am due to scheduled maintenance, according to NEA website.

wallhwc

Both are probably around the same. The Samsung looks nicer to me.

The LG is a wee wee bit noisier, 1.5dB noisier for the same airflow.

LG has washable HEPA. I have inspected the filter before, such things look like that it has some additional mesh on the HEPA filter media so that it does not break down or get compromised much.

However I think it's just to clean the surface thingy. HEPA media by definition is cannot be washed coz it would be compromised.

Don't expect to get much trapped ultra small particles out of the filter just by flushing it. I guess can help maybe 20-30% nia.

Thanks for the reply.

So, the LG filter is pretty much the same with rainbow vacuum?

I've actually got the rainbow vacuum, but it is too power consuming to on it for hours and is super noisy. When it is on, it scare the hell out of my dogs.:s13:

WussRedXLi

This time and day dunno why still need to take a website down for 10 hours to do maintenance.

:s13::s13::s13:

Scheduled maintainence die die must go on, coz asked vendor come and do liao.

That means if got spike overnight, we won't know. :(

mosmos

Fair price Xtra have some no-brand models

still got $99 mah~

qR8i95U.jpg

WussRedXLi

My side viz just deteriorated to Monday levels over the last 30 mins... hope is the cooling down causing misty and not real haze...

Bo leh......didn't show on the graph. Ok, maybe just a wee wee bit.

157771712.S4S0GBhD.oct11D.jpg

WussRedXLi

still got $99 mah~

Yeah...hoot the Sharp A28 much better. Doubt NTUC Xtra will sell Taiyo or whatever lower range brands cheaply also.

But if die die need an air purifier nao coz the daughter or some family member kena asthma, and one's budget is low, then LLST also have to get from XTRA.

WussRedXLi

Thanks for the reply.

So, the LG filter is pretty much the same with rainbow vacuum?

I've actually got the rainbow vacuum, but it is too power consuming to on it for hours and is super noisy. When it is on, it scare the hell out of my dogs.:s13:

The rainbow vacuum makes a nice heater as well. Unfortunately we are in tropical Singapore. :s13: And I am sure there will be a smell, coz HEPA does not take care of smell molecules, they are way too small (measured in angstroms, 10 angstroms = 1 nanometre.

Yes, same HEPA technology. Actually a lot of other vacuums use HEPA also. My Philips got a HEPA-10 dust bag and then a HEPA-13 exhaust filter (with rubber seal also, so pretty good).

The HEPA-13 exhaust filter costs SGD49 at say Best Denki, OG etc. I got 3M-brand H13 replacements from Amazon, usd9.8 nia. :s22: I got 3pcs.

Above usd125 per order got free ship. :)

WussRedXLi

Yah, maybe it's really just condensate on the suspended particles in air... pretty cooling outside...

Confirm is still got weak smell nao. Coz I always walk in and out of the room with purifier + aircon @ 27 deg thermostat (actually whole day liao :s22:).

Too bad about the MIA 1-hr NEA readings tonight. Can only rely on 3-hr PSI on mewr.gov.sg
Don't think myENV app will work also, they have 1-hr concentration listed.

uRiZEn

Deodorising pet smell is not easy. You'd need heck loads of activated charcoal, but it seems like baking soda works faster. I'd not bank on getting an air purifier to significantly freshen up pet smell.

Just get the LG LA-Q379SB with 1 filter on qoo10. Additional filter is just S$38. After that, get some HEPA filter from taobao and DIY cut and squeeze into the appliance, if qoo10 stop selling or it is expensive. It's pretty cheap on TB.

Thanks i will just get a sharp i reckon since it consume less electricity than the LG

WussRedXLi

Tonight is going to be somewhat tough for some people. Or rather tomorrow and Monday when the symptoms show.

157772857.VfEJHi0O.oct11e.jpg

157772854.s0qaBNo4.oct11D.jpg

WussRedXLi

Literally windless after 2030h. The particulate matter will be "stuck" and accumulate.

Can actually monitor weather underground.

Weather History for Singapore, Singapore | Weather Underground

WRX? Can show how u place ur activated charcoal on ur AC?

TIA

Aircon fan coil unit has top intakes, so I just place the laundry bags with AC (not a lot, just a thin layer for more exposed surface area) there. Won't cut much of the airflow.

fixed_speed_fcu_dai.jpg

tmkedmw

PSI not avail from midnight to 10am due to scheduled maintenance, according to NEA website.

Below available when I checked at 00:30hrs
All regions in the red with south at 67ug/m3

Also, pm announced is now shorter, midnite to 5am.

http://www.haze.gov.sg/haze-updates/pollutant-concentrations/type/PM25-1Hr#pollutant

chuanz

Below available when I checked at 00:30hrs
All regions in the red with south at 67ug/m3

Also, pm announced is now shorter, midnite to 5am.

http://www.haze.gov.sg/haze-updates/pollutant-concentrations/type/PM25-1Hr#pollutant
Cool. Actually I think the readings are still coming in, just may not be updated until after the downtime.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.