"Problem" is that many agencies like WHO and EPA also state 24hr. This is also our ministar's stance.
However, EPA starts advisories for Sensitive Groups from 36ug/m3 and WHO recommends keeping it below 25ug/m3.
For us, we only start at 56ug/m3 (PSI 100) and the next level up is a big jump at 150ug/m3.
MOH recommends that a N95 needs to be used when a healthy pax is outdoors for several hours only if the PSI is > 300 for several hours. A N95 does not need to be used for short exposures like trips to the shopping mall or to and fro office commuting trips.
PSI 300 is probably 250ug/m3 thereabouts.
Calculate how fast the daily recommended limit of 25 or 35ug/m3 24hrs avg threshold will be reached.
Actually, part of the answer can already be found in the spreadsheet pic that i posted a few times. It doesnt take much to exceed the threshold even for just now's haze.
I would say that even the regular China citizen's standard is also more kiasee than MOH's standard.
Sauce :
FAQ: Use of masks and availability of masks | Ministry of Health
N95 masks are not needed for short exposure, like commuting from home to school or work, travel from bus-stop to shopping mall. N95 masks are also not needed in an indoor environment.
Contrast with the Malaysian education ministry's call to stop school when it goes above 200.![]()
Pm2.5 is 159 as of 4.30am today
Actually, let's say if the number for pm2.5 is above 130, is it necessary to wear n95 masks to n fro from work/shopping:makan?
Yesterday with the # at 179, I can see see leisure cyclists on the road. Think like a bro said earlier, haze no smell is really quite dangerous.

I think you mean an AQI of 159. Heh heh, coz initially when you mentiond 159,i thought it's PM2.5 concentration of 159ug/m3 which is like frigging high.
MOH only recommends N95s for healthy individuals when they need to be outdoors for a few hours.
1. Who should use a N95 mask? When?
N95 masks are not needed for short exposure, like commuting from home to school or work, travel from bus-stop to shopping mall. N95 masks are also not needed in an indoor environment.
A healthy person who has to be outdoors for several hours when the air quality is in the hazardous range (PSI >300) may reduce exposure by wearing a N95 mask.
People with chronic lung or heart disease, elderly, and pregnant women should avoid or minimize outdoor activity when the air quality is very unhealthy (PSI > 200). If they have to be outdoors for several hours , they may reduce exposure by wearing a N95 mask.
You should take a break from using a N95 mask if you feel uncomfortable. Elderly, pregnant women and people with severe lung or heart problems who have difficulty breathing at rest or on exertion should consult their doctor as to whether they should use the N95 mask.
Women in the 2nd and 3rd trimesters of pregnancy may already have reduced lung volumes or breathing issues. They should stop using a N95 mask if they feel uncomfortable.
Source :
FAQ: Use of masks and availability of masks | Ministry of Health

Morning, bro!
Paiseh I thought they put the words PM2.5 next to the big big # means that's the # of the PM2.5
Right now the # says 151 - so that's the AQI?
Simi is AQI![]()
Morning, bro!
Paiseh I thought they put the words PM2.5 next to the big big # means that's the # of the PM2.5
Right now the # says 151 - so that's the AQI?
Simi is AQI![]()
I'm looking to purchase an air purifier for use in my room.
Comparing between novita NAP. 611-I and honeywell model 18200..
Any bro here can give me some advice?
Tia!
I'm looking to purchase an air purifier for use in my room.
Comparing between novita NAP. 611-I and honeywell model 18200..
Any bro here can give me some advice?
Tia!
rest of the time I put back in orginal package and seal it 
Go and buy Sharp ones... it good and lasting... using sharp to clear areas size 21m2 since last yr... only use it when haze camerest of the time I put back in orginal package and seal it
didnt buy enough for the whole house![]()
Go and buy Sharp ones... it good and lasting... using sharp to clear areas size 21m2 since last yr... only use it when haze camerest of the time I put back in orginal package and seal it
didnt buy enough for the whole house![]()

Jin satki...nowadays many electrical and electronic stuff not like that already.I have 1 Sharp FU-425 that have last me for about 10yrs lao. Hardware still solid, just DIY the filter. Forgot the area size but only uses 25W![]()
Jin satki...nowadays many electrical and electronic stuff not like that already.
My air purifier died cause inside the part they never place proper. My son drop a mouse on top them one of the part came lose... And killed the whole fan turning thing..