Air purifier?

ipaq4444

I'd get 2 x Samsung AX40. 1 for the kids room and 1 for the living room.
If there is a need, get the 3rd purifier. (eg PC room)

During the 2014 episode, we had an extended period of haze, albeit levels not as high as 2013. The interesting thing about extended period is that there is no way to keep the kids in a single room for very long periods. It'd be unproductive and terrible for the parents as they'd throw tantrums.

but will Samsung ax40 will give out ozone by product even if I close the iodizer off?

WussRedXLi

but will Samsung ax40 will give out ozone by product even if I close the iodizer off?

Of course not. Also, ioniser does not mean ozone leh.

Devices from Sharp, Samsung etc gives off extremely low levels of ozone.
Much much lower than the safe limit. They are all certified to be safe.

Detailed list here :

Hazardous Ozone-Generating Air Purifiers

WussRedXLi

PM10, then PM2.5 then PM1. Wonder what's next?

There is a category call UFP (ultra fine particles) which are <100nm or <0.1um.
Research on their health impact is still in relatively early stage.

My gut feel is that as the decades roll, more regulations will be introduced to govern the finer and finer particles.

0.02 to 0.1 microns range, really need ULPA filters liao. I believe the earlier taobao link, that H13 is effective at 85% @ 0.1 microns. That's good enough.

Also, the airflow can't be too high. A 305mm x 305mm x 69mm U15 filter can only do 230 m3/h. 69mm depth = 2.7 inch thick. :eek:

Our biomass haze still pretty easy to filter with H13, at 0.15 microns upward.

lifeishard

took the plunge and order the samsung ax40h at qoo10 @369 with extra filter.

hope the delivery goes well and that this AP can get rid of my aircon musty smell, cigarette smoke smell from toilet, cooking fumes smell from kitchen whenever wife cooks...and overall a healthier body for all in the house.:D

WussRedXLi

hope the delivery goes well and that this AP can get rid of my aircon musty smell, cigarette smoke smell from toilet, cooking fumes smell from kitchen whenever wife cooks...and overall a healthier body for all in the house.:D

Cool.

Don't expect too much from the smells though from the stock unit. What you need is to ID the source of the smell.

To significantly reduce the musty smell in "real-time", you'd probably need a few KGs of that activated charcoal I recommended on taobao. :D

http://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=16306475878&spm=a1z09.2.9.182.0eRYLr&_u=l1u0hcib1ae3

Case in point. I have 14 bags (50g each) of the activated charcoal. My 12-mths kid just pee-ed on the bedsheet. I put my nose close to it and smelled, there is a strong smell. He is eating meat now mah...
The 14-bags are unable to remove the smell.

I have tested before with some smelly clothes in the room and after that I removed the clothes after confirming by walking in and out of the room and able to ID that there is a smell. After just 30mins, no smell. My windows + toilet windows all shut + AC and purifier......very airtight one.

So you MUST remove the contamination source. It's like buying 3pcs of Samsung AX40, you can't expect it to remove enough of the smoke with a person smoking in the room. (blowing the smoke directly into the intakes is another matter liao)

WussRedXLi

I think better not get the HF-230 now that there is taobao.

The HF-230 is a 1-inch/25mm thick unit. The stock one is 1.5 inch for the HEPA, another 0.5 inch goes to the Activated Charcoal portion. You will get a bit of reduced airflow.

The HF-230 fits the Sharp A28 though. Read 2 pages before this.

plasticpistola

1 month during Oct - Nov haze period, is quite siong.

If 1 month for the excellent air quality thatvwe are getting nowadays, is a piece of cake. :s12:

Nevetheless, just vacuum out all the visible dust on the surface. You won't be able to get all out I guess, but majority. Shd be somewhat ok lah.

If you touch any HEPA filter, you'd find a rough surface on one side and a smoother surface on the other side. The rough surface is like a hard netting that allows the other side's smoother "ultra fine polyethylene fibres" to bind to it. So in effect, this hard surface is like another prefilter. But it's not a prefilter, and it cannot hold much dust before clogging and it's difficult to remove the dust.

The fine particulate matter say PM2.5 would easily get past this hard layer but will be caught by the ultra fine fibres.

wrx bro, you're referring to the surface dust on where the pre-filter should be ya?

EatSnakeWarrior

Interesting, air con is new installed during March 14. Used Jackie aircon foam cleaner before. Perhaps the musky smell is from your carpet/rug/wallpaper/curtains/bedsheet? Can you stand in front of the aircon FCU and smell?

I'd still recommend the Samsung AX40, it has 2X the volume of HEPA. NAP501's HEPA filter portion is just 0.75 inches thick.

I thought it's S$292 cheapest now. It got as cheap as S$270 i believe.

Qoo10 - Samsung AX40 Search Results : (Q·Ranking)

You can get those cheap thermo and humidity meter from ebay. Bring the aircon temperature to about 25 and 24 deg C. The humidity will be lower.

should I add in the filter option? I live near the highway and am quite allergic to dust

Asakura

its best to get smth that can turn off ionizer den taking the chance with the 'below safe level'
my own opinion

Sent from GAGT Android App

Asakura

Interesting, air con is new installed during March 14. Used Jackie aircon foam cleaner before. Perhaps the musky smell is from your carpet/rug/wallpaper/curtains/bedsheet? Can you stand in front of the aircon FCU and smell?

I'd still recommend the Samsung AX40, it has 2X the volume of HEPA. NAP501's HEPA filter portion is just 0.75 inches thick.

I thought it's S$292 cheapest now. It got as cheap as S$270 i believe.

Qoo10 - Samsung AX40 Search Results : (Q·Ranking)

You can get those cheap thermo and humidity meter from ebay. Bring the aircon temperature to about 25 and 24 deg C. The humidity will be lower.

i bought at 375 with filter

Asakura

:s13: u'll be using the extra filter sooner lol

Asakura

I bought it without the filter, because the Q&A stated that it comes with one.....
how often should I change the filter?

i haven't change mine yet, im guessing 12mths
maybe WRX can verify, i think he just changed his iirc

Asakura

oh i just saw, u live near highway..u'll probably need to change earlier.

WussRedXLi

I bought it without the filter, because the Q&A stated that it comes with one.....
how often should I change the filter?

Singapore's context with haze, 12 months. Some instances with certain air purifiers, you may notice a smell coming out from the output coz the HEPA catches all the PM, and the PM does have a certain smell.

Not sure about your near expressway location. Perhaps you can update us.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.