Air purifier?

lifeishard

Totally not advisable. It will put up a lot of resistance to the fan coil unit even at high fan speed. Unless you do not switch on the air-con compressor.

Use this instead. And even then, do get a bottle of air-con foam cleaner and clean up your FCU first. When using this, make sure you switch on the fan speed to the highest.

You can also stick some to your fans to provide more filtration.

They do work, but just a wee bit only. So it won't be useful for say over 70ug/m3 or PSI 115 scenarios. In 2014 1-hr PSIs, we hit over that many times and for many hours.

Over the long run, it will cost a lot. More advisable to get an air purifier.

3M

T2SlwiXclaXXXXXXXX_!!865693267.jpg

T2dA.iXjJXXXXXXXXX_!!865693267.jpg

can i stick some magic clean dust paper on my aircon filter to achieve some 'purification'? but my magic clean is those knock off that u can buy for $1 per pack type lolz.

WussRedXLi

can i stick some magic clean dust paper on my aircon filter to achieve some 'purification'? but my magic clean is those knock off that u can buy for $1 per pack type lolz.

No way, the majority of haze particles experienced here is PM2.5, specifically in the 0.15 to 0.4 micron range for Indonesian biomass burning (underground peat).

Last year was much closer to SG (about 200km away nia), hence PM10 was also elevated in addition to PM2.5 levels. PM10 cannot "float" as far as PM2.5.

lifeishard

sorry...anyone can advise how to order from taobao? it asked me for china mobile number for registration, am i missing something?

WussRedXLi

sorry...anyone can advise how to order from taobao? it asked me for china mobile number for registration, am i missing something?

You can check a few posts above this...i posted the link to the official taobao buying thread. You can also goggle for 'taobao singapore international forwarding'.

There is a slight learning curve....but taobao is v useful. For some esp with kids, taobao and amazon saved them what they can earn in 1 year, no joke.

lala81

Sorry. What i meant was with the frame, how u going to cut up your hepa filter?

Haha....nope. I probably paid an additional 4kg (Shenzhen to SIN) worth of shipping for the frame. ie RMB24 x 4 / 4.70 exchange rat = SGD20. :(

China local courier 快递 is flat rate.

Only advantage is that the aluminium frame provides protection. It's wrapped in 2 layers of cardboard but it's really flat in nature, hence I don't think the edge cardboard can hold up. But 4PX tompangs DHL, local leg is Speedpost. I think not too bad.

4PX would give plastic wrapping, or alibaba bag. That's if you have multiple items.

Second pic is the wrapping from the manufacturer

chompchomp

You can check a few posts above this...i posted the link to the official taobao buying thread. You can also goggle for 'taobao singapore international forwarding'.

There is a slight learning curve....but taobao is v useful. For some esp with kids, taobao and amazon saved them what they can earn in 1 year, no joke.

Not really cause i dont spend so much before taobao come out.. :s13::s13::s13:

chompchomp

But then again, your concern is valid since the machine is going to be really useful as it's shared amongst your kids.

White noise (eg your Sharp A28) is I guess ok for some, esp if your intention is for daytime playroom or living room usage, like what happened this year where it was low in level but very prolonged for 2+ months.
But you have to be mindful, what i'm afraid is that the fan might be unbalanced and cause rubbing noises etc. I guess you can overlook issues like minor fit and finishing.

Then again, the Sharp is no more $99, but $115-119 liao.

Check this out @ RMB299
·ÉÀûÆÖºËÐļ¼Êõ¿ÕÆø¾»»¯Æ÷¼ÒÓóý¼×È©/pm2.5/ɱ¾ú/³ýÎíö²/¶þÊÖÑÌ-ÌÔ±¦Íø

I am checking that (299rmb) out but about the specs they nv write.. does it fit what i need?

WussRedXLi

Sorry. What i meant was with the frame, how u going to cut up your hepa filter?

There is a white plastic mesh covering the whole HEPA meda. Use a wire cutter or plier cutter to snip out the mesh.

First, cut and/or tear the edge of the HEPA media from the aluminium frame. I guess you can also try to dismantle the frame, not that easy I believe but I don't have them tools to snip off the rivets.

The store is located at Shenzen, can alww (IM) the seller and see if can get RMB30 or so shipping. It changed to RMB100 now. The ULPA U15 (99.9997% @ 0.12 microns MPPS) is still RMB30.

I bought the filter at RMB185 + 30 = RM215 only or RMB53 per piece (!!! :eek::eek:. I am talking about True H13/H14 grade HEPA element, built for ISO 10000-100 purposes and DOP/PAO leak test verifiable.....that is why it needs the mesh + aluminium frame to maintain structure integrity during shipment. The quality is way above your typical Honeywell/Sharp/Blueair HEPA you see @ Taka
Shipping to SG is RMB132, unfortunately. This can cut out to 4pcs.
And remember, this is a 46mm thick filter, if you do a search, this thickness is gonna cost.

For the regular cardboard sides HEPA (4pcs), it's going to about 2.5kg or 60RMB. But they cost quite a fair bit more, eg RMB 80-100 each piece. And they are the 30-32mm thickness, not 46mm which do cost more.

For the purpose of replacing the Samsung AX40 filter which has a filter cavity depth of 2 inches/50mm, this is the best i can find on taobao, way ahead of the rest.

chompchomp

There is a white plastic mesh covering the whole HEPA meda. Use a wire cutter or plier cutter to snip out the mesh.

First, cut and/or tear the edge of the HEPA media from the aluminium frame. I guess you can also try to dismantle the frame, not that easy I believe but I don't have them tools to snip off the rivets.

The store is located at Shenzen, can alww (IM) the seller and see if can get RMB30 or so shipping. It changed to RMB100 now. The ULPA is still RMB30.

I bought the filter at RMB185 + 30 = RM215 only or RMB53 per piece (!!! :eek::eek:. I am talking about True H13/H14 grade HEPA element, built for ISO 10000-100 purposes and DOP/PAO leak test verifiable.....that is why it needs the mesh + aluminium frame to maintain structure integrity during shipment. The quality is way above your typical Honeywell/Sharp/Blueair HEPA you see @ Taka
Shipping to SG is RMB132, unfortunately. This can cut out to 4pcs.
And remember, this is a 46mm thick filter, if you do a search, this thickness is gonna cost.

For the regular cardboard sides HEPA (4pcs), it's going to about 2.5kg or 60RMB. But they cost quite a fair bit more, eg RMB 80-100 each piece. And they are the 30-32mm thickness, not 46mm which do cost more.

For the purpose of replacing the Samsung AX40 filter which has a filter cavity depth of 2 inches/50mm, this is the best i can find on taobao, way ahead of the rest.
does taobao sell the round thing to replace my air filter for the sharp one? I tried finding on taobao cant find..
any idea if replacement how much

centrifugal_fan_20130403-23314-1ufa3mc-0_preview_featured.jpg

WussRedXLi

Not really cause i dont spend so much before taobao come out.. :s13::s13::s13:

I know what you mean lah... :s13:

I tell you a story, and since this is an Air Purifier thread and you are a mum yourself, there is actually an "air purifier" element in it.

I know a pal whose partner is an AM. Don't ask me how i know, the pay is 4k + 7k).
Her side has kids with the AM and the AM himself got 2 small kids from prev marriage. So total 4, and you know parental help is not there (AM is alone anyway). But still for lifestyle, locally the AM must die die drive conti car to the tune of ~ 200k. There is no savings on either side, both just clear their debts anyway.

So got unborned, 1 yr toddler and young kids. However there is nothing much that's left to spend on local retail, i don't know why for whatever personal reasons, they don't buy online stuff either. I recommend air purifiers, but a Sharp A40 costs S$429 which is too expensive.....and seriously you'd need 2 or 3 units for the whole family. For 2014 haze which was very extended in period, i guess you can't expect everyone to be holed up in the room. so what they did was to switch on aircon to beat the haze, and which i have mentioned before that doesn't exactly work for 2014 haze in which 70 days were above WHO levels and 48 days above USA EPA Unhealthy levels based on the 24-hr mean figure, due to unborned fetus and 1 x 12 months infant/toddler.

Note : good office buildings would take care a decent part of the PM2.5 with the filtration in the HVAC/AHUs, provided they do not cut cost on the filters.

Fisher price toys you see in Taka, $49-129. I got a S$129 mobile for just usd13.99, enough said.

Got money to spend on 200k conti, but no money for air purifiers. Of coz, it's not my life. :s22:

So there, that's the sad life here if you believe only in local retail and local childcare/infantcare, depending on family circumstances + earning power. And of coz, cars....

WussRedXLi

does taobao sell the round thing to replace my air filter for the sharp one? I tried finding on taobao cant find..
any idea if replacement how much

centrifugal_fan_20130403-23314-1ufa3mc-0_preview_featured.jpg

That's an idea. Why don't you give a call to the service hotline and ask whether they have a replacement part?

Customer Service Address : 438B Alexandra Road
#06-01/02 & #06-04 Alexandra Technopark
Singapore 119968

Opening Hours : 0900 - 1700 hour ( Mon-Fri )
0900 - 1300 hour ( Sat )

Service Hotline : 6419 5222

chuanz

If it's an internal loose part (not foreign object that fell through the fan grille) that destroyed the centrifugal fan, I'd argue for Sharp to cover it under manufacturing defect. But depending on individuals, you'd need to consider the (time) cost vs benefit...

WussRedXLi

I am checking that (299rmb) out but about the specs they nv write.. does it fit what i need?

Guess what, I alww another seller who specialises in making replacement filters for air purifiers. He said that his filters media is using F9.

It's like this,
F9 (Minimum Efficiency 05%)
H10 (85% MPPS)
H11 (95% MPPS)
H12 (99.5% MPPS)
H13 (True HEPA 99.97% @ 0.3 microns MPPS)
U14 ULPA and MPPS is 0.12 microns
U15 ULPA MPPS 0.12 microns

So in short, very possibly it's worse than your Sharp A28

http://www.aafeurope.com/en/148/en779-2012

That big piece of HEPA that I bought from another taobao seller is H13/H14 grade meant for either the middle stage of cleanrooms, or the end stage of cleanrooms.

WussRedXLi

But one can't say that taobao only sells low-cost and lousy products. Other than the H13/H14 HEPA that I purchased from there, this one is from SmartAirFilter.

On a Dylos laser particle counter, at 0.5 microns ..they measured it to be least 95% efficient. I bought this one to be used in my Sharp A28.

SmartAir

WussRedXLi

T2_bJTXplXXXXXXXXX_!!812256264.jpg

(1) No way HEPA can be washed. It does not work that way

(2) Mold/bacteria can grow on it. 6 months replacement. That is why it may have smell during "start up" (in my case). Of coz the HEPA can filter that mold/spores and bacteria easily, but it is giving off smell, ie secondary pollution.

This is even so if used under relatively clean air conditions.

Point 2 is recommendation, not a must. Depends on how ngeow one is.

chompchomp

I know what you mean lah... :s13:

I tell you a story, and since this is an Air Purifier thread and you are a mum yourself, there is actually an "air purifier" element in it.

I know a pal whose partner is an AM. Don't ask me how i know, the pay is 4k + 7k).
Her side has kids with the AM and the AM himself got 2 small kids from prev marriage. So total 4, and you know parental help is not there (AM is alone anyway). But still for lifestyle, locally the AM must die die drive conti car to the tune of ~ 200k. There is no savings on either side, both just clear their debts anyway.

So got unborned, 1 yr toddler and young kids. However there is nothing much that's left to spend on local retail, i don't know why for whatever personal reasons, they don't buy online stuff either. I recommend air purifiers, but a Sharp A40 costs S$429 which is too expensive.....and seriously you'd need 2 or 3 units for the whole family. For 2014 haze which was very extended in period, i guess you can't expect everyone to be holed up in the room. so what they did was to switch on aircon to beat the haze, and which i have mentioned before that doesn't exactly work for 2014 haze in which 70 days were above WHO levels and 48 days above USA EPA Unhealthy levels based on the 24-hr mean figure, due to unborned fetus and 1 x 12 months infant/toddler.

Note : good office buildings would take care a decent part of the PM2.5 with the filtration in the HVAC/AHUs, provided they do not cut cost on the filters.

Fisher price toys you see in Taka, $49-129. I got a S$129 mobile for just usd13.99, enough said.

Got money to spend on 200k conti, but no money for air purifiers. Of coz, it's not my life. :s22:

So there, that's the sad life here if you believe only in local retail and local childcare/infantcare, depending on family circumstances + earning power. And of coz, cars....
thats really :s22::s22:

Just fyi.. My ah lao only earn half of the first salary :(
So to us this is really a "luxury"

And taobao i already considered buy essentials.. dunno watafug the bill is 500+ (to me jin ex liao la:s22::s22:

chompchomp

That's an idea. Why don't you give a call to the service hotline and ask whether they have a replacement part?

Customer Service Address : 438B Alexandra Road
#06-01/02 & #06-04 Alexandra Technopark
Singapore 119968

Opening Hours : 0900 - 1700 hour ( Mon-Fri )
0900 - 1300 hour ( Sat )

Service Hotline : 6419 5222
Ah thankyou i will call tomorrow..

If it's an internal loose part (not foreign object that fell through the fan grille) that destroyed the centrifugal fan, I'd argue for Sharp to cover it under manufacturing defect. But depending on individuals, you'd need to consider the (time) cost vs benefit...
Yes is their internal loose part. but have no evidence they can always argue other wise.. i lazy to go quarrel..

Guess what, I alww another seller who specialises in making replacement filters for air purifiers. He said that his filters media is using F9.

It's like this,
F9 (Minimum Efficiency 05%)
H10 (85% MPPS)
H11 (95% MPPS)
H12 (99.5% MPPS)
H13 (True HEPA 99.97% @ 0.3 microns MPPS)
U14 ULPA and MPPS is 0.12 microns
U15 ULPA MPPS 0.12 microns

So in short, very possibly it's worse than your Sharp A28

EN779:2012 - AAF International - Better Air is our Business

That big piece of HEPA that I bought from another taobao seller is H13/H14 grade meant for either the middle stage of cleanrooms, or the end stage of cleanrooms.

But one can't say that taobao only sells low-cost and lousy products. Other than the H13/H14 HEPA that I purchased from there, this one is from SmartAirFilter.

On a Dylos laser particle counter, at 0.5 microns ..they measured it to be least 95% efficient. I bought this one to be used in my Sharp A28.

SmartAir
wa.. so that means for now that sharp is the cheapest for the value for my room?

or can i like u used that counter to use on the cheap taobao purifier?

WussRedXLi

thats really :s22::s22:

Just fyi.. My ah lao only earn half of the first salary :(
So to us this is really a "luxury"

And taobao i already considered buy essentials.. dunno watafug the bill is 500+ (to me jin ex liao la:s22::s22:

Ok lah.... think of it this way, TB + AMZ allow a lot of us to have a relatively decent quality of life for those folks stuck with depressed wages.
Some pleasures in life, plus good quality healthy living.

Else we are just existing nia, of coz still better than most for eg Indonesian Chinese in lower-middle class. Just that.... their middle-class live better.

WussRedXLi

Yes is their internal loose part. but have no evidence they can always argue other wise.. i lazy to go quarrel..

wa.. so that means for now that sharp is the cheapest for the value for my room?

or can i like u used that counter to use on the cheap taobao purifier?

Actually what chuanz said has a point, if you can prove that the Sharp air purifier plastic part came loose and dropped inside, you can go and try.

Not to say ngeow go and argue over a small matter and besides it's cheap, but i'd be somewhat pissed also. Besides, Audio House does provide warranty card. And it's only less than 1 month. This is not qoo10's Samsung AX40 that shipped from South Korea.

Explain your situation patiently and nicely, if there is a need then talk to the CS manager and ask for help coz this is a device that you really need for the kids especially for 2015 haze season. Am sure they can do something for ya.

The Sharp A28 is pretty light ba, no harm bringing there.

Yes, I feel that the Sharp A28 is still gives the best performance bang for the buck in Singapore HDB rooms context.

Don't waste time with the DIY solutions I posted, they do work....but in your case you'll definitely need something that works flawlessly.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.