Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

Ok, near Dumai there are 2 hotspots, one is 437 intensity and the other 411. (usually is only 32x, 34x etc, already labelled as high confidence hotspot). That's really high....but only 2 hotspots.

But if the smoke is from there, its similar to 2013 June. PM10 would be higher than PM2.5 (PSI 401 was due to PM10, not PM2.5 value, PSI takes the main pollutant).

WussRedXLi

Real-time measurement from my PM2.5 laser particle counter, PM2.5 shot to high 70s, low 80s range. 1840h though. South Side.

NEA reading for 1800-1900h avg = 72 ug/m3 PM2.5 South

My laser particle counter is zhun for both low end (that I was testing against NEA at 4 ug/m3) and also high-range.

159488202.u0eeyBNV.SG2.jpg

WussRedXLi

Any idea what's the composition of this haze? Is it as deadly as the landfill fire?
Actually, for all we know the landfill fire might still be blazing right now and adding to the mix :|

PAH/Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons levels are not that high vs cosmopolitan smog. PAHs are the black stuff that you get on Bak Kwa and BBQ bratwurst, chicken wings. Chao tar. Also, PAHs are formed when fats drip onto hot charcoal and you get a nice fire flare, that cooks the BBQ meat with a nice layer of PAHs. Bascally high-temperature incomplete combustion of carbonaceous stuff. Yummy. :s12:

PAHs are IARC Group 1 carcinogen, ie confirmed carcinogenic. Some types are PAHs are extremely carcinogenic. Those who don't believe, can try eating a few grams of it. I will clap for you.

Even Chinese TCM recognises PAHs.

Polycyclic Aromatic Hydrocarbons (PAHs) in the Haze from Forest Fires in Indonesia 1997

p7

Morphological and Chemical Characterization of Atmospheric Particles Emitted from Indonesian Forest Fires

Under the Dome Chinese video (banned in China, censored) mentioned BaP or Benzo(a)pyrene, a type of PAH. It is a PAH that's turbocharged with steroids.

We are lucky that biomass haze does not contain much benzo(a)pyrene PAH. IF not, then I think we better wear N95s even at 25 ug/m3.

WussRedXLi

Haze just deteriorated again. Close to 70 ug/m3 on my laser particle counter, real time. South.

WussRedXLi

sigh... but still not yet for N95 masks nor air purifier to be switched on

Air purifier can be switched on liao. Already feeling headache more or less coming liao, a bit funny. If not need to pop 2 x paracetamol (what for).
Seriously, I'm more sensitive to headaches than my rhinitis acting up during haze period.

I think since Wed, the air quality already started to drop. Adds up I guess.

Winds for the past 10 hrs are E, ENE and NE ranging from 5.4kph to 13 kph, not weak. Past 2hrs are pretty strong at double digits kph. Definitely not Indonesia.

For sensitive folks, it is not PSI 100 as threshold, it's PSI 75.

Ows

Air purifier can be switched on liao. Already feeling headache more or less coming liao, a bit funny. If not need to pop 2 x paracetamol (what for).
Seriously, I'm more sensitive to headaches than my rhinitis acting up during haze period.

Winds for the past 10 hrs are E, ENE and NE ranging from 5.4kph to 13 kph, not weak. Past 2hrs are pretty strong at double digits kph. Definitely not Indonesia.

are you using nasal spray or popping chlorpheniramine by any chance?

Dew36

Hi WRX, I've bought the 汉王m1 as per recommendation in your previous thread, can I check with you on why the readings differ that much with nea's 1hr pm2.5 readings? Mine was showing 70-90 ug/m3 pm2.5 now in orchard rd. Can help to shed some light on this? Thanks.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Dew36

Looks like the Chinese didn't show up right, I'm referring to the Hanvon m1 laser particle counter from tmall.

plasticpistola

Hi WRX bro!

Ya man yesterday got damn bad headache. The air these few days kan dense, machiam like not enough oxygen.

Doesn't help that my cough and congestion decided to pay me a visit again :vijayadmin:

WussRedXLi

LG PS-R459 (240V ver of LG LA-Q379SB).
Stock airflow is 312 m3/hr (5.2 m3/second) drawing 35W for 240V. Based on spec, not my measurements.

They the speed absolutely correct. Medium speed is absolutely quiet, low airflow though. High speed has a wee bit of noise, noticeably lower than the Sharp A28 in medium, but airflow is still very decent to maintain low ug/m3 in the room (you put it into low speed, most machines can't maintain the air quality). Good enough for even light sleepers.

Turbo speed in PS-R459 has wee bit higher noise than Samsung AX40. Both machine's noise levels would fail for very light sleepers though.

159493775.RHIV8J3G.LGSam.jpg

Bigger area HEPA is good. HEPA filter in pic is the Samsung AX40.

Already customised 360mm x 342mm x 45mm H12 HEPA from taobao. Original one just keep. :) Very big, keeps the velocity m/s flowing through the pleated media to a minimum + lower resistance/maintain high airflow.

159493776.sdoDQtA4.LGSam2.jpg

WussRedXLi

Hi WRX bro!

Ya man yesterday got damn bad headache. The air these few days kan dense, machiam like not enough oxygen.

Doesn't help that my cough and congestion decided to pay me a visit again :vijayadmin:

You all bought air purifiers to use lah. This is the best time to roll out. :s13:

Just use. Learn to use taobao and stock up the HEPAs.

WussRedXLi

are you using nasal spray or popping chlorpheniramine by any chance?

At night is use Fedac. Unity quite cheap. Chloropheniramine also. Both are 1st gen antihistamines I think. (chloro = 1st gen confirm). But Fedac has additional pseudoehephrine 60mg to clear nose pipe....same for Clarinaise which has 250mg pseudoehephine I think. :s13::s13:

I use Clarityn..which is Clarinaise's lortadine w/o the pseudoehephrine.
Also use Adezio (Cetirizine HCL) given by PArkway shenton and also bought from Unity.

Also got De-cold which is the OEM of Clarinase, Lortadine + pseudoehedrine 120mg to clear the clogged pipe.

Clogged up sometimes no need to clear lah, not always. So save some $$ there.

But seriously, my main issue with haze is headache. And taking too many paracetamol is not good for liver, worse than the typical antihistamine.
Chemical load is there. Threshold is usually 3 days worth, each day not more than 2 x 4 = 8, 500mg ea tablet.

If there is a long bout of haze, then basically one can say that sensitive folks in this area of having headache but not equipped with air purifiers = truly fugged. :( You can't take paracetamol + masks even with ventilator for such long periods. Impractical also.

1st gen antihistamine = Zzzzz......

WussRedXLi

I'd have to call out the discrepancy between NEA and my local laser particle counter.

Yesterday still pretty ok, plus minus the ug/m3 is around there. Bad air = bad air, no need to go into the specifics like 20% difference etc.

NEA South past hours is like what...26 ug/m3? East is 31 and west is 43? It is way different from my 60+ to peaks of 80+ ug/m3 for the past few hours. I know NEA is a 1-hr averaged reading, but still does not add up. This is not a fog, the temp and dew point and RH does not allow fog/mist.

I don't know what is happening, visually and my meter shows an elevated reading.

Not sure what is the thing with the NEA figures, but I'd believe my meter telling me the current situation more. It's not extremely bad, but pls don't take things lightly for the Sensitive grps folks.

WussRedXLi

Hi WRX, I've bought the 汉王m1 as per recommendation in your previous thread, can I check with you on why the readings differ that much with nea's 1hr pm2.5 readings? Mine was showing 70-90 ug/m3 pm2.5 now in orchard rd. Can help to shed some light on this? Thanks.

Thanks confirming my readings. Mine is also same region.

NEA 1hr is past 1hr period sampling averaged. However, since like what....9 or 10AM already like that, elevated. I don't see no 20-30 ug/m3. Note - this is not even US EPA Unhealthy for Sensitive Grp, in which the breakpoint is 36ug/m3.

Check NEA's PM10. There are no spikes or elevated readings since 2 days ago, ie this is not PM10 coarse particles. Its mainly PM2.5 fine stuff. My floor also does not have ashy feeling etc, unlike in 2013 (mainly PM10 main pollutant).

NOt sure what is happening, but yours and mine same readings.

I think NEA is using that beta attenuation tech, something like that. This tech . Beta attenuation monitoring - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

That is not to say that ours is 100% correct. After all, our devices are like K-mart toys compared to professional samplers. However, there are devices like those from Met-One that use the same laser technology and cost a few thousand USD. You can see the Met One used in the demo booths of Novita NAP611i at shopping malls. Same tech.

Since you are serious enough to have bought an air quality monitor (somemore is laser particle sensor type, not cheap IR LED stuff used in air purifiers), I guess your health depends somewhat on it. Errr on the side of caution esp for those serious asthmatics, or worse...asthmatic kids (double whammy). I understand that each individual and family circumstances/usage/needs are different.

The 3-hr PSI is calculated from the N S E W and C PM2.5 (main pollutant) readings, all added and averaged out. 3-hr moving average. So you can imagine.

Put it this way, the worstest tiong made $2 digital thermometer will tell you that the water is boiling hot. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.