Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

BTW Dew36, your HAn Wang is a good device. I wanted to get that but seller cancelled the order. Instead of RMB749, I got a deal at RMB550. The seller contacted 4PX and 4PX said cannot forward due to Li-ion built in. Actually is can lah....I tried with few Bluetooth speakers liao, and not small speakers.

I read the reviews, the Han Wang M1 compares pretty ok with China PM2.5 official environment ministry released readings. Lots of user reports. This is not a Toys R Us mikey mouse toy.

PS. From early morning till now, my family members have been glancing out to check out for Batam. Nope, totally obscured, even halfway of that the ships also cannot see liao. Really can't be 20+ ug/m3, from my experience. Heck Batam, even Jurong Island smoke stacks and Pulau Semakau cannot see liao, simi Batam. :D

Right now, and I am living on high floor above 30 sty.

159493934.RxgRr6ND.lpm.jpg

Ows

Chlorphreniramine causes drowsiness and you need to take it several times a day. Try zyrtec, clarinase or clarityne. Non-drowsy but more expensive.

yup, I knew about that, just want to find out whether WussRedXLi is having any side effects of using that medicine and whether that helps him or trigger his frequent headaches instead.

WussRedXLi

yup, I knew about that, just want to find out whether WussRedXLi is having any side effects of using that medicine and whether that helps him or trigger his frequent headaches instead.

Nope, that does not trigger headaches for me. I have been using this for over 30 years liao. I don't have issue with freq headaches or even occasional headches, only haze triggers it. And maybe once in a blue moon due to extreme sleep deprivation.

WussRedXLi

In the room with Samsung AX40 + taobao HEPA.

Edit - actually it is getting to 1 ug/m3 now. 3-4 ug/m3 is coz I opened the door and the air got in (air-con switched on mah)

This confirms in a real life hazy environment without doubt that the Taobao China HEPAs are not bogus. (but note, I'm not saying that there are no H10 and F9 grades there, and cheap does not mean not good coz I ever got a decent airflow 98% @ 0.3 30cm x 30cm x 2.5cm for just RMB29 ea)

159493944.pSmIsBrv.lpm2.jpg

tmkedmw

Hi WRX, I've bought the 汉王m1 as per recommendation in your previous thread, can I check with you on why the readings differ that much with nea's 1hr pm2.5 readings? Mine was showing 70-90 ug/m3 pm2.5 now in orchard rd. Can help to shed some light on this? Thanks.

Sent from GAGT Android App

Fyi, NEA south region pm2.5 is measured at rooftop of environment bldg at Scotts Road, very near to Orchard. Try stay away from traffic fumes when u measure.

Ows

At night is use Fedac. Unity quite cheap. Chloropheniramine also. Both are 1st gen antihistamines I think. (chloro = 1st gen confirm). But Fedac has additional pseudoehephrine 60mg to clear nose pipe....same for Clarinaise which has 250mg pseudoehephine I think. :s13::s13:

I use Clarityn..which is Clarinaise's lortadine w/o the pseudoehephrine.
Also use Adezio (Cetirizine HCL) given by PArkway shenton and also bought from Unity.

Also got De-cold which is the OEM of Clarinase, Lortadine + pseudoehedrine 120mg to clear the clogged pipe.

Clogged up sometimes no need to clear lah, not always. So save some $$ there.

But seriously, my main issue with haze is headache. And taking too many paracetamol is not good for liver, worse than the typical antihistamine.
Chemical load is there. Threshold is usually 3 days worth, each day not more than 2 x 4 = 8, 500mg ea tablet.

If there is a long bout of haze, then basically one can say that sensitive folks in this area of having headache but not equipped with air purifiers = truly fugged. :( You can't take paracetamol + masks even with ventilator for such long periods. Impractical also.

1st gen antihistamine = Zzzzz......

:s22:

I am curious on how much you spend on those medicine monthly including your family. also, that's a lot of chemicals floating around in your body.any thoughts of trying TCM for a change? heard of biminne before?

WussRedXLi

:s22:

I am curious on how much you spend on those medicine monthly including your family. also, that's a lot of chemicals floating around in your body.any thoughts of trying TCM for a change? heard of biminne before?

No lah...all these I go Unity and or Parkway Shenton company card see doc shoot 1 time 50-100 tabs for each med @ Unity, use for a few years liao till expiry. Quite a lot I throw due to expire liao, standby ba. My body not that weak, pls don't be mistaken. :D

I have like 20 tabs of chloropheniramine.
50 tabs of Fedac (use a few pcs liao)
10 tabs of Adezio from Unity and 10 tabs from Parkway Shenton.
10 tabs of De-cold(used a few pcs)
9 tabs of Clarinase.

Not a lot ba, since used by 3 adults.

TCM I tried 3 docs liao and also m father, I'd say for allergic rhinitis, TCM is pseudo-science/medicine. I DIY treat better. My father also has allergic rhinitis, treated successfully by FCU clean + air purifier. He has been suffering for close to 60 years.

And yes, I am tested positive with skin prick test at a ENT. But still it is not 100% conclusive whether it would trigger in real life, if you are a sufferer you'd know what I am talking about. :D

After using air purifiers to filter the dust mite droppings and dust in addition to changing bedsheets + DIY clean aircon FCU 2-3 months, I think one month at most pop once or twice antihistamine max. The air purifier made the biggest difference in my case, maybe some sleep activity and aircon FCU disturbs the droppings. (main allergens, each dropping might have > 10 allergens and the type depends, hence its quite broad based allergic reaction causing)

I'd say again here, air purifier for treating sinusitis and allergic rhinitis must airflow size correctly, and is only 1 out of the 3 conditions needed to treat it.
You see on qoo10 and many site reviews saying that Air Purifier cannot make it, or H10 non true HEPA cannot make it (droppings/flakes/allergen goes down to at most a few microns). That is absolutely untrue.

I take a whole lot more paracetamols in a year due to fever + haze.
Hence I try not to get allergic rhinitis + headaches due to haze. IF not, I think I would have taken close to 100 paracetamol tablets for 2014 season liao. I am quite ngeow about taking pills as medication one.

WussRedXLi

Fyi, NEA south region pm2.5 is measured at rooftop of environment bldg at Scotts Road, very near to Orchard. Try stay away from traffic fumes when u measure.

US EPA recommends 50m from main roads. But many country also bo chup lah, like China. :s13: I think perhaps not height, coz they situate the stations in schools also. Anyway I live high-floor.

NWT1978

BTW Dew36, your HAn Wang is a good device. I wanted to get that but seller cancelled the order. Instead of RMB749, I got a deal at RMB550. The seller contacted 4PX and 4PX said cannot forward due to Li-ion built in. Actually is can lah....I tried with few Bluetooth speakers liao, and not small speakers.

I read the reviews, the Han Wang M1 compares pretty ok with China PM2.5 official environment ministry released readings. Lots of user reports. This is not a Toys R Us mikey mouse toy.

PS. From early morning till now, my family members have been glancing out to check out for Batam. Nope, totally obscured, even halfway of that the ships also cannot see liao. Really can't be 20+ ug/m3, from my experience. Heck Batam, even Jurong Island smoke stacks and Pulau Semakau cannot see liao, simi Batam. :D

159493934.RxgRr6ND.lpm.jpg

try 65daigou if u want ship out =:p

WussRedXLi

Starting to have some smell for the haze. Anyway Chuanz's webpage also showing the climb now. PM2.5 meter still in the 70s/80s range while NEA is steadily climbing. Interesting.

WussRedXLi

try 65daigou if u want ship out =:p

Can ship out one lah, usually. Is depends on seller wants to ship or not. 4PX won't matter if the Li-ion is a small piece. Of coz dun ship a 4 x 18650 powerbank lah. The capacity housed in such small devices is less than 1 pc of 18650.

snap99

Today's weather really sucky ...... Wanted to go running later look at the weather sian 1/2 Liao

plasticpistola

You all bought air purifiers to use lah. This is the best time to roll out. :s13:

Just use. Learn to use taobao and stock up the HEPAs.

Been using almost every night since last week riaos.

When the alert thing tell you to change filter means time to change filter liao?

Since my DIY sucks, I think I need to hoot the original filters from Qoo :( :(

plasticpistola

At night is use Fedac. Unity quite cheap. Chloropheniramine also. Both are 1st gen antihistamines I think. (chloro = 1st gen confirm). But Fedac has additional pseudoehephrine 60mg to clear nose pipe....same for Clarinaise which has 250mg pseudoehephine I think. :s13::s13:

I use Clarityn..which is Clarinaise's lortadine w/o the pseudoehephrine.
Also use Adezio (Cetirizine HCL) given by PArkway shenton and also bought from Unity.

Also got De-cold which is the OEM of Clarinase, Lortadine + pseudoehedrine 120mg to clear the clogged pipe.

Clogged up sometimes no need to clear lah, not always. So save some $$ there.

But seriously, my main issue with haze is headache. And taking too many paracetamol is not good for liver, worse than the typical antihistamine.
Chemical load is there. Threshold is usually 3 days worth, each day not more than 2 x 4 = 8, 500mg ea tablet.

If there is a long bout of haze, then basically one can say that sensitive folks in this area of having headache but not equipped with air purifiers = truly fugged. :( You can't take paracetamol + masks even with ventilator for such long periods. Impractical also.

1st gen antihistamine = Zzzzz......

I really try not to take panadol as much as possible. Yesterday my head like going to explode I also lun. Finally lun until after dinner then it went away.

You got try those aromatherapy rub boh? Not bad leh for headaches n to clear airways.

Dew36

Thanks for the reassurance WRX! I thought that my M1 went bonkers as it's drifting that far out from the NEA's 1hr pm2.5 readings.

The M1 is a rather good portable unit that I use to find out my room or car requires additional filters to keep the air in moderate conditions. The built-in batteries are actually not bad! Great recommendation!

On a 2nd note, this afternoon is rather bad. My meter actually hit 100ug/m3 at some point while i was at home which is around holland village. I'm surprised that the NEA's readings didn't budge much. Good thing that it's raining now. Hope it'll wash the air a bit.

Ows

No lah...all these I go Unity and or Parkway Shenton company card see doc shoot 1 time 50-100 tabs for each med @ Unity, use for a few years liao till expiry. Quite a lot I throw due to expire liao, standby ba. My body not that weak, pls don't be mistaken. :D

I have like 20 tabs of chloropheniramine.
50 tabs of Fedac (use a few pcs liao)
10 tabs of Adezio from Unity and 10 tabs from Parkway Shenton.
10 tabs of De-cold(used a few pcs)
9 tabs of Clarinase.

Not a lot ba, since used by 3 adults.

TCM I tried 3 docs liao and also m father, I'd say for allergic rhinitis, TCM is pseudo-science/medicine. I DIY treat better. My father also has allergic rhinitis, treated successfully by FCU clean + air purifier. He has been suffering for close to 60 years.

And yes, I am tested positive with skin prick test at a ENT. But still it is not 100% conclusive whether it would trigger in real life, if you are a sufferer you'd know what I am talking about. :D

After using air purifiers to filter the dust mite droppings and dust in addition to changing bedsheets + DIY clean aircon FCU 2-3 months, I think one month at most pop once or twice antihistamine max. The air purifier made the biggest difference in my case, maybe some sleep activity and aircon FCU disturbs the droppings. (main allergens, each dropping might have > 10 allergens and the type depends, hence its quite broad based allergic reaction causing)

I'd say again here, air purifier for treating sinusitis and allergic rhinitis must airflow size correctly, and is only 1 out of the 3 conditions needed to treat it.
You see on qoo10 and many site reviews saying that Air Purifier cannot make it, or H10 non true HEPA cannot make it (droppings/flakes/allergen goes down to at most a few microns). That is absolutely untrue.

I take a whole lot more paracetamols in a year due to fever + haze.
Hence I try not to get allergic rhinitis + headaches due to haze. IF not, I think I would have taken close to 100 paracetamol tablets for 2014 season liao. I am quite ngeow about taking pills as medication one.

ohh, I thought that with those medicine you have, the cost incur will be high.:s22:

Also, with the antihistamines that you are taking, doesn't it interfere with the skin tests? :s11:

glad that it works in your case.the mention of tcm & biminne thingy is what I stumble upon from the kiasuparents forum.

that's some good advice(italic) that you gave about the air purifier part.

think you need to have more sulfur-rich food in your daily life for all those paracetamol that you take. :s12:

tmkedmw

From NEA website,

HAZE SITUATION UPDATE (21 MARCH, 2015)

Singapore, 21 March 2015 – Hazy conditions continue to affect Singapore today. The PM2.5 levels are slightly elevated in most regions of Singapore this afternoon. At 6pm, the 24-hr PSI was 72-82, in the Moderate range, while the 1-hr PM2.5 concentration was 32-42 ug/m3. There were thundery showers in the northern and central parts of Singapore in the late afternoon.

The haziness is likely due to an accumulation of particulate matter in the atmosphere under light wind conditions. Burning activities in the region could have contributed to an increased concentration of particulate matter.

The current hazy conditions are expected to persist for the rest of today. For tomorrow, slight haziness under light wind conditions can still be expected, and thundery showers are forecast in the late afternoon and evening. The 24-hr PSI for Singapore is expected to be in the Moderate range.

Nothing definitive in the above report, but so called light winds had been mentioned yesterday and today.

Wind speed in knots for today 13:00 to 2030 hrs for reference

2015/03/21 20:30 ENE 9
2015/03/21 20:00 NE 9
2015/03/21 19:30 ENE 7
2015/03/21 19:00 ENE 6
2015/03/21 18:30 East 7
2015/03/21 18:00 ENE 9
2015/03/21 17:30 East 11
2015/03/21 17:00 East 13
2015/03/21 16:30 ESE 11
2015/03/21 16:00 East 10
2015/03/21 15:30 East 12
2015/03/21 15:00 SE 10
2015/03/21 14:30 ENE 6
2015/03/21 14:00 NE 5
2015/03/21 13:30 ENE 5
2015/03/21 13:00 VRB 5

WussRedXLi

Thanks for the reassurance WRX! I thought that my M1 went bonkers as it's drifting that far out from the NEA's 1hr pm2.5 readings.

The M1 is a rather good portable unit that I use to find out my room or car requires additional filters to keep the air in moderate conditions. The built-in batteries are actually not bad! Great recommendation!

On a 2nd note, this afternoon is rather bad. My meter actually hit 100ug/m3 at some point while i was at home which is around holland village. I'm surprised that the NEA's readings didn't budge much. Good thing that it's raining now. Hope it'll wash the air a bit.

Now that you mentioned it, I wanted to post this just now actually.

1712h from the Image EXIF, South

159494588.3Svqs7N6.lpm3.jpg

WussRedXLi

ohh, I thought that with those medicine you have, the cost incur will be high.:s22:

Also, with the antihistamines that you are taking, doesn't it interfere with the skin tests? :s11:

glad that it works in your case.the mention of tcm & biminne thingy is what I stumble upon from the kiasuparents forum.

that's some good advice(italic) that you gave about the air purifier part.

think you need to have more sulfur-rich food in your daily life for all those paracetamol that you take. :s12:

Antihistamines are cheap lah, only Clarinase is ex, that's why got that De-Cold medicine which is Lortadine + pseudoehprine but latter is at different mg.

I have been affected by rhinitis for the longest of tme, I think most suffers are like this, starts from like Pri school or something. This is because of the lack of knowledge on it. Before NS I wanted to solve this, that's why went to TCM and ENTs, that time so far back in 90s that taking medicine also not "fashionable", just suffer. ie can you remember 1994 haze and also 1997 (PSI 226), I remember I simply hated it when I was a teenager coz that time no aircon even, sibeh jialet.

Suffers are "naturally" allergic to dust mite droppings, but everyone is allergic to a different degree. And its exactly due to the lack of knowledge to control it that is causing the issue to become bigger than it should have been. This is simply coz once you don't cut down on allergen exposure and also do not take antihistamine, your upper respiratory tract just loses a bit of its function day after day of "injury", cannot regenerate. So it just becomes sensitive and your threshold goes down and it's a vicious cycle.
It's exactly the same thing with 100-day cough etc. You cough and harm the throat (itchy) and airways, and becomes sensitive and then cough more and lagi injure more etc. Feedback loop.

Regular GPs just issue you antihistamines. Other problems like skin itchy etc, topical creams or steroids. You know exactly what I'm talking about. That is why some go to TCM, root of the problem. Concept is excellent but execution sometimes may not be nipping at the correct bud scientifically at a level that promotes healing. It boils down to knowledge. Hence my earlier reply.

If one just simply cuts down on allergen exposure, you actually can raise that threshold. And chronic allergic rhinitis just becomes borderline allergic rhinitis (usually is cannot cure one).

PS. Regarding paracetamol, yeah some rare instances I do pop quite a lot. Last year my vial fever hit nearly 40 deg C and I was on Paracetamol for 4 days and after that ibuprofen. Sometimes I risked it coz 5-hourly dose, so something like 10 pills per 25hrs, but I really felt bad.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.