Air purifier?

Niaoson

Since both are about the same price, how do they compare with each other?

Also, what is the cost like for HEPA filter replacement? Think you shared that LG can customise from Taobao? How about Samsung? Same price for both? :s22:

WussRedXLi

Since both are about the same price, how do they compare with each other?

Also, what is the cost like for HEPA filter replacement? Think you shared that LG can customise from Taobao? How about Samsung? Same price for both? :s22:

Samsung AX40 on max fan speed is wee bit quieter than the LG. Both ard same performance. The LG has Low, Medium, High and Turbo fan speed. The High speed is very quiet (quieter than Samsung on max) but blows out decent amount of air. Whereas Samsung has only 2 useful speeds : Low and Max. So the LG is slightly more useful in real life.

Taobao filters, 45mm depth, they are around the same price for both. 130-140RMB depending on the number you order.

The LG has a 20% bigger filter than the Samsung, which means less air resistance if you go the aftermarket route. Slightly better.

Very difficult decision ba. If you are a light sleeper or you need to place the AP near where you would be sleeping, I'd recommend the LG. If you are going to place it some distance away, probably Samsung AX40.

mikeeeey

Samsung AX40 on max fan speed is wee bit quieter than the LG. Both ard same performance. The LG has Low, Medium, High and Turbo fan speed. The High speed is very quiet (quieter than Samsung on max) but blows out decent amount of air. Whereas Samsung has only 2 useful speeds : Low and Max. So the LG is slightly more useful in real life.

Taobao filters, 45mm depth, they are around the same price for both. 130-140RMB depending on the number you order.

The LG has a 20% bigger filter than the Samsung, which means less air resistance if you go the aftermarket route. Slightly better.

Very difficult decision ba. If you are a light sleeper or you need to place the AP near where you would be sleeping, I'd recommend the LG. If you are going to place it some distance away, probably Samsung AX40.

Bro. Which seller u go to to customize the filter size?

ezowulf

wind direction changed to the south west wind, that could explain the recent haze and early morning rain

WussRedXLi

Bro. Which seller u go to to customize the filter size?

ALWW this seller.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.173.KD9T16&id=20676620186&_u=j1u0hcibf59e

There are other customisers, maybe you can get a slightly better deal and the efficiency could very well be the same. But this guy is very easy to talk to and he takes only 1 working day to finish and ship out the customised filters. His items are freeship to 4PX.

He is also from Shenzhen, so it's extremely fast if you wanna 4PX forward to SG (4PX service is the best, they tag on to DHL planes also, so bottleneck is really SZ customs to HKG). 4pcs + some other TB items can fit into a Speedpost POPstation, read your SMS (password, locker number) for your chosen location to retrieve your item, absolutely no sweat or stress at all coz no ninja courier/postman nonsense.

WussRedXLi

wind direction changed to the south west wind, that could explain the recent haze and early morning rain

I didn't realise that there was a very brief spike for South at 4-5pm period, 62 ug/m3 PSI 107/AQI 154.

159791587.NYFyfxJR.1.jpg

WussRedXLi

Nino 3 and 3.4 regions in the Pacific already past Moderate El Nino threshold (1.0 deg C). Expected to deteriorate further.

1997 was 2.5 deg C I think. (PSI 226)

nino34.png

nino3.png

Getting nearer to May and Spring is nearly over. Accuracy of the forecast model is going to be rising.

The gradient from April to July last time wasn't this high, remember was just 1.5 deg C for July. Now 2.0 deg C liao. That's a strong El Nino.

nino34Mon.gif

e31.jpg

Niaoson

Is there any local interest group in using solar panels?

Or everyone finds it unfeasible because of the high cost and limited usage for HDB dwellers?

Was looking for inspiration on how even HDB people like myself can make use of some natural energy and go a bit green hahaha :o

spark7

Hi WussRed,

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.12.MiY0ec&id=23339280327&_u=i1u0hcib3653

I am waiting for my Samsung AX40 to arrive so I check with this seller in ALWW.

He said he is selling H13 but from what you mentioned it is H12?
I gave him the size of 310mm x 282mm x 44mm and he charge me 135RMB instead of 110 RMB.

I checked with with Best Denki last weekend they told me there is no H13 Hepa , H13 is only use for vacuum cleaner. ??

mikeeeey

ALWW this seller.
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.173.KD9T16&id=20676620186&_u=j1u0hcibf59e

There are other customisers, maybe you can get a slightly better deal and the efficiency could very well be the same. But this guy is very easy to talk to and he takes only 1 working day to finish and ship out the customised filters. His items are freeship to 4PX.

He is also from Shenzhen, so it's extremely fast if you wanna 4PX forward to SG (4PX service is the best, they tag on to DHL planes also, so bottleneck is really SZ customs to HKG). 4pcs + some other TB items can fit into a Speedpost POPstation, read your SMS (password, locker number) for your chosen location to retrieve your item, absolutely no sweat or stress at all coz no ninja courier/postman nonsense.

Awesome! Thanks!

WussRedXLi

Is there any local interest group in using solar panels?

Or everyone finds it unfeasible because of the high cost and limited usage for HDB dwellers?

Was looking for inspiration on how even HDB people like myself can make use of some natural energy and go a bit green hahaha :o

With taobao, its not a terribly expensive solution. Problem is need space to place the panels and storage batteries.

My FIL wants to do such a thing in Indonesia for one of his home during blackouts.Genset is expensive esp if you just load up a 3kW genset with say 800W nia. Diesel not cheap.

Niaoson

With taobao, its not a terribly expensive solution. Problem is need space to place the panels and storage batteries.

My FIL wants to do such a thing in Indonesia for one of his home during blackouts.Genset is expensive esp if you just load up a 3kW genset with say 800W nia. Diesel not cheap.

Ya that's why not sure if my little HDB will have enough space to place the panels :s13:

Any recommended brands or sellers and guides on getting things going? :o

WussRedXLi

Hi WussRed,

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z09.2.9.12.MiY0ec&id=23339280327&_u=i1u0hcib3653

I am waiting for my Samsung AX40 to arrive so I check with this seller in ALWW.

He said he is selling H13 but from what you mentioned it is H12?
I gave him the size of 310mm x 282mm x 44mm and he charge me 135RMB instead of 110 RMB.

I checked with with Best Denki last weekend they told me there is no H13 Hepa , H13 is only use for vacuum cleaner. ??

He smoking you lah. I measured the output of the Fellowes and Honeywell filters (amazon) and original Samsung and LG filters, they got to 30 to 90 or at most 100+ for 0.3 microns particle count, depending on the air quality at the intake. His filters are in the 1000-2000 or so. Ambient is say 50000.
Dont have to worry about absolute accuracy, but relatively speaking the difference is telling.

Of coz dont pecah lobang, later he dont sell liao.

For the price and thickness (more overall surface area, less air resistance, higher airflow), this is good enough. There are 25mm 300x300mm HEPAs that are cheap (RMB29.90) and can do 95% also, but no customisation.

WussRedXLi

Bro, LG or Samsung ah?

Go for LG. The filter damn big.

LG = 340x360x45mm taobao filter.
Samsung = 310 x 280 x 45mm

41% more surface area. ie lower airflow speed over the media. Some small advantages in that.

45mm coz thats the deepest the TB seller can customise.
145rmb for LG.

The LG original filter is sgd145 on qoo10.

mikeeeey

Go for LG. The filter damn big.

LG = 340x360x45mm taobao filter.
Samsung = 310 x 280 x 45mm

41% more surface area. ie lower airflow speed over the media. Some small advantages in that.

45mm coz thats the deepest the TB seller can customise.
145rmb for LG.

The LG original filter is sgd145 on qoo10.

Appearance wise Samsung one looks better. Haha.

WussRedXLi

Appearance wise Samsung one looks better. Haha.

Samseng filter ish 1-pc with a hard plastic edge for rigidity while Low Grade filter is seperate.

Low Grade filter is so-called washable due to an external netting construction that reinforces the fragile HEPA media.

Both Samseng and Low Grade have a composite media construction (the 2 sides feel different) while the taobao ones are single material (polypropylene fibres). PP is much cheaper and cost effective. But you know the -ve points.

derazor

Samseng filter ish 1-pc with a hard plastic edge for rigidity while Low Grade filter is seperate.

Low Grade filter is so-called washable due to an external netting construction that reinforces the fragile HEPA media.

Both Samseng and Low Grade have a composite media construction (the 2 sides feel different) while the taobao ones are single material (polypropylene fibres). PP is much cheaper and cost effective. But you know the -ve points.

what is the -ve points. the customized one if made in china can trust or not???

WussRedXLi

what is the -ve points. the customized one if made in china can trust or not???

-ve points would basically be increased resistance/less airflow for the same surface area. That can be remedied to a large degree by increasing the thickness, with a very small increase in price. eg LG stock original filter is 34mm. I increased it to 45mm, or a 32% increase.
For this unit, the output at the outlet increased 1kph to 22kph with the taobao filter (21kph with stock filter).

You do give up the activated charcoal filter usage with that of coz, but I don't know what good it'd do here in Singapore seriously unless you have a new house. (just get the 2kg AC bags in Taobao for cheap, they even include a formaldehyde test kit)

This is why I also dare to recommend the LG LA-Q378SB + taobao as a package, coz I have tested the AP's motor/fan + taobao filter as a combo directly. Just that the fan in Turbo mode is a bit louder than the Samsung AX40. But LG has a high fan speed mode that the Samsung does not have - this mode in the LG is just nice for light sleepers but has a decent amt of airflow going.

Just posted this afternoon, the efficiency of the TB filter is about 96-97% at 0.3 microns as measured by me (not anybody else in China), take it to be H11 grade. It can easily drop the present air quality in my small room to 0 ug/m3 (then I'd need to switch to finer data representations like xxx particle counts per L, which is not useful for the layman), and the performance is better than say a Sharp KC-840.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.