Air purifier?

WussRedXLi

So just did a quick google regarding wood vs cigarettes and cancer...

Below is a NGO's reference. I cannot confirm on the autheniticity. But it's interesting to note. And for Sumatra / Kalimantan, it's not only the clearing of forests (wood) but also burning of sub-surface peat.

http://www.familiesforcleanair.org/health/health4/

Wood Smoke vs. Cigarette Smoke

People who would never dream of smoking a cigarette choose to burn wood. Yet wood smoke contains many of the same toxic and carcinogenic substances as cigarette smoke, including benzene, benzo(a)pyrene, and dibenz(a,h)anthracene.

And wood smoke produces far more particulate pollution than cigarette smoke does.

EPA researchers estimate the lifetime cancer risk from wood smoke to be 12 times greater than from a similar amount of cigarette smoke.

In a laboratory study at Louisiana State University, researchers found that hazardous free radicals in wood smoke are chemically active 40 times longer than those from cigarette smoke—so once inhaled, they will harm the body for far longer.

Other EPA estimates suggest that a single fireplace operating for an hour and burning 10 pounds of wood will generate 4,300 times more carcinogenic polyaromatic hydrocarbons than 30 cigarettes.

EDit -

https://fortress.wa.gov/ecy/publications/publications/92046.pdf
Washington State Department of Ecology.

Human cancer risks have now been estimated for lifetime exposure to diesel vehicle, leaded and catalyst-equipped gas vehicle, wood stove, cigarette smoke, coke oven (coal), and roofing tar emissions. EPA researchers suggest that the lifetime cancer risk from wood stove emissions may be 12 times greater than the lifetime cancer risk from exposure to an equal amount of cigarette smoke. The lifetime human cancer risk estimates from exposure to wood smoke and motor vehicle emissions are theorectical based on such comparative potency tests.

WussRedXLi

Getting scarier every moment leh...... new WWBs coming up.

u.anom.30.5S-5N.png

WussRedXLi

Another dual typhoon/tropical storm on each side of the hemisphere coming right up (forecast), more very strong WWBs.

sH6gtPe.png

yanbros

I ordered a custom Hepa filter from taobao for my AX40 but it came slightly thinker and i can't fit my charcoal filter in. Can i use the AX40 without the charcaol filter? Its only to get rid of smells right?

chuanz

I ordered a custom Hepa filter from taobao for my AX40 but it came slightly thinker and i can't fit my charcoal filter in. Can i use the AX40 without the charcaol filter? Its only to get rid of smells right?

Yup can leave out the charcoal

WussRedXLi

You ordered 45mm right?

If so, you are not supposed to put in the activated charcoal. LOL.

But I wonder how you got charcoal filter.....since the original one is an integrated one.

The AC filter gets rid of smells, but seriously it's not very effective for any significant smells. You must rid the source first, it's not gonna be magic.
If someone farts in the room, you run the AX40 even if it's brand new filter. 10 mins go in, you still will smell it. It's quite slow.

It get rids of VOCs too, and to a certain extent formaldehyde. The tiong vids I posted recently got experiment and also got AX40 inside.

Lastly, the amount of AC inside the filter is not a lot. A few weeks already would significantly be "used up" in a smelly/musky HDB room, for example.

Those play with aquariums would know how fast ACs get chewed up by Dissolved Organic Compounds in the water liao, in a bid to get crystal clear water. Last time I played aquarium before.

yanbros

You ordered 45mm right?

If so, you are not supposed to put in the activated charcoal. LOL.

But I wonder how you got charcoal filter.....since the original one is an integrated one.

The AC filter gets rid of smells, but seriously it's not very effective for any significant smells. You must rid the source first, it's not gonna be magic.
If someone farts in the room, you run the AX40 even if it's brand new filter. 10 mins go in, you still will smell it. It's quite slow.

It get rids of VOCs too, and to a certain extent formaldehyde. The tiong vids I posted recently got experiment and also got AX40 inside.

Lastly, the amount of AC inside the filter is not a lot. A few weeks already would significantly be "used up" in a smelly/musky HDB room, for example.

Those play with aquariums would know how fast ACs get chewed up by Dissolved Organic Compounds in the water liao, in a bid to get crystal clear water. Last time I played aquarium before.

yes i got the 45mm one. What do you mean when you say the Charcoal filter is integrated? I bought this used, 9 months and previous owner hasn't change the filter yet. There are a tape that sticks the HEPA filter and the charcoal filter together. All i did was remove the tape and the two was separated. I was thinking of using back the charcoal filter but the looks of it, it was a bit dusty and the charcoal looks grey. Guess not a good idea to reuse it plus now it cant fit in. Hahaaa..

WussRedXLi

Yeah, there is sort of a foam tape that sticks the charcoal and HEPA together.

9 mths no need to reuse lah. Totally ineffective already if its been used daily.

Remember to cut up some of the plastic bag that came with the filter, roll it up and plug up the sides to prevent bypass.

WussRedXLi

https://fortress.wa.gov/ecy/publications/publications/92046.pdf
Washington State Department of Ecology.

Human cancer risks have now been estimated for lifetime exposure to diesel vehicle, leaded and catalyst-equipped gas vehicle, wood stove, cigarette smoke, coke oven (coal), and roofing tar emissions. EPA researchers suggest that the lifetime cancer risk from wood stove emissions may be 12 times greater than the lifetime cancer risk from exposure to an equal amount of cigarette smoke. The lifetime human cancer risk estimates from exposure to wood smoke and motor vehicle emissions are theorectical based on such comparative potency tests.

The lifetime cancer risk estimate from exposure to motor vehicle emissions is more than three times that from equal exposure to wood stove emissions, based on recent EPA research in Boise, Idaho. (So that's in effect 36 times relative to cigarette smoke)

WussRedXLi

New geek stuff posted in the 2015 El Nino and Haze thread.

With new stuff from the newest Japanese weather satellite (by JMA) Himawari 8.

RAINFALL (mm)
pch1.jpg

FFMC / Fine Fuel Moisture Code. This mainly indicates the moisture levels of the top surface. If it has rained recently with a decent amount, it'd turn to blue.
The FFMC values shown on the map are numerical ratings of the moisture content of litter and other cured fine fuels. The FFMC indicates the relative ease of ignition and flammability of fine fuels. Thus, the FFMC is used as an indicator of ignition potential or the potential for fires to start and spread in the area. (Fine Fuels: Slash fuels, grassland, lalang, bushes etc).
ina_ffmcobs.jpg

Weather radar
Citra_Radar_Indonesia_Terkini.png

Citra_Radar_Jabodetabek.gif

MTS_RF_Indonesia.png

Himawari 8 visible cloud cover
MTS_CD_Indonesia_6.gif

Himawari 8 IR Enhanced cloud cover
MTS_EH_Indonesia.png

WussRedXLi

TrollAndOgres

Can share e link? I Need to custom make one I think.. Hepa+charcoal.. Can it be made until 35mm?

WussRedXLi

Someone is selling a Philips Silentstar FC 9302/02 vacuum on gumtree classifeds. $160 only. Woodlands. Maybe Chuanz would like to try.
The current model with Parquet nozzle is basically ard the same, sells for SGD349.

Shd be 9.9/10 mint. 400W suction 42l/s, 32kpa, more than good enough.

http://www.philips.com.sg/c-p/FC9302_01/silentstar-vacuum-cleaner-with-bag-with-silentseal-nozzle

Dust bag type
s-bag
Exhaust filter
Ultra Clean Air HEPA 13 washable filter
70dBA

I have the Philips 9166. 500W suction, 47l/s, 34kpa. 78dBA Neat thing is that it has a remote on the handle and it's quite useful. But pretty expensive.

http://www.philips.com.sg/c-p/FC9166_01/performer-vacuum-cleaner-with-bag-with-triactive-nozzle

Dust bag type
s-bag
Exhaust filter
Ultra Clean Air HEPA 13 washable filter

The main bag, S-bag is used by Philips and Electrolux (and some other coys)
You can get locally very easily everywhere. $15.50 for 4 for the HEPA 10.
Or you can get very slighty cheaper from Amazon (HEPA 10 version)
http://www.amazon.com/Genuine-Elect...21316&sr=8-2-spell&keywords=electrolux+S+bagf

The exhaust H13 filter you can get from Amazon. I got a few at 9.xx usd only. 3M Filtrete HF-1 model. If you get the original Philips in SG, it's SGD49

http://www.amazon.com/Filtrete-Elec...e=UTF8&qid=1437921384&sr=8-2&keywords=3M+HF-1

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.