AK120 appreciation thread

Jeremy1

So here comes news of a AK120 mod.

Vinne@RWA is talking of a mod for AK120 with dual Wolson 8741's which can handle DSD onboard, without the need for PCM conversion as the current 8740's do......Phew!

Wait for guinea pig first.....................:s13:

But I still don't get it. How can u extract the ISO file from the SACD ?

justin007

Wait for guinea pig first.....................:s13:

But I still don't get it. How can u extract the ISO file from the SACD ?

I think u can. If u use a very old ps3 with sacd support and install the appropriate software. The resultant sacd image is then cut into chunks... I happen to have a very old ps3 (fat) but it office property... So I don't dare try it

Jeremy1

I think u can. If u use a very old ps3 with sacd support and install the appropriate software. The resultant sacd image is then cut into chunks... I happen to have a very old ps3 (fat) but it office property... So I don't dare try it

The problem is I had not much SACDs and I am not a gamer.

Guess there is no alternative to extract the ISO file....................:(

Jeremy1

I too lagg riao rah.. how is the dap compared to ak100? Any significant improvement?

Overall, it's much much better.........................:)
Is it worth it ? It's up to individual........................:s8:

If u can afford it, just go for it........................:s12:

FatalethaL

i agree, if juz talking abt sound comparison between AK100 and AK120, AK120 sure win... wins lagi better @ 24bit playback.. Daft Punk's RAM album... makes me <3 smile.

but if u wanna put the price to justify the amt of upgrade, then to some people it isnt worth the upgrade... but as for me... im swaying left and right. AK120 really makes my <3 itchy. :s13::s13::s13:

Myst90

i agree, if juz talking abt sound comparison between AK100 and AK120, AK120 sure win... wins lagi better @ 24bit playback.. Daft Punk's RAM album... makes me <3 smile.

but if u wanna put the price to justify the amt of upgrade, then to some people it isnt worth the upgrade... but as for me... im swaying left and right. AK120 really makes my <3 itchy. :s13::s13::s13:

Haha. Same lehs, the ak120 also make my wallet itch, big hole coming up..

Haha. Thanks, maybe later heading down to e1 or jaben to try try.

justin007

I just lvoe the new Daft punk album on the AK120... didnt know 70s sound so good. I got Giorgio moroder on repeat play. lol

I too lagg riao rah.. how is the dap compared to ak100? Any significant improvement?

I have both.. bought the AK120 a month after I got the AK100.. No looking back. AK120 is da bomb. lol.. Significant... yes.. but significant as compared to price.. depends on who U ask. Laws of high end audio is that U pay a lot, for slightly better sound.. but the thing is.. can U do without that better sound.,. only U can answer that.

Jeremy1

I have both.. bought the AK120 a month after I got the AK100.. No looking back. AK120 is da bomb. lol.. Significant... yes.. but significant as compared to price.. depends on who U ask. Laws of high end audio is that U pay a lot, for slightly better sound.. but the thing is.. can U do without that better sound.,. only U can answer that.

The law of diminishing returns.........................:o

As u go higher, u are paying more for that small audio improvement.......................:(

Taeyeonie

Jin Elite sia, got both! I sold my my RWAK100 for the AK120 to prevent a giant loophole in my pocket.

Haonan

:eek::eek:

Spreading more poison agn. Anyway still patiently waiting for iRiver to release a red edition AK120, I like the color red so im willing to wait for that. But if don't have any of that by this yr X'mas, I will prolly just hoot the black AK120 or anything else that happens to come along that happens to appeal to this pair of ears. I'm actually still pretty satisfied with my Walkman Z 64GB atm, but it can be quite bulky to hold in my hand at times, and storage wise for me is starting to pose a problem.

I had a chance to hear the AK120 finally a few weeks ago with my own IEM setup, and yes I would say the AK120 is def worth upgrading to from my current Walkman Z setup. Just currently hoping for the price to come down alittle more before I go invest in one.
:o

Jeremy1

Jin Elite sia, got both! I sold my my RWAK100 for the AK120 to prevent a giant loophole in my pocket.

How's the RWAK100 sound compared to the AK120 ?

Moi was wondering upgraded AK100 can beat AK120......................:s8:

Jeremy1

:eek::eek:

Spreading more poison agn. Anyway still patiently waiting for iRiver to release a red edition AK120, I like the color red so im willing to wait for that. But if don't have any of that by this yr X'mas, I will prolly just hoot the black AK120 or anything else that happens to come along that happens to appeal to this pair of ears. I'm actually still pretty satisfied with my Walkman Z 64GB atm, but it can be quite bulky to hold in my hand at times, and storage wise for me is starting to pose a problem.

I had a chance to hear the AK120 finally a few weeks ago with my own IEM setup, and yes I would say the AK120 is def worth upgrading to from my current Walkman Z setup. Just currently hoping for the price to come down alittle more before I go invest in one.
:o

Still got DX50 coming and the AK140 if it's really happening.............:s12:

Taeyeonie

How's the RWAK100 sound compared to the AK120 ?

Moi was wondering upgraded AK100 can beat AK120......................:s8:

Personally i think the AK120 is much more detailed and richer than my RWAK100. Overall much smoother.

Taeyeonie

Still got DX50 coming and the AK140 if it's really happening.............:s12:

Wonder how will iRiver design the AK140. Maybe the same as the AK120 but a longer screen now?
7unq.jpg

Rubick

Wonder how will iRiver design the AK140. Maybe the same as the AK120 but a longer screen now?
7unq.jpg

soon akXXXX will become like a aksword :s13::s13:
if ak120 price drop slightly,
i guess alot bro here will pull the trigger.
with new firmware which is on par or better than a dx100 with its size and battery life. is a winner liao.
but still got a hm901 coming :D:D

Jeremy1

7unq.jpg

Actually, I feel the current design is good enough. I am not really particular about the current screen size and infact I hope a screen size reduction if it's could help in the battery life..........................;)

Then I can sell my AK120 to top up a bit for the AK140.................:s13:

I was wondering how people managed with so much DAPs on hand................................:s22:

Taeyeonie

Actually, I feel the current design is good enough. I am not really particular about the current screen size and infact I hope a screen size reduction if it's could help in the battery life..........................;)

Then I can sell my AK120 to top up a bit for the AK140.................:s13:

I was wondering how people managed with so much DAPs on hand................................:s22:

It would be hell to find a buyer for an AK120 frankly. :vijayadmin:

I bump-ed my sales thread for my RWAK100 like mad & thank god i found ONE keen buyer for it. If my RWAK100 wasn't sold I don't think I would even hoot the AK120 :s12:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.