"All over the world ... young people have to pay a lot from take-home pay in order to buy a home, whereas in Singapore that is not the case", PM Wong

Encouragesome1

Dun worry la. Sg is disaster free. Unless indo big earthquake ag will feel some tremors. Or foreigners bringing some new virus in.
If Bangkok so far can suffer earthquake, hmm let’s just say we can say unlikely or v indefinitely remote chance … hey that doesn’t say for sure forever can’t happen

zeozoe

i think this is a unnesseary or unwarranted statement.
This statement only irritate those who own and those who aspire to own.
The statement is flaw, we have our monthly take home pay force to save and we use it to buy a house
how is it different from those in other countries.
Not as if Singaporean all age 35 and above is allocate a flat with a small sum of money.
Other countries they take their take home pay to buy their flat and do good with it.
Over here we save the first day we start working, some lucky one was given top up by the parent when they will young. On buying they paid with whatever in CPF and continue to pay until some 30 years on average.
I am not saying CPF is bad but to make that statement is undoing of a PM
Ignores the fact that a 'home' in many countries is actually a freehold landed property. How many young Sgeans can afford landed in their home country? Conflating landed with pigeonhole, freehold with leasehold. :ROFLMAO:

cyke69sg

Ignores the fact that a 'home' in many countries is actually a freehold landed property. How many young Sgeans can afford landed in their home country? Conflating landed with pigeonhole, freehold with leasehold. :ROFLMAO:
@Mephist0pheLes

This is a common type of mixing up. I was not trying to stir anything just clarifying.

nyvrem

using cpf to pay for your home is good? when cpf was meant to be your retirement money?

err.. err..

mahjulah de pap ~ !

:o:o:o

Techno Pride

They're not concerned if you listen to them and get all angry. That's why they keep doing it and saying dumb stuff on TV/news.

They would, however, be very concerned if you completely tune them and their bs out of your life.

Something about the difference between hatred and indifference.

Philippng

wow wow wow, just stay on HDB is already an issue, i dont dare to go beyond that.
Basically, we all work hard to pay our due, dont make statement as if it is given to us for free or a substantial discount like as if we dont need to use our take home pay to service the purchase of our HDB home.
I think as a PM, he should come out and clarified what is he trying to tell Singaporean.
What message is he trying to sell.

eAtNeAt

He needs to be specific by what he means by 'all over the world'.

buffybuffy

Can he do a apple to apple comparison?

They pay more but are they subjected to 99 years and zero value? Sinkie only “own” for 99 years.

They pay more and by which age can they complete their loan? Sinkie is have to pay until how old?

They get to pass their house to the next generation. Can sinkie do the same?

pwongkk

Other countries home is freehold.
Convert all homes to freehold, then his statement will have some weight.

tmkedmw

Huai need to compare with all over the world.... It's not as if we wanna buy an overseas home.

Compare how many months/years of salaries needed to buy a home say 20 years ago vs now for a graduate, a diploma, or lower qualifications.

Roundtreex

Just saying in some of the bigger countries.. the million dollars we pay for HDB for a 99 years lease... can probably get you a landed property that you own permanently...
Not workable on our small island. Every space is gold. You got to pay high prices to own it.
No money can go north at JB where land space is abdunt.

BlackWing1977

In before landlords agreeing with him and advocating for higher prices so that they can charge higher rental...

Mentality is I benefit from it.. you dun benefit, you die is your business... :sick:

fortunecat

I thought HDB is free?

Because I learnt in edmw that CPF is not our money :o

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.