[AMA] I am a DENTIST. Ask me anything! [AMA] :D :D :D

SiAhBui

Not true. Depends on experience. Some earn only 7k a month. Those working in public earn around 6k inclusive of cpf but exclude bonus

Wah so 7k including bonus and commission is the minimal? That is damn awesome...

GundamKnight

is it true most orthodontist do bracers will go for textbook solution like extraction?

Do any of the dentist/ortho actually put effort to review case by case?

TCMOMS

can i dun do root canal, even though it's recommend that i do root canal

becoz if i do root canal still have to do crowning and i have no money to do both as

i jus finished doing crowning on my front tooth and it cost a bomb

Root canal is usually done only if you have intense toothache due to deep decay that has allowed the bacteria to reach the pulp(where nerves and blood vessels are) or when there is an infection
Crowning only advisable for back teeth(molar) which had done root canal. Usually front teeth no need. Unless it's already heavily filled up in first place. Crowning of premolar teeth after root canal is controversial.

TCMOMS

why time bomb

Research has show that pple with wisdom tooth has higher risk of decay or gum disease in other teeth. Moreover, most pple have slanted wisdom teeth(impacted), which makes it difficult to clean. So over long time, it will have decay, or infection. Some of this infection can be life threatening.

Litmuss

How much does a oral maxillofacial surgeon earns compare to a dentist?

whereismymilk

Sometimes when I eat hot/cold food I'll experience pain in my gum. What's the cause of it ah:s11:

Remedy95

Hi Doc, recently made a mouth guard with a dentist for my bruxism. Now suffering from bleeding gums on my upper jaw (guard is for the upper jaw). Could the problem be with the guard being to snug of a fit? is it common practice to not give some allowance? thanks in advance.

Sent from Samsung GT-I9505 using GAGT

TCMOMS

is it true most orthodontist do bracers will go for textbook solution like extraction?

Do any of the dentist/ortho actually put effort to review case by case?

Not true. All patients are treated case by case basis. Orthodontist spend 3 years full time to study. So they are well trained.

birdsandberries

Root canal is usually done only if you have intense toothache due to deep decay that has allowed the bacteria to reach the pulp(where nerves and blood vessels are) or when there is an infection
Crowning only advisable for back teeth(molar) which had done root canal. Usually front teeth no need. Unless it's already heavily filled up in first place. Crowning of premolar teeth after root canal is controversial.

Well the dentist said one of my tooth has deep decay, but i dun have any intense toothache...

Oh so u mean if i do root canal i dun necessarily have to do crowning?

And i did my crowning for my front tooth becoz...

I broke half a tooth, impossible to paste back (i fractured it in secondary sch n got it pasted back), and had to do double crowning coz my remaining tooth was too small and they had to do a base first and then the final crowning. pffft.

No more opening bottle caps with my teeth :X lesson learnt

itsmee

how much to do polishing, whitening and tooth filling?

is it true that most clinics mus wait weeks to get appointment, especially those clinics with subsidies scheme like chas card??

Eddied

i broke my first molar and was told by a dentist that it will decay if i don't do root canal, like expensive leh but i got chas blue card, what's the best route for me?

SiAhBui

Did any of your female patients try to initiate affair with chiu?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.