Andrew Loh| Mr Tang Liang Hong has passed away

LWZ

knew about him thanks to LTK's 'sue until pants drop' speech and people here refreshing the Cheng San sagat every 5 years

wongkc

The same will apply. But I think the opposition then would self pwn by making statements that work against them so they will still lose. Example, CSJ. If I notice, sometimes it’s not the initial action that does the opposition in but it’s their reactions to it that do them in.

Now, they are generally smarter - u do have a GMS but he spends more time whacking WP than PAP so he’s left alone

I dun think so… PAP never applies the same rules for themselves… on the other hand… Oppositions had been very cautious of their speech and statements ever since all these lawsuits…

PAP had been testing the boundaries of the law all this while… in this sense it is even twisting the law… to their advantage… if all else fails they will even resort to changing laws and constitution to their advantage… we have seen it so many times…

kimsix

rip to fellow sinkie, i think he would can be better off today with more social media

read up on him and many other stories during my landmark ge2011 and 2015. Never trust pap or any political party with so much control in the machinery of state since…it’s more human nature than being taught rosy theories in school :o

krikering

That is why I feel SDP is coming up and PSP went down. I feel SDP is trying to appeal to Singaporean general sentiments while PSP is trying to appeal to social media and edmw sentiments
PSP also changing liao, you see Lawrence Pek being more active now?

They trying to pass the baton to him and Wendy Low, etc. liao. LMW's approach does not work, 2020 was due to TCB/LHY's factors at the same time.

Simultaneously they trying to bring in more young blood, for WP actually I realise Harpreet Singh knows fellow opposition members from SDP/PSP, etc. alot.

Seen him with Ariffin Sha and Paul Tambyah in Facebook photos recently.

And also, Leon Perera might be trying to link them together in the background with his connections. Who knows.

tmkedmw

I remembered him. He got sued cause at wp rally he mentioned he make a police report cause pap leaders call him a chinese chauvinist. Jbj also suay, he got sued cause on stage he introduced tlh and say tlh make a police report against pap leaders.

The government then changed the law to sue TLH wife for lawsuit damages after TLH transferred his assets to his wife and fled singapore .

Actually quite pity him and jbj because of a statement make during a rally become bankrupt. Wife also kena.
Mareva injunction taken up against him and if I remember correctly, against his wife as well.

keewee0415

I dun think so… PAP never applies the same rules for themselves… on the other hand… Oppositions had been very cautious of their speech and statements ever since all these lawsuits…

PAP had been testing the boundaries of the law all this while… in this sense it is even twisting the law… to their advantage… if all else fails they will even resort to changing laws and constitution to their advantage… we have seen it so many times…
Rules are meant to be bent and Laws are meant to be changed?

Commandments are set in stone but stones erode over time.

kennysme

hey Same! I also bought this book when JBJ was selling it at City Hall MRT. I felt very proud to go forward, shake his hand and bought the book. He was very humble - said thank you with gratitude. No one give any notice and attention to him. When I went up to him, I even need to summon some courage.... It was so long ago, i was still a young man...

Even though I agree JBJ can be too drama and let his emotions took the better of him and let PAP played him inside out, but I still support him for all the PAP arrogance and power abuse i witnessed.
I saw him, wanted to go up and shake his hands but in the end got no ***** chee
Imagine people here and me included a grown ass man so afraid of the stasi still

Lance321

"fierce protectiveness towards those he cares for".
Is that supposed to be a good thing?

When it's a bad thing (Negative aspects):
  • Becomes possessiveness and control:
    Protective behavior driven by insecurity can transform into possessiveness, where the aim is to control rather than care for the other person, says Serenity Space Therapy.
  • Is overbearing and suffocating:
    If protectiveness becomes so intense that it makes a person feel threatened rather than safe, it's overprotective and damages the relationship, according to Medium.
  • Undermines independence:
    A truly strong woman wants to feel free and independent, not trapped by constant surveillance or an accusatory tone when asking questions, says Medium.
  • Leads to coercive control:
    When perceived as care, overprotectiveness can be a gateway to coercive control, which is a destructive form of manipulation, according to Serenity Space Therapy.

Mr.Canberra

No need to speculate on hypotheticals. Hypothetical is a waste of time in politics because it is simply in your imagination only. This is already history and in the past. Just take note of what happened in the past and understand the true nature of PAP (at least for the younger generation, whom the PAP has controlled projection of their image to them.)

The younger generation don't even know what happened in the political arena in those days. PAPaya is really busoh to the max.

They know WP is the only threat to their existence.

Tabula Rasa

PSP also changing liao, you see Lawrence Pek being more active now?

They trying to pass the baton to him and Wendy Low, etc. liao. LMW's approach does not work, 2020 was due to TCB/LHY's factors at the same time.

Simultaneously they trying to bring in more young blood, for WP actually I realise Harpreet Singh knows fellow opposition members from SDP/PSP, etc. alot.

Seen him with Ariffin Sha and Paul Tambyah in Facebook photos recently.

And also, Leon Perera might be trying to link them together in the background with his connections. Who knows.

Wow, if like that, I'm not sure if Harpreet will stay in WP for long. WP party discipline is very strict. Harpreet seems quite free spirited.

krikering

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/199...erview with,so "separately and independently".

The Nassim Jade scandal back then caused somewhat of a stir, because when it is just after GCT in 1995 mentioned about HDB Prices "Only goes up".

It was at a time, when HDB prices started to rise. Thus Cheng San GRC was closely contested in 1997 GE, as JBJ/TLH took aim at it.

And also, they helped to draw the fire away from Hougang and Potong Pasir allowing both Low Thia Khiang and Chiam See Tong to keep their seats as a stronghold.

Cheo Chai Chen and Ling How Doong (Both SDP) lost their seats, despite PAP aiming all their firepower at Cheng San GRC (and WP as a whole).

They should have managed to keep their seats, if they had managed their constituencies properly. *(CST/CSJ saga also caused a sour taste in people's mouths after CST left SDP as well, though).

Philipkee

Beg to differ. I doubt so.

But of course I am talking about 1997. It’s more about how careful are you in your words and you know what the law says or not

Of cos I am talking about 1997 time. After LKY death, it seems to get blatant with reserved presidency and then retrospective application of law for Tharman to allow him to be in WEF so it’s a different PAP

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.