Another convert to property! :)

mummy1234

i dont see this much as an advantage.

I only see it as advantage when the investment brings low risk and higher returns.

so tell me, how does it bring about lower risk and higher return?:s11:

I think what he means is you are in control of which investment property you choose to buy whereas for stocks , you are at the mercy of fund managers and the people in charge of the company....like a small fish...

WindBoi

Actually no need argue. Each of us have own strategy. If it suits you and you are making money then carry on doing. For me both property and stocks are good. Property less monitoring needed, mortgage loan $1.2k, big chunk goes towards principal as I am using interest offset, rental $2.3k. No matter how you calculate I will always be in positive cash flow. If one day rental drop until $1k, it would mean economy is problematic and I doubt stock market will be in bull sentiment. Likewise if interest goes up, corporate profit will be hit too, likewise the stock price will be affected.

Stock is good, such as day trading, provided you have the time to monitor. For me I just get some bluechip and let it grow and grow abd go through tge cycle picking up dividen.

So, no perfect strategy one so dont be too critical lah.what suits you; carry on lor!

there is a difference between personal mortgage loan and corporate loan and if you own some individual business their cash flow impact do not go down in comparison to your personal investment property.

one easy example is if you have a logistic business based around the region. the cash flow derives are more diversified and spread out.

i wonder if you use an interest offset, that savings account should be counted as your equity. if that is the case, it is a form of downpayment, then there is an opportunity cost to it, because it could theoractically earned 5-6% for you on a similar investment if you deploy it elsewhere.

your evaluation should be viewing your property + savings ROI as a whole.

WindBoi

i dont see this much as an advantage.

I only see it as advantage when the investment brings low risk and higher returns.

so tell me, how does it bring about lower risk and higher return?:s11:

what he means is that when you operate your own investment properties, you are the owner operator.

as an owner operator, you are in control and if things don't go well, you have an incentive to use various ways to improve your vacancy and risk manage your loans better.

you are also more aware of the internal risks since you have absolute transparency.

when you buy a listed business, you can never be the absolute owner operator, and no matter how close you are there is a veil that may result in capital loss of things you don't see coming.

OngHuatHuat

Mummy terrace return is at least half a million. I think even Assi with so many years of investing experience hard to beat.

6 digits returns!???
Some ppl dont even have 6 digit portfolio

successful investor spotted!~!:s12::s12:

undiscern

Of course there is opportunity cost. fundamental law of investment is one must have sufficient cash on hand for emergency. for me that emergency cash i use it to offset interest, yet i have 100% liquidity to it for emergency cases. but of course, some prefer to invest till the last drop of their cash. its a personal preference.
there is a difference between personal mortgage loan and corporate loan and if you own some individual business their cash flow impact do not go down in comparison to your personal investment property.

one easy example is if you have a logistic business based around the region. the cash flow derives are more diversified and spread out.

i wonder if you use an interest offset, that savings account should be counted as your equity. if that is the case, it is a form of downpayment, then there is an opportunity cost to it, because it could theoractically earned 5-6% for you on a similar investment if you deploy it elsewhere.

your evaluation should be viewing your property + savings ROI as a whole.

wahkao3

as an owner operator, you are in control and if things don't go well, you have an incentive to use various ways to improve your vacancy and risk manage your loans better.

what various ways to improve? if the market is bad, there is no magic bullet. no renters means no renters

SBC

Tot Mummy1234 had wanted to sell SG terrace? No good offer so far?

microtek

Basically don't buy a property if you lack holding power during bad times. Once you need to fire sale a property you would lose a lot on it. And there is no such thing as not being able to rent out a property, it's all a matter of price.

OngHuatHuat

Her husband din really want to sell it.
Freehold landed is like gold mine in Singapore. :)

One freehold landed bought in earlier years is much better than a lot of other investments.

focus1974

Mummy terrace return is at least half a million. I think even Assi with so many years of investing experience hard to beat.

I believe a significant chunk of Assi's networth comes from the sale of his property

lasnoblur

property in comparison to equities
1. property min investment higher
2. need to spend more time to look after (rental, selling etc)
3. faster and also higher returns
4. might not have adequate skills to look after

generally, many more have made it big with properties compared to equities.

mummy1234

Her husband din really want to sell it.
Freehold landed is like gold mine in Singapore. :)

One freehold landed bought in earlier years is much better than a lot of other investments.

Thanks for your confirmation . Yeah since population white paper is passed and we are already gearing up for population increase, property should do well esp since 70 percent approves of the government's plans. That explains the pent up demand and the fact that many properties did not drop much....only weak holders with fire sales explains the few that dropped like overpriced ccr properties.

He just told me he wants to sell everything though...dunno, still undecided , but he wants a good price and not Low ballers.

If we liquidate all 3 properties and buy a BTO, can then have excess cash to reinvest for proper passive income. Dunno if that is a good idea.

Another idea he has is for us to liquidate and buy separately 2 properties fully paid. Then can live in one and rent out one. Maybe 2 Private condos.

henrylbh

She say only. No real push to sell and most likely unable to get 1.8 as wished for. Anyway if really sell then will have no place to stay.

mummy1234

She say only. No real push to sell and most likely unable to get 1.8 as wished for. Anyway if really sell then will have no place to stay.

We had a verbal offer of 1.6 mil and we bought at 1.1 mil in 2010. Had cheque offer of 1.8 mil in 2014 but we rejected.... Actually, I wanted to accept then cause come on, 700k profit in 4 years is very good but my hubby did not want then cause UOB valuation was 2 million.

SBC

Oic, good choice for them.

Both are still doing v well.

Mecisteus

We had a verbal offer of 1.6 mil and we bought at 1.1 mil in 2010. Had cheque offer of 1.8 mil in 2014 but we rejected.... Actually, I wanted to accept then cause come on, 700k profit in 4 years is very good but my hubby did not want then cause UOB valuation was 2 million.

You should sell at 1.9M to UOB. Win win for both of you. :D

cybercom8

uob valuation very generous

henrylbh

In the last 6 months I was browsing at prices of private as well as HDB properties and noticed prices are coming down and sellers taking longer to sell. Still looking for a flat for my father.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.