Any Forex Swing Traders Here?

alexchia01

Got this from an online course. Anyway I think it is just a number. Money mgt, trade mgt (which I suck totally) and follow the rules are important. Me, super love break rules.

Which is why my USDSGD is losing money now. :)

MA is not just a number.

Every MA put on the chart has a reason and tell a story.

If you don't know why the MA is there, then you should go find out or choose a MA that means something to you.

Don't follow blindly. Don't do it just because someone is doing it.

Knight_Rider

See how when it reach 175 resistance. But then again GBP whould have u-turn from 1.5840 and the S1 monthly pivot if there is a clear break below the 1.5950

Happy doing homework. :)

Anybody short GBPJPY at 175? Huat Huat free money 50 pips.

feiyun

How is eurjpy a downtrend? Not on a daily chart anyways.

Looks rangy to the near future. Good luck don't get whipped out.

Hi Yoosica,

Point noted on the rangy part. I will KIV first and look for better pairs to trade. The reason I mentioned that EJ is on downtrend because PA has closed below my larger ranges of GMMA along with a bearish engulfing candle (3rd candle from right) covering the bullish candle (4th candle from right). Not sure if you can see the image that I've attached.

eurjpy-d1-oanda-division7.png

archcherub

How you end up with this MA? Very useful if you add another one above 200 which is a fibo number. They tell you lots of story.

i know why he use MA89
Traders who love fibonacci loves MA89, as well as MA34. These 2 MA they use close to their chest

MA 20 coz 20 days in 1 month
MA 200 coz 200 days in 1 year, due to summer holiday corrections in the past.

You mean u use a number above 200? Like MA260? (I see 260 weekdays in a year)

I use MA200 as an average out for stocks to buy and hold, not forex...
intraday I used to try MA 8 and MA 21 for day trades... i realise these 8 and 21 is different lagging for different currency pairs, and also the interpretation is different, especially on different candlesticks. I had a completely different interpretation for swing trades, then I realised my friend has 5 candlesticks per week, and I am using 6 candlesticks per week (Oanda)

Also realised the closing time for candlesticks is different for different platform.

Just realised what u mean by "Free money" hahaha. keep the free money tap flowing and buy more gold, in case uncle168 is right... :p

archcherub

No I use MA233 with MA89.

happy trading! just saw another group chat where someone lost a few thousands overnight... tsk tsk. never set their SL properly.

hope everyone here huat ah!!

TS, U got read through Guppy's articles and youtube?

Knight_Rider

Nah I dun intend to have a fan club. =:p

i know why he use MA89
Traders who love fibonacci loves MA89, as well as MA34. These 2 MA they use close to their chest

MA 20 coz 20 days in 1 month
MA 200 coz 200 days in 1 year, due to summer holiday corrections in the past.

You mean u use a number above 200? Like MA260? (I see 260 weekdays in a year)

I use MA200 as an average out for stocks to buy and hold, not forex...
intraday I used to try MA 8 and MA 21 for day trades... i realise these 8 and 21 is different lagging for different currency pairs, and also the interpretation is different, especially on different candlesticks. I had a completely different interpretation for swing trades, then I realised my friend has 5 candlesticks per week, and I am using 6 candlesticks per week (Oanda)

Also realised the closing time for candlesticks is different for different platform.

Just realised what u mean by "Free money" hahaha. keep the free money tap flowing and buy more gold, in case uncle168 is right... :p

Knight_Rider

happy trading! just saw another group chat where someone lost a few thousands overnight... tsk tsk. never set their SL properly.

hope everyone here huat ah!!

TS, U got read through Guppy's articles and youtube?

KNN the chart never talk to them lah. GBPJPY last week told me to sell at 175

archcherub

KNN the chart never talk to them lah. GBPJPY last week told me to sell at 175

different people have different.. languages.
LOL

takes time to build up skill.... u took months or years?

TS, how many years have u been trading?

i trade 1 year only but no good, so now went back to demo account to get back to basic chart so that... the chart can talk to me :s13:

Knight_Rider

LOL

i trade 1 year only but no good, so now went back to demo account to get back to basic chart so that... the chart can talk to me :s13:

Took me a few years and a lot of tuition fees. :s13:

feiyun

Drop 100 liao

Up there bro! I can only wait patiently for candle to close before I make my move. Gotta stick close to my strategy.

LOL

I have been trading for 1-2 years so far. Been testing and trying lots of methods before settling down to trend trading. I also paid a small tuition fee to market as well :s13:

yoosica

Hi Yoosica,

Point noted on the rangy part. I will KIV first and look for better pairs to trade. The reason I mentioned that EJ is on downtrend because PA has closed below my larger ranges of GMMA along with a bearish engulfing candle (3rd candle from right) covering the bullish candle (4th candle from right). Not sure if you can see the image that I've attached.

eurjpy-d1-oanda-division7.png

Okay I can see your chart... I'll watch usdjpy and eurusd closely though. It's really a dollar play that drives ur eurjpy pair.

Dollar correction now

CookieMonsta88

Good Day fellow members! I decided to start a forex swing trading thread for all of us to share our thoughts and ideas!
Im a swing trader (or trend trader)
i use PA.. clean price actions.
Love reversal candlesticks and chart formations.

though i ve been trying GMMA indicators recently as i find Guppy a good forex trader.

For the start, I'm looking to enter downtrend of Eur/Jpy and Gbp/Jpy.

hi guys, i trade the intra-day swings, and pretty much trade PA and candlesticks and chart formations, but no indicators.:)

Dividends Moderator

The fundamental movement of currency pairs is being driven by news. Eurusd faced some dips and gained some 100pips from Sell option.

All the best and have fun in trading gentlemen!

Dividends Moderator

I've been in a position of a Swing Trader and frankly speaking, break even on trades without profits. Fortunately, there is some negligible losses... Guess not a Swing type here

CookieMonsta88

Are u profitable?? Just curious

not yet, still training my discipline, i always have 1 big win, then proceed to lose my winnings back to the markets, so i think im the one with the problem lol :s22:, the mental aspect of trading is hard to instill

i find that after i win a big win, i always style drift to something totally different which i think is how i should be trading but looking back, im just doing stupid trades which is not in my original system.

alexchia01

not yet, still training my discipline, i always have 1 big win, then proceed to lose my winnings back to the markets, so i think im the one with the problem lol :s22:, the mental aspect of trading is hard to instill

i find that after i win a big win, i always style drift to something totally different which i think is how i should be trading but looking back, im just doing stupid trades which is not in my original system.

You have to focus on 1 setup at a time.

For swing trading, accuracy is very important.

So you can't afford to take any setup that comes along.

You have to be patience and wait for YOUR setup.

The problem with newbies is greed. They want to enter all setups. This cause them to be confused and lead to poor decision making.

Start with 1 setup at a time. When you become master in that, then move to the next.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.